DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 5/28/25 and 6/24/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/16/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Language from the reference(s) is shown in quotations. Limitations from the claims are shown in quotations within parentheses. Examiner explanations are shown in italics.
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McCall et al. (US 20200005997 A1).
Regarding claim 1, McCall teaches that “the present invention relates to permanent magnets, and more particularly, this invention relates to methods of producing permanent magnets” (which reads upon “a permanent magnet comprising”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0002]). McCall teaches that “a magnet includes a plurality of layers, each layer having a microstructure of sintered particles” (which reads upon “a sintered magnetic body”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0015]). McCall teaches that “the structure 620 comprises a first layer 604 having a first composition, a first microstructure, and a first density and a second layer 608 above the first layer 604, the second layer 608 having at least one of: a second composition that is different than the first composition, a second microstructure that is different than the first microstructure, and a second density that is different than the first density” (which reads upon “including a first portion having a first density and a second portion having a second density that is less than the first density”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0163]). McCall teaches that “the material of the first layer may be the same as the material of the second layer” (which reads upon “wherein the composition of the first and second portions is same”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0120]).
Regarding claim 2, McCall teaches the magnet of claim 1 as stated above. McCall teaches that “the substrate may be a porous structure” (paragraph [0100]; pores read on gap). McCall teaches that “gaps may remain between the patterns where no material is deposited” (paragraph [0112]).
Regarding claim 3, McCall teaches the magnet of claim 1 as stated above. McCall teaches that “in FIG. 3A, the x-y plane is represented in an isometric view of a simplified schematic diagram of a single layer 302, which is represented by a plurality of first particles 308 (shown as black dots) and/or second particles 310 (shown as white dots), and that the black dots and/or white dots may represent a density of the layer (such as the black dots representing a more dense volume, with the white dots representing a less dense volume)” (paragraph [0107] and FIG. 3A, showing white dots along an edge).
Regarding claim 6, McCall teaches the magnet of claim 1 as stated above. McCall teaches that “the patterns are not limited to those shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B, and may include any shape (polygonal, regular, irregular, etc.), repeating pattern (single pixels, lines, shapes, areas, etc.), random array” (paragraph [0108]). McCall teaches that “gaps may remain between the patterns where no material is deposited” (paragraph [0112]). McCall teaches that “the second pattern may be a reverse or negative pattern of the first pattern, e.g., similar to red and black squares of a checker board” (paragraph [0112]).
Regarding claim 7, McCall teaches the magnet of claim 1 as stated above. McCall teaches that “the gradient may be a transition from at least one of: the first composition, the first microstructure, and the first density, to the at least one of: the second composition, the second microstructure, and the second density, and that is to say, any of the composition, microstructure and/or density may change from the first layer 604 to the second layer 608, with any of the remaining properties being about the same, according to various embodiments” (paragraph [0164]).
Regarding claim 8, McCall teaches the magnet of claim 1 as stated above. McCall teaches that “the patterns are not limited to those shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B, and may include any shape (polygonal, regular, irregular, etc.), repeating pattern (single pixels, lines, shapes, areas, etc.), random array” (paragraph [0108]).
Regarding claim 9, McCall teaches the magnet of claim 1 as stated above. McCall teaches that “magnetic anisotropic powders having particles with high aspect ratios, such as Nd—Fe—B, may be suspended in solution and deposited in pre-defined three-dimensional (3D) shapes during the EPD process” (paragraph [0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCall et al. (US 20200005997 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schultz, L. (1991). Preparation and Properties of Mechanically Alloyed Nd-Fe-B Magnets. In: Long, G.J., Grandjean, F. (eds) Supermagnets, Hard Magnetic Materials. NATO ASI Series, vol 331. Springer, Dordrecht, Ch 23, pp 573-583.
Regarding claims 4-5, McCall teaches the magnet of claim 1 as stated above. McCall teaches that “FIG. 3C depicts a schematic drawing of a side view of the material 300 where the z direction is perpendicular to the x-y plane. In one approach, the material 300 may have a second layer 304 above the first layer 302, where the second layer 304 may be configured to form a gradient in composition, microstructure and/or density in a z-direction perpendicular to an x-y plane of the first layer 302” (paragraph [0117]). McCall teaches that “the magnet 400 may have a gradient of composition, microstructure and/or density in a thickness direction of the layers” (paragraph [0125]). McCall teaches “to form a particle packing density gradient in a direction consistent with the electric field” (paragraph [0155]). McCall teaches “permanent Nd—Fe—B magnets” (paragraph [0174]).
McCall teaches using different densities, including a gradient of density, but McCall is silent regarding the values of density, expressed as either a percentage of theoretical density or in g/cm3. Regarding the subject limitations, in order to carry out the invention of McCall, it would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for exemplary densities used in permanent Nd—Fe—B magnets. Schultz provides this teaching. Schultz teaches that starting from elemental powders hard-magnetic Nd-Fe-B can be produced by mechanical alloying and a solid-state reaction (page 573). Schultz FIG. 8 shows density versus pressing temperature of hot pressed Nd16Fe76B8 magnets prepared from as-milled or pre-reacted (700 °C/60 min) powders milled for 64 h at intensity 5 (page 580, FIG. 8). Schultz FIG. 8 shows samples of Nd-Fe-B magnets with densities above and below 6.6 g/cm3 (page 580, FIG. 8). Schultz FIG. 8 shows that at about 400 C, the density is about 6.1 g/cm3. Schultz FIG. 8 shows that at about 600 C, the density is close to the theoretical density, about 7.6 g/cm3. The theoretical density of permanent Nd—Fe—B magnets is about 7.6 g/cm3. So, 6.1 g/cm3 is about 80 % of a theoretical density, and 7.6 g/cm3 is about 100 % of a theoretical density. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first and second layers of the permanent Nd—Fe—B magnet of the prior art combination, and adjusting and varying the density of the first and second layers, such as within the claimed ranges, as taught by Schultz, motivated to form a conventional permanent Nd—Fe—B magnet using known and tested values of density. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Schultz teaches that these values of density are readily obtainable for permanent Nd—Fe—B magnets.
Contact Information
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The Examiner requests that interviews not be scheduled during the last week of each fiscal quarter or the last half of September, which is the end of the fiscal year. Q4: 9/21-9/30/26.
/REBECCA JANSSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733