DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites that the medial portion of the splines is the same width as the proximal portion. This depends from claim 12 which already details that the proximal and distal portions have a greater width when compared to the medial portion, so it’s unclear how both claim’s limitations can be true at once.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the medial" in line seven. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Kordis US Publication 2001/0029371 hereinafter Kordis).
Regarding claim 2, Kordis discloses a catheter comprising: a catheter shaft having a proximal end, a distal end, and defining a longitudinal axis therebetween (Figure 1A at elements 12/40); an electrode assembly extending distally from the distal end of the catheter shaft (Figures 1A, 52 which shows such an assembly), the electrode assembly comprising: a plurality of splines (22), each of the plurality of splines comprising a distal portion, a medial portion, and a proximal portion (portions as per 22), wherein the distal portion of each of the plurality of splines has a reduced width compared to both the medial portion and the proximal portion of the respective spline (Figures 19-20 which shows the distal end of the splines 22, which shows a reduced width); a flexible circuit coupled to an outer surface of each of the plurality of splines at the distal and medial portions (Figures 50-52 which shows the flexible circuit 110/112 which includes traces T1-8 best shown in Figures 45, 47, where the spline 22 and circuit are aligned [0224], better seen in Figures 39-41 how they abut each other within the overall polymeric body), wherein the flexible circuit comprises electrode-containing portions (electrodes at E1-8 at Figure 43); and a plurality of mapping electrodes disposed in the electrode-containing portions (E1-8), each of the plurality of mapping electrodes coupled to the flexible circuit (Figure 43, where the electrodes are on the circuit layer as per [0206]).
Regarding claim 3, Kordis discloses that for each of the plurality of splines, the medial portion and the proximal portion have the same width (Figure 20 at 22).
Regarding claim 4, Kordis discloses that the plurality of electrodes are a plurality of substantially flat electrodes (Figures 50-51 which shows the electrode E1-E8 on a substantially flat flexible circuit which indicates the electrodes are also substantially flat).
Regarding claim 5, Kordis discloses that the distal portions of each of the plurality of splines are securely and non-slidingly coupled to a distal tip (three are three tip/spline designs in Figures 10, 20, 23 all of which show how the splines would connect to the distal tip, all are secured by a pin).
Regarding claim 6, Kordis discloses that the distal portions of each of the plurality of splines are coupled to the distal tip in a predetermined angular relationship (Figures 10, 20, 23-24, 52 all show the defined angular spacing with Figures 10, 20, 23-24 showing the specifics of how the tip and the splines interact).
Regarding claim 7, Kordis discloses that the distal portions of each of the plurality of splines and the distal tip form an atraumatic tip (tips 24, 48, and 90 are atraumatic, where the splines are within the confines of the tips themselves for anchoring).
Regarding claim 8, Kordis discloses that the distal portions of each of the plurality of splines approach the distal tip at an angle less than 90 degrees as measured from a line segment between the distal end of the catheter shaft and the distal tip along the longitudinal axis (Figures 1, 10, 20, 52).
Regarding claim 9, Kordis discloses that the flexible circuit is compressed into the outer surface of each of the plurality of splines ([0222][0224] as well as Figures 39-41 which shows the general compression placement of the two, where [0224] details the elements are aligned).
Regarding claim 10, Kordis discloses that the flexible circuit is thermally or adhesively bonded to the outer surface of the plurality of splines ([0222] which describes heat shrinking, which given the broad phrasing still meets the limitation).
Regarding claim 11, Kordis discloses that the plurality of splines are flattened splines having a rectangular cross-section ([0076]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kordis in view of Hall et al. US Publication 2011/0213231 (hereinafter Hall).
Regarding 12, Kordis discloses a basket catheter comprising: a catheter shaft; a basket electrode assembly, the basket electrode assembly comprising: a plurality of splines, a flexible circuit with electrodes, and a distal tip (see contents of rejected claims 2 and 5-7 for the above claimed elements).
Kordis however is silent on the spline width/shaping. Hall teaches a basket mapping catheter that includes a set of splines that includes a distal portion and a proximal portion of each of the plurality of splines having a greater width compared to a medial of the respective spline (Figure 17 which shows on of the options for spline construction with a less wide medial portion). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date to utilize the spline design as taught by Hall in lieu of the design of Kordis in order to allow flexing of the splines to a chosen degree or angle (different shapes and cuts afford specific shapes for the overall basket).
Regarding claim 13, Kordis discloses that for each of the plurality of splines, the medial portion and the proximal portion have the same width (Figure 20, but please see the 112 rejection above as the changing of the widths makes no sense).
Regarding claim 14, see contents of rejected 4 above.
Regarding claim 15, see contents of rejected 5 above.
Regarding claim 16, see contents of rejected 6 above.
Regarding claim 17, see contents of rejected 7 above.
Regarding claim 18, see contents of rejected 9 above.
Regarding claim 19, see contents of rejected 10 above.
Regarding claim 20, see contents of rejected 8 above.
Regarding claim 21, see contents of rejected 11 above.
Conclusion
/BRIAN M ANTISKAY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794