DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “A vehicle control system comprising the signal interface of claim 1, and processing circuitry configured to….” should be changed to -- A vehicle control system comprising a signal interface for tire control, wherein the signal interface is applicable for communication between a vehicle control system and an actuator system configured to dynamically change tire properties, the signal interface comprising connection circuitry configured to: convey a tire report signal from the actuator system to the vehicle control system, wherein the tire report signal is indicative of a current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities; and convey a tire control signal from the vehicle control system to the actuator system, wherein the tire control signal is indicative of one or more requested tire objective(s) determined based on the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities, and wherein each of the tire objective(s) indicates a tire property which is controllable by the actuator system , and processing circuitry configured to….--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “An actuator system comprising the signal interface of claim 1, one or more tire actuators configured to dynamically change tire properties, and processing circuitry configured to:” should be changed to -- An actuator system comprising a signal interface for tire control, wherein the signal interface is applicable for communication between a vehicle control system and an actuator system configured to dynamically change tire properties, the signal interface comprising connection circuitry configured to: convey a tire report signal from the actuator system to the vehicle control system, wherein the tire report signal is indicative of a current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities; and convey a tire control signal from the vehicle control system to the actuator system, wherein the tire control signal is indicative of one or more requested tire objective(s) determined based on the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities, and wherein each of the tire objective(s) indicates a tire property which is controllable by the actuator system, one or more tire actuators configured to dynamically change tire properties, and processing circuitry configured to….--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “An arrangement for tire control of a vehicle, the arrangement comprising the vehicle control system of claim 6 and an actuator system, wherein the vehicle control system and the actuator system are configured to communicate with each other via the signal interface.” should be changed to -- An arrangement for tire control of a vehicle, the arrangement comprising A vehicle control system comprising a signal interface for tire control, wherein the signal interface is applicable for communication between a vehicle control system and an actuator system configured to dynamically change tire properties, the signal interface comprising connection circuitry configured to: convey a tire report signal from the actuator system to the vehicle control system, wherein the tire report signal is indicative of a current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities; and convey a tire control signal from the vehicle control system to the actuator system, wherein the tire control signal is indicative of one or more requested tire objective(s) determined based on the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities, and wherein each of the tire objective(s) indicates a tire property which is controllable by an actuator system and wherein the vehicle control system and the actuator system are configured to communicate with each other via the signal interface.--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “A computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by processing circuitry, the method of claim 14.” should be changed to -- A computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by processing circuitry, the method the method comprising: obtaining, by processing circuitry of a computer system, a tire report signal from an actuator system configured to dynamically change tire properties, wherein the tire report signal is indicative of a current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities; determining, by the processing circuitry, one or more requested tire objective(s) based on the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities, wherein each of the tire objective(s) indicates a tire property which is controllable by the actuator system; and providing, by the processing circuitry, a tire control signal to the actuator system, wherein the tire control signal is indicative of the one or more requested tire objective(s). --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 14” should be changed to -- A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method the method comprising: obtaining, by processing circuitry of a computer system, a tire report signal from an actuator system configured to dynamically change tire properties, wherein the tire report signal is indicative of a current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities; determining, by the processing circuitry, one or more requested tire objective(s) based on the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities, wherein each of the tire objective(s) indicates a tire property which is controllable by the actuator system; and providing, by the processing circuitry, a tire control signal to the actuator system, wherein the tire control signal is indicative of the one or more requested tire objective(s). --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because under the broadest reasonable interpretation these claims are directed to a computer program only.
"Computer programs claimed as computer listings per se, i.e., the descriptions or expressions of the programs, are not physical 'things.' They are neither computer components nor statutory processes, as they are not 'acts' being performed." MPEP §2106.01 I. Because the claims recite only abstractions that are neither "things" nor "acts," the claims are not within one of the four statutory classes of invention. Because the claims are not within one of the four statutory classes of invention, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101.
"Since a computer program is merely a set of instructions capable of being executed by a computer, the computer program itself is not a process and USPTO personnel should treat a claim for a computer program, without the computer-readable medium needed to realize the computer program's functionality, as nonstatutory functional descriptive material." MPEP §2106.01 I.
"A general purpose computer, or microprocessor, programmed to carry out an algorithm creates 'a new machine, because a general purpose computer in effect becomes a special purpose computer once it is programmed to perform particular functions pursuant to instructions from program software.'" WMS Gaming, Inc. v. International Game Tech., 184 F.3d 1339, 1348, 51 USPQ2d 1385, 1391 (Fed. Cir. 1999) citing In re Alappat, 33 F.3d 1526, 1545, 31 USPQ2d 1545, 1558 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (en banc).
In this case, claim 15 are system claims states a computer program produce. Because Applicant's specification does not lexicographically define said terms to be hardware, Examiner uses the broadest reasonable interpretation to interpret a module as software. Thus, Examiner interprets claim 15 as directed to software alone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, & 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0217261A1 (“Mays”).
As per claim 1 Mays discloses
A signal interface for tire control, wherein the signal interface is applicable for communication between a vehicle control system and an actuator system configured to dynamically change tire properties, the signal interface comprising connection circuitry configured to (see at least Mays, para. [0021-0022]: FIG. 1 illustrates one example of a tire pressure optimization system 100 including a tire pressure optimization determiner component 108 in communication with a tire inflation device 116 operable to dynamically adjust a tire pressure to meet a target tire pressure value in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure….In some examples, the communication device 106 associated with vehicle 104 may periodically (e.g., every 5 mins) transmit or receive data from a tire inflation device 116 attached ( or mounted) on one or more of tire(s ), wheel (s), rim(s), or axle(s) of the vehicle.):
convey a tire report signal from the actuator system to the vehicle control system, wherein the tire report signal is indicative of a current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities (see at least Mays, para. [0022]: For example, the tire measurement component 120 may periodically measure one or any combination of the tire pressure, the tire temperature, the tire tread depth, the air temperature in the tire, the rate of change of air volume, the status of the air inflation system, the rate of movement of the tire, and/or one or more environment conditions associated with the tire (e.g., external air temperature).); and
convey a tire control signal from the vehicle control system to the actuator system, wherein the tire control signal is indicative of one or more requested tire objective(s) determined based on the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities, and wherein each of the tire objective(s) indicates a tire property which is controllable by the
actuator system (see at least Mays, para. [0025]: Upon the tire pressure optimization determiner component 108 calculating the optimal tire pressure, the NMC 112 may transmit the optimal tire pressure information ( e.g., corresponding to the target tire pressure value) back to the tire inflation device 116 via the communication device 106. In some examples, the transceiver 123 may receive the information transmitted by the NMC 112 and forward it to the processor 117 and/or inflation component 121 for processing. In one or more examples, the inflation component 121 may initiate automatic tire pressure adjustment ( e.g., by inflating or deflating) the tire to the identified optimal tire pressure.).
As per claim 2 Mays discloses
wherein at least one of the tire objective(s) indicates a tire property which is only indirectly controllable by the actuator system (see at least Mays, para. [0022]: For example, the tire measurement component 120 may periodically measure one or any combination of the tire pressure, the tire temperature, the tire tread depth, the air temperature in the tire, the rate of change of air volume, the status of the air inflation system, the rate of movement of the tire, and/or one or more environment conditions associated with the tire (e.g., external air temperature).).
As per claim 3 Mays discloses
wherein the tire objective(s) include one or more of: a rolling resistance metric, a contact patch metric, a lateral force metric, a tire-ground grip metric, a tire wear metric, a stiffness metric, an audio metric, and a damping metric (see at least Mays, para. [0041]: For example, one common parameter that may be considered when setting the optimal tire pressure may be tread life. In such instance, the tread life may be dependent on the load (weight) of the vehicle and cargo. Under-inflated tires may tend to show wear on the outside edges of the tread, while over-inflated tires may show wear down the middle of the tread. Thus, in some aspects, by assigning a higher weight to the tread life factor over other factors, the tire pressure optimization determiner component 108 may select an optimal tire pressure that may result in the tire exhibiting equal wear throughout the tread, and thus maximizing tread life.).
As per claim 4 Mays discloses
wherein the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities indicates a currently obtainable interval for the tire property of at least one of the tire objective(s) (see at least Mays, para. [0025]: Upon the tire pressure optimization determiner component 108 calculating the optimal tire pressure, the NMC 112 may transmit the optimal tire pressure information ( e.g., corresponding to the target tire pressure value) back to the tire inflation device 116 via the communication device 106. In some examples, the transceiver 123 may receive the information transmitted by the NMC 112 and forward it to the processor 117 and/or inflation component 121 for processing. In one or more examples, the inflation component 121 may initiate automatic tire pressure adjustment ( e.g., by inflating or deflating) the tire to the identified optimal tire pressure.).
As per claim 13 Mays discloses
A vehicle comprising one or more of: the signal interface of claim 1, a vehicle control system, an actuator system, and the arrangement for tire control of a vehicle (see at least Mays, para. [0021-0022]: FIG. 1 illustrates one example of a tire pressure optimization system 100 including a tire pressure optimization determiner component 108 in communication with a tire inflation device 116 operable to dynamically adjust a tire pressure to meet a target tire pressure value in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. In some examples, the communication device 106 associated with vehicle 104 may periodically (e.g., every 5 mins) transmit or receive data from a tire inflation device 116 attached ( or mounted) on one or more of tire(s ), wheel (s), rim(s), or axle(s) of the vehicle. In some aspects, the tire inflation device 116 may include a processor 117 for processing information received from the communication device 106 and for controlling one or more features of the tire measurement component 120 for measuring tire-related parameters, inflation component 121 for controlling inflation or deflation of the tire, and/or transceiver 123 for wirelessly communicating with other devices. & para. [0027]).
As per claim 14 Mays discloses
A computer-implemented method for tire control (see at least Mays, para. [0043]: FIG. 4 illustrates one example of a method 400 of implementing tire pressure optimization system in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. In some aspects, the method 400 may be implemented by the tire inflation device 116 described with reference to FIGS. 1-2.), the method comprising:
obtaining, by processing circuitry of a computer system (see at least Mays, para. [0033]: The NMC 112 can be thought of as a data clearinghouse that receives all data that is transmitted to and received from the vehicles 104. Moreover, in an aspect, NMC 112 may include one or more back-end servers. Thus, in some aspects, the collected information (e.g., communication data or vehicle specific data) may periodically ( e.g., every x minutes, where x is a whole number, or once a day, or upon availability of a wired or wireless connection) be transmitted from the communication device 106 to the NMC 112 for analysis and record keeping.),
a tire report signal from an actuator system configured to dynamically change tire properties, wherein the tire report signal is indicative of a current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities (see at least Mays, para. [0021-0022]: In some examples, the communication device 106 associated with vehicle 104 may periodically (e.g., every 5 mins) transmit or receive data from a tire inflation device 116 attached ( or mounted) on one or more of tire(s ), wheel (s), rim(s), or axle(s) of the vehicle…In some aspects, the memory 118 may store information measured by the tire measurement component 120. For example, the tire measurement component 120 may periodically measure one or any combination of the tire pressure, the tire temperature, the tire tread depth, the air temperature in the tire, the rate of change of air volume, the status of the air inflation system, the rate of movement of the tire, and/or one or more environment conditions associated with the tire (e.g., external air temperature));
determining, by the processing circuitry, one or more requested tire objective(s) based on the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities, wherein each of the tire objective(s) indicates a tire property which is controllable by the actuator system (see at least Mays, para. [0024]: In some aspects, the tire pressure optimization determiner component 108 may receive the measured data and stored information from the tire inflation device 116 and use this data and information in an optimization function to calculate an optimal tire pressure. For example, in an aspect, tire pressure optimization determiner component 108 may include a processor and/or memory operable to execute at least one optimization function to calculate an optimal tire pressure based on one or any combination of the tire pressure, the tire temperature, the tire tread depth, the air temperature in the tire, the rate of change of air volume,); and
providing, by the processing circuitry, a tire control signal to the actuator system, wherein the tire control signal is indicative of the one or more requested tire objective(s) (see at least Mays, para. [0025]: Upon the tire pressure optimization determiner component 108 calculating the optimal tire pressure, the NMC 112 may transmit the optimal tire pressure information ( e.g., corresponding to the target tire pressure value) back to the tire inflation device 116 via the communication device 106. In some examples, the transceiver 123 may receive the information transmitted by the NMC 112 and forward it to the processor 117 and/or inflation component 121 for processing. In one or more examples, the inflation component 121 may initiate automatic tire pressure adjustment ( e.g., by inflating or deflating) the tire to the identified optimal tire pressure.).
As per claim 15 Mays discloses
A computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by processing circuitry, the method of claim 14 (see at least Mays, para. [0028]: As used herein, the term "component" may be one of the parts that make up a device, may be hardware (e.g., a processor) or software (e.g., computer executable instructions or code stored on a computer- readable medium) or firmware (e.g., a combination of both), and may be divided into other components and/or distributed across one or more processors.).
As per claim 16 Mays discloses
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 14 (see at least Mays, para. [0050]: In an aspect, features described herein with respect to the functions of communication device 106 in communicating with tire inflation device 116, NMC 112, and/or tire optimization determiner component 108 may be implemented in or executed using one or any combination of processor 505, memory 510, communications component 209, and data store 520. For example, communication component 209 may be defined or otherwise programmed as one or more processor components of processor 505. Further, for example, communication component 209 may be defined as a computer-readable medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer- readable medium) stored in memory 510 and/or data store 520 and executed by processor 505.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mays, in view of US 2013/0192814A1 (“Okubo”).
As per claim 5 Mays does not explicitly disclose
wherein the tire control signal is further indicative of a priority among the requested tire objective(s).
Okubo teaches
wherein the tire control signal is further indicative of a priority among the requested tire objective(s) (see at least Okubo, para. [0196-0197]: The front tire temperature Tf and the rear tire temperature Tr that are targeted in the tire temperature control are not limited to those described by referring to FIG. 22. For example, the target tire temperature may be determined corresponding to performance with high priority such as stability or maneuverability. This priority may be variable, for example, corresponding to running environment, a running mode, and a similar parameter. The running environment includes, for example, slope of a runway, ambient temperature, a road surface temperature, weather, a curve, a highway, and a similar parameter. The running mode includes, for example, a fuel economy priority mode with high priority to fuel economy, a sports mode that is appropriate for sports running, and a similar mode….In the case where maneuverability has high priority, the front tire temperature Tf and the rear tire temperature Tr may be cooled to lower temperatures compared with the case where maneuverability has low priority, or the predetermined temperature difference Td may be decreased. In the case where stability has high priority, the predetermined temperature difference Td may be larger compared with the case where stability has low priority.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mays to incorporate the teaching of wherein the tire control signal is further indicative of a priority among the requested tire objective(s) of Okubo, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improve running performance of the vehicle (see at least Okubo, para. [0013]).
Claim(s) 6-7, & 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mays, in view of US 2021/0276372A1 (“Smith”).
As per claim 6 Mays does not explicitly disclose
A vehicle control system comprising the signal interface of claim 1 , and processing circuitry configured to:
obtain a tire report signal from an actuator system via the signal interface, wherein the tire report signal is indicative of a current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities;
determine one or more requested tire objective(s) based on the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities, wherein each of the tire objective(s) indicates a tire property which is controllable by the actuator system; and
provide a tire control signal to the actuator system via the signal interface, wherein the tire control signal is indicative of the one or more requested tire objective(s).
Smith teaches
A vehicle control system comprising the signal interface of claim 1 , and processing circuitry configured to (see at least Smith, para. [0042]: FIG. 10 depicts a user interface for interacting with one or more of the automatic tire inflation systems 604, 704, 804, and/or 904. The user interface 1004 may be displayed at a display of an instrument cluster for the vehicle, or on a desktop, laptop, tablet, smartphone, or other mobile device. The user interface 1004 may include a depiction 1008 of one or more tires of the vehicle, such as tractor 108 and trailer 112. In some examples, a user may interact with the depiction 1008 to select one or more tires, for example, 1016 as indicated by a selection indicator 1012… In some instance, the ideal operating pressure 1040 may be retrieved from storage or otherwise generated by a controller, such as the controller 616, 712, 812, and/or 924. In some instances, external sensor readings 1044 may be displayed at the user interface 1004. The external sensor readings may correspond to one or more external sensors including but not limited to weather, tire location, tire wear, pavement condition, whether the automatic tire inflation system has been activated, and/or whether one or more other vehicle systems have been activated, such as cruise control, etc. Based on one or more of the cold inflation tire pressure 1036, the ideal operating pressure 1040, and/or the external sensor readings1044, an adjusted ideal operating tire pressure 1048 may be calculated, generated, or otherwise determined by a controller, such as the controller 616, 712, 812, and/or 924.):
obtain a tire report signal from an actuator system via the signal interface, wherein the tire report signal is indicative of a current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities (see at least Smith, para. [0059]: The method 1400 may proceed to 1416 where a current or otherwise recent tire pressure maybe received. For example, the tire pressure sensor 612, 740, 848, and/or 924 may provide a current, recent-in-time, periodic, or otherwise real-time tire pressure for a tire of the vehicle, such as tractor108 and/or the trailer 112. In some examples, the current or otherwise recent tire pressure may correspond to a selected tire 1016 at the user interface 1004.);
determine one or more requested tire objective(s) based on the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities, wherein each of the tire objective(s) indicates a tire property which is controllable by the actuator system (see at least Smith, para. [0059]: The method 1400 may proceed to 1420,where the tire pressure received at 1416 may be compared to a desired operating tire pressure. In some instances, the desired operating tire pressure may be specific to a tire; in other instances, the desired operating tire pressure may be generated or otherwise determined for one or more tires of the vehicle, such as tractor 108 and/or trailer 112. If, at 1420, the tire pressure received at 1416 is less than the desired operating tire pressure, the method may proceed to 1424, where one or more regulators, and/or valves, may be modulated to provide an increase in air pressure to the desired tire.); and
provide a tire control signal to the actuator system via the signal interface, wherein the tire control signal is indicative of the one or more requested tire objective(s) (see at least Smith, para. [0059-0060]: The method 1400 may proceed to 1428, where the tire pressure received at 1416 may be compared to a desired operating tire pressure. In examples, the tire pressure may be received at operation 1416 periodically, and the received tire pressure may be compared to the desired operating tire pressure each time that it is received. In some instances, the desired operating tire pressure maybe specific to a tire; in other instances, the desired operating tire pressure may be generated or otherwise determined for one or more tires of the vehicle, such as tractor 108 and/or trailer 112 as previously discussed. If, at 1428, the tire pressure received at 1416 is greater than the desired operating tire pressure, the method may proceed to 1432, where one or more regulators, and/or valves, may be modulated to release, or bleed, air from the specified tire to reduce the tire pressure to the desired operating pressure. As one non-limiting example, the controller 616 may cause the regulator or valve 632, or another regulator or valve, to open allowing pressurized air from the specified tire to escape from the tire.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mays to incorporate the teaching of a vehicle control system comprising the signal interface of claim 1 , and processing circuitry configured to: obtain a tire report signal from an actuator system via the signal interface, wherein the tire report signal is indicative of a current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities; determine one or more requested tire objective(s) based on the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities, wherein each of the tire objective(s) indicates a tire property which is controllable by the actuator system; and provide a tire control signal to the actuator system via the signal interface, wherein the tire control signal is indicative of the one or more requested tire objective(s) of Smith, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for improving performance, achieving ease, and/or reducing cost of implementation (see at least Smith, para. [0067]).
As per claim 7 Mays does not explicitly disclose
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the one or more requested tire objective(s) to lie within the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities
Smith teaches
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the one or more requested tire objective(s) to lie within the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities (see at least Smith, para. [0029]: Additionally, low rolling tire resistance characteristics of a tire may be achieved in instances where the tire is otherwise unable to achieve a desired operating pressure due to use alone, such as when the tire cannot heat up in the winter, the tire is wet, or other instances where the heat is drawn off too quickly to naturally cause an increase in tire pressure. Thus, in accordance with examples of the present disclosure, the automatic tire inflation system causes the tire to achieve the desired operating pressure immediately and to realize the reduction in tire rolling resistance from (or near) the start of a drive, rather than waiting the hour (or thereabouts) to heat up during normal operating conditions.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mays to incorporate the teaching of wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the one or more requested tire objective(s) to lie within the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities of Smith, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for improving performance, achieving ease, and/or reducing cost of implementation (see at least Smith, para. [0067]).
As per claim 10 Mays does not explicitly disclose
An actuator system comprising the signal interface of claim 1, one or more tire actuators configured to dynamically change tire properties, and processing circuitry configured to:
determine a current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities;
provide a tire report signal to a vehicle control system via the signal interface, wherein the tire report signal is indicative of the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities;
obtain a tire control signal from the vehicle control system via the signal interface, wherein the tire control signal is indicative of one or more requested tire objective(s) determined based on the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities, and wherein each of the tire objective(s) indicates a tire property which is controllable by the actuator system; and
use the one or more tire actuators to perform tire control according to the one or more requested tire objective(s).
Smith teaches
An actuator system comprising the signal interface of claim 1, one or more tire actuators configured to dynamically change tire properties (see at least Smith, para. [0042]: FIG. 10 depicts a user interface for interacting with one or more of the automatic tire inflation systems 604, 704, 804, and/or 904. The user interface 1004 may be displayed at a display of an instrument cluster for the vehicle, or on a desktop, laptop, tablet, smartphone, or other mobile device. The user interface 1004 may include a depiction 1008 of one or more tires of the vehicle, such as tractor 108 and trailer 112. In some examples, a user may interact with the depiction 1008 to select one or more tires, for example, 1016 as indicated by a selection indicator 1012… In some instance, the ideal operating pressure 1040 may be retrieved from storage or otherwise generated by a controller, such as the controller 616, 712, 812, and/or 924. In some instances, external sensor readings 1044 may be displayed at the user interface 1004. The external sensor readings may correspond to one or more external sensors including but not limited to weather, tire location, tire wear, pavement condition, whether the automatic tire inflation system has been activated, and/or whether one or more other vehicle systems have been activated, such as cruise control, etc. Based on one or more of the cold inflation tire pressure 1036, the ideal operating pressure 1040, and/or the external sensor readings1044, an adjusted ideal operating tire pressure 1048 may be calculated, generated, or otherwise determined by a controller, such as the controller 616, 712, 812, and/or 924.), and processing circuitry configured to:
determine a current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities (see at least Smith, para. [0055]: The method 1400 may then flow to 1412, where the one or more stored tire parameters may be retrieved and a desired operating tire pressure may be determined. For example, a stored tire parameter may correspond to a cold inflation tire pressure and/or an ideal operating tire pressure provided by the tire manufacturer or determined as a default based on ideal operating conditions. In examples, the desired operating tire pressure may comprise the ideal operating tire pressure. However, the ideal operating tire pressure may be based on assumptions of clear conditions, good tread left on the tires, and certain temperature ranges. In one non-limiting example, rather than retrieve the desired operating tire pressure, the method 1400 may determine a desired operating tire pressure that is different from the ideal operating pressure based on one or more retrieved tire parameters.);
provide a tire report signal to a vehicle control system via the signal interface, wherein the tire report signal is indicative of the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities (see at least Smith, para. [0059]: The method 1400 may proceed to 1416 where a current or otherwise recent tire pressure maybe received. For example, the tire pressure sensor 612, 740, 848, and/or 924 may provide a current, recent-in-time, periodic, or otherwise real-time tire pressure for a tire of the vehicle, such as tractor108 and/or the trailer 112. In some examples, the current or otherwise recent tire pressure may correspond to a selected tire 1016 at the user interface 1004.);
obtain a tire control signal from the vehicle control system via the signal interface, wherein the tire control signal is indicative of one or more requested tire objective(s) determined based on the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities, and wherein each of the tire objective(s) indicates a tire property which is controllable by the actuator system (see at least Smith, para. [0059]: The method 1400 may proceed to 1420,where the tire pressure received at 1416 may be compared to a desired operating tire pressure. In some instances, the desired operating tire pressure may be specific to a tire; in other instances, the desired operating tire pressure may be generated or otherwise determined for one or more tires of the vehicle, such as tractor 108 and/or trailer 112. If, at 1420, the tire pressure received at 1416 is less than the desired operating tire pressure, the method may proceed to 1424, where one or more regulators, and/or valves, may be modulated to provide an increase in air pressure to the desired tire.);); and
use the one or more tire actuators to perform tire control according to the one or more requested tire objective(s) (see at least Smith, para. [0059-0060]: The method 1400 may proceed to 1428, where the tire pressure received at 1416 may be compared to a desired operating tire pressure. In examples, the tire pressure may be received at operation 1416 periodically, and the received tire pressure may be compared to the desired operating tire pressure each time that it is received. In some instances, the desired operating tire pressure maybe specific to a tire; in other instances, the desired operating tire pressure may be generated or otherwise determined for one or more tires of the vehicle, such as tractor 108 and/or trailer 112 as previously discussed. If, at 1428, the tire pressure received at 1416 is greater than the desired operating tire pressure, the method may proceed to 1432, where one or more regulators, and/or valves, may be modulated to release, or bleed, air from the specified tire to reduce the tire pressure to the desired operating pressure. As one non-limiting example, the controller 616 may cause the regulator or valve 632, or another regulator or valve, to open allowing pressurized air from the specified tire to escape from the tire.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mays to incorporate the teaching of an actuator system comprising the signal interface of claim 1, one or more tire actuators configured to dynamically change tire properties, and processing circuitry configured to: determine a current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities; provide a tire report signal to a vehicle control system via the signal interface, wherein the tire report signal is indicative of the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities; obtain a tire control signal from the vehicle control system via the signal interface, wherein the tire control signal is indicative of one or more requested tire objective(s) determined based on the current status of dynamically variable tire objective(s) capabilities, and wherein each of the tire objective(s) indicates a tire property which is controllable by the actuator system; and use the one or more tire actuators to perform tire control according to the one or more requested tire objective(s) of Smith, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for improving performance, achieving ease, and/or reducing cost of implementation (see at least Smith, para. [0067]).
As per claim 11 Mays does not explicitly disclose
wherein at least one of the tire objective(s) indicates a tire property which is only indirectly controllable by the actuator system, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to transform the requested tire objective(s) to an indication of tire properties which is directly controllable by the actuator system.
Smith teaches
wherein at least one of the tire objective(s) indicates a tire property which is only indirectly controllable by the actuator system, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to transform the requested tire objective(s) to an indication of tire properties which is directly controllable by the actuator system (see at least Smith, para. [0029]: Additionally, low rolling tire resistance characteristics of a tire may be achieved in instances where the tire is otherwise unable to achieve a desired operating pressure due to use alone, such as when the tire cannot heat up in the winter, the tire is wet, or other instances where the heat is drawn off too quickly to naturally cause an increase in tire pressure. Thus, in accordance with examples of the present disclosure, the automatic tire inflation system causes the tire to achieve the desired operating pressure immediately and to realize the reduction in tire rolling resistance from (or near) the start of a drive, rather than waiting the hour (or thereabouts) to heat up during normal operating conditions.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mays to incorporate the teaching of wherein at least one of the tire objective(s) indicates a tire property which is only indirectly controllable by the actuator system, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to transform the requested tire objective(s) to an indication of tire properties which is directly controllable by the actuator system of Smith, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for improving performance, achieving ease, and/or reducing cost of implementation (see at least Smith, para. [0067]).
As per claim 12 Mays does not explicitly disclose
An arrangement for tire control of a vehicle, the arrangement comprising the vehicle control system of claim 6 and an actuator system, wherein the vehicle control system and the actuator system are configured to communicate with each other via the signal interface.
Smith teaches
An arrangement for tire control of a vehicle, the arrangement comprising the vehicle control system of claim 6 and an actuator system, wherein the vehicle control system and the actuator system are configured to communicate with each other via the signal interface (see at least Smith, para. [0042]: FIG. 10 depicts a user interface for interacting with one or more of the automatic tire inflation systems 604, 704, 804, and/or 904. The user interface 1004 may be displayed at a display of an instrument cluster for the vehicle, or on a desktop, laptop, tablet, smartphone, or other mobile device. The user interface 1004 may include a depiction 1008 of one or more tires of the vehicle, such as tractor 108 and trailer 112. In some examples, a user may interact with the depiction 1008 to select one or more tires, for example, 1016 as indicated by a selection indicator 1012…In examples, the ideal operating pressure 1040 may comprise the desired operating tire pressure corresponding to 412 and/or 512. In some instance, the ideal operating pressure 1040 may be retrieved from storage or otherwise generated by a controller, such as the controller 616, 712, 812, and/or 924. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mays to incorporate the teaching of an arrangement for tire control of a vehicle, the arrangement comprising the vehicle control system of claim 6 and an actuator system, wherein the vehicle control system and the actuator system are configured to communicate with each other via the signal interface of Smith, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for improving performance, achieving ease, and/or reducing cost of implementation (see at least Smith, para. [0067]).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mays, in view of Smith, in view of Okubo.
As per claim 8 Mays does not explicitly disclose
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine a priority among the requested tire objective(s)
Okubo teaches
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine a priority among the requested tire objective(s) (see at least Okubo, para. [0196-0197]: The front tire temperature Tf and the rear tire temperature Tr that are targeted in the tire temperature control are not limited to those described by referring to FIG. 22. For example, the target tire temperature may be determined corresponding to performance with high priority such as stability or maneuverability. This priority may be variable, for example, corresponding to running environment, a running mode, and a similar parameter. The running environment includes, for example, slope of a runway, ambient temperature, a road surface temperature, weather, a curve, a highway, and a similar parameter. The running mode includes, for example, a fuel economy priority mode with high priority to fuel economy, a sports mode that is appropriate for sports running, and a similar mode….In the case where maneuverability has high priority, the front tire temperature Tf and the rear tire temperature Tr may be cooled to lower temperatures compared with the case where maneuverability has low priority, or the predetermined temperature difference Td may be decreased. In the case where stability has high priority, the predetermined temperature difference Td may be larger compared with the case where stability has low priority.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mays to incorporate the teaching of wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine a priority among the requested tire objective(s) of Okubo, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improve running performance of the vehicle (see at least Okubo, para. [0013]).
As per claim 9 Mays does not explicitly disclose
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the one or more requested tire objective(s) further based on a motion request and/or a driving mode
Okubo teaches
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the one or more requested tire objective(s) further based on a motion request and/or a driving mode (see at least Okubo, para. [0196-0197]: The front tire temperature Tf and the rear tire temperature Tr that are targeted in the tire temperature control are not limited to those described by referring to FIG. 22. For example, the target tire temperature may be determined corresponding to performance with high priority such as stability or maneuverability. This priority may be variable, for example, corresponding to running environment, a running mode, and a similar parameter. The running environment includes, for example, slope of a runway, ambient temperature, a road surface temperature, weather, a curve, a highway, and a similar parameter. The running mode includes, for example, a fuel economy priority mode with high priority to fuel economy, a sports mode that is appropriate for sports running, and a similar mode….In the case where maneuverability has high priority, the front tire temperature Tf and the rear tire temperature Tr may be cooled to lower temperatures compared with the case where maneuverability has low priority, or the predetermined temperature difference Td may be decreased. In the case where stability has high priority, the predetermined temperature difference Td may be larger compared with the case where stability has low priority.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mays to incorporate the teaching of wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the one or more requested tire objective(s) further based on a motion request and/or a driving mode of Okubo, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improve running performance of the vehicle (see at least Okubo, para. [0013]).
Conclusion
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668