DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "rotary drive source", "working device", and "work detector" in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (JP 2000303872) in view of Sohn (US 20160040610).
Claim 1.
With respect to Fig. 1 below, Takahashi teaches:
Figure 1: Engine speed over time according to the system of Takahashi (originally Takahashi Fig. 2)
a machine body
(Takahashi – [0001]) “an engine control device for hydraulic construction machinery such as a hydraulic excavator”
a rotary drive source
(Takahashi – [0008]) “an engine mounted on a support frame”
a hydraulic device to be actuated by power generated by the rotary drive source
(Takahashi – [0008]) “a hydraulic pump driven by the engine”
a working device to be actuated by a hydraulic pressure of hydraulic fluid supplied from the hydraulic device
(Takahashi – [0008]) “a plurality of actuators supplied with pressurized oil discharged from the hydraulic pump”
a controller configured or programmed to, when an elapsed time period which starts when the working device enters a non-actuated state reaches a first threshold, reduce a rotational speed of the rotary drive source to a reduced rotational speed obtained by subtracting a predetermined value from a set rotational speed at a time immediately before the elapsed time period reaches the first threshold or from an actual rotational speed
(Takahashi – [0014]) “when a predetermined time
Δ
T1 has elapsed since all the operating levers 5 were in the neutral position, the auto idle command output means 7 outputs a first low-speed rotation command to the engine 1.”
as the elapsed time period exceeds the first threshold and further increases, reduce the rotational speed of the rotary drive source from the reduced rotational speed to an idling rotational speed in accordance with the elapsed time period in a stepwise or continuous manner
(Takahashi – [0015]) “when a predetermined time
Δ
T2 has elapsed while the primary low-speed rotation state described above is maintained, a second low-speed rotation command is output from the auto idle command input means to the engine 1”
While Takahashi teaches a process based on non-actuation of the working device, Takahashi does not explicitly teach a work detector; however, Sohn teaches:
a work detector to detect whether or not the working device is actuated
(Sohn – [0013]) “a first on/off signal of a lever 12, based on which an operation of construction equipment may be determined”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the auto-idle equipped engine control device of Takahashi with the work detector of Sohn. Both Takahashi and Sohn are directed to the same goal of controlling an engine using an auto-idle function; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the work detector of Sohn could be used in the engine control device of Takahashi with predictable results.
Claim 2.
The combination of Takahashi and Sohn teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Takahashi further teaches:
a manual operator to be operated to control the working device
(Takahashi – [0012]) “a plurality of operating levers 5 provided corresponding to each actuator 4”
While Takahashi teaches controlling the engine based on the levers being in idle, Takahashi does not explicitly teach detecting whether the working device is actuated; however, Sohn teaches:
the work detector is operable to detect whether or not the working device is actuated based on the operation of the manual operator
(Sohn – [0013]) “a first on/off signal of a lever 12, based on which an operation of construction equipment may be determined”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings for the reasons given in discussion of claim 1.
Claim 3.
The combination of Takahashi and Sohn teaches all the limitations of claim 2, as discussed above. With respect to Fig. 1 above, Takahashi further teaches:
a rotational speed operation actuator to be operated to set the set rotational speed
(Takahashi – [0009]) “a controller for controlling the rotational speed of the engine in accordance with the control commands from the operation command means.”
the controller is configured or programmed to control the rotational speed of the rotary drive source at the set rotational speed by operating the rotational speed operation actuator in a case that the elapsed time period is less than the first threshold
(Takahashi – [0014]) “when a predetermined time
Δ
T1 has elapsed since all the operating levers 5 were in the neutral position, the auto idle command output means 7 outputs a first low-speed rotation command to the engine 1.”
[Examiner’s Note: As seen in Fig. 1 above, the rotational speed operates at a fixed value before the first predetermined time
Δ
T1 has elapsed.]
reduce the rotational speed of the rotary drive source from the set rotational speed to the reduced rotational speed when the elapsed time period reaches the first threshold
(Takahashi – [0014]) “when a predetermined time
Δ
T1 has elapsed since all the operating levers 5 were in the neutral position, the auto idle command output means 7 outputs a first low-speed rotation command to the engine 1.”
Claim 5.
The combination of Takahashi and Sohn teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. With respect to Fig. 1 above, Takahashi further teaches:
after the elapsed time period reaches the first threshold and the rotational speed of the rotary drive source is reduced to the reduced rotational speed, maintain the rotational speed of the rotary drive source at the reduced rotational speed until the elapsed time period reaches a second threshold greater than the first threshold
(Takahashi – [0015]) “when a predetermined time
Δ
T2 has elapsed while the primary low-speed rotation state described above is maintained, a second low-speed rotation command is output from the auto idle command input means to the engine 1”
[Examiner’s Note: As seen in Fig. 1 above, the speed is maintained between the lapsing of first predetermined time
Δ
T1 and second predetermined time
Δ
T2.]
when the elapsed time period reaches the second threshold, further reduce the rotational speed of the rotary drive source from the reduced rotational speed
(Takahashi – [0015]) “when a predetermined time
Δ
T2 has elapsed while the primary low-speed rotation state described above is maintained, a second low-speed rotation command is output from the auto idle command input means to the engine 1”
Claim 6.
The combination of Takahashi and Sohn teaches all the limitations of claim 5, as discussed above. With respect to Fig. 1 above, Takahashi further teaches:
the controller is configured or programmed to reduce the rotational speed of the rotary drive source to the idling rotational speed in a stepwise or continuous manner after the elapsed time period reaches the second threshold
(Takahashi – [0015]) “when a predetermined time
Δ
T2 has elapsed while the primary low-speed rotation state described above is maintained, a second low-speed rotation command is output from the auto idle command input means to the engine 1”
Claim 7.
The combination of Takahashi and Sohn teaches all the limitations of claim 6, as discussed above. Sohn further teaches:
the idling rotational speed is a rotational speed of the rotary drive source for a case where the working device does not perform work, and the rotary drive source driven at the idling rotational speed does not generate enough power to cause the hydraulic device to actuate the working device
(Sohn – [0096]) “an engine speed in a no-load (idle) state”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the reasons given in discussion of claim 1.
Claim 8.
The combination of Takahashi and Sohn teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. With respect to Fig. 1 above, Takahashi further teaches:
when the controller determines that the manual operator is operated when the elapsed time period is equal to or greater than the first threshold, control the rotational speed of the rotary drive source to the set rotational speed at a time immediately before the elapsed time period reaches the first threshold
(Takahashi – [0015]) “when at least one of the control levers 5 is operated, the secondary low-speed rotation state is released in response to the control command from this control lever 5, and the rotational speed of the engine 1 rises again to full speed.”
Claim 9.
The combination of Takahashi and Sohn teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Takahashi further teaches:
the rotary drive source is an electric motor to be driven by electric power or an engine to be driven by burning fuel
(Takahashi – [0013]) “a fuel control lever (not shown) for setting the rotational speed of the engine”
Claim 10.
Rejected by the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Takahashi and Sohn as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Nakagawa et al. (US 6277050).
Claim 4.
The combination of Takahashi and Sohn teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. With respect to Fig. 1 above, Takahashi further teaches:
the controller is configured or programmed to, when the elapsed time period reaches the first threshold, reduce the rotational speed of the rotary drive source to the reduced rotational speed from a rotational speed of the rotary drive source detected by the rotational speed detector immediately before the elapsed time period reaches the first threshold
(Takahashi – [0014]) “when a predetermined time
Δ
T1 has elapsed since all the operating levers 5 were in the neutral position, the auto idle command output means 7 outputs a first low-speed rotation command to the engine 1.”
While Takahashi teaches controlling the rotational speed of the engine, Takahashi does not explicitly teach detecting the engine rotational speed. However, Nakagawa et al. teaches:
a rotational speed detector to detect the rotational speed of the rotary drive source
(Nakagawa – Col. 3, lines 12-13) “engine speed detecting means for detecting the speed of an engine”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the engine control system of Takahashi with the engine speed detector of Nakagawa et al. Both Takahashi and Nakagawa et al. are directed towards control of an engine with an auto-idle function; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the engine speed detector of Nakagawa et al. could be used in the engine control system of Takahashi with predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Song (KR 102040331) teaches an engine control system having an auto-idle function which has a “low idle” mode entered into between an idle mode and an engine cut-off.
/S.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669