Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (lDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya et al. (US 20200007756 A1, hereinafter “Tsuchiya”), in view of Ono; Tadayoshi (US 20190235743 A1, hereinafter “Ono”).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuchiya teaches an electronic device (Figs. 1-2, [0025]: an image pickup apparatus 100) comprising:
a display which provides a preview (Fig. 1, [0033]: A display unit 103 includes a thin-film transistor drive type liquid crystal display unit (TFT type LCD) capable of displaying a display image signal based on an image signal acquired by the image sensor 101.);
a camera including an image sensor (Figs. 1-2, [0027]: an image sensor 101 provided inside the image pickup apparatus 100);
a memory which stores instructions (Figs. 1-2, [0050]: Program diagrams prestored in a memory 106 differ according to the image capturing mode and exposure condition changes, and are changed by the system control unit 104 in accordance with the change of the image capturing mode by the user.);
and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the display, the camera, and the memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively (Fig. 2, [0025]&[0039]: One or more function blocks implemented by hardware such as an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) and a programmable logic array (PLA) or implemented when a programmable processor such as a central processing unit (CPU) and a microprocessing unit (MPU) executes software.), cause the electronic device to:
display a shooting setting including at least one first set value and a second set value through the display ([0044]: An image capturing mode display portion 301 displays the image capturing mode selected by the image capturing mode selection unit 109. A shutter speed display portion 302 displays the shutter speed selected by the user or the shutter speed determined by the system control unit 104. An aperture value display portion 303 displays the aperture value selected by the user or the aperture value determined by the system control unit 104. An ISO sensitivity display portion 304 displays the ISO sensitivity selected by the user or the ISO sensitivity determined by the system control unit 104. More specifically, the display unit 103 is capable of displaying setting items for the exposure control values.),
change the at least one first set value which determines a shutter speed when the second set valuewhich determines strength of a neural density (ND) filter ([0122]: if the image pickup apparatus 100 or the interchangeable lens 200 includes a light attenuation unit for attenuating the light amount incident to the image sensor 101, such as a normal density (ND) filter, the image pickup apparatus 100 may be configured to perform exposure control in consideration of an exposure control value related to the density of the ND filter.) is changed by a user input (Figs. 3-7, [0043]-[0044]: An image capturing mode display portion 301 displays the image capturing mode selected by the image capturing mode selection unit 109. A shutter speed display portion 302 displays the shutter speed selected by the user or the shutter speed determined by the system control unit 104. An aperture value display portion 303 displays the aperture value selected by the user or the aperture value determined by the system control unit 104. An ISO sensitivity display portion 304 displays the ISO sensitivity selected by the user or the ISO sensitivity determined by the system control unit 104. More specifically, the display unit 103 is capable of displaying setting items for the exposure control values. A graphical user interface (GUI) including various function icons related to exposure control is displayed in a display screen on the display unit 103.), and display the changed shooting setting through the display along with the preview (Figs. 3-7, [0046]: a display example when the user is currently changing an exposure control value. A predetermined icon is displayed to the left of the exposure control value currently being changed by the user. FIG. 4C illustrate an example case where the user is currently changing the shutter speed.).
Tsuchiya does not teach explicitly the second set value which determines strength of a neural density (ND) filter.
However, Ono discloses wherein the second set value which determines strength of a neural density (ND) filter (Figs. 5, [0032], [0045],[0087]&[0099]: system control unit 50 also controls display on a display unit 28. Furthermore, the system control unit 50 controls the imaging lens 103, the diaphragm 101, the ND filter 104, the imaging unit 22, and the like using luminance information of a captured image calculated by the image processing 1unit 24, various evaluation values, and the like, so as to execute AE and AF.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the second set value which determines strength of a neural density (ND) filter as taught by Ono into Tsuchiya image device. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to allow change of a reference value of proper exposure, and allows the user to easily set brightness of an image that is shot (Ono: [0008]).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuchiya and Ono combination teaches the electronic device of claim 1, in addition Tsuchiya discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: change the second set value when the at least one first set value is changed by the user input (Figs. 3-7, [0043]-[0044]: An image capturing mode display portion 301 displays the image capturing mode selected by the image capturing mode selection unit 109. A shutter speed display portion 302 displays the shutter speed selected by the user or the shutter speed determined by the system control unit 104. An aperture value display portion 303 displays the aperture value selected by the user or the aperture value determined by the system control unit 104. An ISO sensitivity display portion 304 displays the ISO sensitivity selected by the user or the ISO sensitivity determined by the system control unit 104. More specifically, the display unit 103 is capable of displaying setting items for the exposure control values. A graphical user interface (GUI) including various function icons related to exposure control is displayed in a display screen on the display unit 103.).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuchiya and Ono combination teaches the electronic device of claim 1, in addition Tsuchiya discloses wherein the at least one first set value includes the shutter speed and sensitivity (ISO) of the image sensor, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: determine an exposure value, based on the shutter speed and the sensitivity, and display the exposure value through the display (Figs. 3-7, [0043]-[0044]: An image capturing mode display portion 301 displays the image capturing mode selected by the image capturing mode selection unit 109. A shutter speed display portion 302 displays the shutter speed selected by the user or the shutter speed determined by the system control unit 104. An aperture value display portion 303 displays the aperture value selected by the user or the aperture value determined by the system control unit 104. An ISO sensitivity display portion 304 displays the ISO sensitivity selected by the user or the ISO sensitivity determined by the system control unit 104. More specifically, the display unit 103 is capable of displaying setting items for the exposure control values. A graphical user interface (GUI) including various function icons related to exposure control is displayed in a display screen on the display unit 103.).
Regarding claim 4, Tsuchiya and Ono combination teaches the electronic device of claim 3, in addition Tsuchiya discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to:
obtain the exposure value when the at least one first set value is changed by the user input (Figs. 3-7, [0054] In step S102, the system control unit 104 determines whether any exposure control value is changed to a fixed value by the user.),
and adjust brightness of the preview, based on the exposure value and the second set value (Figs. 3-7, [0055]: In step S103, the system control unit 104 changes the internal image capturing mode based on the user-set fixed value. In a case where any one exposure control value is automatically settable, the system control unit 104 sets the corresponding program diagrams based on the exposure control value set to a fixed value.).
Regarding claims 12-15, Method claims 12-15 are drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in respective claims 1-4. Therefore, method claims 12-15 correspond to apparatus in respective claims 1-4 and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 5-6 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya and Ono combination as applied above, in view of SHIMADA et al. (US 20230005241 A1, hereinafter “SHIMADA”).
Regarding claim 5, Tsuchiya and Ono combination teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, except further cause the electronic device to: increase a set value of the shutter speed when the second set value increases based on the user input, and decrease the set value of the shutter speed when the second set value decreases based on the user input.
However, SHIMADA discloses further cause the electronic device to: increase a set value of the shutter speed when the second set value increases based on the user input, and decrease the set value of the shutter speed when the second set value decreases based on the user input (as illustrated by Figs. 4-7, [0093]&[0125]: First, the set value of the variable ND filter 13 is changed such that the estimated exposure fluctuation range is included in the settable range of the variable ND filter 13. That is, the currently set decreasing rate of the light amount is changed. After the set value of the variable ND filter 13 is changed, other exposure control amounts are changed. That is, the F number, the shutter speed, and the imaging sensitivity are changed under the newly set decreasing rate of the light amount such that the desired brightness is obtained.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate increase a set value of the shutter speed when the second set value increases based on the user input, and decrease the set value of the shutter speed when the second set value decreases based on the user input as taught by SHIMADA into Tsuchiya and Ono combination. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to provides an imaging apparatus capable of continuously imaging a natural video even though brightness is changed (SHIMADA: [0004]).
Regarding claim 6, Tsuchiya and Ono combination teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, except further cause the electronic device to: when the second set value is first strength, display a first selection range corresponding to the first set value on the display in response to detecting a user input for selecting the first set value, detect that the second set value is changed from the first strength to second strength by the user input, and when the second set value is the second strength, display a second selection range corresponding to the first set value on the display in response to detecting the user input for selecting the first set value.
However, SHIMADA discloses when the second set value is first strength, display a first selection range corresponding to the first set value on the display in response to detecting a user input for selecting the first set value, detect that the second set value is changed from the first strength to second strength by the user input, and when the second set value is the second strength, display a second selection range corresponding to the first set value on the display in response to detecting the user input for selecting the first set value (as illustrated by Figs. 4-7, [0068], [0093]&[0125]: The settable range R of the variable ND filter 13 is a range where the control range of the variable ND filter 13 can be applied. In regard to the settable range R of the variable ND filter 13, a settable range Ra in a direction (a direction to be brightened) in which the decreasing rate is lowered and a settable range Rb in a direction (a direction to be darkened) in which the decreasing rate is raised are obtained with a current set value N (the currently set decreasing rate of the light amount) as a reference. In a case where the movable range of the variable ND filter 13 is ¼ to 1/128, a range of ¼ to N is the settable range Ra in the direction in which the decreasing rate is lowered, and a range of N to 1/128 is the settable range Rb in the direction in which the decreasing rate is raised. The settable range R of the variable ND filter 13 is an example of a second exposure condition range.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate when the second set value is first strength, display a first selection range corresponding to the first set value on the display in response to detecting a user input for selecting the first set value, detect that the second set value is changed from the first strength to second strength by the user input, and when the second set value is the second strength, display a second selection range corresponding to the first set value on the display in response to detecting the user input for selecting the first set value as taught by SHIMADA into Tsuchiya and Ono combination. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to provides an imaging apparatus capable of continuously imaging a natural video even though brightness is changed (SHIMADA: [0004]).
Regarding claims 16-17, Method claims 16-17 are drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in respective claims 5-6. Therefore, method claims 16-17 correspond to apparatus in respective claims 5-6 and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact
/ABDELAAZIZ TISSIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638