DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on July 1, 2026 has been received and entered. Claims 1-3, 7, 16-18 and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Amendment made to the instant specification has been received and acknowledged.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of Patent 12,346,225.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the inventions are obvious variants. Claim 1 of the Instant application substantially recites the limitations of claim 1 of Patent 12,346,225 as shown in comparison table below.
Instant Application
Patent 12,346,225
1. A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, by a computing system, a request to create a restored storage volume using a storage volume identifier for a storage volume , a first storage volume sequence number corresponding to the storage volume identifier and associated with a first snapshot, and a
second storage volume sequence number corresponding to the storage volume identifier and associated with a second snapshot, wherein the first snapshot is a first point-in-time capture of the storage volume, and wherein the second snapshot is a second point-in-time capture of the storage volume that occurs after the first point-in-time capture;
determining, by the computing system, whether the second storage volume sequence number is indicative of the storage volume having been altered after the first snapshot was generated; and
responsive to the determination by the computing system, creating the restored storage volume using at least one of: the first snapshot or the second snapshot.
1. A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, by a computing system, a request to create a restored block volume using a first manifest, the first manifest comprising: (i) a block identifier for a block and (ii) a first block sequence number corresponding to the block identifier and associated with a first snapshot, and (iii) a manifest identifier;
receiving, by the computing system, the request to create the restored block volume using a second manifest, the second manifest comprising: (i) the block identifier for the block, (ii) a second block sequence number corresponding to the block identifier and associated with a second snapshot;
determining, by the computing system, whether the second block sequence number is indicative of the block having been altered after the first manifest was generated; and
responsive to the determination by the computing system, creating the restored block volume.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar in scope and they use the same limitations.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to omit the additional elements “the table has been partitioned into a plurality of column chunks by independently partitioning each column of the table into two or more column chunks based on a predetermined partitioning policy, the predetermined partitioning policy comprising information related to the number of column chunks into which the each column of the table should be partitioned;” of claims 1 of Patent 12,346,225 to arrive at the claim 1 of the Instant application because the person would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. “Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before.” See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U. S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meadowcroft et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0308762) in view of Okada et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2007/0198604).
Referring to claim 1, Meadowcroft et al. teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, by a computing system, a request to create a restored storage volume using a storage volume identifier for a storage volume (The user request instructs in-place recovery system 334 to restore a particular virtual machine in a primary storage platform to a version corresponding to a first point in time, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 76, wherein a first point in time is interpreted as a storage volume identifier), a first storage volume sequence number corresponding to the storage volume identifier and associated with a first snapshot (At operation 504, the in-place recovery system 334 identifies a first snapshot of the virtual machine based on the user request. The identification may be based on a sequence number assigned to the first snapshot in the request, … , the sequence number refers to the first snapshot being captured at the first point in time, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 77);
determining, by the computing system, whether the second storage volume sequence number is indicative of the storage volume having been altered after the first snapshot was generated (identifies a second data block in the second snapshot that includes modified data derived from, or based on, the data content of a first data block in the first snapshot, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 78).
However, Meadowcroft et al. does not explicitly teach
a second storage volume sequence number corresponding to the storage volume identifier and associated with a second snapshot, wherein the first snapshot is a first point-in-time capture of the storage volume, and wherein the second snapshot is a second point-in-time capture of the storage volume that occurs after the first point-in-time capture;
responsive to the determination by the computing system, creating the restored storage volume using at least one of: the first snapshot or the second snapshot.
Okada et al. teaches
a second storage volume sequence number corresponding to the storage volume identifier and associated with a second snapshot, wherein the first snapshot is a first point-in-time capture of the storage volume, and wherein the second snapshot is a second point-in-time capture of the storage volume that occurs after the first point-in-time capture (a request to the storage apparatus 1000 to obtain a snapshot and recover data at a specific point in time, see Okada et al., Para. 59. The sequence counter 5002 section stores a number with which the sequence of journal creation and snapshot acquisition is managed. Each time a journal is created in relation to a write request from the host computer 1100, one is added to the value by the CPU 1023, …, each time a snapshot is obtained, the number is copied by the CPU 1023 to a sequence number 8003 section in a snapshot group table 8000, see Okada et al., Para. 74, when performing recovery by applying After-journals to a specified snapshot, the CPU 1023 applies, to the base snapshot, journals having sequence numbers larger than that of the specified snapshot and smaller than that of the journal having the designated recovery point, according to the sequence numbers, see Okada et al., Para. 75);
responsive to the determination by the computing system, creating the restored storage volume using at least one of: the first snapshot or the second snapshot (when performing recovery by applying After-journals to a specified snapshot, the CPU 1023 applies, to the base snapshot, journals having sequence numbers larger than that of the specified snapshot and smaller than that of the journal having the designated recovery point, according to the sequence numbers, see Okada et al., Para. 75).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Meadowcroft et al., to have a second storage volume sequence number corresponding to the storage volume identifier and associated with a second snapshot, wherein the first snapshot is a first point-in-time capture of the storage volume, and wherein the second snapshot is a second point-in-time capture of the storage volume that occurs after the first point-in-time capture; responsive to the determination by the computing system, creating the restored storage volume using at least one of: the first snapshot or the second snapshot, as taught by Okada et al., to provide a computer system that is able to recover data at an arbitrary point in time (Okada et al., Para. 10).
As to claim 2, Meadowcroft et al. teaches comparing the second storage volume sequence number to a manifest identifier (Each file that has been added, deleted, or modified since a previous snapshot was captured may be determined using the metadata ( e.g., by comparing the time at which a file was last modified with a time associated with the previous snapshot), see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 66); and determining whether the second storage volume sequence number was changed after the first snapshot was generated (At operation 508, the in-place recovery system 334 identifies a second data block in the second snapshot that includes modified data derived from, or based on, the data content of a first data block in the first snapshot, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 78, each snapshot is identified by a sequence number, as a unique identifier , see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 78). As to claim 3, Meadowcroft et al. teaches
comparing the first storage volume sequence number to the second storage volume sequence number (each snapshot is identified by a sequence number, as a unique identifier, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 78. Because “a sequence number, as a unique identifier”, so that “the first storage volume sequence number” is different from “the second storage volume sequence number”). As to claim 4, Meadowcroft et al. as modified teaches creating the restored storage volume using one of: (i) the first snapshot or (ii) the second snapshot (performing recovery by applying After-journals to a specified snapshot, the CPU 1023 applies, to the base snapshot, journals having sequence numbers larger than that of the specified snapshot and smaller than that of the journal having the designated recovery point, according to the sequence numbers, see Okada et al., Para. 75). As to claim 5, Meadowcroft et al. as modified teaches (i) the first snapshot or (ii) the second snapshot further comprises: creating the restored storage volume using one of: (i) a first portion of the first snapshot or (ii) a second portion of the second snapshot (performing recovery by applying After-journals to a specified snapshot, the CPU 1023 applies, to the base snapshot, journals having sequence numbers larger than that of the specified snapshot and smaller than that of the journal having the designated recovery point, according to the sequence numbers, see Okada et al., Para. 75). As to claim 7, Meadowcroft et al. as modified teaches determining whether the second storage volume sequence number is greater than the storage volume identifier (when performing recovery by applying After-journals to a specified snapshot, the CPU 1023 applies, to the base snapshot, journals having sequence numbers larger than that of the specified snapshot and smaller than that of the journal having the designated recovery point, according to the sequence numbers, see Okada et al., Para. 75). As to claim 8, Meadowcroft et al. as modified teaches determining whether the second storage volume sequence number was changed after the first snapshot was generated indicates that the second snapshot associated with the storage volume identifier includes a more recent write operation to the storage volume (allow the server 200 to read and/or modify data associated with the point-in-time version of the virtual machine, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 35, a second data block in the second snapshot that includes modified data derived from, or based on, the data content of a first data block in the first snapshot, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 78). As to claim 9, Meadowcroft et al. teaches the first snapshot is a point-in-time capture of the storage volume (The user request instructs in-place recovery system 334 to restore a particular virtual machine in a primary storage platform to a version corresponding to a first point in time, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 76) and the second storage volume sequence number is at least one of: a number, a character, or a hash value (the sequence number refers to the first snapshot being captured at the first point in time, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 77). As to claim 10, Meadowcroft et al. teaches updating the storage volume, allocating the storage volume, or deallocating the storage volume (allow the server 200 to read and/or modify data associated with the point-in-time version of the virtual machine, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 35, a second data block in the second snapshot that includes modified data derived from, or based on, the data content of a first data block in the first snapshot, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 78). As to claim 11, Meadowcroft et al. teaches reading the storage volume (allow the server 200 to read and/or modify data associated with the point-in-time version of the virtual machine, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 35) to detect that the storage volume has been altered (identifies a second data block in the second snapshot that includes modified data derived from, or based on, the data content of a first data block in the first snapshot, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 78); and generating the second storage volume sequence number based at least in part on the first storage volume sequence number (each snapshot is identified by a sequence number, as a unique identifier, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 78). As to claim 12, Meadowcroft et al. as modified teaches the first storage volume sequence number is based at least in part on a previously generated storage volume sequence number (The sequence counter 5002 section stores a number with which the sequence of journal creation and snapshot acquisition is managed. Each time a journal is created in relation to a write request from the host computer 1100, one is added to the value by the CPU 1023, operating according to the storage micro program 1028, and the value obtained from the addition is copied to a journal sequence number 10005 section, which will be described later. Moreover, each time a snapshot is obtained, the number is copied by the CPU 1023 to a sequence number 8003 section in a snapshot group table 8000, see Okada et al., Para. 74), and wherein the second snapshot is a remotely stored snapshot (the in-place recovery system 334 may be a software-level component of a storage appliance 300 in a networked computing environment 100, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 51. The server 200, storage device 108, and storage appliance 300 may be in communication with each other via a networking fabric connecting servers, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 23). As to claim 13, Meadowcroft et al. as modified teaches receiving, by the computing system, a second request for a set of blocks included in the restored storage volume (a request to the storage apparatus 1000 to obtain a snapshot and recover data at a specific point in time, see Okada et al., Para. 59, when performing recovery by applying After-journals to a specified snapshot, the CPU 1023 applies, to the base snapshot, journals having sequence numbers larger than that of the specified snapshot and smaller than that of the journal having the designated recovery point, according to the sequence numbers, see Okada et al., Para. 75). Referring to claim 16, Meadowcroft et al. teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (processor 112, memory 114, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 27) storing a plurality of instructions executable by one or more processors of a storage volume restore system, the plurality of instructions cause, when executed by thenar more processors of the storage volume restore system, the one or more processors to perform operations, which recites the corresponding limitations as set forth in claim 1 above; therefore, it is rejected under the same subject matter.
Claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale as stated in the claim 2 rejection.
Claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale as stated in the claim 3 rejection.
Claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale as stated in the claims 4 and 5 rejection.
Referring to claim 20, Meadowcroft et al. teaches a block volume restore system, comprising: one or more data processors; and a computer-readable storage medium (processor 112, memory 114, see Meadowcroft et al., Para. 27) comprising instructions that, when executed on the one or more data processors, cause the one or more data processors to perform operations, which recites the corresponding limitations as set forth in claim 1 above; therefore, it is rejected under the same subject matter.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meadowcroft et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0308762) in view of Okada et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2007/0198604) as applied to claims 1-5, 7-13 and 16-20 above, and in further view of Zheng et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 8,504,529).
As to claim 6, Meadowcroft et al. as modified does not explicitly teach creating an empty storage volume.
However, Zheng et al. teaches creating an empty storage volume (generates an empty file for each individual file in the backup image,…, determine the restored data blocks to associate with the direct blocks for the empty files, see Zheng et al., Col. 13, lines 12-18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Meadowcroft et al. as modified, to have creating an empty storage volume, as taught by Zheng et al., to provides the advantages of block-level backup, such as retaining deduplication, while also being compatible with upgraded or modified file system software (Zheng et al., Col. 1, lines 65-67).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meadowcroft et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0308762) in view of Okada et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2007/0198604) as applied to claims 1-5, 7-13 and 16-20 above, and in further view of Manley et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2003/0182330).
As to claim 14, Meadowcroft et al. as modified does not explicitly teach the second storage volume sequence number is a predetermined value in accordance with the storage volume being deallocated or the storage volume being unallocated.
However, Manley et al. teaches the second storage volume sequence number is a predetermined value in accordance with the storage volume being deallocated or the storage volume being unallocated (It also allows the system to track changes in which a file is deleted and its inode number is reassigned to a newly created file, see Manley et al., Para. 21. The reference teaches an unused reference number can be reused for a new instance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Meadowcroft et al. as modified, to have the second storage volume sequence number is a predetermined value in accordance with the storage volume being deallocated or the storage volume being unallocated, as taught by Manley et al., to improve reliability and facilitate disaster recovery in the event of a failure of a filer (Manley et al., Para. 14).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meadowcroft et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0308762) in view of Okada et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2007/0198604) as applied to claims 1-5, 7-13 and 16-20 above, and in further view of Hohl et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2017/0060699).
As to claim 15, Meadowcroft et al. as modified does not explicitly teach the first storage volume sequence number corresponds to the second storage volume sequence number in accordance with the first storage volume sequence number and the second storage volume sequence number being associated with a same storage volume identifier that corresponds to a same storage volume.
However, Hohl et al. teaches the first storage volume sequence number corresponds to the second storage volume sequence number in accordance with the first storage volume sequence number and the second storage volume sequence number being associated with a same storage volume identifier that corresponds to a same storage volume (each recovery path including log backups that are associated with a different full backup. For a restore operation or any similar operation such as cloning a database, a user can select a desired full backup. Upon selection of the desired full backup, the management application 106 can determine the recovery path appropriate to the selected full backup by identifying a sequence of log backups. The database restoration operation can then be performed using the selected full backup and the appropriate log backups, see Hohl et al., Para. 26 and Para. 39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Meadowcroft et al. as modified, to have the first storage volume sequence number corresponds to the second storage volume sequence number in accordance with the first storage volume sequence number and the second storage volume sequence number being associated with a same storage volume identifier that corresponds to a same storage volume, as taught by Hohl et al., to improve data protection (Hohl et al., Para. 5).
Response to Argument
Applicant’s remarks filed on 7/1/2026 with respect to claims 1, 16 and 20 have been considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAU SHYA MENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168