DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed May 28, 2025, claims 1-8 are presented for examination. Claims 1 and 8 are independent claims.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), and based on application # 2022-197695 filed in Japan on December 12, 2022 which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The Office acknowledges receipt of a properly signed Oath/Declaration submitted May 28, 2025
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed (May 28, 2025) has been received, entered into the record, and considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed May 28, 2025 are accepted by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract filed May 28, 2025 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
8. Claims 1-8 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Use of the words “a controller configured to, speed detector configured to, writing pressure detector configured to, a detector configured to” in claims 1, 2, 5 and 8 with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashi et al (IDS submitted prior art JP 2014063443 A) in view of Provancher (US 20110032090 A1).
As to Claim 1:
Takashi et al. discloses a stylus pen (Takashi, see Abstract, where Takashi discloses providing a pen type input device capable of allowing a user to input with an excellent inputting feeling irrespective of the material of an input plane. A stylus includes: a long main body 2; a pen front end 5 disposed at the front end in a longitudinal direction of the main body 2; a coil 7 disposed to provide a magnetic field to the pen front end 5; and a power supply circuit board 8 to apply a pulse current to the coil 7. The pen front end 5 has a MR fluid 51 and a flexible container 50 storing the MR fluid 51. The container 50 is partially exposed to the outside. The viscosity of the MR fluid 51
in the container 50 changes depending on the changes of the magnetic field generated by the coil 7 according to the changes of the pulse current value. The pen front end 5 reversibly changes the hardness thereof between a first hardness and a second hardness different from each other) comprising: a pen part (Takashi, see 2 in figure 1); a vibrator provided in the pen part (Takashi, see 4 in figure 2 and paragraphs [0020]-[0030], [0044]-[0046], where Takashi discloses a pressure sensitive adjustment part) ); and a controller (Takashi, see controller IC 92 in figure 17 and paragraph [0061], where Takashi discloses that the DC power output from the DC / DC converter unit 91 is input to the controller IC 92 through the wires 114 and 115. The controller IC 92 turns on the transistors TR4 and TR5 and turns off the transistors TR3 and TR6 in the first cycle based on the control program stored in the internal memory. As a result, a current IL1 flows through the coil section 7 (FIG. 17). Subsequently, based on the control program, the controller IC 92 turns on the transistors TR3 and TR6 and turns off the transistors TR4 and TR5 in the second cycle. As a result, a current IL2 flows through the coil portion 7 in the opposite direction to the current IL1 (FIG. 17). The
controller IC 92 repeats on / off control of the first period and the second period every cycle T0, whereby the coil unit 7 is AC driven by the currents IL1 and IL2 to generate a magnetic field. Although the direction of each magnetic field generated in the coil unit 7 also changes in the opposite direction along the longitudinal (Y) direction of the stylus 1A due to the difference in the current flow direction in the coil unit 7, the pen point transmitted to the user's hand The vibration of 5 is the same as that of the first embodiment) configured to generate a drive signal for driving the vibrator (Takashi, see controller IC 92 in figure 17 and paragraph [0061], where Takashi discloses that the DC power output from the DC / DC converter unit 91 is input to the controller IC 92 through the wires 114 and 115. The controller IC 92 turns on the transistors TR4 and TR5 and turns off the transistors TR3 and TR6 in the first cycle based on the control program stored in the internal memory. As a result, a current IL1 flows through the coil section 7 (FIG. 17). Subsequently, based on the control program, the controller IC 92 turns on the transistors TR3 and TR6 and turns off the transistors TR4 and TR5 in the second cycle. As a result, a current IL2 flows through the coil portion 7 in the opposite direction to the current IL1 (FIG. 17). The controller IC 92 repeats on / off control of the first period and the second period every cycle T0, whereby the coil unit 7 is AC driven by the currents IL1 and IL2 to generate a magnetic field. Although the direction of each magnetic field generated in the coil unit 7 also changes in the opposite direction along the longitudinal (Y) direction of the stylus 1A due to the difference in the current flow direction in the coil unit 7, the pen point transmitted to the user's hand The vibration of 5 is the same as that of the first embodiment), wherein the controller is configured to generate the drive signal such that the vibrator (Takashi, see controller IC 92 in figure 17 and paragraph [0061], where Takashi discloses that the DC power output from the DC / DC converter unit 91 is input to the controller IC 92 through the wires 114 and 115. The controller IC 92 turns on the transistors TR4 and TR5 and turns off the transistors TR3 and TR6 in the first cycle based on the control program stored in the internal memory. As a result, a current IL1 flows through the coil section 7 (FIG. 17). Subsequently, based on the control program, the controller IC 92 turns on the transistors TR3 and TR6 and turns off the transistors TR4 and TR5 in the second cycle. As a result, a current IL2 flows through the coil portion 7 in the opposite direction to the current IL1 (FIG. 17). The controller IC 92 repeats on / off control of the first period and the second period every cycle T0, whereby the coil unit 7 is AC driven by the currents IL1 and IL2 to generate a magnetic field. Although the direction of each magnetic field generated in the coil unit 7 also changes in the opposite direction along the longitudinal (Y) direction of the stylus 1A due to the difference in the current flow direction in the coil unit 7, the pen point transmitted to the user's hand The vibration of 5 is the same as that of the first embodiment), when driven by the drive signal (Takashi, see figures 7 and 12).
Takashi differs from the claimed subject matter in that Takashi does not explicitly disclose causing the pen part to vibrate based on an impulse response of a spring-mass-damper system.
However in an analogous art, Provancher discloses causing the pen part to vibrate based on an impulse response of a spring-mass-damper system (Provancher, see paragraphs [0048] and [0049], where Provancher discloses that the true quality of haptic interaction, however, is determined by the combined behavior of the master-user system. The user's hand will impart additional mass, damping and stiffness to the system, altering system response and stability characteristics. In the present invention, the additional challenge of influencing the position of a stylus held in the hand by applying forces to the wrist or forearm is addressed. In order to characterize such interactions, a model of the user's hand, wrist and arm to can be used to construct a transfer function between applied forces and stylus movement. Prior research has been done to construct models of various human joints, generally finding that upper extremity joints can be modeled well as second order, linear time invariant (LTI) systems. As an example, FIG. 3a shows a simple mass-spring-damper second order LTI system typical of those used for joint modeling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Takashi with Provancher. One would be motivated to modify Takashi by disclosing causing the pen part to vibrate based on an impulse response of a spring-mass-damper system as taught by Provancher, and thereby improving the effectiveness of an interface (Provancher, see paragraph [0003]).
As to Claim 2:
Takashi in view Provancher discloses that the stylus pen according to claim 1, further comprising a speed detector configured to detect a writing speed of the pen part, wherein the controller is configured to generate the drive signal such that the pen part vibrates at shorter intervals when the speed detector detects a higher writing speed of the pen part (Takashi, see paragraph [0050], where Takashi discloses the moving speed of the pen at the time of general writing was about 0.5 to 3.0 cm / sec. When the pen is moved at this moving speed, if the pen tip overcomes the unevenness appearing on the paper in any of the cycles 57 μm, 66 μm, and 80 μm, the pen performs approximately 62.5 times or more and 525 times or less per second. Vibration is transmitted. Therefore, in the stylus 1, the hardness of the pen point 5 is reversibly changed at a frequency f (= 1 / T0) of 62.5 Hz or more and 525 Hz or less, and the pen point 5 is pushed back from the input surface and sinks on the input surface The loading operation is repeated (see FIG. 8). As a result, in the stylus 1, input feedback very similar to the writing feeling when writing with a pen on the paper surface is performed).
As to Claim 3:
Takashi in view Provancher discloses that the stylus pen according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to generate the drive signal such that the pen part vibrates at timings determined by a normal random number (Takashi, see controller IC 92 in figure 17 and paragraph [0061], where Takashi discloses that the DC power output from the DC / DC converter unit 91 is input to the controller IC 92 through the wires 114 and 115. The controller IC 92 turns on the transistors TR4 and TR5 and turns off the transistors TR3 and TR6 in the first cycle based on the control program stored in the internal memory. As a result, a current IL1 flows through the coil section 7 (FIG. 17). Subsequently, based on the control program, the controller IC 92 turns on the transistors TR3 and TR6 and turns off the transistors TR4 and TR5 in the second cycle. As a result, a current IL2 flows through the coil portion 7 in the opposite direction to the current IL1 (FIG. 17). The
controller IC 92 repeats on / off control of the first period and the second period every cycle T0, whereby the coil unit 7 is AC driven by the currents IL1 and IL2 to generate a magnetic field. Although the direction of each magnetic field generated in the coil unit 7 also changes in the opposite direction along the longitudinal (Y) direction of the stylus 1A due to the difference in the current flow direction in the coil unit 7, the pen point transmitted to the user's hand The vibration of 5 is the same as that of the first embodiment).
As to Claim 4:
Takashi in view Provancher discloses that the stylus pen according to claim 1, further comprising a speed detector configured to detect a writing speed of the pen part, wherein the controller is configured to generate the drive signal such that the pen part vibrates at a higher rate of acceleration when the speed detector detects a higher writing speed of the pen part (Takashi, see paragraph [0050], where Takashi discloses the moving speed of the pen at the time of general writing was about 0.5 to 3.0 cm / sec. When the pen is moved at this moving speed, if the pen tip overcomes the unevenness appearing on the paper in any of the cycles 57 μm, 66 μm, and 80 μm, the pen performs approximately 62.5 times or more and 525 times or less per second. Vibration is transmitted. Therefore, in the stylus 1, the hardness of the pen point 5 is reversibly changed at a frequency f (= 1 / T0) of 62.5 Hz or more and 525 Hz or less, and the pen point 5 is pushed back from the input surface and sinks on the input surface The loading operation is repeated (see FIG. 8). As a result, in the stylus 1, input feedback very similar to the writing feeling when writing with a pen on the paper surface is performed).
As to Claim 5:
Takashi in view Provancher discloses that the stylus pen according to claim 1, further comprising a writing pressure detector configured to detect a writing pressure that acts on the pen part, wherein the controller is configured to generate the drive signal such that pen part vibrates at a higher rate of acceleration when the writing pressure detector detects a higher writing pressure (Takashi, see paragraph [0050], where Takashi discloses the moving speed of the pen at the time of general writing was about 0.5 to 3.0 cm / sec. When the pen is moved at this moving speed, if the pen tip overcomes the unevenness appearing on the paper in any of the cycles 57 μm, 66 μm, and 80 μm, the pen performs approximately 62.5 times or more and 525 times or less per second. Vibration is transmitted. Therefore, in the stylus 1, the hardness of the pen point 5 is reversibly changed at a frequency f (= 1 / T0) of 62.5 Hz or more and 525 Hz or less, and the pen point 5 is pushed back from the input surface and sinks on the input surface The loading operation is repeated (see FIG. 8). As a result, in the stylus 1, input feedback very similar to the writing feeling when writing with a pen on the paper surface is performed).
As to Claim 8:
Takashi et al. discloses an input system (Takashi, see Abstract, where Takashi discloses providing a pen type input device capable of allowing a user to input with an excellent inputting feeling irrespective of the material of an input plane. A stylus includes: a long main body 2; a pen front end 5 disposed at the front end in a longitudinal direction of the main body 2; a coil 7 disposed to provide a magnetic field to the pen front end 5; and a power supply circuit board 8 to apply a pulse current to the coil 7. The pen front end 5 has a MR fluid 51 and a flexible container 50 storing the MR fluid 51. The container 50 is partially exposed to the outside. The viscosity of the MR fluid 51 in the container 50 changes depending on the changes of the magnetic field generated by the coil 7 according to the changes of the pulse current value. The pen front end 5 reversibly changes the hardness thereof between a first hardness and a second hardness different from each other) comprising: a stylus pen (Takashi, see 2 in figure 1); a detector configured to detect contact of the stylus pen with an operation surface (Takashi, see figure 8); a vibrator (Takashi, see 4 in figure 2 and paragraphs [0020]-[0030], [0044]-[0046], where Takashi discloses a pressure sensitive adjustment part); and a controller (Takashi, see controller IC 92 in figure 17 and paragraph [0061], where Takashi discloses that the DC power output from the DC / DC converter unit 91 is input to the controller IC 92 through the wires 114 and 115. The controller IC 92 turns on the transistors TR4 and TR5 and turns off the transistors TR3 and TR6 in the first cycle based on the control program stored in the internal memory. As a result, a current IL1 flows through the coil section 7 (FIG. 17). Subsequently, based on the control program, the controller IC 92 turns on the transistors TR3 and TR6 and turns off the transistors TR4 and TR5 in the second cycle. As a result, a current IL2 flows through the coil portion 7 in the opposite direction to the current IL1 (FIG. 17). The
controller IC 92 repeats on / off control of the first period and the second period every cycle T0, whereby the coil unit 7 is AC driven by the currents IL1 and IL2 to generate a magnetic field. Although the direction of each magnetic field generated in the coil unit 7 also changes in the opposite direction along the longitudinal (Y) direction of the stylus 1A due to the difference in the current flow direction in the coil unit 7, the pen point transmitted to the user's hand The vibration of 5 is the same as that of the first embodiment) configured to generate a drive signal for driving the vibrator (Takashi, see controller IC 92 in figure 17 and paragraph [0061], where Takashi discloses that the DC power output from the DC / DC converter unit 91 is input to the controller IC 92 through the wires 114 and 115. The controller IC 92 turns on the transistors TR4 and TR5 and turns off the transistors TR3 and TR6 in the first cycle based on the control program stored in the internal memory. As a result, a current IL1 flows through the coil section 7 (FIG. 17). Subsequently, based on the control program, the controller IC 92 turns on the transistors TR3 and TR6 and turns off the transistors TR4 and TR5 in the second cycle. As a result, a current IL2 flows through the coil portion 7 in the opposite direction to the current IL1 (FIG. 17). The controller IC 92 repeats on / off control of the first period and the second period every cycle T0, whereby the coil unit 7 is AC driven by the currents IL1 and IL2 to generate a magnetic field. Although the direction of each magnetic field generated in the coil unit 7 also changes in the opposite direction along the longitudinal (Y) direction of the stylus 1A due to the difference in the current flow direction in the coil unit 7, the pen point transmitted to the user's hand The vibration of 5 is the same as that of the first embodiment), wherein the controller is configured to generate the drive signal such that the vibrator (Takashi, see controller IC 92 in figure 17 and paragraph [0061], where Takashi discloses that the DC power output from the DC / DC converter unit 91 is input to the controller IC 92 through the wires 114 and 115. The controller IC 92 turns on the transistors TR4 and TR5 and turns off the transistors TR3 and TR6 in the first cycle based on the control program stored in the internal memory. As a result, a current IL1 flows through the coil section 7 (FIG. 17). Subsequently, based on the control program, the controller IC 92 turns on the transistors TR3 and TR6 and turns off the transistors TR4 and TR5 in the second cycle. As a result, a current IL2 flows through the coil portion 7 in the opposite direction to the current IL1 (FIG. 17). The controller IC 92 repeats on / off control of the first period and the second period every cycle T0, whereby the coil unit 7 is AC driven by the currents IL1 and IL2 to generate a magnetic field. Although the direction of each magnetic field generated in the coil unit 7 also changes in the opposite direction along the longitudinal (Y) direction of the stylus 1A due to the difference in the current flow direction in the coil unit 7, the pen point transmitted to the user's hand The vibration of 5 is the same as that of the first embodiment), when driven by the drive signal (Takashi, see figures 7 and 12).
Takashi differs from the claimed subject matter in that Takashi does not explicitly disclose causing the stylus pen to vibrate based on an impulse response of a spring-mass-damper system.
However in an analogous art, Provancher discloses causing the stylus pen to vibrate based on an impulse response of a spring-mass-damper system (Provancher, see paragraphs [0048] and [0049], where Provancher discloses that the true quality of haptic interaction, however, is determined by the combined behavior of the master-user system. The user's hand will impart additional mass, damping and stiffness to the system, altering system response and stability characteristics. In the present invention, the additional challenge of influencing the position of a stylus held in the hand by applying forces to the wrist or forearm is addressed. In order to characterize such interactions, a model of the user's hand, wrist and arm to can be used to construct a transfer function between applied forces and stylus movement. Prior research has been done to construct models of various human joints, generally finding that upper extremity joints can be modeled well as second order, linear time invariant (LTI) systems. As an example, FIG. 3a shows a simple mass-spring-damper second order LTI system typical of those used for joint modeling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Takashi with Provancher. One would be motivated to modify Takashi by disclosing causing the stylus pen to vibrate based on an impulse response of a spring-mass-damper system as taught by Provancher, and thereby improving the effectiveness of an interface (Provancher, see paragraph [0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 6, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the impulse response is provided based on model estimation using an auto regressive model or an auto regressive moving average model.”.
Referring to claim 7, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein a resonant frequency of the vibrator is 200 Hz or less”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. Takahama (US 20130321348 A1) discloses an ultrasonic detector (8) included in a pen (3) detects ultrasonic waves which (i) are emitted from respective plurality of ultrasonic emitters (5a, 5b) and (ii) are transmitted to the pen (3) via an ultrasonic transmission sheet (2) and a writing medium (6) while a tip of the pen (3) is in contact with the writing medium (6). A pen tablet device (i) carries out a calculation to find a correlation between each of signals based on the respective ultrasonic waves detected by the ultrasonic detector (8) and a corresponding one of independent pseudo-random signals to thereby find a delay time for a corresponding one of the plurality of ultrasonic emitters (5a, 5b) and (ii) finds the coordinates of the tip of the pen (3) from the delay time.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571) 270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624