DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
This action is in response to applicant filed on 05/28/2025. Claims 1-11 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oyama (US 2019/0286207).
Regarding claim 1: Oyama disclose a biological information output device comprising:
a controller that controls running and stopping of the biological information output device which runs on power supply from a battery and which outputs biological information (¶0035-0036 & ¶0042), wherein the controller is configured to:
acquire an initial battery level which is a level of the battery at a start of the running of the biological information output device (¶0071: an initial battery level must be determined in order to calculate remaining power ),
determine whether the initial battery level is less than or equal to a first level, the first level being a level required for the biological information output device to run for a preset time (¶0075-0076: “NO” answer to question in S1113), and
when it is determined that the initial battery level is less than or equal to the first level, output a notification signal that notifies a user that the running will not continue for the preset time (Fig. 6-7, ¶0077).
Regarding claim 2: Oyama disclose the biological information output device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to:
after outputting the notification signal, end the running of the biological information output device running on the power supply of the battery (Fig. 6-7, ¶0077).
Regarding claim 3: Oyama disclose the biological information output device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: acquire a current level of the battery, during running of the biological information output device, determine whether the current level is less than or equal to a second level, the second level being less than the first level, and output a warning signal that notifies the user when it is determined that the current level is less than or equal to the second level.(¶0095)
Regarding claim 5: Oyama disclose the biological information output device according to claim 3, wherein, when the current level is less than or equal to the first level and greater than the second level, the controller is configured to continue running the biological information output device.(¶0095)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyama (US 2019/0286207) in view of Yamashita (US 2019/0117081).
Regarding claim 4: Oyama disclose the biological information output device according to claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to:
after outputting the warning signal, end the running of the biological information output device running on power supply from the battery.
In analogous art regarding battery management in a biological information output device, Yanmashita disclose a biological information output device that after outputting the warning signal, end the running of the biological information output device running on power supply from the battery.(¶0074)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to the one of the ordinary skill in the art to include the features of after outputting the warning signal, end the running of the biological information output device running on power supply from the battery, as disclose by Yamashita, to the system of Oyama. The motivation is to save power.
Regarding claim 6: Oyama disclose the biological information output device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to: acquire a continuous running time since start of the battery-powered running, and when the continuous running time is longer than or equal to the preset time, output a signal that notifies the user that power required for running for the preset time is consumed.
In analogous art regarding battery management in a biological information output device, Yamashita disclose wherein the controller is further configured to:
acquire a continuous running time since start of the battery-powered running, and when the continuous running time is longer than or equal to the preset time, output a signal that notifies the user that power required for running for the preset time is consumed.(Fig. 3, ¶0044-0052)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to the one of the ordinary skill in the art to include the features of wherein the controller is further configured to: acquire a continuous running time since start of the battery-powered running, and when the continuous running time is longer than or equal to the preset time, output a signal that notifies the user that power required for running for the preset time is consumed, as disclose by Yamashita, to the system of Oyama. The motivation is to save power.
Regarding claim 7: The combination of Oyama and Yamashita disclose the biological information output device according to claim 6, wherein the controller is further configured to: after outputting the signal, end the running of the biological information output device running on power supply from the battery. (Yamashita: Fig. 3, ¶0044-0052)
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyama (US 2019/0286207) in view of Makinouchi et al. (US 2017/0215029)
Regarding claim 8: Oyama disclose the biological information output device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to: acquire, through wireless communication, the biological information from a biosensor.
In analogous art regarding biological information output device, Makinouchi disclose a biological information output device configured to: acquire, through wireless communication, the biological information from a biosensor.(¶0037)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to the one of the ordinary skill in the art to include the feature of wherein the controller is further configured to: acquire, through wireless communication, the biological information from a biosensor, as disclose by Makinouchi, to the system of Oyama. The motivation is to provide mobility and communication range.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record cited in the PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/OMAR CASILLASHERNANDEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689