DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,146,798 B2 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Consider application claim 1, claim 1 of reference patent discloses a picture coding method, applied to an encoder and comprising: before coding processing is performed according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, setting initial right shift parameters corresponding to different sizes and different MIP mode numbers as an uniform offset parameter, wherein the offset parameter indicates a number of right shifting bits of a predicted value; and when coding processing is performed according to the MIP mode, performing coding processing according to the offset parameter.
Claim 2 of reference patent discloses setting the initial right shift parameters corresponding to the different sizes and the different MIP mode numbers as the uniform offset parameter comprises: when an initial right shift parameter is different from the offset parameter, modifying the initial right shift parameter to the offset parameter, to enable the numbers of right shifting bits of all predicted values corresponding to all sizes and all MIP mode numbers to be the same.
The claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 2, claim 7 of reference patent discloses the offset parameter is set to a fixed positive integer.
The claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 3, claim 8 of reference patent discloses the offset parameter is set to be 6.
The claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 4, claim 3 of reference patent discloses after setting the initial right shift parameters corresponding to the different sizes and the different MIP mode numbers as the uniform offset parameter, the method further comprises: modifying an initial weight matrix and an initial bias matrix according to a preset calculation rule to obtain a modified weight matrix and a modified bias matrix, the initial weight matrix and the initial bias matrix corresponding to an initial right shift parameter subjected to unification modification; and performing coding processing according to the offset parameter, the modified weight matrix and the modified bias matrix.
The claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 5, claim 9 of reference patent discloses a picture decoding method, applied to a decoder and comprising: before decoding processing is performed according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, setting initial right shift parameters corresponding to different sizes and different MIP mode numbers as an uniform offset parameter, wherein the offset parameter indicates a number of right shifting bits of a predicted value; and when decoding processing is performed according to the MIP mode, performing decoding processing according to the offset parameter.
claim 10 of reference patent discloses setting the initial right shift parameters corresponding to the different sizes and the different MIP mode numbers as the uniform offset parameter comprises: when an initial right shift parameter is different from the offset parameter, modifying the initial right shift parameter to the offset parameter, to enable the numbers of right shifting bits of all predicted values corresponding to all sizes and all MIP mode numbers to be the same.
The claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 6, claim 12 of reference patent discloses the offset parameter is set to a fixed positive integer.
The claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 7, claim 13 of reference patent discloses the offset parameter is set to be 6.
The claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 8, claim 11 of reference patent discloses after setting the initial right shift parameters corresponding to the different sizes and the different MIP mode numbers as the uniform offset parameter, the method further comprises: modifying an initial weight matrix and an initial bias matrix according to a preset calculation rule to obtain a modified weight matrix and a modified bias matrix, the initial weight matrix and the initial bias matrix corresponding to an initial right shift parameter subjected to unification modification; and performing decoding processing according to the offset parameter, the modified weight matrix and the modified bias matrix.
The claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 9, application claim 9 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 5. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 10, application claim 10 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 6. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 11, application claim 11 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 7. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 12, application claim 12 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 8. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 13, application claim 13 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program and a bitstream stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, enables the processor to perform steps of the picture coding method of application claim 1 to generate the bitstream. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-9 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,192,479 B2 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Consider application claim 1, claim 1 of reference patent discloses a picture coding method, applied to an encoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a prediction value of the current block is determined according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an initial right shift parameter, wherein the initial right shift parameter is a uniform offset parameter, and the offset parameter indicates a number of right shifting bits of the prediction value, wherein the offset parameter is set to be 6.
Claim 2 of reference patent discloses determining initial right shift parameters corresponding to MIP mode numbers as the uniform offset parameter.
Claim 3 of reference patent discloses determining the initial right shift parameters corresponding to MIP mode numbers as the uniform offset parameter comprises: when one of initial right shift parameters is different from the offset parameter, modifying the initial right shift parameter to the offset parameter, to enable the numbers of right shifting bits of all prediction values corresponding to all sizes and all MIP mode numbers to be the same.
The claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 2, claim 1 of reference patent discloses claim 1 of reference patent discloses a picture coding method, applied to an encoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a prediction value of the current block is determined according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an initial right shift parameter, wherein the initial right shift parameter is a uniform offset parameter, and the offset parameter indicates a number of right shifting bits of the prediction value, wherein the offset parameter is set to be 6.
The claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 3, claim 1 of reference patent discloses claim 1 of reference patent discloses a picture coding method, applied to an encoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a prediction value of the current block is determined according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an initial right shift parameter, wherein the initial right shift parameter is a uniform offset parameter, and the offset parameter indicates a number of right shifting bits of the prediction value, wherein the offset parameter is set to be 6.
The claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 4, claim 4 of reference patent discloses after determining the initial right shift parameters corresponding to MIP mode numbers as the uniform offset parameter, further comprising: modifying an initial weight matrix and an initial bias matrix according to a preset calculation rule to obtain a modified weight matrix and a modified bias matrix, the initial weight matrix and the initial bias matrix corresponding to an initial right shift parameter subjected to unification modification; and performing prediction on the current block according to the offset parameter, the modified weight matrix and the modified bias matrix.
The claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 5, claim 6 of reference patent discloses A picture decoding method, applied to a decoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a prediction value of the current block is determined according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an initial right shift parameter, wherein the initial right shift parameter is an uniform offset parameter, and the offset parameter indicates a number of right shifting bits of the prediction value, wherein the offset parameter is set to be 6.
claim 7 of reference patent discloses determining initial right shift parameters corresponding to MIP mode numbers as the uniform offset parameter.
claim 8 of reference patent discloses determining the initial right shift parameters corresponding to MIP mode numbers as the uniform offset parameter comprises: when one of the initial right shift parameters is different from the offset parameter, modifying the initial right shift parameter to the offset parameter, to enable the numbers of right shifting bits of all prediction values corresponding to all sizes and all MIP mode numbers to be the same.
The claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 6, claim 6 of reference patent discloses A picture decoding method, applied to a decoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a prediction value of the current block is determined according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an initial right shift parameter, wherein the initial right shift parameter is an uniform offset parameter, and the offset parameter indicates a number of right shifting bits of the prediction value, wherein the offset parameter is set to be 6.
The claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 7, claim 6 of reference patent discloses A picture decoding method, applied to a decoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a prediction value of the current block is determined according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an initial right shift parameter, wherein the initial right shift parameter is an uniform offset parameter, and the offset parameter indicates a number of right shifting bits of the prediction value, wherein the offset parameter is set to be 6.
The claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 8, claim 9 of reference patent discloses after determining the initial right shift parameters corresponding to MIP mode numbers as the uniform offset parameter, further comprising: modifying an initial weight matrix and an initial bias matrix according to a preset calculation rule to obtain a modified weight matrix and a modified bias matrix, the initial weight matrix and the initial bias matrix corresponding to an initial right shift parameter subjected to unification modification; and performing prediction on the current block according to the offset parameter, the modified weight matrix and the modified bias matrix.
The claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 9, application claim 9 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 5. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 10, application claim 10 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 6. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 11, application claim 11 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 7. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 12, application claim 12 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 8. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 13, application claim 13 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program and a bitstream stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, enables the processor to perform steps of the picture coding method of application claim 1 to generate the bitstream. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 1-13 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/958089 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Consider application claim 1, claim 1 of reference application discloses a picture coding method, applied to an encoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a prediction value of the current block is determined according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an offset parameter, wherein the offset parameter is 6.
Claim 2 of reference application discloses the offset parameter indicates a number of right shifting bits for calculation of the prediction value.
Claim 3 of reference application discloses numbers of right shifting bits for calculation of all prediction values corresponding to all sizes and all MIP mode numbers are the same.
Claim 4 of reference application discloses performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on the offset parameter comprises: performing prediction on the current block according to the same offset parameter for all sizes and all MIP mode numbers.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 2, claim 1 of reference application discloses a picture coding method, applied to an encoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a prediction value of the current block is determined according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an offset parameter, wherein the offset parameter is 6.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 3, claim 1 of reference application discloses a picture coding method, applied to an encoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a prediction value of the current block is determined according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an offset parameter, wherein the offset parameter is 6.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 4, claim 5 of reference application discloses performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on the offset parameter comprises: performing prediction on the current block according to the offset parameter, an initial weight matrix and an initial bias matrix.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 5, claim 6 of reference application discloses A picture decoding method, applied to a decoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a prediction value of the current block is determined according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an offset parameter, wherein the offset parameter is 6.
Claim 7 of reference application discloses the offset parameter indicates a number of right shifting bits for calculation of the prediction value.
Claim 8 of reference application discloses numbers of right shifting bits for calculation of all prediction values corresponding to all sizes and all MIP mode numbers are the same.
Claim 9 of reference application discloses performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on the offset parameter comprises: performing prediction on the current block according to the same offset parameter for all sizes and all MIP mode numbers.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 6, claim 6 of reference application discloses A picture decoding method, applied to a decoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a prediction value of the current block is determined according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an offset parameter, wherein the offset parameter is 6.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 7, claim 6 of reference application discloses A picture decoding method, applied to a decoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a prediction value of the current block is determined according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an offset parameter, wherein the offset parameter is 6.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 8, claim 10 of reference application discloses performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on the offset parameter comprises: performing prediction on the current block according to the offset parameter, an initial weight matrix and an initial bias matrix.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 9, application claim 9 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 5. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 10, application claim 10 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 6. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 11, application claim 11 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 7. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 12, application claim 12 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 8. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 13, application claim 13 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program and a bitstream stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, enables the processor to perform steps of the picture coding method of application claim 1 to generate the bitstream. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-10 of copending Application No. 19/356349 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Consider application claim 1, claim 1 of reference application discloses A picture coding method, applied to an encoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode is applied for the current block, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an offset parameter, wherein the offset parameter is 6.
Claim 2 of reference application discloses the offset parameter indicates a number of right shifting bits for calculation of a prediction value of the current block.
Claim 3 of reference application discloses numbers of right shifting bits for calculation of all prediction values corresponding to all sizes and all MIP modes are the same.
Claim 4 of reference application discloses performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on the offset parameter comprises: performing prediction on the current block according to the same offset parameter for all sizes and all MIP modes.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 2, claim 1 of reference application discloses A picture coding method, applied to an encoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode is applied for the current block, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an offset parameter, wherein the offset parameter is 6.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 3, claim 1 of reference application discloses A picture coding method, applied to an encoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode is applied for the current block, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an offset parameter, wherein the offset parameter is 6.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 4, claim 5 of reference application discloses performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on the offset parameter comprises: performing prediction on the current block according to the offset parameter and a weight matrix.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 5, claim 6 of reference application discloses A picture decoding method, applied to a decoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode is applied for the current block, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an offset parameter, wherein the offset parameter is 6.
Claim 7 of reference application discloses the offset parameter indicates a number of right shifting bits for calculation of a prediction value of the current block.
Claim 8 of reference application discloses numbers of right shifting bits for calculation of all prediction values corresponding to all sizes and all MIP modes are the same.
Claim 9 of reference application discloses performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on the offset parameter comprises: performing prediction on the current block according to the same offset parameter for all sizes and all MIP modes.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 6, claim 6 of reference application discloses A picture decoding method, applied to a decoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode is applied for the current block, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an offset parameter, wherein the offset parameter is 6.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 7, claim 6 of reference application discloses A picture decoding method, applied to a decoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and in response to a determination that the mode parameter indicates that a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode is applied for the current block, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an offset parameter, wherein the offset parameter is 6.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 8, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on the offset parameter comprises: performing prediction on the current block according to the offset parameter and a weight matrix.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 9, application claim 9 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 5. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 10, application claim 10 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 6. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 11, application claim 11 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 7. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 12, application claim 12 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 8. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 13, application claim 13 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program and a bitstream stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, enables the processor to perform steps of the picture coding method of application claim 1 to generate the bitstream. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-10 of copending Application No. 19/356327 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Consider application claim 1, claim 1 of reference application discloses A picture coding method, applied to an encoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and when the mode parameter indicates that a prediction value of the current block is determined according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an offset parameter, wherein the offset parameter for all block sizes and all MIP modes are the same.
Claim 4 of reference application discloses the offset parameter indicates a number of right shifting bits for calculation of the prediction value.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 2, claim 2 of reference application discloses the offset parameter is a fixed positive integer
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 3, claim 3 of reference application discloses the offset parameter is 6.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 4, claim 5 of reference application discloses performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on the offset parameter comprises: performing prediction on the current block according to the offset parameter and a weight matrix.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 5, claim 6 of reference application discloses A picture decoding method, applied to a decoder and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block; and when the mode parameter indicates that a prediction value of the current block is determined according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an offset parameter, wherein the offset parameter for all block sizes and all MIP modes are the same.
Claim 9 of reference application discloses the offset parameter indicates a number of right shifting bits for calculation of the prediction value.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 6, claim 7 of reference application discloses the offset parameter is a fixed positive integer
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 7, claim 8 of reference application discloses the offset parameter is 6
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 8, claim 10 of reference application discloses performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on the offset parameter comprises: performing prediction on the current block according to the offset parameter and a weight matrix.
The claims of reference application disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 9, application claim 9 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 5. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 10, application claim 10 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 6. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 11, application claim 11 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 7. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 12, application claim 12 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in application claim 8. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 13, application claim 13 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program and a bitstream stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, enables the processor to perform steps of the picture coding method of application claim 1 to generate the bitstream. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pfaff et al. (US 2022/0103813 A1).
Consider claim 1, Pfaff teaches a picture coding method, applied to an encoder ([0060] and Fig. 2 show an encoder) and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block (signal a set-selective syntax element that indicates whether the predetermined block is to be predicted using one of a first set of intra-prediction modes. If not, the apparatus is configured to signal a further index in the data stream which indicates a predetermined matrix-based intra-prediction mode out of a second set of matrix-based intra-prediction. [0488], [0499], and Fig. 16); and when the mode parameter indicates that a prediction value of the current block is determined according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an offset parameter of an uniform number of right shifting bits for calculation of the prediction value for all block sizes and all MIP modes (the apparatus is configured to signal a further index in the data stream which indicates a predetermined matrix-based intra-prediction mode out of a second set of matrix-based intra-prediction modes by computing a matrix-vector product between a vector derived from reference samples in a neighbourhood of the predetermined block and a predetermined prediction matrix associated with the predetermined matrix-based intra-prediction mode so as to obtain a prediction vector, and predicting samples of the predetermined block 18 on the basis of the prediction vector. [0488], [0499], and Fig. 16; the matrix-based intra prediction samples predMip[x][y] are derived based on the equation shown in [0389], where “6” considered as the offset parameter. [0385] – [0398]; offset.sub.i,j and/or scale.sub.i,j are constant, i.e. identical, for all matrix-based intra prediction modes. Additionally or Alternatively, it is possible, that offset.sub.i,j and/or scale.sub.i,j are constant, i.e. identical, for all block sizes. [0350] – [0362]).
Consider claim 2, Pfaff teaches the offset parameter is a fixed positive integer (the matrix-based intra prediction samples predMip[x][y] are derived based on the equation shown in [0389], where “6” considered as the offset parameter. [0385] – [0398]).
Consider claim 3, Pfaff teaches the offset parameter is 6 (the matrix-based intra prediction samples predMip[x][y] are derived based on the equation shown in [0389], where “6” considered as the offset parameter. [0385] – [0398]).
Consider claim 4, Pfaff teaches performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on the offset parameter comprises: performing prediction on the current block according to the offset parameter and a weight matrix (the apparatus is configured to signal a further index in the data stream which indicates a predetermined matrix-based intra-prediction mode out of a second set of matrix-based intra-prediction modes by computing a matrix-vector product between a vector derived from reference samples in a neighbourhood of the predetermined block and a predetermined prediction matrix associated with the predetermined matrix-based intra-prediction mode so as to obtain a prediction vector, and predicting samples of the predetermined block 18 on the basis of the prediction vector. [0488], [0499], and Fig. 16; the matrix-based intra prediction samples predMip[x][y] are derived based on the equation shown in [0389], where “6” considered as the offset parameter. [0385] – [0398]. mWeight [i] is considered as the weight matrix, “6” is considered as the offset parameter, and pTemp[0] is considered as the bias matrix. See [0378] – [0384] for the description of pTemp[0]).
Consider claim 5, Pfaff teaches a picture decoding method, applied to a decoder ([0498] and Fig. 15 show a decoding method) and comprising: determining a mode parameter of a current block (If the set-selective syntax element indicates 4155 that the predetermined block is not to be predicted using one of the first set of intra-prediction modes, the method 4000 comprises deriving 4250 a further index from the data stream which indicates a predetermined matrix-based intra-prediction mode out of a second set of matrix-based intra-prediction modes by computing 4350 a matrix-vector product between a vector derived from reference samples in a neighborhood of the predetermined block and a predetermined prediction matrix associated with the predetermined matrix-based intra-prediction mode so as to obtain a prediction vector, and predicting 4450 samples of the predetermined block on the basis of the prediction vector. [0498], [0422], and Fig. 12, Fig. 15); and when the mode parameter indicates that a prediction value of the current block is determined according to a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on an offset parameter of an uniform number of right shifting bits for calculation of the prediction value for all block sizes and all MIP modes (the method 4000 comprises deriving 4250 a further index from the data stream which indicates a predetermined matrix-based intra-prediction mode out of a second set of matrix-based intra-prediction modes by computing 4350 a matrix-vector product between a vector derived from reference samples in a neighbourhood of the predetermined block and a predetermined prediction matrix associated with the predetermined matrix-based intra-prediction mode so as to obtain a prediction vector, and predicting 4450 samples of the predetermined block on the basis of the prediction vector. [0498], [0422], and Fig. 12, Fig. 15; the matrix-based intra prediction samples predMip[x][y] are derived based on the equation shown in [0389], where “6” considered as the offset parameter. [0385] – [0398]; offset.sub.i,j and/or scale.sub.i,j are constant, i.e. identical, for all matrix-based intra prediction modes. Additionally or Alternatively, it is possible, that offset.sub.i,j and/or scale.sub.i,j are constant, i.e. identical, for all block sizes. [0350] – [0362]).
Consider claim 6, Pfaff teaches the offset parameter is a fixed positive integer (the matrix-based intra prediction samples predMip[x][y] are derived based on the equation shown in [0389], where “6” considered as the offset parameter. [0385] – [0398]).
Consider claim 7, Pfaff teaches the offset parameter is 6 (the matrix-based intra prediction samples predMip[x][y] are derived based on the equation shown in [0389], where “6” considered as the offset parameter. [0385] – [0398]).
Consider claim 8, Pfaff teaches performing prediction on the current block according to the MIP mode based on the offset parameter comprises: performing prediction on the current block according to the offset parameter and a weight matrix (the method 4000 comprises deriving 4250 a further index from the data stream which indicates a predetermined matrix-based intra-prediction mode out of a second set of matrix-based intra-prediction modes by computing 4350 a matrix-vector product between a vector derived from reference samples in a neighbourhood of the predetermined block and a predetermined prediction matrix associated with the predetermined matrix-based intra-prediction mode so as to obtain a prediction vector, and predicting 4450 samples of the predetermined block on the basis of the prediction vector. [0498], [0422], and Fig. 12, Fig. 15; the matrix-based intra prediction samples predMip[x][y] are derived based on the equation shown in [0389], where “6” considered as the offset parameter. [0385] – [0398]. mWeight [i] is considered as the weight matrix, “6” is considered as the offset parameter, and pTemp[0] is considered as the bias matrix. See [0378] – [0384] for the description of pTemp[0]).
Consider claim 9, application claim 9 recites a decoder (a decoding apparatus [0400] and Fig. 12), comprising a processor (a processor [0071], [0509] – [0510]), a memory storing an instruction executable for the processor (a non-transitory storage unit storing instructions [0071], [0509] – [0510]), a communication interface and a bus configured to connect the processor, the memory and the communication interface, wherein the processor is configured to perform, when running the instruction, the method recited in claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5)
Consider claim 10, claim 10 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in claim 6. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 11, claim 11 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in claim 7. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 12, claim 12 recites a decoder that performs the method recited in claim 8. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 13, claim 13 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program and a bitstream stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor ([0071], [0509] – [0510]), enables the processor to perform steps of the picture coding method of application claim 1 to generate the bitstream. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/TAT C CHIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486