DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the recited “wherein, in a state where the second toner supply container is mounted in the second mounting portion, the plurality of second terminals respectively contact the plurality of second electrical contacts of the second memory, and the second drive force receiving portion engages with the second drive member” should be deleted since the limitation is already recited in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwase US 20230393514 in view of Adams et al. US 20240069466.
Regarding claim 1, Iwase discloses:
An image forming apparatus comprising an apparatus main body to which a first toner supply container (one of 1Y/M/C/B) (FIG. 2) filled with a first toner and a second toner supply container (another of 1Y/M/C/B) (FIG. 2) filled with a second toner are detachably mountable,
the apparatus main body comprising:
a first mounting portion (300 supporting first toner supply container) (FIG. 3A) configured such that the first toner supply container is mounted with a second direction (X) (FIGs. 2 and 3A), which intersects a first direction being a gravitational direction as a mounting direction;
a first toner storage portion (corresponding one of 104Y/M/C/B) (FIG. 1) for receiving the first toner supplied from the first toner supply container;
a second mounting portion (300 supporting second toner supply container) (FIG. 3A) configured such that the second toner supply container is mounted with the second direction as the mounting direction (FIG. 2); and
a second toner storage portion (corresponding one of 104Y/M/C/B) (FIG. 1) for receiving the second toner supplied from the second toner supply container,
wherein the first mounting portion has a plurality of first terminals (at 7 of first mounting portion) (FIG. 3A) capable of contacting a plurality of first electrical contacts of a first memory (53 of first toner supply container) (FIG. 4) provided in the first toner supply container, and a first drive member (6 of first mounting portion) (FIG. 3A) for rotating a first drive force receiving portion (52 of first toner supply container) (FIG. 4) provided in the first toner supply container for conveying the first toner in the first toner supply container,
wherein the second mounting portion has a plurality of second terminals (at 7 of second mounting portion) (FIG. 3A) capable of contacting a plurality of second electrical contacts of a second memory (53 of second toner supply container) (FIG. 4) provided in the second toner supply container, and a second drive member (6 of second mounting portion) (FIG. 3A) for rotating a second drive force receiving portion (52 of second toner supply container) (FIG. 4) provided in the second toner supply container for conveying the second toner in the second toner supply container,
wherein, in a state where the first toner supply container is mounted in the first mounting portion, the plurality of first terminals respectively contact the plurality of first electrical contacts of the first memory, and the first drive force receiving portion engages with the first drive member [0066],
wherein, in a state where the second toner supply container is mounted in the second mounting portion, the plurality of second terminals respectively contact the plurality of second electrical contacts of the second memory, and the second drive force receiving portion engages with the second drive member [0066],
wherein, in a state where the second toner supply container is mounted in the second mounting portion, the plurality of second terminals respectively contact the plurality of second electrical contacts of the second memory, and the second drive force receiving portion engages with the second drive member [0066],
wherein the first drive member is arranged such that a rotational axis direction of the first drive member is the second direction (FIG. 3A), and
wherein the second drive member is arranged such that a rotational axis direction of the second drive member is the second direction (FIG. 3A).
Iwase does not explicitly disclose wherein, in a case of viewing the first mounting portion and the second mounting portion from the second direction, in a case where a straight line extending in the first direction through a first rotational center of the first drive member is defined as a first virtual line, and a straight line extending in the first direction through a second rotational center of the second drive member is defined as a second virtual line, an angle formed by a direction in which the plurality of first terminals are aligned with respect to the first virtual line and an angle formed by a direction in which the plurality of second terminals are aligned with respect to the second virtual line are different from each other.
Adams et al. discloses:
an apparatus main body to which a first toner supply container (one of 100) (FIG. 2) filled with a first toner and a second toner supply container (another of 100) (FIG. 2) filled with a second toner are detachably mountable,
the apparatus main body comprising:
a first mounting portion (502 supporting first toner supply container) (FIG. 11);
a second mounting portion (502 supporting second toner supply container) (FIG. 11);
wherein the first mounting portion has a plurality of first terminals (508 of first mounting portion) (FIG. 11) capable of contacting a plurality of first electrical contacts (132 of first toner supply container) (FIGs. 4 and 5) of a first memory provided in the first toner supply container,
wherein the second mounting portion has a plurality of second terminals (508 of second mounting portion) (FIG. 11) capable of contacting a plurality of second electrical contacts (132 of second toner supply container) (FIGs. 4 and 5) of a second memory provided in the second toner supply container,
wherein, in a state where the first toner supply container is mounted in the first mounting portion, the plurality of first terminals respectively contact the plurality of first electrical contacts of the first memory [0055],
wherein, in a state where the second toner supply container is mounted in the second mounting portion, the plurality of second terminals respectively contact the plurality of second electrical contacts of the second memory [0055],
wherein each of the electrical contacts and terminals are uniquely arranged such that an angle formed by a direction in which the plurality of first terminals are aligned with respect to a first virtual line and an angle formed by a direction in which the plurality of second terminals are aligned with respect to the first virtual line are different from each other (FIGs. 12 and 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Iwase to include wherein the first terminals and electrical contacts are oriented uniquely compared to the second terminals and electrical contacts as disclosed by Adams et al. in order to prevent incorrect installation and cross contamination of toner [0005] (Adams et al.).
When making such a modification, Iwase in view of Adams et al. teaches wherein, in a case of viewing the first mounting portion and the second mounting portion from the second direction, in a case where a straight line extending in the first direction through a first rotational center of the first drive member is defined as a first virtual line, and a straight line extending in the first direction through a second rotational center of the second drive member is defined as a second virtual line, an angle formed by a direction in which the plurality of first terminals are aligned with respect to the first virtual line and an angle formed by a direction in which the plurality of second terminals are aligned with respect to the second virtual line are different from each other.
Regarding claim 2, Iwase in view of Adams et al. teaches:
wherein in a case of viewing the first mounting portion and the second mounting portion from the second direction, in a case where a two-dimensional first coordinate system is configured with the first rotational center as a first origin, and with the first virtual line and a third virtual line extending in a third direction that is a horizontal direction orthogonal to the first direction through the first rotational center,
in a case where an entirety of coordinates of the plurality of first terminals in the first coordinate system is defined as first terminal coordinates,
in a case where a two-dimensional second coordinate system is configured with the second rotational center as a second origin, and with the second virtual line and a fourth virtual line extending in the third direction through the second rotational center,
in a case where an entirety of coordinates of the plurality of second terminals in the second coordinate system is defined as second terminal coordinates, and
in a case where the first coordinate system and the second coordinate system are superimposed so that the first origin and the second origin coincide with each other, the plurality of first terminals and the plurality of second terminals are arranged such that the first terminal coordinates do not completely coincide with the second terminal coordinates in any rotational phase around the first origin with respect to the second coordinate system (due to the unique arrangements of the terminals/electrical contacts as disclosed by Adams et al.).
Regarding claim 3, Iwase discloses:
wherein a first opening (14 of first mounting portion) (FIG. 3A) is provided in the first mounting portion, the first opening being for supplying the first toner accommodated in the first toner supply container to the first toner storage portion toward the first direction.
Furthermore, Adams et al. discloses wherein a first opening (inlet port of developing unit at first mounting portion) [0029] is provided in the first mounting portion, the first opening being for supplying the first toner accommodated in the first toner supply container to the first toner storage portion toward the first direction.
Regarding claim 4, Iwase discloses:
wherein a second opening (14 of second mounting portion) (FIG. 3A) is provided in the second mounting portion, the second opening being for supplying the second toner accommodated in the second toner supply container to the second toner storage portion toward the first direction.
Furthermore, Adams et al. discloses wherein a first opening (inlet port of developing unit at second mounting portion) [0029] is provided in the first mounting portion, the first opening being for supplying the first toner accommodated in the first toner supply container to the first toner storage portion toward the first direction.
Regarding claim 5, Iwase discloses:
wherein in a case of viewing the first mounting portion and the second mounting portion from the second direction, at least a part of the plurality of first terminals is provided above the first opening in the first direction, and at least a part of the plurality of second terminals is provided above the second opening in the first direction (FIG. 3A).
Regarding claim 6, Iwase discloses:
wherein in a case of viewing the first mounting portion and the second mounting portion from the second direction, the first drive member is provided above the first opening in the first direction, and the second drive member is provided above the second opening in the first direction (FIG. 3A).
Regarding claim 7, Iwase discloses:
An image forming apparatus comprising:
an apparatus main body (100) (FIG. 1);
a first toner supply container (one of 1Y/M/C/B) (FIG. 2) having a first memory (53 of first toner supply container) (FIG. 4) including a plurality of first electrical contacts and a first drive force receiving portion (52 of first toner supply container) (FIG. 4) for conveying a first toner filled with the first toner;
a first mounting portion (300 supporting first toner supply container) (FIG. 3A) configured such that the first toner supply container is mounted with a second direction (X) (FIGs. 2 and 3A), which intersects a first direction being a gravitational direction, as a mounting direction;
a first toner storage portion (corresponding one of 104Y/M/C/B) (FIG. 1) for receiving the first toner supplied from the first toner supply container;
a second toner supply container (another of 1Y/M/C/B) (FIG. 2) having a second memory (53 of second toner supply container) (FIG. 4) including a plurality of second electrical contacts and a second drive force receiving portion (52 of second toner supply container) (FIG. 4) for conveying a second toner filled with the second toner;
a second mounting portion (300 supporting second toner supply container) (FIG. 3A) configured such that said second toner supply container is mounted with said second direction as said mounting direction; and
a second toner storage portion (corresponding one of 104Y/M/C/B) (FIG. 1) for receiving the second toner supplied from the second toner supply container,
wherein the first mounting portion has a plurality of first terminals (at 7 of first mounting portion) (FIG. 3A) capable of contacting the plurality of first electrical contacts, and a first drive member (6 of first mounting portion) (FIG. 3A) for rotating the first drive force receiving portion,
wherein the second mounting portion has a plurality of second terminals (at 7 of second mounting portion) (FIG. 3A) capable of contacting the plurality of second electrical contacts, and a second drive member (6 of second mounting portion) (FIG. 3A) for rotating the second drive force receiving portion,
wherein, in a state where the first toner supply container is mounted in the first mounting portion, the plurality of first electrical contacts respectively contact the plurality of first terminals, and the first drive force receiving portion engages with the first drive member [0066],
wherein, in a state where the second toner supply container is mounted in the second mounting portion, the plurality of second electrical contacts respectively contact the plurality of second terminals, and the second drive force receiving portion engages with the second drive member [0066],
wherein the first drive member is arranged such that a rotational axis direction of the first drive member is the second direction (FIG. 3A), and
wherein the second drive member is arranged such that a rotational axis direction of the second drive member is the second direction (FIG. 3A).
Iwase does not explicitly disclose wherein, in a case where a straight line extending in the first direction through a first rotational center of the first drive member is defined as a first virtual line, and a straight line extending in the first direction through a second rotational center of the second drive member is defined as a second virtual line, in a state where the first toner supply container is mounted in the first mounting portion and the second toner supply container is mounted in the second mounting portion, an angle formed by a direction in which the plurality of first electrical contacts are aligned with respect to the first virtual line and an angle formed by a direction in which the plurality of second electrical contacts are aligned with respect to the second virtual line are different from each other.
Adams et al. discloses:
an apparatus main body to which a first toner supply container (one of 100) (FIG. 2) filled with a first toner and a second toner supply container (another of 100) (FIG. 2) filled with a second toner are detachably mountable,
the apparatus main body comprising:
a first mounting portion (502 supporting first toner supply container) (FIG. 11);
a second mounting portion (502 supporting second toner supply container) (FIG. 11);
wherein the first mounting portion has a plurality of first terminals (508 of first mounting portion) (FIG. 11) capable of contacting a plurality of first electrical contacts (132 of first toner supply container) (FIGs. 4 and 5) of a first memory provided in the first toner supply container,
wherein the second mounting portion has a plurality of second terminals (508 of second mounting portion) (FIG. 11) capable of contacting a plurality of second electrical contacts (132 of second toner supply container) (FIGs. 4 and 5) of a second memory provided in the second toner supply container,
wherein, in a state where the first toner supply container is mounted in the first mounting portion, the plurality of first terminals respectively contact the plurality of first electrical contacts of the first memory [0055],
wherein, in a state where the second toner supply container is mounted in the second mounting portion, the plurality of second terminals respectively contact the plurality of second electrical contacts of the second memory [0055],
wherein each of the electrical contacts and terminals are uniquely arranged such that an angle formed by a direction in which the plurality of first terminals are aligned with respect to a first virtual line and an angle formed by a direction in which the plurality of second terminals are aligned with respect to the first virtual line are different from each other (FIGs. 12 and 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Iwase to include wherein the first terminals and electrical contacts are oriented uniquely compared to the second terminals and electrical contacts as disclosed by Adams et al. in order to prevent incorrect installation and cross contamination of toner [0005] (Adams et al.).
When making such a modification, Iwase in view of Adams et al. teaches wherein, in a case where a straight line extending in the first direction through a first rotational center of the first drive member is defined as a first virtual line, and a straight line extending in the first direction through a second rotational center of the second drive member is defined as a second virtual line, in a state where the first toner supply container is mounted in the first mounting portion and the second toner supply container is mounted in the second mounting portion, an angle formed by a direction in which the plurality of first electrical contacts are aligned with respect to the first virtual line and an angle formed by a direction in which the plurality of second electrical contacts are aligned with respect to the second virtual line are different from each other.
Regarding claim 8, Iwase in view of Adams et al. teaches:
wherein in a case where a two-dimensional first coordinate system is configured with the first rotational center as a first origin, and with the first virtual line and a third virtual line extending in a third direction that is a horizontal direction orthogonal to the first direction through the first rotational center,
in a case where an entirety of coordinates of the plurality of first electrical contacts in the first coordinate system is defined as first electrical contact coordinates,
in a case where a two-dimensional second coordinate system is configured with the second rotational center as a second origin, and with the second virtual line and a fourth virtual line extending in the third direction through the second rotational center,
in a case where an entirety of coordinates of said plurality of second electrical contacts in the second coordinate system is defined as second electrical contact coordinates, and,
in a case where the first coordinate system and the second coordinate system are superimposed so that the first origin and the second origin coincide with each other, in a state where the first toner supply container is mounted in the first mounting portion and the second toner supply container is mounted in the second mounting portion, the plurality of first electrical contacts and the plurality of second electrical contacts are arranged such that the first electrical contact coordinates do not completely coincide with the second electrical contact coordinates in any rotational phase around the first origin with respect to the second coordinate system (due to the unique arrangements of the terminals/electrical contacts as disclosed by Adams et al.).
Regarding claim 9, Iwase discloses:
a first discharge port (55 of first toner supply container) (FIG. 4) and a second discharge port (55 of second toner supply container) (FIG. 4) both open toward the first direction, the first discharge port being provided in the first toner supply container for discharging the first toner from the first toner supply container to supply the first toner to the first toner storage portion, and the second discharge port being provided in the second toner supply container for discharging the second toner from the second toner supply container to supply the second toner to the second toner storage portion.
Regarding claim 10, Iwase in view of Adams et al. teaches:
wherein the first memory includes a first electrical substrate (FIG. 4) (Iwase) (140 of first toner supply container) (FIG. 5) (Adams et al.) provided with the plurality of first electrical contacts, and the first toner supply container has a first attachment portion to which the first electrical substrate is attached (FIG. 4) (Adams et al.),
wherein the second memory includes a second electrical substrate (FIG. 4) (Iwase) (140 of second toner supply container) (FIG. 5) (Adams et al.) provided with the plurality of second electrical contacts, and the second toner supply container has a second attachment portion to which the second electrical substrate is attached (FIG. 4) (Adams et al.), and
wherein the first memory has the same shape as the second memory, the first attachment portion has the same shape as the second attachment portion, and an angle at which the first electrical substrate is attached to the first attachment portion is different from an angle at which the second electrical substrate is attached to the second attachment portion [0044] (FIGs. 6 and 12) (Adams et al.).
Regarding claim 11, Iwase discloses:
wherein in a case of viewing the first mounting portion and the second mounting portion from the second direction, at least a part of the first electrical substrate is provided above the first discharge port in the first direction, and at least a part of the second electrical substrate is provided above the second discharge port in the first direction (FIGs. 3A and 5A).
Regarding claim 12, Iwase discloses:
wherein in a case of viewing the first mounting portion and the second mounting portion from the second direction, the first drive member is provided above the first discharge port in the first direction, and the second drive member is provided above the second discharge port in the first direction (FIGs. 3A and 5A).
Regarding claim 13, Iwase discloses:
wherein a first opening (14 of first mounting portion) (FIG. 3A) is provided in the first mounting portion, the first opening being for supplying the first toner accommodated in the first toner supply container to the first toner storage portion toward the first direction, and
the first discharge port and the first opening are configured to communicate with each other [0068].
Regarding claim 14, Iwase discloses:
wherein a second opening (14 of second mounting portion) (FIG. 3A) is provided in the second mounting portion for supplying the second toner accommodated in the second toner supply container to the second toner storage portion toward the first direction, and
the second discharge port and the second opening are configured to communicate with each other [0068].
Conclusion
/THOMAS S GIAMPAOLO II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852