Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 12, 13, 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (EP 3439103 A1), hereinafter Kim. (Applicant’s cited prior art).
Regarding claim 1, Kim (Figures 6C, 28A-C and 29A-C) teaches an electronic device comprising:
a hinge structure (2930);
a foldable housing (2910/2920/3010/3020) including:
a first housing (2910/3010) connected with the hinge structure and including a first side member forming a side surface of the first housing, the first side member including a first conductive portion (2916), a first insulating portion (2913) and a second conductive portion (2917) sequentially disposed from the hinge structure, and
a second housing (2920/3020) connected with the hinge structure and including a second side member forming a side surface of the second housing, the second side member including a third conductive portion (2926), a second insulating portion (2923) and a fourth conductive portion (2927) sequentially disposed from the hinge structure, the second insulating portion (2923) configured to be substantially aligned with the first insulating portion (2913) when the foldable housing is folded, and the third conductive portion (2926) and the fourth conductive portion (2927) configured to be at least partially aligned with the first conductive portion (2916) and the second conductive portion (2917), respectively, when the foldable housing is folded;
a flexible display (2910) accommodated in the first housing (2910) and the second housing (2920);
a first printed circuit board accommodated in the first housing and including a first ground (421);
a second printed circuit board accommodated in the second housing and including a second ground (423);
a wireless communication circuit (para [0129]) disposed on the first printed circuit board, and configured to transmit or receive a first signal corresponding to a first frequency band via the first conductive portion, and a second signal corresponding to a second frequency band via the second conductive portion; and
a switch (510, Figure 6C) accommodated in the second housing and including a first terminal and a second terminal electrically connected with the third conductive portion and the second ground (423), respectively.
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1, Kim (Figure 6C, para [0131]) teaches that the third conductive portion is configured to be electrically connected with the second ground via the switch when the foldable housing is folded.
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 1, Kim (Figures 28A-C and 29A-C) teaches that the fourth conductive portion (2926) forms at least part of a corner area of the second side member (2920).
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 1, Kim (Figure 6C) teaches that the first conductive portion 352 is electrically connected with the first ground (422).
Regarding claim 15, as applied to claim 1, Kim (Figure 6C, para [0131]) further teaches a switch (510) to electrically connect the third conductive portion (362) with the second ground (423) when the foldable housing is in a folded state. It would have been inherent to have a processor configured to control the switch to electrically connect the third conductive portion with the second ground when the foldable housing is in a folded state
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 1, Kim (Figure 6C) teaches that the third conductive portion is positioned to overlap with a feeding point (contact of 412 on 352) of the first conductive portion when the foldable housing is in a folded state.
Regarding claim 20, as applied to claim 1, Kim (Figure 6C) teaches that the switch 510 forms part of a frequency adjustment circuit configured to shift a resonant frequency of the first conductive portion when the foldable housing is in a folded state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, except further mentioning a tuner connected on an electrical path between the first conductive portion and the wireless communication circuit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect circuit components on an electrical path between the first conductive portion and the wireless communication circuit to provide maximum power transfer as well as selectively tuning the resonance frequency of the antenna.
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, except mentioning a third switch connected on an electrical path between the second conductive portion and the wireless communication circuit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide additional switches connected on an electrical path between the second conductive portion and the wireless communication circuit to provide impedance matching and effectively provide multi-band antenna tuning.
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, except explicitly mention that the switch includes at least one passive element disposed on an electrical path between the first terminal and the second terminal. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the electronic device of Kim with the switch including at least one passive element disposed on an electrical path between the first terminal and the second terminal in order to provide circuit protection or a signal path in the “off” state.
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 16, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to arbitrary select the passive element to be a variable inductor to adjust an inductance value based on a control signal from the wireless communication circuit.
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, except explicitly mention that the switch is configured to connect the third conductive portion to the second ground through a lumped element having an inductance. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the switch between the third conductive portion to the second ground through a lumped element to absorb or limit the electrical energy when the switch closes in order to effectively control electrical overstress or modifying circuit behavior during transitions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 10, 11 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, Kim fails to further teach another switch accommodated in the second housing and including a third terminal, a fourth terminal and a fifth terminal electrically connected with the third conductive portion, the fourth conductive portion and the second ground, respectively.
Claims 4-7 would have been found allowable for at least the reason for depending, either directly or indirectly, on claim 3.
Regarding claim 10, Kim fails to specifically teach that he third switch is configured to electrically disconnect the second conductive portion from the wireless communication circuit while the first signal is transmitted or received via the first conductive portion.
Claim 11 would have been found allowable for at least the reason for depending on claim 10.
Regarding claim 14, Kim fails to further teach that the second conductive portion is electrically connected with the first ground.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lim et al (WO 2017/183802 A1) discloses a foldable electronic device.
Kim et al (WO 2017/099377 A1) discloses a foldable electronic device.
Chun et al (KR 20170116262A) discloses a foldable electronic device.
Chang et al (KR 20170056292A) discloses a foldable electronic device.
/HOANG V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845