DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7 of Remarks, filed 03-08-2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and claim(s) 10 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2023/0024358.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2023/0024358 hereinafter Kim.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches an electrochemical cell (see figures 1-4), the electrochemical cell comprising: a cathode (positive electrode); an anode (negative electrode); an electrolyte; and a sealed cell housing that encloses the cathode, the anode and the electrolyte (paragraphs 36-38, 42-45), wherein the electrolyte comprises a solvent and a solute dissolved in the solvent (paragraph 94). Kim teaches that the solvent comprises a liquefied gas solvent (i.e., fluoromethane) (paragraph 95) and an additive (i.e., γ-butyrolactone) (paragraph 112). Kim teaches that the solute is metal hexafluorophosphate (paragraph 110).
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form an electrochemical cell that comprises a cathode, an anode, and an electrolyte that includes fluoromethane (i.e., liquefied gas solvent), γ-butyrolactone, and a solute before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Kim discloses that such configuration can form an electrochemical cell with improved energy density (paragraphs 6, 42).
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 (see MPEP § 2143, E).
Claim(s) 2-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2023/0024358 hereinafter Kim in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2023/0327090 hereinafter Li.
Regarding Claims 2-3, Kim teaches that the solute is metal hexafluorophosphate (paragraph 110). In addition, Li teaches that the metal hexafluorophosphate is 1 mol/L LiPF6 (paragraphs 103, 107). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use 1 mol/L LiPF6 as the metal hexafluorophosphate before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Li discloses that such configuration can form a battery (electrochemical cell) with improved battery energy density, initial coulomb efficiency, and cycle life.
Regarding Claims 4-5 and 8, Kim teaches that the solvent comprises a liquefied gas solvent (i.e., fluoromethane) (paragraph 95), an additive (i.e., γ-butyrolactone) (paragraph 112), and further comprises an organic liquid (i.e., cyclic or noncyclic carbonate) (paragraphs 96, 97).
Regarding Claims 6-7 and 9, Kim teaches that the electrochemical device is a battery comprising lithium metal as the anode and graphite as the cathode (paragraphs 42, 48, 77).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim teaches a sealed cell housing (see claim 1) that encloses the cathode, the anode, and the electrolyte, and wherein the cell housing maintains the electrolyte under sufficient pressure to keep the liquefied gas solvent in a liquid state (paragraph 95, see figures 1-4). In addition, Li teaches that a solid electrolyte interphase film (SEI film) is formed on a surface of the electrode (paragraphs 42, 104) and further teaches that lithium-rich materials (such as lithium acetate) do not increase a risk of gas production by the electrolyte either, and can participate in formation of a negative-electrode SEI film of the battery, without increasing impedance of the electrochemical cell (paragraph 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form SEI film that comprises lithium acetate on a surface of the electrode before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Li discloses that such configuration can form a battery (electrochemical cell) with improved battery energy density and cycle performance (paragraph 46).
Conclusion
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752