DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwant et al (2012/0252570) (herein “Kwant”). In regards to claims 1, 8 and 15, Kwant teaches a method for performing interaction with a non-player character performed by a computer device, the method comprising: displaying a game interaction interface, the game interaction interface including a virtual character and at least one non-player character (NPC) (See; Figs. 1, 2b, 2c, p[0004] and p[0030] where a virtual character / avatar controlled by a user may interact with non player characters (NPC) in various ways); determining an identity association relationship between the virtual character and the NPC in response to an interactive operation between the virtual character and the NPC (See; Fig. 3 for increasing, decreasing or maintaining a friendship level between a user’s character and an NPC); and displaying an interactive activity between the NPC and the virtual character based on the identity association relationship (See; Figs. 1, 3, 4, p[0037]-p[0048] and p[0049]-p[0051] where based on the friendship level different valued awards of gifts may be given or access to restricted portions of the virtual world may be granted). Claim 8 additionally teaches a processor and a memory having at least one computer program stored therein (See; p[0022] and p[0027]).
In regards to claims 2, 9 and 16, Kwant teaches wherein the displaying an interactive activity between the NPC and the virtual character based on the identity association relationship comprises: displaying at least one of an interactive mode and interactive content between the NPC and the virtual character based on the identity association relationship (See; Figs. 1, 2b, 2c, 3, 4, p[0008], p[0037]-p[0048] and p[0049]-p[0051] where based on the friendship level different valued awards of gifts may be presented (gift box icon or prize interface) or access to restricted portions of the virtual world may be granted).
In regards to claims 3 and 10, Kwant teaches wherein the displaying an interactive mode between the NPC and the virtual character based on the identity association relationship comprises: displaying that the NPC actively interacts with the virtual character as an interaction initiator (See; Figs. 1, 2b, 2c, 3, 4, p[0037]-p[0048] and p[0049]-p[0051]).
In regards to claims 4, 11 and 17, Kwant teaches wherein the displaying interactive content between the NPC and the virtual character based on the identity association relationship comprises: displaying that the NPC transmits the interactive content to the virtual character based on an interest identity indicated by the identity association relationship, the interactive content being one of a plurality of pieces of preset interactive content corresponding to the identity association relationship (See; Figs. 1, 2b, 2c, 3, 4, p[0037]-p[0048] and p[0049]-p[0051] where based on the friendship level different valued awards of gifts may be presented (gift box icon or prize interface)).
In regards to claims 5, 12 and 18, Kwant teaches wherein the method further comprises: displaying that the NPC transmits the interactive content comprising historical interaction information to the virtual character, the historical interaction information referring to interactive content between the virtual character and the NPC before the identity association relationship is determined (See; p[0037]-p[0038] where the friendship level is tracked and stored by the frequency and type of interactions between the character and the NPC).
In regards to claims 6, 13 and 19, Kwant teaches wherein the method further comprises: displaying, in response to a selection operation on an interaction topic, that the NPC transmits, to the virtual character, interest interactive content belonging to an interest topic selected by the selection operation (See; p[0041]-p[0046] where challenges can be selected using a virtual button or other virtual selector to initiate a challenge interface or a gift box icon can be selected to enter a prize interface).
In regards to claims 7, 14 and 20, Kwant teaches wherein the determining an identity association relationship between the virtual character and the NPC in response to an interactive operation between the virtual character and the NPC comprises: determining a favorability value between the virtual character and the NPC based on the interactive operation; and determining the identity association relationship between the virtual character and the NPC corresponding to the favorability value (See; Fig. 3 and p[0037]for increasing, decreasing or maintaining a friendship level between a user’s character and an NPC).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN A BOYD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627