DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 13, 14, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “first responder” in claims 5, 13, 19 is used by the claim to mean “a system” while the accepted meaning is “an individual with a specific professional expertise in responding to emergencies.” 34 U.S. Code § 10705(1). The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claims 6, 14, 20 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sundar et al. [US 20240071407].
As to claim 1. Sundar discloses A computer implemented method comprising:
accessing data from a responder data stream that encodes speech for an event, [fig. 1A, 0025] detect audio data in the form of a human speech, at a property, [0022] device 110 at home or office;
detecting the speech for the event at the property, [fig. 1A, 0025, 0026], the detecting comprising parsing the data from the responder data stream, [fig. 1A, 0025, 0026];
determining one or more actions to perform using the detected speech for the event at the property, [0076] recognize audio events, including commands; and
performing, for the property, the one or more actions, [0076] send the command to the device 110 to cause the device 110 to perform the action.
As to claim 2. Sundar discloses The method of claim 1, wherein determining the one or more actions to perform comprises:
determining a type of the event at the property, [0025, 0029] detect one or more event from a set of event types; and
in response to determining the type of the event, [0025, 0029] based on determining if the audio is a speech event, determining, using the type of the event,
i) a first action of the one or more actions to be performed for the property, [0076] determine an action to be performed at the device 110, and
ii) an object as a designated target for the first action, [0076] cause a specific device to perform the action, output a sound using a loudspeaker.
As to claim 3. Sundar discloses The method of claim 1, wherein accessing the data from the responder data stream that encodes the speech for the event comprises:
determining a time stamp of the event for the property, [0032], the time stamp being obtained from a component of a monitoring system at the property, [0032] timestamp of the audio at the device 110; and
identifying the data to be accessed as data within a predefined time range around the time stamp of the event, [0069].
As to claim 4. Sundar discloses The method of claim 1, comprising:
receiving a message that indicates the event at the property, [0030] an audio event detected at the property, and includes an identifier for the property that has a monitoring system, [0030] location data; and
determining a responder system for the property using the identifier for the property, [0030] determine responder based on the location data, wherein: determining the one or more actions to perform comprises
determining, using the detected speech for the event at the property, a first action for the responder system to perform in response to the event, [0030] send and output an alert to a responder system device 110a; and
performing the one or more actions for the property comprises sending an instruction to the responder system to cause the responder system to perform the first action that would not otherwise be performed by the responder system, [0076] cause the device to perform an action, including controlling a secondary device.
As to claim 5. Sundar discloses The method of claim 1, comprising: providing, to a first responder system, an alarm about the event, [0030], wherein determining the one or more actions comprises
predicting a response for the first responder system given the event using the detected speech for the event at the property, [0076] determine functions to perform based on detected event,
determining that the response for the first responder system does not satisfy one or more response criteria, [0077] determine a responder device based on the device mode,
in response to determining that the response for the first responder system does not satisfy the one or more response criteria, predicting a first action for a second responder system that satisfies the one or more response criteria, [0030, 0077] send the alert to the appropriate responder based on the location and mode of the monitored device, and
providing, to the second responder system, instructions for the first action, [0030].
As to claim 6. Sundar discloses The method of claim 5, wherein predicting the first action comprises:
performing data analytics over historical data associated with responder systems, [0023] train a machine learning system using the data representing events of interest, designated for an area that includes the property and the detected speech for the event at the property, [0067] the event of interest including properties within a predefined area of the device 110; and
predicting the first action using the data analytics, [0077] determine keywords based on the learned model.
As to claim 7. Sundar discloses The method of claim 1, comprising:
establish communication with at least one component of a monitoring system configured to monitor the property, [fig. 8, 0036] communicate across network 199; and
accessing, using the communication, property data received from the at least one component of the monitoring system, [0032] receive event data, including timestamp, [0069] and device identifiers, wherein: determining the one or more actions comprises:
determining one or more events that occurred at the property within a threshold time period of the event by analyzing the property data, [0016];
using data for the one or more determined events and the detected speech for the event at the property, determining a first action for the event, [0076]; and
selecting, from a plurality of systems that includes a central system, one or more responder systems, and the monitoring system, a system to perform the first action, [0076] send the command, [0030] to a responder based on the location; and
performing the one or more actions comprises sending an instruction to selected system to cause the selected system to perform the first action, [0030, 0076].
As to claim 8. Sundar discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the determined one or more actions include an update notification action to be sent to a user interface of a monitoring system of the property, the update notification including information for actions performed at the property after the event, [0030].
As to claim 9. Sundar discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage media, [fig. 9, 0085] memory 906, encoding with instructions that, when executed by one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations, [fig. 9, 0086], comprising: the steps as implemented in claim 1, which are rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claim 1.
As to claims 10-14 are rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claims 2-6, respectively.
As to claim 15. Sundar discloses A system comprising: one or more computers, [figs. 6, 9, 0021, 0083] system 120 implemented a s a computers; and one or more storage devices, [fig. 9, 0085] memory 906, on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations, [fig. 9, 0086], comprising: the steps as implemented in claim 1, which are rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claim 1.
As to claims 16-20 are rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claims 2-6, respectively.
Conclusion
/Benyam Haile/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688