DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. It is unclear whether the present drawings illustrate the features of claims 1 and 3 because no tapered portion, facing edges, or tip of the projection are indicated with a reference character in the present drawings. Therefore, the features of claims 1 and 3 should be shown in the present drawings or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). If the features of claims 1 and 3 are shown in the drawings, then the tapered portion, facing edges, and the tip of projection should be indicated with reference characters to make clear that these features are illustrated (see MPEP 608.01(o), explaining that in mechanical cases the meaning of every term used in any of the claims should be identified in the descriptive portion of the specification by reference to the drawing, designating the part or parts therein to which the term applies). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1:
at line 11, “a projection is formed as the positioning portion on one of facing edges of the slit” should be amended to read “a pair of projections is formed as a positioning portion on a facing edge of the slit”
at line 12, “an inner surface side” should be amended to read “an inner surface side of the positioning member”
at line 13, “the projection is formed at two places with an axis” should be amended to read “the pair of projections is formed with an axis”
Claim 3:
at line 2, “a tip of the projection” should be amended to read “a tip of each of the pair of projections”
at lines 2-3, “an arc-shaped portion of the projection” should be amended to read “the arc-shaped tips of the pair of projections”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
• “positioning member” as recited in at least claim 1 (first, “member” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “positioning”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “positioning” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the member)
• “elastic member” as recited in at least claim 1 (first, “member” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “elastic”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “elastic” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the member)
• “positioning portion” as recited in at least claim 1 (first, “portion” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “positioning”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “positioning” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the portion)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, it is unclear what is intended by the limitations “when viewed from above” and “when viewed from an axial direction”. First, since the device is handheld, a term such as “above” is dependent on the orientation the device is held. Second, “when viewed from an axial direction” is unclear because the axial direction has not been clearly defined. Because the blade member is a three-dimensional object, it has multiple axes, any of which could reasonably define the axial direction. Examiner recommends utilizing terms that are true regardless of orientation to describe the position and orientation of structures relative to one another.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what is intended by the limitation “the projection is formed at two places” is unclear – how can one projection be formed in two places? Based on fig. 5A, it appears there are actually two distinct projections. Examiner recommends amending claim 1 to recite a pair of projections.
Regarding claim 3, as noted above, it appears that the device includes two projections. Therefore, it is unclear what is intended by the limitation “a tip of the projection is formed in an arc shape” – which projection does this limitation refer to? It is presumed to be intended that a tip of at least one projection is formed in an arc shape, and has been treated as such for purposes of examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (US 20180272552) in view of Kurino (US 20170235050).
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki discloses a cutting device for cutting an optical fiber (optical fiber cutter 1; see fig. 1), the cutting device comprising: a base (base 10; see fig. 1); a disc-shaped blade member (blade member 13 is disk-shaped; see paragraph [0036] and fig. 1); a positioning member for restricting a position of the blade member (fixing member 41 and hold-down member 47 are configured to sandwich blade member 13 to prevent rattling in the axial direction; see paragraphs [0071-0072] and fig. 4), the positioning member being provided on the base (fixing member 41 and hold-down member 47 are coupled to base 10; see fig. 1); wherein the positioning member includes a slit (a slit is formed between fixing member 41 and hold-down member 47; see fig. 4); a projection is formed as the positioning portion on one of facing edges of the slit so as to project toward an inner surface side (projected portion 45 and protrusion 51 are formed where the slit is located; see fig. 4); the projection is formed at two places with an axis of the blade member therebetween when viewed from above (projected portion 45 is formed on one side of an axis (which extends along the plane of blade member 13, parallel to shaft 32; see fig. 5), with protrusion 51 located on the other side; see fig. 4); the blade member is stored inside the positioning member (blade member 13 is sandwiched between fixing member 41 and hold-down member 47; see paragraphs [0071-0072]); one surface of the blade member is in surface-contact with an inner surface of the positioning member (a surface of blade member 13 contacts an inner surface of fixing member 41 and hold-down member 47; see fig. 4).
Sasaki does not explicitly disclose a support part for supporting the blade member, the support part being disposed so as to be variable in height with respect to the base; and a first elastic member that presses the support part to a positioning portion of the positioning member with respect to the base.
Kurino discloses a support part for supporting the blade member (blade holding portion 41 is configured to hold blade member 14; see paragraph [0073] and fig. 10), the support part being disposed so as to be variable in height with respect to the base (blade holding portion 41 can be lifted by moving adjusting lever 45; see paragraph [0073]); and a first elastic member that presses the support part to a positioning portion of the positioning member with respect to the base (compression springs are provided at portions 10B2, 10B3 so that blade holding portion 41 is urged upwardly; see paragraph [0075] and figs. 9, 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sasaki in view of Kurino to include a support part and a first elastic member. Kurino discloses a system in which elastic members (compression springs that act on adjusting lever 45) are positioned to vary a height of the support part (blade holding portion 41) relative to the base of the device (see figs. 9-11). Kurino further discloses that this system allows for fine adjustment of the position of blade member 14 relative to the workpiece (see paragraph [0074]). As modified to include this structure, Sasaki would receive the same benefit of a blade adjustable in the height direction. Further, the elastic member would then be able to press the support part against the positioning member (fixing member 41, hold-down member 47). Therefore, in order to provide the means for fine adjustment of the blade relative to the workpiece, such a modification would be obvious.
Sasaki as modified discloses wherein the first elastic member presses the blade member toward the slit so that a tapered portion on the other surface of the blade member is positioned by being in point-contact with each projection and a tip of the blade member protrudes to a surface side of the slit (as modified, the first elastic member presses blade member 14 towards the slit, projection portion 45 and protrusion 51 contact a tapered portion of blade member 13 (insertion portion 46), and a tip of blade member 13 protrudes past the surface of the slit; see paragraph [0045] and figs. 4, 5).
Regarding claim 2, Sasaki as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Sasaki as modified further discloses wherein a pair of the projections are disposed at positions that are symmetrical with respect to a vertical centerline passing through the axis of the blade member (projection portion 45 and protrusion 51 are positioned symmetrically with respect to a vertical centerline positioned along the plane of blade member 13, perpendicular to the axis; see figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 3, Sasaki as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Sasaki as modified further discloses wherein when viewed from an axial direction of the blade member, a tip of the projection is formed in an arc shape (at least projected portion 45 has a portion that is formed in the shape of an arc; see fig. 5) and an arc-shaped portion of the projection is in point-contact with the tapered portion of the blade member (projected portion 45 is in contact with a tapered portion of blade member 13; see fig. 4).
Assuming arguendo, if Applicant does not agree with the above rejection of claim 3, and specifically if Applicant does not agree that Sasaki discloses a tip of the projection formed in an arc shape, the following rejection is also presented.
Sasaki as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein when viewed from an axial direction of the blade member, a tip of the projection is formed in an arc shape and an arc-shaped portion of the projection is in point-contact with the tapered portion of the blade member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sasaki to make the tip of the projection formed in an arc shape since it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art (see In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431). In the instant case, it does not appear that modifying Sasaki to have the recited configuration would impede the device of Sasaki from performing its intended function. In other words, the tip of the projection would still be capable of contacting the tapered portion of the blade member. Therefore, such a modification would be obvious since it appears that the specific shape of the tip of the projection is mere design choice.
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Sasaki as modified further discloses a second elastic member that presses the blade member in a direction of the support part (as modified, spring member 50 is capable of pressing blade member 13 towards the support part; see paragraph [0072]), which is the axial direction of the blade member, wherein the second elastic member presses the one surface of the blade member to the inner surface of the positioning member (spring member 50 is configured to urge blade member 13 toward fixing member 41; see paragraph [0072] and fig. 4).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of copending Application No. 19/236,203 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 4 are anticipated by claims 1 and 7 of ‘203.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
19/220,920 (instant application)
19/236,203 (reference application)
1. A cutting device for cutting an optical fiber, the cutting device comprising: a base; a disc-shaped blade member; a positioning member for restricting a position of the blade member, the positioning member being provided on the base; a support part for supporting the blade member, the support part being disposed so as to be variable in height with respect to the base; and a first elastic member that presses the support part to a positioning portion of the positioning member with respect to the base, wherein the positioning member includes a slit; a projection is formed as the positioning portion on one of facing edges of the slit so as to project toward an inner surface side; the projection is formed at two places with an axis of the blade member therebetween when viewed from above; the blade member is stored inside the positioning member; one surface of the blade member is in surface-contact with an inner surface of the positioning member; and the first elastic member presses the blade member toward the slit so that a tapered portion on the other surface of the blade member is positioned by being in point-contact with each projection and a tip of the blade member protrudes to a surface side of the slit.
4. The cutting device according to claim 1 further comprising: a second elastic member that presses the blade member in a direction of the support part, which is the axial direction of the blade member, wherein the second elastic member presses the one surface of the blade member to the inner surface of the positioning member.
1. A cutting device for cutting an optical fiber, the cutting device comprising: a base; a disc-shaped blade member; a positioning member that is provided on the base and restricts a position of the blade member; a support part that is disposed so as to be changeable in height with respect to the base and supports the blade member; a first elastic member that presses the support part to a positioning portion of the positioning member with respect to the base; a support part lowering mechanism that is provided on the main body and can push down the support part in a direction opposite to the positioning portion; and a rotation mechanism that allows the blade member to rotate, wherein: the positioning member includes a slit; the blade member is stored inside the positioning member; the first elastic member presses the blade member toward the slit so that a tapered portion of the blade member is positioned by coming into contact with the positioning portion on an inner surface side of the slit; a tip of the blade member protrudes to a surface side of the slit; and when the support part lowering mechanism lowers the support part to release the contact between the tapered portion of the blade member and the positioning portion, the rotation mechanism can rotate the blade member.
7. The cutting device according to claim 1, the cutting device further comprising a second elastic member that presses the blade member toward the support part in an axial direction of the blade member, wherein: a projection is formed as the positioning portion on one of facing edges of the slit so as to project toward an inner surface side, and the projection is formed at two places with an axis of the blade member therebetween when viewed from above; the second elastic member presses the blade member such that one surface of the blade member is in surface-contact with the inner surface of the positioning member; and the first elastic member presses the blade member toward the slit so that a tapered portion on the other surface of the blade member is positioned by being in point-contact with each projection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20100044406 to Ohmura, drawn to an optical fiber cutting apparatus and optical fiber cutting method.
/HALEIGH N WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724