DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 7, and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities: there seem to be grammatical issues with the claims; for instance, claim 5 recites “the passage has a central axis an angle” and claims 7 and 8 recite “wherein the stretch at break of the cord . . . .” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-8, 11, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4-8, 11, 12, and 13, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The above list is not an exhaustive list and there may be other claims that have indefiniteness issues.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,486,088. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially similar other than the number of turns per meter of the twisted paper strip. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the number of turns per meter of a twisted paper strip to be within a certain desired range for composition qualities of strength and durability. Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Najjar et al. (WO 2022/216202 A1) [202] in view of Strawn (U.S. 1,972,607) [607].
Regarding Claim 1, Reference [202] discloses - a cord (101) having a first end (102) and a second end (103), and - a locking head (104) fixedly attached to the first end, said locking head being adapted to receive the second end and retain the cable tie (100) in a closed loop configuration, wherein the locking head defines (a) wall(s) (105) that encircles a passage (106) having an inlet (107) and an outlet (108), and comprises a protrusion (109) that extends into the passage for engaging the cord and which is arranged to allow displacement of the cord in a first direction towards the outlet while preventing displacement of the cord in a second direction towards the inlet, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the cord comprises a paper strip twisted along its length, the number of turns per meter of the twisted paper strip being 55-75.
Nevertheless, Reference [607] teaches the cord comprises a paper strip (kraft paper) twisted along its length.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the cable tie assembly of Reference [202] with the composition of a cord being twisted paper strips of kraft paper as taught by Reference [607] in order to produce a product with great strength, toughness, and resistance.
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the number of turns per meter of a twisted paper strip of Reference [202] / [607] to be within a certain range of 63-68 turns for composition qualities of strength and durability. Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e a cable tie, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. the cord being twisted a certain numbers of turns per meter. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Reference [202] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses wherein the number of turns per meter of the twisted paper strip is 60-70.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Reference [202] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses wherein the number of turns per meter of the twisted paper strip is 63-68.
Regarding Claim 4, as best understood, the combination of Reference [202] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses wherein the protrusion is a blade, such as a metal blade.
Regarding Claim 5, as best understood, the combination of Reference [202] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses wherein the passage has a central axis an angle (α) between the direction of the extension of the blade and the central axis being 47°-62°, such as 50°-59°, such as 52°-57.
Regarding Claim 6, as best understood, the combination of Reference [202] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses wherein a diameter (d) of the cord is 1.0-8.0 mm, such as 1.5-5.0 mm, such as 1.75-2.10 mm, such as 1.80-2.00 mm.
Regarding Claim 7, as best understood, the combination of Reference [202] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses wherein the stretch at break of the cord is 2.0%-6.0%, such as 2.5%-4.0% when measured according to ISO 2062:1993.
Regarding Claim 8, as best understood, the combination of Reference [202] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses the claimed invention, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the stretch at break of the paper strip after untwisting is 1.5%-3.5%, such as 2.0%-2.9%, when measured according to ISO 1924-3:2005.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the stretch at break of the paper strip after untwisting of Reference [202] / [607] to be within a certain desired range of 2.0%-2.9% in order to have a user’s preference of qualities of strength and durability of the paper strip. Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 7, paragraph [0054], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Reference [202] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses wherein the paper strip is a waxed paper strip.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Reference [202] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses wherein the paper strip is made of kraft paper.
Regarding Claim 11, as best understood, the combination of Reference [202] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses the claimed invention, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the paper strip is made of a paper having a grammage measured according to ISO 536:2019 of 55-85 g/m², preferably 60-80 g/m², such as 65-75 g/m².
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the paper strip is made of a paper having a grammage measured according to ISO 536:2019 of 55-85 g/m², preferably 60-80 g/m², such as 65-75 g/m² of Reference [202] / [607] to be 60-80 g/m² in order to have a user’s preference of qualities of strength and durability of the paper strip. Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 5, paragraph [0038], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 12, as best understood, the combination of Reference [202] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses wherein the locking head comprises a body of a biodegradable material, such as a bio composite of a biodegradable and/or renewable polymer and an organic fiber material.
Regarding Claim 13, as best understood, the combination of Reference [202] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses wherein the inlet of the passage is funnel-shaped, such as trumpet-shaped.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haase et al. (US 2010/0212117) [117] in view of Strawn (U.S. 1,972,607) [607].
Regarding Claim 1, Reference [117] discloses - a cord (16) having a first end (10 left) and a second end (10 right), and - a locking head (12) fixedly attached to the first end, said locking head being adapted to receive the second end and retain the cable tie (10) in a closed loop configuration, wherein the locking head defines (a) wall(s) (sides of 18) that encircles a passage (18) having an inlet and an outlet, and comprises a protrusion (20) that extends into the passage for engaging the cord and which is arranged to allow displacement of the cord in a first direction towards the outlet while preventing displacement of the cord in a second direction towards the inlet, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the cord comprises a paper strip twisted along its length, the number of turns per meter of the twisted paper strip being 55-75.
Nevertheless, Reference [607] teaches the cord comprises a paper strip (kraft paper) twisted along its length.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the cable tie assembly and body of Reference [117] with the composition of a cord being twisted paper strips of kraft paper as taught by Reference [607] in order to produce a product with great strength, toughness, and resistance.
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the number of turns per meter of a twisted paper strip of Reference [117] / [607] to be within a certain range of 63-68 turns for composition qualities of strength and durability. Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e a cable tie, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. the cord being twisted a certain numbers of turns per meter. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Reference [117] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses wherein the number of turns per meter of the twisted paper strip is 60-70.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Reference [117] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses wherein the number of turns per meter of the twisted paper strip is 63-68.
Regarding Claim 4, as best understood, the combination of Reference [117] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses wherein the protrusion is a blade.
Regarding Claim 5, as best understood, the combination of Reference [117] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses the claimed invention, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the passage has a central axis an angle (α) between the direction of the extension of the blade and the central axis being 47°-62°, such as 50°-59°, such as 52°-57.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the hole having a central axis and an angle between the direction of the extension of the engagement teeth and the central axis of Reference [117] / [607] to be 52°-57 when measured according to ISO 2062 in order to have the body engaged with a certain strength and preventing the body from being pulled out. Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 4, paragraph [0022], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 6, as best understood, the combination of Reference [117] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses the claimed invention, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a diameter (d) of the cord is 1.0-8.0 mm, such as 1.5-5.0 mm, such as 1.75-2.10 mm, such as 1.80-2.00 mm.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a diameter (d) of the body of Reference [117] / [607] to be 1.80-2.00 mm in order to have a desired attachment strength when the body is connected to the engagement teeth. Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 5, paragraph [0031], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 7, as best understood, the combination of Reference [117] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses the claimed invention, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the stretch at break of the cord is 2.0%-6.0%, such as 2.5%-4.0% when measured according to ISO 2062:1993.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the stretch at break of the body of Reference [117] / [607] to be as 2.5%-4.0% when measured according to ISO 2062 in order to have a user’s preference of qualities of strength and durability of the paper strip. Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 5, paragraph [0031], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 8, as best understood, the combination of Reference [117] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses the claimed invention, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the stretch at break of the paper strip after untwisting is 1.5%-3.5%, such as 2.0%-2.9%, when measured according to ISO 1924-3:2005.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the stretch at break of the paper strip after untwisting of Reference [117] / [607] to be within a certain desired range of 2.0%-2.9% in order to have a user’s preference of qualities of strength and durability of the paper strip. Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 7, paragraph [0054], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Reference [117] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses wherein the paper strip is a waxed paper strip (treated product).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Reference [117] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses wherein the paper strip is made of kraft paper (kraft).
Regarding Claim 11, as best understood, the combination of Reference [117] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses the claimed invention, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the paper strip is made of a paper having a grammage measured according to ISO 536:2019 of 55-85 g/m², preferably 60-80 g/m², such as 65-75 g/m².
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the paper strip is made of a paper having a grammage measured according to ISO 536:2019 of 55-85 g/m², preferably 60-80 g/m², such as 65-75 g/m² of Reference [117] / [607] to be 60-80 g/m² in order to have a user’s preference of qualities of strength and durability of the paper strip. Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 5, paragraph [0038], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 12, as best understood, the combination of Reference [117] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses wherein the locking head comprises a body of a biodegradable material, such as a bio composite of a biodegradable (biodegradable) and/or renewable polymer and an organic fiber material.
Regarding Claim 13, as best understood, the combination of Reference [117] / [607] as previously modified and reasoning above discloses wherein the inlet of the passage is funnel-shaped.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. GB 2411205 A discloses a similar tie fastener that has a locking head. US 2,808,356 discloses a related piece of prior art of twisted paper yarn in the form of a cord.
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677