DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a clearance adjusting unit” in claim 1 (interpreted to be a lifting mechanism having a fixing shaft part, see for example Para. 0063 of Applicant’s specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “the leading end”, “the guide”, and “the clearance” lack antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 2, “the guide”, “the position”, and “the guides” lack antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 3, “the guides” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 4, “the guides” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 5, “the clearance” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 6, “the leading end”, “the guide”, and “the clearance” lack antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 7, “the guide”, “the position”, and “the guides” lack antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 8, “the guides” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 9, “the guides” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Belmann (EP-1251096-A2, Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 1, Belmann discloses a folding machine (Fig. 1a) comprising:
a conveyor belt (Fig. 1a, item 7) configured to transport a sheet (Fig. 1a, item 23) (Machine Translation, Para. 0015);
a stopper (Fig. 1a, item 17) configured to abut against the leading end of the sheet to stop the sheet (Machine Translation, Para. 0015);
a knife (Fig. 3, item 22) having an elongated shape (Fig. 3) and configured to move onto a folding position of the sheet stopped by the stopper (Machine Translation, Para. 0025-0026);
at least one guide (Fig. 1a, item 19.1, 19.2) made of a rigid material (Machine Translation, Para. 0015-0017) and configured to hold the sheet between the conveyor belt and the guide (Machine Translation, Para. 0015-0017) and press the sheet transported to the stopper (Machine Translation, Para. 0015-0017); and
a clearance adjusting unit (Fig. 1a, item 19.3) (Machine Translation, Para. 0019, item 19.4, 19.5, 19.6) configured to adjust the clearance (Machine Translation, Para. 0015) between the guide and the conveyor belt (Machine Translation, Para. 0015).
Regarding claim 2, Belmann discloses the folding machine according to claim 1,
wherein the guide has an elongated shape (Fig. 3, guide 19.1, 19.2 has elongated shape) extending in a transport direction of the conveyor belt (Fig. 3), and a plurality of guides (Fig. 1a, item 19.1, 19.2) are provided in an orthogonal direction (Fig. 3) that is orthogonal to the transport direction (Fig. 3) (Machine Translation, Para. 0015-0017), and wherein the position in the orthogonal direction of each of the guides is variable (Machine Translation, Para. 0015-0017).
Regarding claim 3, Belmann discloses the folding machine according to claim 2,
wherein the knife is fixed to a body (Fig. 3, item 22) (Machine Translation, Para. 0025-0026), and wherein the guides (Fig. 3, item 19.1, 19.2) are arranged on both sides of the knife, respectively (Fig. 3, guides 19.1 and 19.2 are positioned on either side of knife 22).
Regarding claim 5, Belmann discloses the folding machine according to claim 1 further comprising a control unit (Machine Translation, Para. 0024, control unit) configured to adjust the clearance defined by the clearance adjusting unit (Machine Translation, Para. 0024, control unit).
Regarding claim 6, Belmann discloses an operation method of a folding machine (Fig. 1a), wherein the folding machine comprises a conveyor belt (Fig. 1a, item 7) configured to transport a sheet (Fig. 1a, item 23) (Machine Translation, Para. 0015);
a stopper (Fig. 1a, item 17) configured to abut against the leading end of the sheet to stop the sheet (Machine Translation, Para. 0015);
a knife (Fig. 3, item 22) having an elongated shape (Fig. 3) and configured to move onto a folding position of the sheet stopped by the stopper (Machine Translation, Para. 0025-0026);
at least one guide (Fig. 1a, item 19.1, 19.2) made of a rigid material (Machine Translation, Para. 0015-0017) and configured to hold the sheet between the conveyor belt and the guide (Machine Translation, Para. 0015-0017) and press the sheet transported to the stopper (Machine Translation, Para. 0015-0017),
the operation method comprising a clearance adjusting step (Machine Translation, Para. 0015-0017) of adjusting the clearance between the guide and the conveyor belt (Machine Translation, Para. 0015-0017).
Regarding claim 7, Belmann discloses the operation method of the folding machine according to claim 6,
wherein the guide has an elongated shape (Fig. 3, guide 19.1, 19.2 has elongated shape) extending in a transport direction of the conveyor belt (Fig. 3), and a plurality of guides (Fig. 1a, item 19.1, 19.2) are provided in an orthogonal direction (Fig. 3) that is orthogonal to the transport direction (Fig. 3) (Machine Translation, Para. 0015-0017), and wherein the position in the orthogonal direction of each of the guides is variable (Machine Translation, Para. 0015-0017).
Regarding claim 8, Belmann discloses the operation method of the folding machine according to claim 7, wherein the knife is fixed to a body (Fig. 3, item 22) (Machine Translation, Para. 0025-0026), and wherein the guides (Fig. 3, item 19.1, 19.2) are arranged on both sides of the knife, respectively (Fig. 3, guides 19.1 and 19.2 are positioned on either side of knife 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belmann in view of Hiltmann (DE-4215729-A1, Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 4, Belmann is silent about the folding machine according to claim 2, wherein each of the guides is expandable in a longitudinal direction along the transport direction.
However, Hiltmann teaches a folding machine (Hiltmann, Fig. 1) having guides (Hiltmann, Fig. 1, item 2) which are expandable in a longitudinal direction along the transport direction (Hiltmann, Machine Translation, claim 1, guides 4 are displaceable along the conveying direction, thus spreading the position of the guides).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Belmann and Hiltmann to modify the folding device of Belmann to include the expandable guides of Hiltmann. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to adjust the position of the guides to prevent inaccurate folding (Hiltmann, Machine Translation, Page 2).
Regarding claim 9, Belmann is silent about the operation method of the folding machine according to claim 7, wherein each of the guides is expandable in a longitudinal direction along the transport direction.
However, Hiltmann teaches a folding machine (Hiltmann, Fig. 1) having guides (Hiltmann, Fig. 1, item 2) which are expandable in a longitudinal direction along the transport direction (Hiltmann, Machine Translation, claim 1, guides 4 are displaceable along the conveying direction, thus spreading the position of the guides).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Belmann and Hiltmann to modify the folding device of Belmann to include the expandable guides of Hiltmann. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to adjust the position of the guides to prevent inaccurate folding (Hiltmann, Machine Translation, Page 2).
Conclusion
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731