DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 12, 14, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,519,909 in view of Busa (US 2021/0364536).
Regarding claims 1, 14 of US 11519909 (corresponds to current claims 1, 3), as claiming a testing system comprising: a test device that including a visually identifiable test line and a visually identifiable control line formed in response to exposure to a tested substance; and a user device including a camera, a processor, a display, and memory storing program instructions, wherein, in response to executing the program instructions, the processor: receives an image of the test device from the camera, the image including a visually identifiable test-line and a visually identifiable control-line; determines a test-line value defined as a numerical value of a color density of the test-line in the image; determines a control-line value defined as a numerical value of a color density of the control-line in the image; and calculates a T/C ratio defined as a relative value of the test-line value to the control-line value; wherein, in response to executing the program instructions, the processor further: compares the T/C ratio for a user for a plurality of days during at least one complete menstrual cycle; determines a peak T/C ratio for the menstrual cycle; and presents information indicative of the peak T/C ratio through the display. US 11519909 claim 1 fails calibration chart including a plurality of color blocks, wherein each of the color blocks is representative of a test-line color density that corresponds to a quantitative hormone concentration in the target substance. US 11519909 further discloses calibration chart to correlate the hormone level concentration to the T/C ratio (Fig. 2-3: data structure 118a, 118b color intensity ratio T/C corresponding concentration of the LH hormone level). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is known. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the calibration chart in Fig. 2-3 to provide the correlation from the T/C ratio to the concentration of the analyte to provide a quantitative analysis. US 11519909 is silent to a tangible calibration chart including a plurality of color blocks, wherein each of the color blocks is a physical embodiment of a test-line color density.
Busa et al teach a lateral flow test device cartridge 20 and a calibration test pattern 200 that is affixed as a sticker or insert at a designated location on the tray 32 to be used to calibrate the test pattern intensities of the test strip (Para. 0082, Fig. 5). It is desirable to provide the calibration test pattern as a physical/tangible sticker or insert to enable the reader to perform a self-test immediately before the test strip of the cartridge itself is read. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is known. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of a physical/tangible sticker or insert of the calibration chart of Busa to the calibration chart of Liu to provide the above advantage of enabling the reader to perform a self-test immediately before the test strip of the cartridge itself is read.
Regarding claim 3 of US 11519909 (corresponds to current claims 2) as claiming the test device is a rapid lateral flow immunoassay test device that is one of an ovulation, pregnancy, progesterone, estrogen, estriol, and follicle-stimulating hormone test device, but the claim 3 does not recite one or more progesterone metabolite. US 11519909 further discloses one or more progesterone metabolite (col. 10 lines 19: progesterone or its metabolites) . It is obvious to provide the detection of progesterone as analytes of interest related to fertility. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is known. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the analyte of progesterone or its metabolites to provide the above advantage of analyzing fertility related analytes.
Regarding claims 8, 10, 12, 20 of US 11519909 (corresponds to current claims 4) as claiming the processor determines the color density of the test-line and the color density of the control-line using a color model that represents color density with a numeric value; the memory stores a data structure that relates T/C ratio to quantitative levels of a substance being tested; the T/C ratio is translated into a quantitative level of a substance.
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 12, 14, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,287,293 in view of Busa (US 2021/0364536).
Regarding claims 1,14 of 12287293 (corresponds to current claim 1, 3, 4) claims a testing system comprising: a test device including a test area including a visually identifiable test-line and a visually identifiable control-line formed in response to exposure to a tested substance; and a user device including a camera, a processor, a display, and memory storing program instructions, wherein, in response to executing the program instructions, the processor: receives an image of the test device from the camera, the image including the test area, the visually identifiable test-line, and the visually identifiable control-line; determines a numerical test-line value and a numerical control-line value based on the visually identifiable test-line and the visually identifiable control-line, respectively; calculates a T/C ratio defined as a relative value of the numerical test-line value to the numerical control-line value; translates the T/C ratio into a quantitative level of an analyte in the tested substance; analyzes data points, wherein the data points include the T/C ratio and/or quantitative level of the analyte and additional T/C ratios and/or additional quantitative levels of other analytes; and presents information indicative of the data points, wherein the information includes a calendar and/or a graph including an ovulation cycle and/or hormone changes. US 12287293 fails to claim the calibration chart including a plurality of color blocks, wherein each of the color blocks is representative of a test-line color density that corresponds to a quantitative hormone concentration in the target substance. US 12287293 further discloses calibration chart to correlate the hormone level concentration to the T/C ratio (Fig. 2-3: data structure 118a, 118b color intensity ratio T/C corresponding concentration of the LH hormone level). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is known. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the calibration chart in Fig. 2-3 to provide the correlation from the T/C ratio to the concentration of the analyte to provide a quantitative analysis. US 12287293 is silent to a tangible calibration chart including a plurality of color blocks, wherein each of the color blocks is a physical embodiment of a test-line color density.
Busa et al teach a lateral flow test device cartridge 20 and a calibration test pattern 200 that is affixed as a sticker or insert at a designated location on the tray 32 to be used to calibrate the test pattern intensities of the test strip (Para. 0082, Fig. 5). It is desirable to provide the calibration test pattern as a physical/tangible sticker or insert to enable the reader to perform a self-test immediately before the test strip of the cartridge itself is read. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is known. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of a physical/tangible sticker or insert of the calibration chart of Busa to the calibration chart of Liu to provide the above advantage of enabling the reader to perform a self-test immediately before the test strip of the cartridge itself is read.
Regarding claim 4,17 of 12287293 (corresponds to current claim 4) claims comprising a plurality of test devices, each test device including a test area including a visually identifiable test-line and a visually identifiable control-line formed in response to exposure to a tested substance, wherein the processor is configured to: receive a plurality of images of the test devices from the camera, each image including the test area, the visually identifiable test-line, and the visually identifiable control-line; determine a numerical test-line value and a numerical control-line value based on the visually identifiable test-line and the visually identifiable control-line, respectively, for each image; calculate a T/C ratio for each image, the T/C ratio defined as a relative value of the numerical test-line value to the numerical control-line value; translate each T/C ratio into a quantitative level of an analyte in the tested substance, wherein the data points include each T/C ratio and/or quantitative level; and present the information indicative of the data points.
Regarding claim 7, 13, 20, 25 of US 12287293 (corresponds to current claims 2) as claiming test device is one of an ovulation, pregnancy, progesterone, estrogen, estriol, follicle-stimulating hormone, or other hormone or chemical analyte test device, but the claim 7 does not recite one or more progesterone metabolite. US 12287293 further discloses one or more progesterone metabolite (col. 10 lines 19: progesterone or its metabolites) . It is obvious to provide the detection of progesterone as analytes of interest related to fertility. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is known. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the analyte of progesterone or its metabolites to provide the above advantage of analyzing fertility related analytes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2021/0373010) in view of Busa (US 2021/0364536).
Regarding claims 1, Liu et al teach a test system comprising:
a test device (Fig 1: 104) including a test area (Fig. 1: 105), a results area (Fig. 1: T-line 109), and a control area (Fig. 1: C-line 111), wherein
the test area of the body includes a lateral flow assay that detects the presence of a target analyte in a target substance, wherein, in response to exposure to the target analyte, the results area produces a visually identifiable test-line having a test-line color density (Fig. 1: T-line 109) and a visually identifiable control-line having a control-line density (Fig. 1: C-line 111), wherein the visually identifiable test- line increases in darkness according to an increased concentration level of the target analyte (Para. 0007: darker shade increased concentration);
and a calibration chart including a plurality of color blocks, wherein each of the color blocks is representative of a test-line color density that corresponds to a quantitative hormone concentration in the target substance (Para. 0072, Fig. 2-3: data structure 118a, 118b color intensity ratio T/C corresponding concentration of the LH hormone level).
Liu et al is silent to the calibration chart is tangible and a physical embodiment.
Busa et al teach a lateral flow test device cartridge 20 and a calibration test pattern 200 that is affixed as a sticker or insert at a designated location on the tray 32 to be used to calibrate the test pattern intensities of the test strip (Para. 0082, Fig. 5). It is desirable to provide the calibration test pattern as a physical/tangible sticker or insert to enable the reader to perform a self-test immediately before the test strip of the cartridge itself is read. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is known. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of a physical/tangible sticker or insert of the calibration chart of Busa to the calibration chart of Liu to provide the above advantage of enabling the reader to perform a self-test immediately before the test strip of the cartridge itself is read.
Regarding claim 2, Liu/Busa teach the test area is a non-competitive lateral flow assay for determining the concentration of the target analyte (Para. 0056: lateral flow assay T/C ratio directly correlates to the concentration of the analyte LH), wherein the target analyte is one or more progesterone metabolite (Para. 0060: progesterone or its metabolites).
Regarding claims 3, Liu/Busa teach a user device including a camera, a processor, a display, and memory storing program instructions (Para. 0026), wherein, in response to executing the program instructions, the processor: receives an image of the test area from the camera, the image including the visually identifiable test-line and the visually identifiable control-line; determines a test-line value defined as a numerical value of a color density of the test-line in the image; determines a control-line value defined as a numerical value of a color density of the control-line in the image (Para. 0026-0027); and calculates a quantitative hormone concentration in the target substance using the numerical value of the color density of the test-line in the image and the numerical value of the color density of the control-line in the image. (Para. 0074-0075, Fig. 2-3, claim 1)
Regarding claim 4, Liu/Busa teach calculating a quantitative hormone concentration in the target substance using the numerical value of the color density of the test-line in the image and the numerical value of the color density of the control-line in the image, includes: calculating a T/C ratio defined as a relative value of the test-line value to the control-line value (Claim 1); and determining a quantitative hormone level based on the comparison between the T/C ratio and a data structure that maps calibrated T/C ratios to quantitative hormone levels. (Para. 0074-0075, Fig. 2-3, claim 1)
Regarding claim 5, Liu/Busa teach in response to executing the program instructions, the processor further presents visualized data through the display indicative of one or more T/C ratio trends or one or more quantitative hormone level trends (Fig. 9; Para. 0017).
Regarding claim 6, Liu/Busa teach a user device including a processor, a display, and memory storing program instructions (claim 1), wherein, in response to executing the program instructions, the processor: receives quantitative hormone levels at one or more specific stages of a menstrual cycle or a pregnancy derived from the test device and calibration chart; and compares the quantitative hormone levels at one or more specific stages of a menstrual cycle or a pregnancy to one or more normal hormone level trends (Para. 0017; Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 7, Liu/Busa teach the processor further compares the quantitative hormone levels at one or more specific stages of a menstrual cycle or a pregnancy to one or more threshold values associated with risk levels of certain health condition, wherein the one or more threshold values associated with risk levels of one or more health conditions are determined based on scientific research and data analysis in combination with a user's personalized data (Para 0018-0019: associated with progesterone levels).
Regarding claim 9, Liu/Busa teach the display provides an indication of a potential health condition risk derived from a comparison between the quantitative hormone levels at one or more specific stages of a menstrual cycle or a pregnancy derived from the test device and calibration chart and one or more normal hormonal level trends. (Para. 0076: low or high hormone levels displayed)
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu/Busa in view of Nazareth et al (US 2013/0065321).
Regarding claim 8, Liu et al teach associated progesterone levels (Para. 0018,0028). It is noted that progesterone levels are associated with one or more health conditions include: a miscarriage, an ectopic pregnancy, an ovarian tumor, or an adrenal gland problem. (See current Specification Para. 0003, 0034, 0047, 0071). Liu are silent to associating the progesterone levels with ectopic or miscarriages.
Nazareth et al teach a kit for monitoring analyte levels in a fluid sample. Nazareth teach progesterone levels indicate ectopic and miscarriages (Para. 0068). It is desirable to associate progesterone levels with health conditions such as miscarriages and ectopic pregnancies to provide warnings of potential health risks.
Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is known. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the hormone levels of progesterone with one or more health conditions include: a miscarriage, an ectopic pregnancy, an ovarian tumor, or an adrenal gland problem to provide the above advantage of providing warnings of potential health risks.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments regarding the Double Patenting rejection are persuasive but the Double Patenting rejection is upheld in view of the new Double Patenting rejection in view of Busa (US 2021/0364536).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Dennis White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758