Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recited the limitation “wherein the dosage form has a property that it releases about 32.7% to about 35% of the minoxidil in the dosage form at about 4 hours when placed in an in vitro dissolution test” in lines 3-5. It is not entirely sure if this is an exemplary release rate or a dissolution rate as recited in the depending claims 4 and 20. Secondly, does the dissolution test in claim 1 the same as those recited in claims 4 and 20?
Claim 6 recited the limitation “wherein the dosage form further comprises hydroxypropyl methylcellulose”. Is this the additional rate adjusting polymer to the release rate adjusting matrix polymer recited in claim 1?
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 12,268,688 (‘688). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘688 patent discloses a method of treating hair loss, comprising orally administering to a subject in need thereof a modified release pharmaceutical formulation comprising from about 3.5 mg to about 20 mg of minoxidil or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; wherein the modified release pharmaceutical formulation provides: a blood level of the minoxidil or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof of about 1 ng/ml to about 20 ng/ml; a Cmax of about 0.25 ng/ml to about 20 ng/ml; and a Tmax of about 30 to about 360 minutes. Blood level of minoxidil or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof that is maintained for at least about 12 hours is found in claim 10. 8.5 mg of minoxidil dosing is found in claim 11. Oral formulation for administration at once per day, two times per day, or four times per day is found in claim 23. Release modifier is found in claims 2, 15 and 20.
It is noted that the ‘688 patent is silent with respect to the dissolution rates recited in the present claims. However, it is noted that the claims of the ‘688 patent recited all the features that require in the present claims, namely, an oral dosage form comprising 8.5 mg of minoxidil having the same blood level of minoxidil for at least 12 hours and useful for the treatment of hair loss, therefore, the properties are expected to be similar. Here, the claims in the present application do not require any specific formulation structure that is different from the formulation disclosed in the ‘688 patent, hence, products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. (Applicant argued that the claimed composition was a pressure sensitive adhesive containing a tacky polymer while the product of the reference was hard and abrasion resistant. "The Board correctly found that the virtual identity of monomers and procedures sufficed to support a prima facie case of unpatentability of Spada’s polymer latexes for lack of novelty.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to obtain the claimed invention given the claims of the ‘688 patent. This is because the ‘688 patent discloses an invention similar to that of the present invention, namely, orally administering 8.5 mg minoxidil for the treatment of hair loss.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claim 1 has been amended to include the release rate adjusting matrix polymer, and therefore respectfully requested that the rejection be withdrawn.
However, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because claims 2, 15 and 20 of the’688 patent disclose the inclusion of the release modifier in the oral pharmaceutical composition for the same purpose, namely, for the treatment of hair loss.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha US 20240374594A1.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha US 20240374594A1, in view of Rubio et al. US 20070212416 A1.
These 103 rejections have been withdrawn in view of the Amendment filed 10/30/2025.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/SUSAN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615