DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Accordingly. Claims 1 and 19 are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for selecting….” in claims 8-9.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated over Hiruma (US Patent 10,618,321).
With respect to claim 1, Hiruma teaches a vacuum platen for a printing operation wherein a printable design on a printing sheet or transfer film is transferred from the printing sheet or transfer film to a garment or other printable media, comprising:
a printing platen (41, 42) having a top surface and a bottom surface (refer to marked-up Figure 11 in the detailed action);
a vacuum port (43) on the printing platen (41, 42);
a first channel (44) provided within the printing platen (41, 42) between the top surface and the bottom surface of the printing platen (refer to marked-up Figure 11 in the detailed action), the first channel (44) fluidically connected to the vacuum port (Column 9, Lines 46-53), the first channel (44) defining a first activatable zone (45a, 45f, Figure 4) on the top surface of the printing platen;
at least a second channel (71) provided within the printing platen (41, 42) between the top surface and the bottom surface of the printing platen (Figures 2,3,4), the second channel (71) fluidically connected to the vacuum port (47), the second channel (71) defining a second activatable zone (45b, 45g, Figure 4) on the top surface of the printing platen;
a first plurality of openings (471a, 472f, Figure 4) provided within the first activatable zone (45a, 45f) between the first channel and the top surface of the printing platen (Figure 3);
a second plurality of openings (473b, 473g) provided within the second activatable zone (45b, 45g) between the second channel (44) and the top surface of the printing platen (Figure 2); and
means for selecting (43, 43a, 50) between the first activatable zone (45a, 45f) and the second activatable zone (45b, 45g) based on a size of the printing sheet or transfer film for the printing operation (Column 9, Line 46- Column 10, Line 10, Column 10, Line 66-Column 11, Line 30).
[AltContent: textbox (Bottom surface of platen)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Top surface of platen )][AltContent: arrow]
With respect to claim 2, Hiruma teaches the top surface (refer to marked-up Figure 11 in the detailed action) of the printing platen (41, 42) is on a first platen portion and the bottom surface (refer to marked-up Figure 11 in the detailed action) of the printing platen (41, 42) is on a second platen portion, the first platen portion assembled together with the second platen portion to form the printing platen having the top surface and the bottom surface (Figures 3 and 11).
With respect to claim 3, Hiruma teaches the first platen portion is bonded together with the second platen portion (via 42b).
With respect to claim 4, Hiruma teaches the first channel (44) and the second channel (71) are machined (the term “machined” appears to indicate a method of manufacturing/method of making a channel, note the claims are apparatus claims and not a method of manufacturing/method of making claims, therefore Hiruma does have channels and it would be apparent the channels are machined in the platen) in at least one of the first platen portion (top portion as indicated in marked-up Figure 11 in the detailed action) and the second platen portion (bottom portion as indicated in marked-up Figure 11 in the detailed action) and are thereby provided between the top surface of the printing platen and the bottom surface of the printing platen when the first platen portion is assembled together with the second platen portion (Figure 11).
With respect to claim 5, Hiruma teaches the first channel (44) and the second channel (71) are machined in both the first platen portion and the second platen portion (the term “machined” appears to indicate a method of manufacturing/method of making a channel, note the claims are apparatus claims and not a method of manufacturing/method of making claims, therefore Hiruma does have channels and it would be apparent the channels are machined in the platen).
With respect to claim 6, the prior art teaches the claimed invention with the exception of the first channel and the second channel are machined as substantially square or rectangular shaped channels (the term “machined” appears to indicate a method of manufacturing/method of making a channel, note the claims are apparatus claims and not a method of manufacturing/method of making claims).
With respect to claim 7, Hiruma teaches the first channel and the second channel (44, 71) are concentric to each other (Figures 10, 11).
With respect to claim 8, Hiruma teaches the means for selecting (43, 43a, 50) includes a valve mechanism with a plurality of selectable channels formed therein for fluidically connecting the vacuum port in a first operating mode to the first channel, and in a second operating mode to the second channel (Column 9, Lines 46-53, Column 10, Line 23-Column 11, Line 30).
With respect to claim 9, Hiruma teaches the means for selecting includes a valve mechanism with a plurality of selectable channels formed therein for fluidically connecting the vacuum port to both of the first channel and the second channel simultaneously (Column 9, Lines 46-53, Column 10, Line 23-Column 11, Line 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiruma (US Patent 10,618,321) in view of Cowgill (US Patent 3,147,611).
With respect to claims 10 and 11, Hiruma teaches the claimed invention with the exception of at least one bleeder channel fluidically connecting a first channel and a second channel and the at least one bleeder channel is a low flow channel.
Cowgill teaches a valve apparatus with a bleeder channel fluidically connecting a first channel and a second channel (41, Column 7, Line72- Column 8, Line 9) and the one bleeder channel is a low flow channel (Column 2, Lines 26-29, Lines 44-48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention to provide a bleeder channel fluidically connecting a first channel and a second channel and the at least one bleeder channel is a low flow channel as taught by Cowgill for the purpose of regulating air flow to minimize pressure drop in the apparatus.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiruma (US Patent 10,618,321) in view of Arredondo Rosales et al. (US Publication 2018/0237242).
With respect to claim 19, Hiruma teaches a vacuum platen for a printing operation wherein a printable design on a printing sheet or transfer film is transferred from the printing sheet or transfer film to a garment or other printable media, comprising:
a printing platen (326) having a top surface and a bottom surface (Figure 6);
a vacuum port (328) on the printing platen (326);
a first channel (44) provided within the printing platen (41, 42) between the top surface and the bottom surface of the printing platen (refer to marked-up Figure 11 in the detailed action), the first channel (44) fluidically connected to the vacuum port (Column 9, Lines 46-53), the first channel (44) defining a first activatable zone (45a, 45f, Figure 4) on the top surface of the printing platen;
at least a second channel (71) provided within the printing platen (41, 42) between the top surface and the bottom surface of the printing platen (Figures 2,3,4), the second channel (71) fluidically connected to the vacuum port (47), the second channel (71) defining a second activatable zone (45b, 45g, Figure 4) on the top surface of the printing platen;
a first plurality of openings (471a, 472f, Figure 4) provided within the first activatable zone (45a, 45f) between the first channel and the top surface of the printing platen (Figure 3);
a second plurality of openings (473b, 473g) provided within the second activatable zone (45b, 45g) between the second channel (44) and the top surface of the printing platen (Figure 2); and
means for selecting (43, 43a, 50) between the first activatable zone (45a, 45f) and the second activatable zone (45b, 45g) based on a size of the printing sheet or transfer film for the printing operation (Column 9, Line 46- Column 10, Line 10, Column 10, Line 66-Column 11, Line 30).
However, Hiruma does not explicitly disclose a plurality of microchannels formed in the top surface of the printing platen and open to the top surface of the printing platen, the plurality of microchannels fluidically connected to at least one of the first channel and the second. Arredondo Rosales et al. teaches a plurality of microchannels (24) formed in the top surface of a printing platen (10) and open to the top surface of the printing platen (10, Figure 3), the plurality of microchannels fluidically connected to at least one of a first channel (22) and a second channel (Figures 3, 4a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention to provide a microchannels formed in a top surface as taught by Arrendondo Rosales et al. for the purpose of providing a maximum amount of suction force for the medium.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 12, the prior art does not teach or render obvious at least one surface channel open to the top surface of the printing platen, the at least one surface channel fluidically connected to at least one of the first channel and the second channel.
With respect to claims 18 and 20, the prior art does not teach or render obvious a hose handling system having a bracket assembly for mounting below the printing platen, and a moveable arm rotationally attached via a spring biasing member to default in a first position, the movable arm rotating to a second position during operation, the hose handling system moving a supply hose during a printing operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Herrmann et al. (US Patent 11,667,136), de Ceano et al. (US Patent 10,994,559) and Mombourquette et al. (EP3666531) teaches platens with vacuum/suctioning means.
/Marissa Ferguson-Samreth/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852