Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/29/2025, 10/30/2025, & 05/15/2026 were filed after the mailing date of the non-final rejection on 06/30/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “unit” in claims 1-4, 6-10, 12, 14, 17, & 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 14, & 16 are rejected under U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Takano (JP 2005229388 A, hereinafter, "9388").
Regarding Claim 12, 9388 teaches An information processing apparatus comprising: a communication unit that communicates with an external electronic apparatus having a shooting function and an external information processing apparatus (9388, pg. 2, para. 5, ln. 1-3, "The camera-equipped mobile terminal receives the series of shooting plan information of the e-mail transmitted from the management device, and is taken according to any shooting plan information of the received series of shooting plan information."); a management unit that manages information obtained from the electronic apparatus and the external information processing apparatus (9388 pg. 1, para. 2, ln. 2-4, "…a portable terminal with a camera that receives the series of shooting plan information from the management apparatus and performs shooting according to the shooting plan information."); and a control unit that controls the communication unit, wherein the control unit outputs information of the electronic apparatus to the external information processing apparatus, based on a shooting plan transmitted from the external information processing apparatus, transmits information of the shooting plan to the electronic apparatus to be used for shooting (9388, pg. 2, para. 5, ln. 1-3, "The camera-equipped mobile terminal receives the series of shooting plan information of the e-mail transmitted from the management device, and is taken according to any shooting plan information of the received series of shooting plan information."), receives from the electronic apparatus shooting information including a storage destination of image data obtained by shooting based on the shooting plan and information linking the image data and the shooting plan (9388, pg. 2, para. 1, ln. 1-3, "A function for receiving, from the external camera-equipped mobile terminal, captured image information captured according to any of the captured plan information in a series of captured plan information by e-mail and captured plan information corresponding to the captured image information."), and transmits the shooting information to the external information processing apparatus (9388, pg. 4, para. 2, ln. 1-4, "…the mobile terminal with a camera creates the body of the e-mail to which the photographic image information is attached based on the photographic plan information corresponding to the photographic image information, the management that has received the e-mail.").
Regarding Claim 14, 9388 teaches a storage unit that stores the image data and information linking the image data and the shooting plan received from the electronic apparatus (9388, pg. 6, para. 2, ln. 6-7, "Furthermore, the recording unit 15 includes an image / sound storage unit 153 that records and stores the captured image information and the sound information received from the mobile phone 2.").
Regarding Claim 16, 9388 teaches A control method for controlling input and output of information obtained from an electronic apparatus having a shooting function and an information processing apparatus via communication means, the method comprising: acquiring information of the electronic apparatus and outputting the information to the information processing apparatus, based on a shooting plan transmitted from the information processing apparatus (9388, pg. 2, para. 1, ln. 1-3, "A function for receiving, from the external camera-equipped mobile terminal, captured image information captured according to any of the captured plan information in a series of captured plan information by e-mail and captured plan information corresponding to the captured image information."), transmitting information of the shooting plan to the electronic apparatus to be used for shooting (9388, pg. 2, para. 5, ln. 1-3, "The camera-equipped mobile terminal receives the series of shooting plan information of the e-mail transmitted from the management device, and is taken according to any shooting plan information of the received series of shooting plan information."), receiving from the electronic apparatus shooting information including a storage destination of image data obtained by shooting based on the shooting plan and information linking the image data and the shooting plan (9388, pg. 6, para. 2, ln. 6-7, "Furthermore, the recording unit 15 includes an image / sound storage unit 153 that records and stores the captured image information and the sound information received from the mobile phone 2."), and transmitting the shooting information to the information processing apparatus (9388, pg. 2, para. 1, ln. 1-3, "A function for receiving, from the external camera-equipped mobile terminal, captured image information captured according to any of the captured plan information in a series of captured plan information by e-mail and captured plan information corresponding to the captured image information.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 11, 15, 17, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano (JP 2005033448 A, hereinafter, "3448") in view of 9388.
Regarding Claim 1, 3448 teaches an electronic apparatus comprising: an acquisition unit that acquires a shooting plan (3448, [0008], ln. 5-6, "Shooting plan storage means for storing and managing shooting plan information associated with scene identification information."); a shooting unit that performs shooting and outputs image data (3448, [0008], ln. 12-13, "…captured image with scene identification information from the digital camera in accordance with the classification system of the shooting plan."); a linking unit that links the shooting plan and the image data obtained by performing shooting by the shooting unit according to the shooting plan (3448, [008, ln. 12-13, "…captured image with scene identification information from the digital camera in accordance with the classification system of the shooting plan."). 3448 does not teach a transmission unit that transmits the image data to which the shooting plan is linked. However, 9388 teaches a transmission unit that transmits the image data to which the shooting plan is linked (9388, pg. 2, para. 1, ln. 1-3, "A function for receiving, from the external camera-equipped mobile terminal, captured image information captured according to any of the captured plan information in a series of captured plan information by e-mail and captured plan information corresponding to the captured image information."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of 9388 with those of 3448 because it is well known in the art to transmit image data to which a shooting plan is linked.
Regarding Claim 2, 3448 and 9388 teach the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. 3448 teaches the linking unit links at least a part of information constituting the shooting plan to the image data (3448, [008, ln. 12-13, "…captured image with scene identification information from the digital camera in accordance with the classification system of the shooting plan."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of 3448 with those of 3448 and 9388 because it is well known in the art to link at least a part of information constituting a shooting plan to the image data.
Regarding Claim 3, 3448 and 9388 teach the limitations of dependent Claim 2 as noted above. 3448 teaches the linking unit embeds at least a part of the information constituting the shooting plan in the image data (3448, [008, ln. 12-13, "…captured image with scene identification information from the digital camera in accordance with the classification system of the shooting plan."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of 3448 with those of 3448 and 9388 because it is well known in the art to embed at least a part of the shooting image plan in the image data.
Regarding Claim 4, 3448 and 9388 teach the limitations of dependent Claim 2 as noted above. 3448 teaches the linking unit embeds at least a part of the information constituting the shooting plan in an additional data portion of the image data (3448, [008, ln. 12-13, "…captured image with scene identification information from the digital camera in accordance with the classification system of the shooting plan."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of 3448 with those of 9388 because it is well known in the art to embed at least a part of the shooting plan information in an additional data portion of the image data.
Regarding Claim 8, 3448 and 9388 teach the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. 3448 teaches a determination unit that determines whether or not the shooting by the shooting unit corresponds to the shooting plan acquired by the acquisition unit, wherein in a case where the determination unit determines that the shooting corresponds to the shooting plan, the linking unit links the image data obtained by the shooting and the shooting plan (3448, [0007], ln. 3-5, "…it is possible to identify the work scene shot images without transferring the shooting plan itself to the camera side, and to classify the shot images according to the shooting plan classification system."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of 3448 with those of 3448 and 9388 because it is well known in the art to determine whether or not the shooting corresponds to the shooting plan and link the image data when it does.
Regarding Claim 9, 3448 and 9388 teach the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. 9388 teaches the acquisition unit receives the shooting plan from an external information processing apparatus (9388, pg. 2, para. 5, ln. 1-3, "The camera-equipped mobile terminal receives the series of shooting plan information of the e-mail transmitted from the management device, and is taken according to any shooting plan information of the received series of shooting plan information."), and the transmission unit transmits shooting information including a storage destination of the image data obtained by shooting based on the shooting plan and information linking the image data and the shooting plan to the information processing apparatus (9388, pg. 4, para. 2, ln. 1-4, "…the mobile terminal with a camera creates the body of the e-mail to which the photographic image information is attached based on the photographic plan information corresponding to the photographic image information, the management that has received the e-mail."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of 9388 with those of 3448 and 9388 because it is well known in the art to receive a shooting plan from an external information processing apparatus and transmit shooting information including a storage destination of the image data basted on the shooting plan and information linking the image data and shooting plan to said apparatus.
Regarding Claim 11, 3448 and 9388 teach the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. 3448 teaches the electronic apparatus is a digital still camera (3448, [0001], ln. 2, "…a digital camera…"). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of 3448 with those of 3448 and 9388 because it is well known in the art to use digital still cameras.
Regarding Claim 15, 3448 teaches a control method of an electronic apparatus comprising: acquiring a shooting plan (3448, [0008], ln. 5-6, "Shooting plan storage means for storing and managing shooting plan information associated with scene identification information."); performing shooting and outputting image data (3448, [0008], ln. 12-13, "…captured image with scene identification information from the digital camera in accordance with the classification system of the shooting plan."); linking the image data and the shooting plan (3448, [008, ln. 12-13, "…captured image with scene identification information from the digital camera in accordance with the classification system of the shooting plan."). 3448 does not teach transmitting the image data to which the shooting plan is linked. However, 9388 teaches transmitting the image data to which the shooting plan is linked (9388, pg. 2, para. 1, ln. 1-3, "A function for receiving, from the external camera-equipped mobile terminal, captured image information captured according to any of the captured plan information in a series of captured plan information by e-mail and captured plan information corresponding to the captured image information.").
Regarding Claim 17, 3448 teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the storage medium storing a program that is executable by the computer, wherein the program includes program code for causing the computer to function as an electronic apparatus comprising: an acquisition unit that acquires a shooting plan (3448, [0008], ln. 5-6, "Shooting plan storage means for storing and managing shooting plan information associated with scene identification information."); a shooting unit that performs shooting and outputs image data (3448, [0008], ln. 12-13, "…captured image with scene identification information from the digital camera in accordance with the classification system of the shooting plan."); a linking unit that links the shooting plan and the image data obtained by performing shooting by the shooting unit according to the shooting plan (3448, [008, ln. 12-13, "…captured image with scene identification information from the digital camera in accordance with the classification system of the shooting plan."). 3448 does not teach a transmission unit that transmits the image data to which the shooting plan is linked. However, 9388 teaches a transmission unit that transmits the image data to which the shooting plan is linked (9388, pg. 2, para. 1, ln. 1-3, "A function for receiving, from the external camera-equipped mobile terminal, captured image information captured according to any of the captured plan information in a series of captured plan information by e-mail and captured plan information corresponding to the captured image information.").
Regarding Claim 18, 9388 teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the storage medium storing a program that is executable by the computer, wherein the program includes program code for causing the computer to function as an information processing apparatus comprising: a communication unit that communicates with an external electronic apparatus having a shooting function and an external information processing apparatus (9388, pg. 2, para. 1, ln. 1-3, "A function for receiving, from the external camera-equipped mobile terminal, captured image information captured according to any of the captured plan information in a series of captured plan information by e-mail and captured plan information corresponding to the captured image information."); a management unit that manages information obtained from the electronic apparatus and the external information processing apparatus (9388, pg. 6, para. 2, ln. 6-7, "Furthermore, the recording unit 15 includes an image / sound storage unit 153 that records and stores the captured image information and the sound information received from the mobile phone 2."); transmits information of the shooting plan to the electronic apparatus to be used for shooting (9388, pg. 2, para. 5, ln. 1-3, "The camera-equipped mobile terminal receives the series of shooting plan information of the e-mail transmitted from the management device, and is taken according to any shooting plan information of the received series of shooting plan information."), receives from the electronic apparatus shooting information including a storage destination of image data obtained by shooting based on the shooting plan and information linking the image data and the shooting plan (9388, pg. 6, para. 2, ln. 6-7, "Furthermore, the recording unit 15 includes an image / sound storage unit 153 that records and stores the captured image information and the sound information received from the mobile phone 2."), and transmits the shooting information to the external information processing apparatus (9388, pg. 2, para. 1, ln. 1-3, "A function for receiving, from the external camera-equipped mobile terminal, captured image information captured according to any of the captured plan information in a series of captured plan information by e-mail and captured plan information corresponding to the captured image information."). 9388 does not teach a control unit that controls the communication unit, wherein the control unit outputs information of the electronic apparatus to the external information processing apparatus, based on a shooting plan transmitted from the external information processing apparatus. However, 3448 teaches a control unit that controls the communication unit, wherein the control unit outputs information of the electronic apparatus to the external information processing apparatus, based on a shooting plan transmitted from the external information processing apparatus (3448, [008, ln. 12-13, "…captured image with scene identification information from the digital camera in accordance with the classification system of the shooting plan.").
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 9388 in view of Carbonell et al (US 20120176496 A1, hereinafter, "Carbonell").
Regarding Claim 13, 9388 teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 12 as noted above. Carbonell teaches the information of the electronic apparatus includes information for identifying the electronic apparatus, location information, and information indicating a state (Carbonell, [0005], ln. 11-12, "A mapping can be capable of tracking the proximate camera state, which can include a camera identification value, camera location, and a camera field of view dimension."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Carbonell with those of 9388 because it is well known in the art to incorporate metadata in the information of an electronic processing apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 & 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 5, the prior art of record – taken alone or in combination – fails to teach or render obvious information that constitutes the shooting plan includes identification information of the shooting plan.
Regarding Claim 6, it would be allowable because it is dependent on Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 7, it would be allowable because it is dependent on Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 10, the prior art of record – taken alone or in combination – fails to teach or render obvious the transmission unit further transmits information identifying the electronic apparatus, location information, and information indicating a state to the information processing apparatus prior to obtaining the shooting plan. Carbonell teaches transmitting the above mentioned metadata, but is silent on the timing of when the transmission takes place relative to the timing of the obtaining of a shooting plan.
Conclusion
/STEVEN DANIEL BARRY/Examiner, Art Unit 2638
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638