Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jones et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Jones”) (US 2017/0285639 A1) and in view of Tiwari et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Tiwari”) (US 2018/0154899 A1).
Regarding claims 1, and 11, Jones discloses a control system in which the steering wheel (40), the accelerator control (42), and the brake control (44) are associated with sensors that provide information regarding pow a driver turns the steering wheel, or applies the brakes (see paragraph 0044); a processor (28) as shown in Fig. 1, coupled to the vehicle controller (32) for controlling the vehicle (see paragraphs 0041-0043), wherein the processor (28) provides the driver input to the simulator (22) (see paragraphs 0044, and 0045), wherein the simulator (22) includes a viewing screen that provides a visual representation of an environment in a vicinity of a vehicle based on the driver input using the driver input means (24) (see at least Fig. 2; and paragraph 0045).
However, Jones fails to disclose or even suggest the features of “generate torque configured to control the driving motor based on the virtual driving information.”
Tiwari discloses another vehicle control system in which the drive motor generates a torque to rotate the rotating portion of the steering column, and the torque transfer mechanism (e.g., gears) receives the generated torque and transfers it to the driven gears. This description implicitly suggests the capability to control the driving motor based on visual driving information (e.g., in advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS) or autonomous driving) or other inputs, as the motor generates torque to rotate the steering column without a direct mechanical link from the driver.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Jones reference with the teachings as taught by Tiwari to arrive at the claimed invention. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing haptic feedback to the driver, simulating real-world road forces in driving simulators to increase realism.
Regarding claim 13, Jones further suggests “restricting entry into the virtual driving mode based on a determination that the vehicle is driving” (see paragraphs 0038, and 0039).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jones (US 2017/0285639 A1), Tiwari (US 2018/0154899 A1), and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Yamamoto”) (US 2024/0043014 A1).
Neither Jones nor Tiwari discloses or even suggests the features of “restrict the driver motor from being driven based on a driver-required torque in the virtual driving mode.”
Yamamoto discloses a vehicle control system in which the ECU (300) control of suppressing the speed and torque of the engine (410) or the motor in a virtual driving mode (see paragraphs 0017-0020).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Jones and Tiwari with the teachings as taught by Yamamoto to arrive at the claimed invention. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing superior haptic feedback and driver awareness of the potential risk, allowing the driver to feel the need to regain control.
Allowable Subject Matter
It is found none of the prior art discloses or even suggests the limitations of:
Maintain the virtual driving mode based on an index signal, wherein a value of the index signal is configured to be changed at a specific interval while the virtual vehicle driving is running from the user terminal.
Perform a motion impact by controlling the driving motor such that a front wheel and a rear wheel of the vehicle rotate in opposite direction in the virtual driving mode.
For that reason, claims 2, 3, 5-10, 12, and 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant disclosure. The following patent documents are cited in the PTO-892 to further show the state of the art in general: US-20230150369-A1, US-20220126722-A1, WO-2020219802-A1, and WO-2004081900-A1.
Conclusions
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TUAN C TO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661