DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15, 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finke US 2021/0040893 in view of Lemmers US 2010/0167863 OR in the alternative Finke, in view of Eick US 2006/0272313 and Lemmers.
Regarding claim 1, referring to fig. 7, Finke discloses a transfer assembly to transfer power within an aircraft, see para. [0002], between a low pressure spool of an engine, see fig. 6, low spool input 403, a high pressure spool of the engine, id. high spool input 405, and an accessory, see para. [0066]. Fig. 7, accessory, the transfer assembly comprising: a low pressure drive mechanism, the shaft 403 and the structure attached thereto, operatively connected to the low pressure spool, see para. [0031] stating that the low pressure spool input 403 is connected to the low pressure spool; a high pressure drive mechanism, the shaft 405 and the structure attached thereto operatively connected to the high pressure spool, id. stating that the input 405 is from the high pressure spool; a differential 100a operatively connected to each of the low pressure drive mechanism, the high pressure drive mechanism, and the accessory drive mechanism, the LP and HP shafts are attached the differential 100a; an accessory drive mechanism, see 600a, operatively connected to the accessory, see fig. 7, access., and to the differential 100a, the accessory drive mechanism comprising multiple shafts 605, 613a connected at a gearbox 600a, and wherein the differential is configured to operate in a first mode, a second mode, and a third mode with the first mode configured to transfer power from the accessory to one of the low pressure spool and the high pressure spool, see para. [0066] stating that an electric motor generator may be connected to the transmission output to drive a low pressure spool and connects the LP spool to the accessory when the LP spool is outside the desired range, the second mode configured to transfer power from one of the low pressure spool and the high pressure spool to the accessory, see for example para. [0063] stating that the epicyclic differential can allow for the driving of the accessory via the LP and HP spools, and the third mode configured to transfer power from the low pressure spool to the high pressure spool, the apparatus of Finke discloses an epicyclic gear differential 100a that is capable of transferring power from the LP spool to the HP spool since the two devices are connected to the differential. Finke does not expressly teach the transfer of power between the LP to the HP spools and thus if it is later determined that the apparatus cannot operate in a third mode, Eick is relied upon to teach the third mode.
Eick teaches a similar power transfer system to Finke’s where the power transfer system disclosed transfers power from the low pressure turbine to the high pressure turbine for improved compressor surge margin, engine operability, reduced fuel burn rate and reduced residual thrust during high power extraction demands. See para. [0044].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a power transfer system in the apparatus of Finke so as to transfer power between the LP and HP spools as taught by Eick, in order to improve compressor surge margin, engine operability, reduced fuel burn rate and reduced residual thrust during high power extraction demands. Id.
Finke OR Finke, in view of Eick, discloses all elements but does not expressly state that the gearbox or the differential operate with negative and positive gear ratios as claimed. Eick does teach that gear ratios can be optimized to meet desired performance goals and load sharing goals. See para. [0037].
Lemmers teaches that the gear ratios of a main differential may be in opposite directions, i.e. positive or negative. This would ensure that the carrier 54 of the differential can operate during start mode to transmit torque to the engine 24. See para. [0024].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled worker to provide a negative and positive gear ratio to both the gear box and the differential as claimed in the apparatus of Finke, or Finke, in view of Eick, as taught by Lemmers in order to provide a system that allows the starter to transmit torque to the engine, id., and further because Eick teaches the gear ratio may be optimized accordingly, supra. It would be obvious to provide the low pressure drive mechanism with a negative gear ratio and the high pressure drive mechanism with the positive gear ratio as claimed since one of the spools would be positive and the other negative. With further regard to the limitation, wherein the third mode occurs during ground idle of the aircraft to enable power to be transferred from the low pressure spool to the high pressure spool, Finke discloses an apparatus capable of transferring power as claimed at ground idle, where Eick expressly teaches the capability. Thus, the structure of Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses an apparatus capable of operating the third mode during ground idle of the aircraft to enable power transfer from the LP spool to the HP spool.
Regarding claim 2, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses a clutch positioned along the low pressure drive mechanism, the clutch configured to disconnect the low pressure drive mechanism and brake the differential during the first mode and second mode, see para. [0066]; Finke discloses a clutch 717, 711 which may be a controllable friction clutch to engage and disengage from the LP spool, when engaged in the generator mode, the generator is capable of providing a braking load. Additionally, as noted in the rejection mailed 11/17/2025, Eick discloses the same structure where the structure is necessary for the load sharing between the two spools and obvious for the same reasons discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses the low pressure drive mechanism comprises the clutch 717 positioned between a first shaft of the low pressure drive mechanism 703 and a second shaft 107 of the low pressure drive mechanism. See para. [0046].
Regarding claim 4, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses the gearbox is configured to operate with a first gear ratio in the first mode and a second gear ratio in the second mode with the first gear ratio being different than the second gear ratio. See para. [0054] stating the transmission cab provide a first and second output gear ratio in first and second states and is therefore capable of providing the gear ratios in different modes.
Regarding claim 5, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses the accessory drive mechanism comprises a first shaft that extends between the differential and an accessory drive mechanism gearbox, shown at 600a, and a second shaft that extends between the accessory drive mechanism gearbox and the accessory, wherein the first shaft and the second shaft are configured to rotate at different speeds. Referring to fig. 7, the first and second shafts are show the shaft 703 exiting the differential 100a and the shaft 605 going to accessory from the gearbox 600a. See for example para. [0037] stating that the transmission can operate in different gear ratios.
Regarding claim 6, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses the differential is configured to operate with different gear ratios between two of the first mode, the second mode, and the third mode. Referring to claim 4, the epicyclic gear box is capable of operating in different gear ratios, see para. [0052].
Regarding claim 8, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses each of the low pressure drive mechanism and the high pressure drive mechanism comprises a shaft with one or more sections. See input shafts 403, 405 and the turbine engine not shown must have portions where the shaft connects to the rotor.
Regarding claim 9, referring to claim 1 above, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses the gear ratios may be positive or negative where since an ordinary skilled worker would find the low pressure drive mechanism having a negative ratio to be obvious, the high pressure drive mechanism would be obvious to have a positive gear ratio with the differential.
Regarding claim 10, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses, in the first mode, the power is transferred from the accessory to the high pressure spool and in the second mode, the power is transferred from the high pressure spool to the accessory. Finke discloses an apparatus where the epicyclic gear box 100a is connected to the high pressure spool and the motor generator spool such that the motor is capable of providing power to the high pressure spool. Additionally, referring to paras. [0036]-[0037], Eick teaches that the starter motors are connected to the high pressure spool in order to start the engine.
It would have been obvious to provide power from the motor to the HP spool of Finke, as taught by Eick, in order to provide a means to start the engine. Supra. The Examiner notes that Finke expressly discloses that power from the HP spool can be applied to the accessory. See for example para. [0005].
Regarding claim 11, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses the engine is one of a turbofan engine, a turboshaft engine, and an open rotor engine. See para. [0014], Finke teaches a turboshaft engine. Additionally, Eick teaches a turbofan, see fig. 2 for example.
Regarding claim 12, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses a transfer assembly to transfer power within an aircraft between an accessory and an engine, the transfer assembly comprising: a differential; a first drive mechanism connected to the differential with a first gear ratio configured to connect to a first spool of the engine; a second drive mechanism connected to the differential with a second gear ratio and configured to connect to a second spool of the engine; a third drive mechanism connected to the differential and configured to connect to the accessory; wherein the differential is configured to transfer power from the third drive mechanism to one of the first drive mechanism and the second drive mechanism, to transfer power from one of the first drive mechanism and the second drive mechanism to the third drive mechanism, and to transfer power from the third drive mechanism and one of the first drive mechanism and the second drive mechanism to the other of the first drive mechanism and the second drive mechanism; and one of the first spool and the second spool is a high pressure spool and the other of the first spool and the second spool is a low pressure spool. Referring to the rejection of claim 1 above, Finke, or Finke, in view of Eick, discloses all elements where the third mechanism is the accessory drive mechanism and the first and second drive mechanisms are the low and high pressure drive mechanisms previously claimed. It is noted that each of the low and high pressure mechanisms connect to the differential via gears and therefore must have a respective gear ratio. Additionally, the mechanism of Finke is a dual spool engine as disclosed by the Applicant connected to an accessory drive having a motor/generator and is thus capable of transmitting power from the accessory drive mechanism/third drive mechanism and one of the first/second drive mechanisms (low/high pressure drive mechanisms) to on of the other second/first drive mechanisms (high/low pressure drive mechanisms). Additionally, Eick teaches that power is transferrable between the spools. With regard to the amended recitations, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses all elements as discussed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses the first drive mechanism comprises: a first drive shaft section; a second drive shaft section; and a clutch operatively connected to each of the first drive shaft section and the second drive shaft section. See claim 3 above where the first drive mechanism is interpreted as the low pressure drive mechanism.
Regarding claim 14, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses the clutch is configured to operate in one of three manners comprising: a connected mode to connect the first drive shaft section and the second drive shaft section; a neutral mode to enable the first drive shaft section and the second drive shaft section to rotate independently; or a braked mode to prevent rotation of the first drive shaft section and the second drive shaft section. Referring to all claims above, Finke discloses at least the first two modes where the first and second drive shafts are connected via a controllable clutch 717. Additionally, as noted in claim 2 above, Finke discloses an apparatus where the motor/generator is capable providing a braking force on the shaft.
Regarding claim 15, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses each of the first drive mechanism and the second drive mechanism and the third drive mechanism operate at different gear ratios. See claims 4-5 above.
Regarding claim 21, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses the third drive mechanism comprises a gearbox and multiple shafts that connect the differential to the accessory. Refer to the rejection of claim 1 of the amended subject matter.
Regarding claim 22, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses that the gearbox operates at one or more positive and negative gear ratios. Lemmers teaches that the gearbox can comprises positive and negative gear ratios. See discussion on claim 1.
Regarding claim 23, referring to claim 11, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses a turboshaft engine and a turbofan engine respectively.
Regarding claim 24, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, where Finke discloses the accessory is a generator that is powered through the accessory drive mechanism. See for example paras. [0063], [0066]. Additionally, Eick shows a starter generator 258 connected to the differential.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hanrahan US 2020/0400078.
Regarding claim 7, Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, discloses all elements but does not expressly teach a control unit that receive inputs regarding operation of the transfer assembly and controls an operation of the differential. Finke does teach the system is controlled.
Hanrahan teaches that a controller 25 controls features of a differential gear system to tailor operation of the differential based on engine operating requirements. See para. [0036]. The controller engages various components of the system such as clutches and brakes depending on a mode of the differential. See paras. [0045]-[0046].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled worker to provide a controller that receives inputs regarding operation of the transfer assembly and control an operation of the differential in the engine of Finke, in view of Lemmers, or Finke, in view of Eick and Lemmers, as taught by Hanrahan, in order to provide a control that tailors the differential to engine operating requirements. Supra.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that the amendments presented obviate the rejection. The Applicant does not appear to be contesting that Lemmers discloses the positive and negative gear ratios since the Applicant states that Lemmers in combination with the other references does not teach or suggest the aspects now included in independent claim 1 which is subsequently stated that the transfer assembly includes various modes including one for ground idle. The Examiner disagrees.
“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Here, both Finke and Eick disclose structure that is capable of transferring power from the low pressure spool to the high pressure spool at ground idle. The claims do not recite a special purpose computer positively recited to carry out the claimed intended use and thus the claims are judged by whether the prior art apparatus is capable of achieving the limitations. The claimed power transfer is notably accomplished by the differential gear which both Finke and Eick disclose. Furthermore, Eick expressly teaches that when gas turbines are designed around electrical systems instead of pneumatic or hydraulic systems, the engine consumes more power which notably during ground idle condition consumes more fuel. See para. [0004]. The solution is that the power transfer system 150 is configured to transfer a portion of the power from the LPT 128 to the HPT 126 at least during certain flight or ground conditions. See para. [0021]. Thus, it appears that Eick acknowledges that at ground idle, it is desirable to transfer power from the LPT to the HPT.
Conclusion
/GERALD L SUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741