DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are currently pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is in response to the “amendment” and “remarks” filed 07/07/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whelan (WO2019170805) in view of Gravelle (US20210354922).
Claim 1:
Whelan explicitly teaches:
A remotely operated vehicle comprising a sensor module for providing [a pre-alert] and tracking of a position of the vehicle following a route relative to tracks laid out on rails in x-, y-directions on a rail system,
(Whelan) – “Figure 5 depicts an apparatus according to the first embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment a control unit 100 according to a first embodiment of the present invention is provided. The control unit 100 is arranged to receive information from a first sensor 200 and, based on the received information, calculate a position of a transporting device 600. Moreover, the control unit 100 may control a transporting unit 600 based on the calculated position.” (Pg 8 Ln 12-16)
“According to the present invention there is provided a control unit arranged to control movement of at least one transporting device, the at least one transporting device arranged to transport containers, the containers being stored in a facility, the facility arranged to store the containers in a plurality of stacks, the facility comprising a plurality of pathways arranged in cells so as to form a grid-like structure above the stacks, wherein the grid-like structure extends in a first direction and in a second direction, the at least one transporting device arranged to operate on the grid-like structure. The control unit comprises a receiving unit arranged to receive information from a first sensor mounted on the at least one transporting device. The control unit further comprises a calculating unit arranged to calculate a position of the at least one transporting device based on the received information.” (Pg 5 Ln 29– Pg 6 Ln 3)
“The storage system comprises a first set of parallel rails or tracks extending in an X-direction, and a second set of parallel rails or tracks extending in a Y-direction transverse to the first set in a substantially horizontal plane to form a grid pattern comprising a plurality of grid spaces, a plurality of stacks of containers located beneath the rails, and arranged such that each stack is located within a footprint of a single grid space, at least one transporting device comprising a first sensor, the at least one transporting device being arranged to selectively move laterally in the X and Y directions, above the stacks on the rails and a control unit as previously described.” (Pg 6 Ln 5-12)
(Whelan) – “Figure 5 depicts an apparatus according to the first embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment a control unit 100 according to a first embodiment of the present invention is provided. The control unit 100 is arranged to receive information from a first sensor 200 and, based on the received information, calculate a position of a transporting device 600. Moreover, the control unit 100 may control a transporting unit 600 based on the calculated position.” (Pg 8 Ln 12-16)
“Optionally, the control unit 100 may receive further information from a second sensor 300. Moreover, optionally, the control unit 100 may receive yet further information from a third sensor 400 and a fourth sensor 500. Each of the sensors is arranged to be mounted on the transporting device 600, for example, on a face and/or side of the transporting device 600 in such an orientation so as to capture and/or scan the environment in which the transporting device 600 is located.” (Pg 8 Ln 21-26)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
the vehicle having first and second sets of wheels connected to drives for moving the vehicle in corresponding x-, y-directions on the rail system,
(Whelan) – “Figure 6 depicts a top down section view of a transporting device 600 and the placement thereon of first to fourth sensors 200 - 500. More specifically, the transporting device 600 comprises wheels 602 arranged around the outside of a cavity for receiving a container. The transporting device 600 also comprises a chassis 601 to which the wheels 602 are mounted (mounting not shown). As shown in Figure 6, eight wheels are used by the transporting device 600 so as to move in a first direction (for example, an X-direction) across the rails or to move in a second direction (for example, a Y-direction) across the rails.” (Pg 9 Ln 12-23)
wherein the sensor module comprises: a first sensor directed to detect the rails in the x-direction,
(Whelan) – “Figure 5 depicts an apparatus according to the first embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment a control unit 100 according to a first embodiment of the present invention is provided. The control unit 100 is arranged to receive information from a first sensor 200 and, based on the received information, calculate a position of a transporting device 600. Moreover, the control unit 100 may control a transporting unit 600 based on the calculated position.” (Pg 8 Ln 12-16)
“According to the present invention there is provided a control unit arranged to control movement of at least one transporting device, the at least one transporting device arranged to transport containers, the containers being stored in a facility, the facility arranged to store the containers in a plurality of stacks, the facility comprising a plurality of pathways arranged in cells so as to form a grid-like structure above the stacks, wherein the grid-like structure extends in a first direction and in a second direction, the at least one transporting device arranged to operate on the grid-like structure. The control unit comprises a receiving unit arranged to receive information from a first sensor mounted on the at least one transporting device. The control unit further comprises a calculating unit arranged to calculate a position of the at least one transporting device based on the received information.” (Pg 5 Ln 29– Pg 6 Ln 3)
“In the example of Figure 6 the first sensor 200 is mounted on a face of the transporting device to scan/capture images of a first rail upon which the transporting device 600 is placed/moving” Pg 10 Ln 5-7)
“the present inventors envisage including on the grid markings and/or colourings that may be detected by the first sensor 200. In this way, based on a grid map of the location of the markings and/or colourings an absolute position of the transporting device 600 can be calculated by the control unit 100.” (Pg 18 Ln 5-8)
Examiner Note: Fig 8 shows a first sensor directed downwards. Fig 14 shows similar.
a second sensor directed to detect the rails in the y-direction, and
(Whelan) – “Figure 5 depicts an apparatus according to the first embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment a control unit 100 according to a first embodiment of the present invention is provided. The control unit 100 is arranged to receive information from a first sensor 200 and, based on the received information, calculate a position of a transporting device 600. Moreover, the control unit 100 may control a transporting unit 600 based on the calculated position.” (Pg 8 Ln 12-16)
“Optionally, the control unit 100 may receive further information from a second sensor 300. Moreover, optionally, the control unit 100 may receive yet further information from a third sensor 400 and a fourth sensor 500. Each of the sensors is arranged to be mounted on the transporting device 600, for example, on a face and/or side of the transporting device 600 in such an orientation so as to capture and/or scan the environment in which the transporting device 600 is located.” (Pg 8 Ln 21-26)
“Figure 6 also shows third and fourth sensors 400 and 500 arranged on perpendicular faces to those upon which the first and second sensors 200 and 300 are mounted. In this way, the third and fourth sensors 400 and 500 are arranged to scan/capture images of the rail extending in a second direction (such as a Y-direction) along which the transporting device 600 is placed/moving.” (Pg 10 Ln 16-20)
“the present inventors envisage including on the grid markings and/or colourings that may be detected by the first sensor 200. In this way, based on a grid map of the location of the markings and/or colourings an absolute position of the transporting device 600 can be calculated by the control unit 100.” (Pg 18 Ln 5-8)
Examiner Note: Fig 8 shows a second sensor directed downwards.
a third sensor, different from the first and second sensors, directed to detect a corner of an intersection between the rails in the x- direction and y-direction,
(Whelan) – “Figure 13 shows an example top-down view of the mounting of a first sensor 200 and a second sensor 300 by way of a frame f (which corresponds, in a simplified manner, with the chassis 601)…Each of the first and second rails are arranged to support and provide tracks for a transporting device 600 to traverse the grid in a first direction. As shown in Figure 13 each of the sensors is offset from each other in a first direction by an amount m. As described previously, m may equal zero and hence no offset may be present. However, advantageously, by providing a distance m between the sensors ensures that a valid read of barcodes on either side of an intersection of rails (at which no barcodes are provided) ensures that absolute positional information is always available to the control unit 100. In particular, the distance m is set such that one of the first sensor 200 or the second sensor 300 is capable of reading a barcode on either side of the intersection in the grid.” (Pg 15 Ln 27- Pg 16 Ln 7)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, the detection of barcodes on either side of an intersection corresponds with detecting the corner of the intersection.
wherein each of the sensors are directed downwardly towards the rails in x-, y- directions for determining the position of the vehicle relative to the rails, and wherein the sensor
module is mounted in a corner position in a structure of the vehicle.
(Whelan) – “Figure 6 depicts a top down section view of a transporting device 600 and the placement thereon of first to fourth sensors 200 - 500. More specifically, the transporting device 600 comprises wheels 602 arranged around the outside of a cavity for receiving a container. The transporting device 600 also comprises a chassis 601 to which the wheels 602 are mounted (mounting not shown). As shown in Figure 6, eight wheels are used by the transporting device 600 so as to move in a first direction (for example, an X-direction) across the rails or to move in a second direction (for example, a Y-direction) across the rails.” (Pg 9 Ln 12-23)
“Figure 5 depicts an apparatus according to the first embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment a control unit 100 according to a first embodiment of the present invention is provided. The control unit 100 is arranged to receive information from a first sensor 200 and, based on the received information, calculate a position of a transporting device 600. Moreover, the control unit 100 may control a transporting unit 600 based on the calculated position.” (Pg 8 Ln 12-16)
“According to the present invention there is provided a control unit arranged to control movement of at least one transporting device, the at least one transporting device arranged to transport containers, the containers being stored in a facility, the facility arranged to store the containers in a plurality of stacks, the facility comprising a plurality of pathways arranged in cells so as to form a grid-like structure above the stacks, wherein the grid-like structure extends in a first direction and in a second direction, the at least one transporting device arranged to operate on the grid-like structure. The control unit comprises a receiving unit arranged to receive information from a first sensor mounted on the at least one transporting device. The control unit further comprises a calculating unit arranged to calculate a position of the at least one transporting device based on the received information.” (Pg 5 Ln 29– Pg 6 Ln 3)
“In the example of Figure 6 the first sensor 200 is mounted on a face of the transporting device to scan/capture images of a first rail upon which the transporting device 600 is placed/moving” Pg 10 Ln 5-7)
“the present inventors envisage including on the grid markings and/or colourings that may be detected by the first sensor 200. In this way, based on a grid map of the location of the markings and/or colourings an absolute position of the transporting device 600 can be calculated by the control unit 100.” (Pg 18 Ln 5-8)
Examiner Note: Fig 8 shows the sensors directed downwards. Fig 14 shows similar.
Fig 6 shows each sensor mounted near each corner, each behind a wheel. As such, this corresponds with a corner position.
Whelan does not explicitly teach:
a pre-alert and
Gravelle, in the same field of endeavor of robotic storage management, teaches:
a pre-alert and
(Gravelle) – “Where the vehicle is travelling through more than one pass-through spot to reach the targeted grid spot below the targeted shaft, the scanner can perform a scan as it moves through each pass-through spot use the results to dynamically correct the travel instructions on the fly to account for differences between the originally assigned travel distance and the true-remaining travel distance from the vehicle's current location to the targeted spot, thus co-ordinating more precisely aligned arrival of the storage/retrieval vehicle at the targeted spot to avoid or reduce the need for fine-tuning of the alignment during final arrival at the targeted spot.” (Para 0149)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention, to have modified the transporting device of Whelan with the storage and retrieval
system of Gravelle. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these
modifications with a reasonable expectation of success in order “to avoid or reduce the need for fine-tuning of the alignment during final arrival at the targeted spot.” (Gravelle Para 0149)
Claim 2
Whelan in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Whelan further teaches:
wherein the sensor module is mounted into the structure of the vehicle in a corner position at least partly behind at least one of the wheels of the vehicle.
(Whelan) – “Figure 6 depicts a top down section view of a transporting device 600 and the placement thereon of first to fourth sensors 200 - 500. More specifically, the transporting device 600 comprises wheels 602 arranged around the outside of a cavity for receiving a container. The transporting device 600 also comprises a chassis 601 to which the wheels 602 are mounted (mounting not shown). As shown in Figure 6, eight wheels are used by the transporting device 600 so as to move in a first direction (for example, an X-direction) across the rails or to move in a second direction (for example, a Y-direction) across the rails.” (Pg 9 Ln 12-23)
Examiner Note: Fig 6 shows each sensor mounted near each corner, each behind a wheel. As such, this corresponds with a corner position at least partly behind at least one of the wheels
Claim 3:
Whelan in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Whelan further teaches:
wherein the sensor module comprises two sensor modules; a first sensor module arranged in the corner position of the vehicle, and
(Whelan) – “Figure 6 depicts a top down section view of a transporting device 600 and the placement thereon of first to fourth sensors 200 - 500. More specifically, the transporting device 600 comprises wheels 602 arranged around the outside of a cavity for receiving a container. The transporting device 600 also comprises a chassis 601 to which the wheels 602 are mounted (mounting not shown). As shown in Figure 6, eight wheels are used by the transporting device 600 so as to move in a first direction (for example, an X-direction) across the rails or to move in a second direction (for example, a Y-direction) across the rails.” (Pg 9 Ln 12-23)
“Figure 6 shows the suggested placement of the second sensor 300 as being on an opposing face of the transporting device 600 to the first sensor 200. In the example of Figure 6 the first sensor 200 is mounted on a face of the transporting device to scan/capture images of a first rail upon which the transporting device 600 is placed/moving whilst the second sensor 300 is mounted to capture/scan images of a second rail, parallel to the first rail. (Pg 10 Ln 4-8)
“Figure 6 also shows third and fourth sensors 400 and 500 arranged on perpendicular faces to those upon which the first and second sensors 200 and 300 are mounted.” (Pg 10 Ln 16-17)
a second sensor module arranged at a diametrically opposite corner position of the vehicle such that the corresponding sensors of the first and second sensor module are equally spaced from their respective corner positions.
(Whelan) – “Figure 6 depicts a top down section view of a transporting device 600 and the placement thereon of first to fourth sensors 200 - 500. More specifically, the transporting device 600 comprises wheels 602 arranged around the outside of a cavity for receiving a container. The transporting device 600 also comprises a chassis 601 to which the wheels 602 are mounted (mounting not shown). As shown in Figure 6, eight wheels are used by the transporting device 600 so as to move in a first direction (for example, an X-direction) across the rails or to move in a second direction (for example, a Y-direction) across the rails.” (Pg 9 Ln 12-23)
“Figure 6 shows the suggested placement of the second sensor 300 as being on an opposing face of the transporting device 600 to the first sensor 200. In the example of Figure 6 the first sensor 200 is mounted on a face of the transporting device to scan/capture images of a first rail upon which the transporting device 600 is placed/moving whilst the second sensor 300 is mounted to capture/scan images of a second rail, parallel to the first rail. (Pg 10 Ln 4-8)
“Figure 6 also shows third and fourth sensors 400 and 500 arranged on perpendicular faces to those upon which the first and second sensors 200 and 300 are mounted.” (Pg 10 Ln 16-17)
Examiner Note: Fig 6 shows the first and second sensors of Whelan being mounted in opposing corners. Since the first and second sensors are intended to measure the same direction, this corresponds with a second sensor module. The same is true for the third and fourth sensors.
Claim 4:
Whelan in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Whelan further teaches:
wherein the sensor module comprises a fourth sensor configured to pre-alert a remaining distance to an arrival of the vehicle at a set position, by detecting any of the rails in the x- or y-direction, wherein the fourth sensor is arranged in the sensor module together with the first, second and third sensors.
(Gravelle) – “FIG. 8 illustrates an isolated section of the lower track layout of the three-dimensional grid structure, with parallel first and second longitudinal rails 60a, 60b running in the X-direction of the lower track layout, and a parallel set of additional cross-rails 62a-62f perpendicularly interconnecting the first and second longitudinal rails 60a, 60b at regularly spaced intervals there along in the Y-direction of the lower track layout. As mentioned above, a respective spot of the lower track layout is denoted by the square area between the two longitudinal rails and each adjacent pair of cross-rails 62a-62f The cross-rail on the same side of each spot (on the right side of each spot in the illustrated example) carries a visually detectable location marker 64 thereon at a mid-point of the cross-rail's topside. The detectable location marker may be applied as a separate sticker or label, or etched into the rail of the track itself. Each robotic storage/retrieval vehicle carries a scanner 66 on a side of the robotic storage/retrieval vehicle that matches the side of the track spots on which the location markers 64 are positioned. The scanner comprises an image capture device with a downwardly angled field of view oriented to capture imagery of the marked cross-rails as the robotic storage/retrieval vehicle travels the lower track layout. The field of view is aimed so that the frame size thereof at the marked topsides of the rails exceeds the size of the detectable markers. The scanner and the location markers are positioned relative to one another such that when the robotic storage/retrieval vehicle is properly centered between the two longitudinal rails and two cross-rails bounding a given spot of the lower track, the respective location marker 64 on one of the cross-rails will occupy a predetermined sub-region of the scanner's field of view (e.g. a central area thereof). As the robotic storage/retrieval vehicle arrives at a targeted destination spot of the lower track layout, the scanner captures images from its current field of view and a software module executed by a local computer processor of the robotic vehicle compares the position of the location marker within the larger viewing frame of the scanner to check for agreement between the marker position in the viewing frame and expected viewing frame sub-region in which the marker is expected. So, where the sub-region is a central area of the viewing frame, the software is checking whether the marker is properly centered in the viewing frame. The relative agreement or disagreement thus reflects the relative alignment between the robotic storage/retrieval vehicle and the targeted spot on the lower track layout.” (Para 0141)
“the local processor of the vehicle triggers capture of a digital image by the scanner 66, and at step 3004 analyzes the captured image to check for proper alignment of the uniquely coded marker 64 on the rail by measuring, in the same X or Y direction as the vehicle's commanded unidirectional travel, any pixel offset between the coded marker 64 and its anticipated position in the image.” (Para 0148)
“Where the vehicle is travelling through more than one pass-through spot to reach the targeted grid spot below the targeted shaft, the scanner can perform a scan as it moves through each pass-through spot use the results to dynamically correct the travel instructions on the fly to account for differences between the originally assigned travel distance and the true-remaining travel distance from the vehicle's current location to the targeted spot, thus co-ordinating more precisely aligned arrival of the storage/retrieval vehicle at the targeted spot to avoid or reduce the need for fine-tuning of the alignment during final arrival at the targeted spot.” (Para 0149)
“Since the robotic storage/retrieval vehicles never change orientation on the track layout, the particular selection of which set of rails the markers are placed on (either X-direction or Y direction rails) is of no consequence, provided that the scanner is placed on the appropriately cooperative side of each vehicle.” (Para 0144)
Claim 5:
Whelan in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Whelan does not explicitly teach the following limitations. However, Gravelle further teaches:
further comprising a controller, wherein the controller is configured to employ an output of the sensors in a feedback loop for providing signals to cause additional or less deceleration of the vehicle.
(Gravelle) – “During arrival of the robotic storage/retrieval vehicle at the targeted spot in the X-direction, the scanner captures imagery from its viewing frame and the software executed by the local processor on the robotic storage/retrieval vehicle checks the position of the location marker image within the viewing frame, and uses any deviation between the actual and expected location marker position in the viewing frame as feedback signals to dynamically adjust the drive signals to the motors of the X-direction wheels so as to drive the robotic storage/retrieval vehicle into properly centered alignment on the targeted spot. The same alignment procedure is used to provide feedback-governed control over the Y-direction wheels when travelling into a targeted spot in the Y-direction.” (Para 0144)
“the local processor of the vehicle triggers capture of a digital image by the scanner 66, and at step 3004 analyzes the captured image to check for proper alignment of the uniquely coded marker 64 on the rail by measuring, in the same X or Y direction as the vehicle's commanded unidirectional travel, any pixel offset between the coded marker 64 and its anticipated position in the image. If the marker is properly aligned in the image (i.e. if there is no offset, at least not beyond any prescribed threshold limit), then at Step 3005 the vehicle's processor wirelessly transmits a confirmation signal to the master control system, which contains the unique identifier read from uniquely coded marker 64 scanned by the vehicle, so that the master control system uses this to confirm the vehicle's arrival at the targeted destination spot prescribed by the travel command. If the marker is found not to be properly aligned in the image, then at step 3006, the vehicle attempts self-correction of its alignment by sending a drive signal to the wheel motors that is proportional to the measured pixel offset value V.sub.PO from the image analysis, and repeats step 3004 again until alignment is confirmed.” (Para 0148)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention, to have modified the transporting device of Whelan with the storage and retrieval
system of Gravelle. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these
modifications with a reasonable expectation of success in order “to avoid or reduce the need for fine-tuning of the alignment during final arrival at the targeted spot.” (Gravelle Para 0149)
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whelan (WO2019170805) in view of Gravelle (US20210354922) further in view of Hognaland (US20180244467).
Claim 6:
Whelan explicitly teaches:
A method for [pre-alerting and] tracking of a position of a remotely operated vehicle following a travelling route relative to tracks laid out on rails in x, y directions on a rail system,
(Whelan) – “Figure 5 depicts an apparatus according to the first embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment a control unit 100 according to a first embodiment of the present invention is provided. The control unit 100 is arranged to receive information from a first sensor 200 and, based on the received information, calculate a position of a transporting device 600. Moreover, the control unit 100 may control a transporting unit 600 based on the calculated position.” (Pg 8 Ln 12-16)
“According to the present invention there is provided a control unit arranged to control movement of at least one transporting device, the at least one transporting device arranged to transport containers, the containers being stored in a facility, the facility arranged to store the containers in a plurality of stacks, the facility comprising a plurality of pathways arranged in cells so as to form a grid-like structure above the stacks, wherein the grid-like structure extends in a first direction and in a second direction, the at least one transporting device arranged to operate on the grid-like structure. The control unit comprises a receiving unit arranged to receive information from a first sensor mounted on the at least one transporting device. The control unit further comprises a calculating unit arranged to calculate a position of the at least one transporting device based on the received information.” (Pg 5 Ln 29– Pg 6 Ln 3)
“The storage system comprises a first set of parallel rails or tracks extending in an X-direction, and a second set of parallel rails or tracks extending in a Y-direction transverse to the first set in a substantially horizontal plane to form a grid pattern comprising a plurality of grid spaces, a plurality of stacks of containers located beneath the rails, and arranged such that each stack is located within a footprint of a single grid space, at least one transporting device comprising a first sensor, the at least one transporting device being arranged to selectively move laterally in the X and Y directions, above the stacks on the rails and a control unit as previously described.” (Pg 6 Ln 5-12)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
the vehicle having first and second sets of wheels connected to drives for moving the vehicle in corresponding x-, y-directions on the rail system,
(Whelan) – “Figure 6 depicts a top down section view of a transporting device 600 and the placement thereon of first to fourth sensors 200 - 500. More specifically, the transporting device 600 comprises wheels 602 arranged around the outside of a cavity for receiving a container. The transporting device 600 also comprises a chassis 601 to which the wheels 602 are mounted (mounting not shown). As shown in Figure 6, eight wheels are used by the transporting device 600 so as to move in a first direction (for example, an X-direction) across the rails or to move in a second direction (for example, a Y-direction) across the rails.” (Pg 9 Ln 12-23)
wherein the vehicle comprises an arrangement of a controller and a sensor module, the
sensor module mounted in a corner position in a structure of the vehicle, comprising:
(Whelan) – “Figure 5 depicts an apparatus according to the first embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment a control unit 100 according to a first embodiment of the present invention is provided. The control unit 100 is arranged to receive information from a first sensor 200 and, based on the received information, calculate a position of a transporting device 600. Moreover, the control unit 100 may control a transporting unit 600 based on the calculated position.” (Pg 8 Ln 12-16)
“Optionally, the control unit 100 may receive further information from a second sensor 300. Moreover, optionally, the control unit 100 may receive yet further information from a third sensor 400 and a fourth sensor 500. Each of the sensors is arranged to be mounted on the transporting device 600, for example, on a face and/or side of the transporting device 600 in such an orientation so as to capture and/or scan the environment in which the transporting device 600 is located.” (Pg 8 Ln 21-26)
“Figure 6 depicts a top down section view of a transporting device 600 and the placement thereon of first to fourth sensors 200 - 500. More specifically, the transporting device 600 comprises wheels 602 arranged around the outside of a cavity for receiving a container. The transporting device 600 also comprises a chassis 601 to which the wheels 602 are mounted (mounting not shown). As shown in Figure 6, eight wheels are used by the transporting device 600 so as to move in a first direction (for example, an X-direction) across the rails or to move in a second direction (for example, a Y-direction) across the rails.” (Pg 9 Ln 12-23)
“Figure 5 depicts an apparatus according to the first embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment a control unit 100 according to a first embodiment of the present invention is provided. The control unit 100 is arranged to receive information from a first sensor 200 and, based on the received information, calculate a position of a transporting device 600. Moreover, the control unit 100 may control a transporting unit 600 based on the calculated position.” (Pg 8 Ln 12-16)
“According to the present invention there is provided a control unit arranged to control movement of at least one transporting device, the at least one transporting device arranged to transport containers, the containers being stored in a facility, the facility arranged to store the containers in a plurality of stacks, the facility comprising a plurality of pathways arranged in cells so as to form a grid-like structure above the stacks, wherein the grid-like structure extends in a first direction and in a second direction, the at least one transporting device arranged to operate on the grid-like structure. The control unit comprises a receiving unit arranged to receive information from a first sensor mounted on the at least one transporting device. The control unit further comprises a calculating unit arranged to calculate a position of the at least one transporting device based on the received information.” (Pg 5 Ln 29– Pg 6 Ln 3)
“In the example of Figure 6 the first sensor 200 is mounted on a face of the transporting device to scan/capture images of a first rail upon which the transporting device 600 is placed/moving” Pg 10 Ln 5-7)
“the present inventors envisage including on the grid markings and/or colourings that may be detected by the first sensor 200. In this way, based on a grid map of the location of the markings and/or colourings an absolute position of the transporting device 600 can be calculated by the control unit 100.” (Pg 18 Ln 5-8)
Examiner Note: Fig 6 shows each sensor mounted near each corner, each behind a wheel. As such, this corresponds with a corner position.
a first sensor directed to detect the rails in the x-direction,
(Whelan) – “Figure 5 depicts an apparatus according to the first embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment a control unit 100 according to a first embodiment of the present invention is provided. The control unit 100 is arranged to receive information from a first sensor 200 and, based on the received information, calculate a position of a transporting device 600. Moreover, the control unit 100 may control a transporting unit 600 based on the calculated position.” (Pg 8 Ln 12-16)
“According to the present invention there is provided a control unit arranged to control movement of at least one transporting device, the at least one transporting device arranged to transport containers, the containers being stored in a facility, the facility arranged to store the containers in a plurality of stacks, the facility comprising a plurality of pathways arranged in cells so as to form a grid-like structure above the stacks, wherein the grid-like structure extends in a first direction and in a second direction, the at least one transporting device arranged to operate on the grid-like structure. The control unit comprises a receiving unit arranged to receive information from a first sensor mounted on the at least one transporting device. The control unit further comprises a calculating unit arranged to calculate a position of the at least one transporting device based on the received information.” (Pg 5 Ln 29– Pg 6 Ln 3)
“In the example of Figure 6 the first sensor 200 is mounted on a face of the transporting device to scan/capture images of a first rail upon which the transporting device 600 is placed/moving” Pg 10 Ln 5-7)
“the present inventors envisage including on the grid markings and/or colourings that may be detected by the first sensor 200. In this way, based on a grid map of the location of the markings and/or colourings an absolute position of the transporting device 600 can be calculated by the control unit 100.” (Pg 18 Ln 5-8)
a second sensor directed to detect the rails in the y-direction, and
(Whelan) – “Figure 5 depicts an apparatus according to the first embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment a control unit 100 according to a first embodiment of the present invention is provided. The control unit 100 is arranged to receive information from a first sensor 200 and, based on the received information, calculate a position of a transporting device 600. Moreover, the control unit 100 may control a transporting unit 600 based on the calculated position.” (Pg 8 Ln 12-16)
“Optionally, the control unit 100 may receive further information from a second sensor 300. Moreover, optionally, the control unit 100 may receive yet further information from a third sensor 400 and a fourth sensor 500. Each of the sensors is arranged to be mounted on the transporting device 600, for example, on a face and/or side of the transporting device 600 in such an orientation so as to capture and/or scan the environment in which the transporting device 600 is located.” (Pg 8 Ln 21-26)
“Figure 6 also shows third and fourth sensors 400 and 500 arranged on perpendicular faces to those upon which the first and second sensors 200 and 300 are mounted. In this way, the third and fourth sensors 400 and 500 are arranged to scan/capture images of the rail extending in a second direction (such as a Y-direction) along which the transporting device 600 is placed/moving.” (Pg 10 Ln 16-20)
“the present inventors envisage including on the grid markings and/or colourings that may be detected by the first sensor 200. In this way, based on a grid map of the location of the markings and/or colourings an absolute position of the transporting device 600 can be calculated by the control unit 100.” (Pg 18 Ln 5-8)
a third sensor directed to detect a corner of an intersection between the rails in the x- direction and y-direction, and
(Whelan) – “Figure 13 shows an example top-down view of the mounting of a first sensor 200 and a second sensor 300 by way of a frame f (which corresponds, in a simplified manner, with the chassis 601)…Each of the first and second rails are arranged to support and provide tracks for a transporting device 600 to traverse the grid in a first direction. As shown in Figure 13 each of the sensors is offset from each other in a first direction by an amount m. As described previously, m may equal zero and hence no offset may be present. However, advantageously, by providing a distance m between the sensors ensures that a valid read of barcodes on either side of an intersection of rails (at which no barcodes are provided) ensures that absolute positional information is always available to the control unit 100. In particular, the distance m is set such that one of the first sensor 200 or the second sensor 300 is capable of reading a barcode on either side of the intersection in the grid.” (Pg 15 Ln 27- Pg 16 Ln 7)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, the detection of barcodes on either side of an intersection corresponds with detecting the corner of the intersection.
wherein the method comprises: moving the vehicle on rails in the x- and y-directions according to the travelling route towards the position,
(Whelan) – “Figure 5 depicts an apparatus according to the first embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment a control unit 100 according to a first embodiment of the present invention is provided. The control unit 100 is arranged to receive information from a first sensor 200 and, based on the received information, calculate a position of a transporting device 600. Moreover, the control unit 100 may control a transporting unit 600 based on the calculated position.” (Pg 8 Ln 12-16)
“According to the present invention there is provided a control unit arranged to control movement of at least one transporting device, the at least one transporting device arranged to transport containers, the containers being stored in a facility, the facility arranged to store the containers in a plurality of stacks, the facility comprising a plurality of pathways arranged in cells so as to form a grid-like structure above the stacks, wherein the grid-like structure extends in a first direction and in a second direction, the at least one transporting device arranged to operate on the grid-like structure. The control unit comprises a receiving unit arranged to receive information from a first sensor mounted on the at least one transporting device. The control unit further comprises a calculating unit arranged to calculate a position of the at least one transporting device based on the received information.” (Pg 5 Ln 29– Pg 6 Ln 3)
“The storage system comprises a first set of parallel rails or tracks extending in an X-direction, and a second set of parallel rails or tracks extending in a Y-direction transverse to the first set in a substantially horizontal plane to form a grid pattern comprising a plurality of grid spaces, a plurality of stacks of containers located beneath the rails, and arranged such that each stack is located within a footprint of a single grid space, at least one transporting device comprising a first sensor, the at least one transporting device being arranged to selectively move laterally in the X and Y directions, above the stacks on the rails and a control unit as previously described.” (Pg 6 Ln 5-12)
“Figure 6 depicts a top down section view of a transporting device 600 and the placement thereon of first to fourth sensors 200 - 500. More specifically, the transporting device 600 comprises wheels 602 arranged around the outside of a cavity for receiving a container. The transporting device 600 also comprises a chassis 601 to which the wheels 602 are mounted (mounting not shown). As shown in Figure 6, eight wheels are used by the transporting device 600 so as to move in a first direction (for example, an X-direction) across the rails or to move in a second direction (for example, a Y-direction) across the rails.” (Pg 9 Ln 12-23)
receiving output from the sensors responsive to detections of a rail in the x-or y-directions of the rails defining a grid cell of the position,
(Whelan) – “Figure 5 depicts an apparatus according to the first embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment a control unit 100 according to a first embodiment of the present invention is provided. The control unit 100 is arranged to receive information from a first sensor 200 and, based on the received information, calculate a position of a transporting device 600. Moreover, the control unit 100 may control a transporting unit 600 based on the calculated position.” (Pg 8 Ln 12-16)
“According to the present invention there is provided a control unit arranged to control movement of at least one transporting device, the at least one transporting device arranged to transport containers, the containers being stored in a facility, the facility arranged to store the containers in a plurality of stacks, the facility comprising a plurality of pathways arranged in cells so as to form a grid-like structure above the stacks, wherein the grid-like structure extends in a first direction and in a second direction, the at least one transporting device arranged to operate on the grid-like structure. The control unit comprises a receiving unit arranged to receive information from a first sensor mounted on the at least one transporting device. The control unit further comprises a calculating unit arranged to calculate a position of the at least one transporting device based on the received information.” (Pg 5 Ln 29– Pg 6 Ln 3)
“The storage system comprises a first set of parallel rails or tracks extending in an X-direction, and a second set of parallel rails or tracks extending in a Y-direction transverse to the first set in a substantially horizontal plane to form a grid pattern comprising a plurality of grid spaces, a plurality of stacks of containers located beneath the rails, and arranged such that each stack is located within a footprint of a single grid space, at least one transporting device comprising a first sensor, the at least one transporting device being arranged to selectively move laterally in the X and Y directions, above the stacks on the rails and a control unit as previously described.” (Pg 6 Ln 5-12)
“In the example of Figure 6 the first sensor 200 is mounted on a face of the transporting device to scan/capture images of a first rail upon which the transporting device 600 is placed/moving” Pg 10 Ln 5-7)
“the present inventors envisage including on the grid markings and/or colourings that may be detected by the first sensor 200. In this way, based on a grid map of the location of the markings and/or colourings an absolute position of the transporting device 600 can be calculated by the control unit 100.” (Pg 18 Ln 5-8)
detecting, controlling, and confirming the position of the vehicle based on measured data from a first, second, and third sensor.
(Whelan) – “Figure 5 depicts an apparatus according to the first embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment a control unit 100 according to a first embodiment of the present invention is provided. The control unit 100 is arranged to receive information from a first sensor 200 and, based on the received information, calculate a position of a transporting device 600. Moreover, the control unit 100 may control a transporting unit 600 based on the calculated position.” (Pg 8 Ln 12-16)
“According to the present invention there is provided a control unit arranged to control movement of at least one transporting device, the at least one transporting device arranged to transport containers, the containers being stored in a facility, the facility arranged to store the containers in a plurality of stacks, the facility comprising a plurality of pathways arranged in cells so as to form a grid-like structure above the stacks, wherein the grid-like structure extends in a first direction and in a second direction, the at least one transporting device arranged to operate on the grid-like structure. The control unit comprises a receiving unit arranged to receive information from a first sensor mounted on the at least one transporting device. The control unit further comprises a calculating unit arranged to calculate a position of the at least one transporting device based on the received information.” (Pg 5 Ln 29– Pg 6 Ln 3)
“In the example of Figure 6 the first sensor 200 is mounted on a face of the transporting device to scan/capture images of a first rail upon which the transporting device 600 is placed/moving” Pg 10 Ln 5-7)
“the present inventors envisage including on the grid markings and/or colourings that may be detected by the first sensor 200. In this way, based on a grid map of the location of the markings and/or colourings an absolute position of the transporting device 600 can be calculated by the control unit 100.” (Pg 18 Ln 5-8)
“Optionally, the control unit 100 may receive further information from a second sensor 300. Moreover, optionally, the control unit 100 may receive yet further information from a third sensor 400 and a fourth sensor 500. Each of the sensors is arranged to be mounted on the transporting device 600, for example, on a face and/or side of the transporting device 600 in such an orientation so as to capture and/or scan the environment in which the transporting device 600 is located.” (Pg 8 Ln 21-26)
“the present inventors envisage including on the grid markings and/or colourings that may be detected by the first sensor 200. In this way, based on a grid map of the location of the markings and/or colourings an absolute position of the transporting device 600 can be calculated by the control unit 100.” (Pg 18 Ln 5-8)
Whelan does not explicitly teach:
pre-alerting and … using the output in a feedback loop to a controller, providing signals to the wheels for additional or less deceleration as necessary based on a predetermined or model of the change of speed profile stored in a memory of the controller, and
Gravelle, in the same field of endeavor of robotic storage management, teaches:
pre-alerting and
(Gravelle) – “Where the vehicle is travelling through more than one pass-through spot to reach the targeted grid spot below the targeted shaft, the scanner can perform a scan as it moves through each pass-through spot use the results to dynamically correct the travel instructions on the fly to account for differences between the originally assigned travel distance and the true-remaining travel distance from the vehicle's current location to the targeted spot, thus co-ordinating more precisely aligned arrival of the storage/retrieval vehicle at the targeted spot to avoid or reduce the need for fine-tuning of the alignment during final arrival at the targeted spot.” (Para 0149)
using the output in a feedback loop to a controller, providing signals to the wheels for additional or less deceleration as necessary
(Gravelle) – “During arrival of the robotic storage/retrieval vehicle at the targeted spot in the X-direction, the scanner captures imagery from its viewing frame and the software executed by the local processor on the robotic storage/retrieval vehicle checks the position of the location marker image within the viewing frame, and uses any deviation between the actual and expected location marker position in the viewing frame as feedback signals to dynamically adjust the drive signals to the motors of the X-direction wheels so as to drive the robotic storage/retrieval vehicle into properly centered alignment on the targeted spot. The same alignment procedure is used to provide feedback-governed control over the Y-direction wheels when travelling into a targeted spot in the Y-direction.” (Para 0144)
“the local processor of the vehicle triggers capture of a digital image by the scanner 66, and at step 3004 analyzes the captured image to check for proper alignment of the uniquely coded marker 64 on the rail by measuring, in the same X or Y direction as the vehicle's commanded unidirectional travel, any pixel offset between the coded marker 64 and its anticipated position in the image. If the marker is properly aligned in the image (i.e. if there is no offset, at least not beyond any prescribed threshold limit), then at Step 3005 the vehicle's processor wirelessly transmits a confirmation signal to the master control system, which contains the unique identifier read from uniquely coded marker 64 scanned by the vehicle, so that the master control system uses this to confirm the vehicle's arrival at the targeted destination spot prescribed by the travel command. If the marker is found not to be properly aligned in the image, then at step 3006, the vehicle attempts self-correction of its alignment by sending a drive signal to the wheel motors that is proportional to the measured pixel offset value V.sub.PO from the image analysis, and repeats step 3004 again until alignment is confirmed.” (Para 0148)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention, to have modified the transporting device of Whelan with the storage and retrieval
system of Gravelle. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these
modifications with a reasonable expectation of success in order “to avoid or reduce the need for fine-tuning of the alignment during final arrival at the targeted spot.” (Gravelle Para 0149)
Gravelle does not explicitly teach:
based on a predetermined or model of the change of speed profile stored in a memory of the controller, and
Hognaland, in the same field of endeavor of robotic storage management, teaches:
based on a predetermined or model of the change of speed profile stored in a memory of the controller, and
(Hognaland) – “The control/processing means on the vehicle provides local control of i.a. the speed and rolling direction of wheels, and of the loading/unloading mechanism. This may be achieved by configuring suitable software in a memory included in the vehicle's control/processing means, enabling the control/processing means to control i.a. the rotational direction, speed and acceleration of the vehicle's wheel(s).” (Para 0054)
Examiner Note: “predetermined or model of the change of speed profile” is recited with a high degree of generality and is not further defined in the specification. As such software enabling control of a vehicle’s speed corresponds with this limitation.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention, to have modified the transporting device of Whelan with the method for fetching a target bin of Hognaland. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these
modifications with a reasonable expectation of success because “the invention increases the overall retrieval speed when fetching a desired target bin in the storage structure.” (Hognaland Para 0019)
Claim 7:
Rejected based on similar rationale as Claim 4
Claim 8:
Rejected based on similar rationale as Claim 3
Response to Arguments
The Claim Objection mailed 04/27/2026 has been withdrawn because the amendment filed 07/07/2026 successfully overcomes this objection.
The 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection mailed 04/27/2026 has been withdrawn because the amendment filed 07/07/2026 successfully overcomes this rejection.
The Double Patenting rejection mailed 04/27/2026 has been withdrawn responsive to the terminal disclaimer filed 07/07/2026.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection mailed 04/27/2026 have been considered but are not convincing.
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, Applicant alleges:
“The Office alleges that Whelan discloses several features of claim 1, including a sensor module, that the sensor module is positioned behind both sets of wheels, and that the third sensor is arranged to detect a corner of an intersection. The Applicant respectfully disagrees that any of these features are present in Whelan. Concerning a "sensor module," the Office action does not explain or show why two physically separate sensors, which are spaced apart and disposed on either side of other components (in this case, the whole of the base of the vehicle), can be considered as part of a singular sensor module. A module, by virtue of its very name, is a modular component. For example, such a module would typically mean that both sensors can be removed from the vehicle body without being detached from one another by virtue of their mutual connection to the sensor module.
Even if the Office considers that the frame of the vehicle is a module, the frame spans the entire footprint of the vehicle and cannot be considered as being mounted in "a corner position in a structure of the vehicle." In fact, the frame would be more akin to the structure of the vehicle than a module placed in the vehicle.”
However, this is not convincing. This argument is based upon an overly narrow understanding of “module”. Per BRI, any arrangement of sensors may reasonably correspond with a module. If a more specific structure is intended, the claims must be amended to clarify accordingly.
Furthermore, Applicant argues:
“Turning to the third sensor directed to detect a "corner of an intersection," the Office contends that this feature corresponds to simply detecting where an intersection is not, since
Whelan's device is capable of determining non-intersection parts of a rail system. Even following the Office's argument, Whelan fails to describe a sensor that can detect a corner of an intersection. Whelan only mentions that barcodes are absent at intersections, not that every intersection is a corner, nor that the absence of a barcode is itself directly related to where the corner of the intersection is.
This distinction is important because the claimed remotely operated vehicle is capable of detecting its position not only by reference to x and y rails, but also by reference to where those rails join, and the corner of the framework, which indicates that location.
Put another way, the claimed device can determine that it is in a grid cell (or has passed a grid cell) by determining the presence of an x rail, a y rail, and an absence of either rail. The positioning of the module is important to allow the third sensor to measure the corner of the intersection at the same time that both other rails are sensed.
In contrast, under the Office's argument, Whelan can only "detect" an intersection in the case that one of its two sensors is not detecting a rail. That is to say, the device of Whelan must make a guess about where the intersection is when determining the position of the vehicle above a grid cell.
Notwithstanding the above, claim 1 as presented in this paper recites that the third sensor is separate and distinct from the first or second sensors, which is not disclosed by Gravelle. Gravelle also fails to describe the features identified above as being novel over Whelan.”
However, this is not convincing. Per BRI, the detection of barcodes on either side of an intersection corresponds with detecting the corner of the intersection. This is because any method of confirming orientation relative to the intersection (which is itself a corner) will correspond to detecting the corner of the intersection. The method of which this is accomplished is not explicitly claimed. As such the barcode-based method of Whelan reasonably corresponds with the claimed functionality of the third sensor. If a more specific limitation is intended, the claims must be amended to clarify accordingly.
Arguments regarding Claim 6 and all dependent claims are unconvincing for at least the reasons stated above.
As such, the prior art rejection of all remaining claims has not been overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gravelle (US20190375589) teaches confirming the presence of a storage unit at all four corners of a landing area.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3658