The amended claims received 12/31/25 are acknowledged; claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walters et al. (US 20190063197).
CLAIM 1: Walters discloses a perforating gun cluster system. The system comprises a central core (116); and a plurality of perforating guns (102) attached to the central core and spaced radially outwardly therefrom (see Fig. 1). Each perforating gun comprises an outer gun barrel (111) including a plurality of charge outlets (see Fig. 1); and a contact housing on one end of the outer gun barrel and including an electrical connector plug protruding axially therefrom (see Fig. 5 showing , wherein the central core includes a plurality of upper retaining arms (on plate 104), a plurality of lower retaining arms (on plate 106), and a connecting rod (116) therebetween, wherein each upper retaining arm is paired with and connected to an upper end of the respective perforating gun (see Fig. 5) and each lower retaining arm is paired with and connected to a lower end of the respective perforating gun such that each perforating gun is retained in the perforating gun cluster system (see Fig. 7). The plurality of upper retaining arms comprise an upper plate (104) and wherein the plurality of lower retaining arms comprise a lower plate (106), the upper plate and the lower plate being rigidly coupled to the connecting rod (116). The upper plate and the lower plate each define a plurality of perforating gun apertures (514/706), with each perforating gun corresponding to a respective perforating gun aperture in the upper plate and a respective perforating gun aperture in the lower plate (see Fig. 1).
CLAIM 2: The connecting rod rigidly couples the plurality of upper retaining arms to the plurality of lower retaining arms (see Paragraph 0040 rigidly coupled to top, paragraph 0050 coupled to bottom).
CLAIM 3: The system comprises between two and sixteen perforating guns (see paragraph 0024, specifically 6).
CLAIM 4: The system comprises four perforating guns (see paragraph 0024, specifically citing 6 and then teaching “fewer”).
CLAIM 5: The plurality of perforating guns are equally spaced about the central core (see Fig. 1, Fig. 4 showing equally spaced holes in middle plate).
CLAIM 7: The outer gun barrel of each perforating gun defines a charge outlet facing radially outward from the connecting rod (see Fig. 1).
CLAIM 8: The outer gun barrel of each perforating gun independently defines between 1 to 160 charge outlets (see Fig. 1 showing within that range).
CLAIM 9: The outer gun barrel of each perforating gun defines two charge outlets (see Fig. 1 showing at least two outlets).
CLAIM 10: Each perforating gun further comprises an at least one shaped charge (see Fig. 1 showing at least one).
CLAIM 11: The system comprises sixteen perforating guns (see paragraph 0024 stating “more” guns may included).
CLAIM 13: Each perforating gun is clamped between the upper plate and the lower plate (see Figs. 5, 7 showing connections at upper and lower plates for guns).
CLAIM 15: The outer gun barrel of each perforating gun defines at least two charge outlets, and wherein the charge outlets face radially outward, away from the connecting rod (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walters.
CLAIM 6: Walters discloses the elements of claim 1 as discussed above.
Walters fails to teach wherein each of the perforating guns defines an independently selected diameter of between 1" to 7", instead is silent to the diameter.
Walters teaches the diameter of the upper and lower plate could be 14 or 16 inches (paragraph 0023) and have 6 guns fitted (see Fig. 6, 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the diameters of the guns to be between 1 and 7 inches to fit six on a 14-16 diameter plate as taught by Walters.
CLAIM 14: Walters discloses the elements of claims 1 as discussed above.
Walters fails to disclose each perforating gun aperture in the upper plate is smaller than the corresponding perforating gun aperture in the lower plate; the apertures appear to be the same size.
Examiner takes official notice that changing the size of the apertures in one of the plates as a obvious change in size with a reasonable expectation of success as the change is merely to accommodate the different sizes of the ends which would be required to fit the described guns.
Claim(s) 12 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walters in view of Shelton (US 12486728).
CLAIM 12: Walters discloses the elements of claim 1 as discussed above.
Walters fails to disclose the electrical connector plug is a banana pin connector plug protrudes axially from the contact housing.
Shelton discloses a perforating gun assembly.
Shelton discloses a banana plug connector plug (32) attached to the perforating gun (14, 16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gun of Walters to be receive the firing signal with a reasonable expectation of success as Shelton teaches the banana pin connection transfers the signal to the gun.
CLAIM 16: Walters discloses a perforating gun cluster system. The system comprises an upper plate (104) including a first plurality of axial openings (514); a lower plate (106) including a second plurality of axial openings (706), the lower plate being axially spaced apart from the upper plate (see Fig. 1), such that the first plurality of axial openings are aligned with the second plurality of axial openings (see Fig. 1); a connecting rod (116) that rigidly couples the upper plate to the lower plate; and a plurality of perforating guns (102) disposed between the upper plate and the lower plate, such that each one of the plurality of perforating guns is aligned with a respective axial opening in the upper plate and a respective axial opening in the lower plate (see Fig. 1).
Walters fails to disclose the electrical connector plug is a banana pin connector plug protrudes axially from the contact housing, or each perforating gun aperture in the upper plate is smaller than the corresponding perforating gun aperture in the lower plate; the apertures appear to be the same size.
Examiner takes official notice that changing the size of the apertures in one of the plates as a obvious change in size with a reasonable expectation of success as the change is merely to accommodate the different sizes of the ends which would be required to fit the described guns.
Shelton discloses a banana plug connector plug (32) attached to the perforating gun (14, 16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gun of Walters to be receive the firing signal with a reasonable expectation of success as Shelton teaches the banana pin connection transfers the signal to the gun.
CLAIM 17: The upper plate and the lower plate are circular plates (see Figs. 6, 8).
CLAIM 18: The upper plate and the lower plate each comprise a plurality of retaining arms (see Fig. 1).
CLAIM 19: The connecting rod is centrally disposed between the plurality of perforating guns (see Figs. 1, 6, 8).
CLAIM 20: The plurality of perforating guns are equally spaced about the connecting rod (see Figs. 6, 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts the prior art and the disclosed invention differ in material ways. In particular, Applicant points to the lock rings used in Walters. However, the claim language of “comprising” is open ended. The additional elements of the lock rings is not precluded, as long as the claimed elements are disclosed. As discussed above, they are taught by the prior art. With respect to the banana clips, the amended language is discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK F LAMBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676