DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: There is lack of antecedent basis for the claim terms: first access opening portion; first access opening; second access opening portion; second access opening; first flap portion; second flap portion; first end of the access flap; and second end of the access flap.
Claim Interpretation
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 12-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 10, 12, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,330,856. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both teach:
An insulation system for beverage containers comprising: an outer container configured to receive an inner container wherein the inner container is configured to surround a plurality of cylindrical beverage containers in the inner container, wherein the inner container includes a handle; an outer container side panel included in the outer container defining a first access opening portion and a first access opening; a second access opening portion defined in the outer container at an upper area of the outer container, wherein the second access opening portion is configured to form a second access opening; an access flap affixed to the second access opening portion having a first flap portion configured to cover the first access opening portion and a second flap portion configured to cover the second access opening portion wherein the first flap portion is disposed along a first plane and the second flap portion is disposed along a second plane when the access flap is in a closed position.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12, 14, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,160,556. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both teach:
An insulation system for beverage containers comprising: an outer container configured to receive an inner container wherein the inner container is configured to surround a plurality of cylindrical beverage containers in the inner container, wherein the inner container includes a handle; an outer container side panel included in the outer container defining a first access opening portion and a first access opening; a second access opening portion defined in the outer container at an upper area of the outer container, wherein the second access opening portion is configured to form a second access opening; an access flap affixed to the second access opening portion having a first flap portion configured to cover the first access opening portion and a second flap portion configured to cover the second access opening portion wherein the first flap portion is disposed along a first plane and the second flap portion is disposed along a second plane when the access flap is in a closed position.
Claims 1, 5, 8, 10-14, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7-9, 14, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,807,787. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both teach:
An insulation system for beverage containers comprising: an outer container configured to receive an inner container wherein the inner container is configured to surround a plurality of cylindrical beverage containers in the inner container, wherein the inner container includes a handle; an outer container side panel included in the outer container defining a first access opening portion and a first access opening; a second access opening portion defined in the outer container at an upper area of the outer container, wherein the second access opening portion is configured to form a second access opening; an access flap affixed to the second access opening portion having a first flap portion configured to cover the first access opening portion and a second flap portion configured to cover the second access opening portion wherein the first flap portion is disposed along a first plane and the second flap portion is disposed along a second plane when the access flap is in a closed position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 5,007,250 to Musielak (“Musielak”).
As to claim 13, Musielak teaches an insulation system for beverage containers comprising: an outer container (container 12) configured to receive an inner container (coolant 50) wherein the inner container surrounds a plurality of cylindrical beverage containers (cans 48 in recesses 52 of coolant 50) stacked in a prone configuration widthwise in the inner container; an outer container top panel included in the outer container (Musielak Fig. 5 shows the cans stacked in a prone configuration); an outer container end panel (top 34) included in the outer container configured to cover an opening (Musielak, col. 3, lines 21-24) defined in the outer container where the opening is configured to receive the inner container (Musielak, col. 3, lines 34-37).
As to claim 14, Musielak teaches the insulating system of claim 13 wherein the outer container end panel is hingeably attached to a bottom panel of the outer container (Musielak, col. 3, lines 21-24).
As to claim 15, Musielak teaches the insulating system of claim 13 wherein the outer container end panel is releasably attachable to the outer container top panel (Musielak, col. 3, lines 21-24).
As to claim 16, Musielak teaches the insulating system of claim 13 including a sealing member including at least one of a hook and loop fastener, a zipper (second zipper 20), a snap, or an elastic band.
Conclusion
Applicant is duly reminded that a complete response must satisfy the requirements of 37 C.F. R. 1.111, including: “The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references. A general allegation that the claims “define a patentable invention” without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section. Moreover, “The prompt development of a clear Issue requires that the replies of the applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims.” Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP 2163.06 and MPEP 714.02. The ''disclosure'' includes the claims, the specification and the drawings.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. PGPUB 2025/0143426 A1 to Closs discloses a thermally insulated luggage system.
/M.L.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 28 July 2026