Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The independent claims 1, 14 and 20 specify a composition comprising “a phosphoric acid” and “a water”. Is the phosphoric acid any phosphoric acid, i.e. an orthophosphoric acid, polyphosphoric acid? Is the water chosen from any water, i.e. deionized, purified, distilled? Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 10, 12-14, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111363550 (WANG ET AL).
Regarding claim 1: The reference discloses a composition for selectively etching a silicon nitride/silicon oxide substrate. The composition comprises phosphoric acid, water and an alkyl silane having the same formula as claimed. The reference discloses various options for the R1-3 groups and R4 group (equivalent to applicant’s Q group). While the options for these groups are not identical, there is overlap in the claimed groups. For example, R1-3 may be hydrogen of alkoxide and the R4 group may have the same amide structure. See Formula 2 in the Summary of Invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an alkyl silane as claimed in an etching composition as described in the reference. One would be motivated by the reasoned expectation of obtaining the improved selectivity as described.
Regarding claims 3, 5, 7, 10 and 12: See Formula 2 for R4 groups as claimed.
Regarding claim 13: The reference does not discuss the foaming of the composition. However, etching takes place within the temperature claimed. See Embodiments. Therefore, one would expect the same results for the disclosed composition, i.e. same composition, same temperature, same results.
Regarding claimed 14: The reference discloses a method of etching a silicon nitride/silicon oxide substrate with a composition. See Embodiments. The composition comprises phosphoric acid, water and an alkyl silane having the same formula as claimed. The reference discloses various options for the R1-3 groups and R4 group (equivalent to applicant’s Q group). While the options for these groups are not identical, there is overlap in the claimed groups. For example, R1-3 may be hydrogen of alkoxide and the R4 group may have the same amide structure. See Formula 2 in the Summary of Invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an alkyl silane as claimed in an etching composition as described in the reference. One would be motivated by the reasoned expectation of obtaining the improved selectivity as described.
Regarding claims 17 and 19: See Formula 2 for the specific R4 groups as claimed.
Regarding claim 20: The reference discloses a device comprising a silicon nitride/silicon oxide substrate which is etched with a composition. The composition comprises phosphoric acid, water and an alkyl silane having the same formula as claimed. The reference discloses various options for the R1-3 groups and R4 group (equivalent to applicant’s Q group). While the options for these groups are not identical, there is overlap in the claimed groups. For example, R1-3 may be hydrogen of alkoxide and the R4 group may have the same amide structure. See Formula 2 in the Summary of Invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an alkyl silane as claimed in an etching composition as described in the reference. One would be motivated by the reasoned expectation of obtaining the improved selectivity as described. The reference does not specify at least 25% of the substrate is removed during etching. However, the reference discloses that selectivity allows for improved control of the etching and reduces over-etching. See Embodiments and Comparative Examples. Therefore, one would be able to control the percentage removed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8-9, 11, 15-16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claims are indicated allowable as the prior art does teach or suggest an etching composition of claimed Formulas. The closest prior art, cited above, discloses a similar composition but not the specific compositions as claimed.
/ELIZABETH E MULVANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785