DETAILED ACTION
Internet/E-mail Communication
In order to permit communication regarding the instant application via email, Applicant is invited to file form PTO/SB/439 (Authorization for Internet Communications) or include the following statement in a separately filed document (see MPEP 502.03 II):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
If such authorization is provided, please include an email address in the remarks of a filed response. The examiner’s e-mail address is Christopher.Legendre@uspto.gov.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 20 August 2025 was/were filed before the mailing date of the first action on the merits. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) is/are hereby considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the Abstract, line 1, “is disclosed” should be deleted (note: the language of the Abstract should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "This disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "This disclosure describes," etc - see MPEP 608.01(b)).
-the numbering of paragraphs is incorrect (see page 1).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 20, line 3, --of-- should be added before “particles”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
There are no limitations deemed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation recited as “said first layer comprises a coal shale” renders the claim indefinite. According to MPEP 2173.03, a claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In this instance, par. [0009] states “The sedimentary rock becomes impure and turns into a red clay with over exposure to the environment… In other words, the coal shale includes a sedimentary rock exposed to environmental conditions for a prolonged duration resulting in an incombustible residue with a red clay appearance”, thereby indicating that the as-used material is coal shale that has been chemically altered (i.e., via environmental exposure), which is not coal shale. Due to an identical instance, this rejection also applies to claims 14, 19, and 20 (i.e., “screening said coal shale”, “compacting said coal shale”, which occur after “drying said coal shale”). Due to dependency, this rejection also applies to claims 2-13, and 15-18.
In claim 2, the limitation recited as “further comprises a second layer positioned underneath said first layer” renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear if “second layer” is part of the antecedent limitation “a plurality of foundation layers stacked underneath said first layer” or introducing/establishing a new element. Due to dependency, this rejection also applies to claims 3-11.
In claim 11, the term “prolonged” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite since it is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
In claim 11, the term “fine” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite since it is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
In claim 13, the term “prolonged” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite since it is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
In claim 15, the limitation recited as “binding characteristics” renders the claim indefinite since the disclosure fails to describe its implications for structure.
In claim 20, the term “prolonged” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite since it is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NPL Reference Observer (internet print-out of https://www.observer-reporter.com/news/2018/aug/12/dog-days-when-in-western-pennsylvania-red-dog-is-not-necessarily-a-canine/; see attached copy; published 12 August 2018).
In reference to claim 1 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Observer discloses:
A clay-like athletic field, comprising:
a first layer (i.e., a layer of red dog material); and
a plurality of foundation layers (i.e., layers of the Earth’s soil and/or crust) stacked underneath said first layer, wherein said first layer forms a surface layer, and wherein said first layer comprises a coal shale (i.e., red dog material is derived from coal shale - see bottom of page 2)(note: to permit proper examination, the instant coal shale is considered to mean “a product derived from coal shale” - see corresponding indefiniteness rejection above).
In reference to claim 2 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Observer discloses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 1, further comprises a second layer (inherent to the Earth’s soil) positioned underneath said first layer.
In reference to claim 8
Observer discloses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 2, wherein said second layer comprises binding characteristics allowing said first layer to sit on it (inherent to a layered-construction, as in the Earth’s soil).
In reference to claim 11 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Observer discloses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 1, wherein said coal shale comprises (see bottom of page 2) a sedimentary rock exposed to environmental conditions for a prolonged duration resulting in an incombustible residue with a red clay appearance, and wherein said coal shale is crushed and screened to form fine grain particles for use as said first layer (note: the recitation said coal shale is crushed and screened to form fine grain particles for use as said first layer is a product-by-process limitation that does not distinguish over the applied prior art - see MPEP 2113).
In reference to claim 12
Observer discloses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 1, wherein said clay-like athletic field comprises one of a clay tennis court and a running track (note: a driveway can be used as a court or a track; there is no structure necessarily resulting from tennis court and/or running track - i.e., the recitation said clay-like athletic field comprises a clay tennis court and a running track can be considered as a statement of intended use that does not structurally limit the claimed invention).
In reference to claim 14 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Observer discloses:
A clay-like athletic field, comprising:
a first layer (i.e., a top/outer/surface portion of the layer of red dog material);
a second layer (i.e., a bottom/inner portion of the layer of red dog material)(note: in light of the subsequent limitation each of said first layer and said second layer comprises a coal shale, there is no structural distinction between first layer and second layer, only a nominal distinction), wherein said second layer sits underneath said first layer;
a third layer (inherent to the Earth’s soil and/or crust) positioned underneath said second layer;
a fourth layer (inherent to the Earth’s soil and/or crust) positioned underneath said third layer; and
a fifth layer (inherent to the Earth’s soil and/or crust) positioned underneath said fourth layer,
wherein said first layer indicates a surface layer,
wherein each of said first layer and said second layer comprises a coal shale (i.e., red dog material is derived from coal shale - see bottom of page 2)(note: to permit proper examination, the instant coal shale is considered to mean “a product derived from coal shale” - see corresponding indefiniteness rejection above), and
wherein said fifth layer acts as a foundation layer for said clay-like athletic field (note: the recitation acts as a foundation layer is broad/non-specific - any lower/inner layer acts as a supporting layer for relatively higher layers).
In reference to claim 15 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Observer discloses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 14, wherein said second layer comprises binding characteristics allowing said first layer to sit on it (inherent to a layered-construction, as in the Earth’s soil).
In reference to claim 17
Observer discloses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 14, wherein said clay-like athletic field comprises one of a clay tennis court and a running track (note: a driveway can be used as a court or a track; there is no structure necessarily resulting from tennis court and/or running track - i.e., the recitation said clay-like athletic field comprises a clay tennis court and a running track can be considered as a statement of intended use that does not structurally limit the claimed invention).
In reference to claim 19 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Observer discloses:
A method of providing a clay-like athletic field, said method comprising the steps of:
providing a first layer (i.e., a top/outer/surface portion of the layer of red dog material);
said first layer being a surface layer;
providing a second layer (i.e., a bottom/inner portion of the layer of red dog material)(note: in light of the subsequent limitation each of said first layer and said second layer comprises a coal shale, there is no structural distinction between first layer and second layer, only a nominal distinction), said second layer sitting underneath said first layer, each of said first layer and said second layer comprising a coal shale (i.e., red dog material is derived from coal shale - see bottom of page 2)(note: to permit proper examination, the instant coal shale is considered to mean “a product derived from coal shale” - see corresponding indefiniteness rejection above); and
providing a plurality of foundation layers (i.e., layers of the Earth’s soil and/or crust) stacked underneath said second layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 11, 12, 14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (i.e., portions of Applicant’s disclosure; hereafter referred to as APA) in view of Observer, and wherein NPL Reference Brewster (internet print-out of https://web.archive.org/web/20210622084809/https://www.brewsterbros.com/products/shale-blaes/; see attached copy; published 22 June 2021) and NPL reference HeraldScotland (internet print-out of https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/12275171.those-hazy-days-on-red-blaes/; see attached copy; published 06 August 1999) are cited on an evidentiary basis.
In reference to claim 1 (as far as it is clear and definite)
APA discloses:
A clay-like athletic field (10 - Figure 1), comprising:
a first layer (i.e., either (1) a top/outer/surface portion of the first layer 20, or (2) the first layer 20); and
a plurality of foundation layers (24-28) stacked underneath said first layer, wherein said first layer forms a surface layer.
APA does not disclose:
said first layer comprises a coal shale (note: to permit proper examination, the instant coal shale is considered to mean “a product derived from coal shale” - see corresponding indefiniteness rejection above).
Observer discloses:
a first/surface layer being formed of red dog material, which is an industrial mining waste product derived from coal shale.
Brewster teaches that it is known to use an industrial mining shale-type waste product (i.e., blaes) as the surface layer of a track, and HeraldScotland teaches that it is known to use blaes as the first/surface layer of an athletic field.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the field of APA to include forming the first layer from red dog material, as disclosed by Observer, for the purpose of minimizing cost (since red dog material is an industrial mining waste product). It is noted that Observer, Brewster, and HeraldScotland provide evidence that it is known to use industrial mining shale-type waste products in various surface layer applications - accordingly, there is a reasonable expectation of success for the proposed combination.
In reference to claim 2 (as far as it is clear and definite)
APA in view of Observer addresses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 1, further comprises a second layer (i.e., either (1) a bottom/inner portion of the first layer 20, or (2) the second layer 22)(note: in light of the subsequent limitation each of said first layer and said second layer comprises a coal shale, there is no structural distinction between first layer and second layer, only a nominal distinction) positioned underneath said first layer (APA - either (1) a top/outer/surface portion of the first layer 20, or (2) the first layer 20).
In the case of scenario (2) for “first layer” and “second layer”, in performing the above modification described in claim 1, it would have been further obvious to also incorporate the red dog material into the second layer in order to preserve the presence of the material of the first layer also being in the second layer (see APA par. [0002] stating that the second layer (22) includes at least the material (i.e., brick) of the first layer (20)) - i.e., such modification is envisaged as replacing the “crushed-brick” material of APA with the red dog material of Observer.
In reference to claim 4
APA in view of Observer addresses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 3, wherein said plurality of foundation layers comprises a third layer (24 - APA Figure 1), a fourth layer (26 - APA Figure 1), and a fifth layer (28 - APA Figure 1), wherein said third layer is positioned underneath said second layer (APA - either (1) a bottom/inner portion of the first layer 20, or (2) the second layer 22), wherein said fourth layer is positioned underneath said third layer, and wherein said fifth layer is positioned underneath said fourth layer.
In reference to claim 5
APA in view of Observer addresses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 4, wherein said third layer (APA - 24) has a thickness of 4 centimeters (see APA par. [0002]).
In reference to claim 6
APA in view of Observer addresses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 5, wherein said fourth layer (APA - 26) comprises crushed aggregate, and wherein said fourth layer has a thickness of 5 centimeters (see APA par. [0002]).
In reference to claim 7
APA in view of Observer addresses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 6, wherein said fifth layer (APA - 28) comprises loose stones, and wherein said fifth layer has a thickness in the range of 20 to 30 centimeters (see APA par. [0002]).
In reference to claim 8
APA in view of Observer addresses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 2, wherein said second layer (APA - 22) comprises binding characteristics (i.e., due to having clay - see APA par. [0002]) allowing said first layer (APA - 20) to sit on it.
In reference to claim 11 (as far as it is clear and definite)
APA in view of Observer addresses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 1, wherein said coal shale comprises (see Observer bottom of page 2) a sedimentary rock exposed to environmental conditions for a prolonged duration resulting in an incombustible residue with a red clay appearance, and wherein said coal shale is crushed and screened to form fine grain particles for use as said first layer (APA) (note: the recitation said coal shale is crushed and screened to form fine grain particles for use as said first layer is a product-by-process limitation that does not distinguish over the applied prior art - see MPEP 2113).
In reference to claim 12
APA in view of Observer addresses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 1, wherein said clay-like athletic field comprises one of a clay tennis court (APA Figure 1) and a running track (note: any surface can be used as track; there is no structure necessarily resulting from running track - i.e., the recitation said clay-like athletic field comprises… a running track can be considered as a statement of intended use that does not structurally limit the claimed invention).
In reference to claim 14 (as far as it is clear and definite)
APA discloses:
A clay-like athletic field (10 - Figure 1), comprising:
a first layer (i.e., either (1) a top/outer/surface portion of the first layer 20, or (2) the first layer 20);
a second layer (i.e., either (1) a bottom/inner portion of the first layer 20, or (2) the second layer 22)(note: in light of the subsequent limitation each of said first layer and said second layer comprises a coal shale, there is no structural distinction between first layer and second layer, only a nominal distinction), wherein said second layer sits underneath said first layer;
a third layer (24) positioned underneath said second layer;
a fourth layer (26) positioned underneath said third layer; and
a fifth layer (28) positioned underneath said fourth layer,
wherein said first layer indicates a surface layer,
wherein said fifth layer acts as a foundation layer for said clay-like athletic field (note: the recitation acts as a foundation layer is broad/non-specific - any lower/inner layer acts as a supporting layer for relatively higher layers).
APA does not disclose:
each of said first layer and said second layer comprises a coal shale (note: to permit proper examination, the instant coal shale is considered to mean “a product derived from coal shale” - see corresponding indefiniteness rejection above).
Observer discloses:
a surface layer being formed of red dog material, which is an industrial mining waste product derived from coal shale.
Brewster teaches that it is known to use an industrial mining shale-type waste product (i.e., blaes) as the first/surface layer of a track, and HeraldScotland teaches that it is known to use blaes as the first/surface layer of an athletic field.
APA further discloses (see par. [0002]) that the second layer (22) includes at least the material (i.e., brick) of the first layer (20).
In the case of scenario (1) for “first layer” and “second layer”, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the field of APA to include forming the first layer and second layer from red dog material, as disclosed by Observer, for the purpose of minimizing cost (since red dog material is an industrial mining waste product). It is noted that Observer, Brewster, and HeraldScotland provide evidence that it is known to use industrial mining shale-type waste products in various surface layer applications - accordingly, there is a reasonable expectation of success for the proposed combination.
In the case of scenario (2) for “first layer” and “second layer”, in performing the above modification, it would have been further obvious to also incorporate the red dog material into the second layer in order to preserve the presence of the material of the first layer also being in the second layer - i.e., such modification is envisaged as replacing the “crushed-brick” material of APA with the red dog material of Observer.
In reference to claim 17
APA in view of Observer addresses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 14, wherein said clay-like athletic field comprises one of a clay tennis court (APA Figure 1) and a running track (note: any surface can be used as track; there is no structure necessarily resulting from running track - i.e., the recitation said clay-like athletic field comprises… a running track can be considered as a statement of intended use that does not structurally limit the claimed invention).
In reference to claim 19 (as far as it is clear and definite)
APA in view of Observer, as combined in the rejection of claim 14, addresses:
A method of providing a clay-like athletic field (10 - APA Figure 1), said method comprising the steps of:
providing a first layer (i.e., either (1) a top/outer/surface portion of the APA first layer 20, or (2) the APA first layer 20);
said first layer being a surface layer (see APA Figure 1);
providing a second layer (i.e., either (1) a bottom/inner portion of the APA first layer 20, or (2) the APA second layer 22)(note: in light of the subsequent limitation each of said first layer and said second layer comprises a coal shale, there is no structural distinction between first layer and second layer, only a nominal distinction), said second layer sitting underneath (see APA Figure 1) said first layer, each of said first layer and said second layer comprising a coal shale (i.e., red dog material - Observer); and
providing a plurality of foundation layers (APA - 24-28) stacked underneath said second layer.
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over APA in view of Observer and an engineering expedient rationale.
In reference to claims 3 and 18
APA in view of Observer addresses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 2, wherein said second layer (APA - 22) has a thickness of 4 centimeters (see APA par. [0002]). (claim 3)
The clay-like athletic field of claim 14, wherein said second layer (APA - 22) has a thickness of 4 centimeters (see APA par. [0002]), wherein said third layer (APA - 24) has a thickness of 4 centimeters (see APA par. [0002]), wherein said fourth layer (APA - 26) has a thickness of 5 centimeters (see APA par. [0002]), and wherein said fifth layer (APA - 28) has a thickness in the range of 20 to 30 centimeters (see APA par. [0002]). (claim 18)
APA in view of Observer does not address:
said first layer (APA - 20) has a thickness of 0.1 to 1 centimeters. (claims 3 and 18)
According to MPEP 2144.05 II A, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimal or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
APA further discloses (see par. [0003]) that the thickness of each layer can be changed depending on the need, thereby establishing thickness layer as a result-effective variable.
Furthermore, Applicant has not demonstrated any criticality to the claimed thickness range.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the field of APA in view of Observer to include a thickness in the claimed range for the purpose of configuring the surface layer to have a desired rebound effect (i.e., coefficient of restitution).
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over APA in view of Observer and Dunand (EP 0267872 A2; see attached copy and translation), and wherein NPL reference TennisMyselfYoutube (Transcript translation of youtube video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rKz2A0TGCkY , “How is red clay made? A quick chat with Terre Rosse Cremonini”, Massimiliano Saggia tennisMYSELF, 02 June 2019; see attached copy).
In reference to claims 9 and 15
APA in view of Observer addresses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 2. (claim 2)
The clay-like athletic field of claim 14. (claim 15)
APA in view of Observer does not address:
a grain size of said second layer (APA - 22) is larger than a grain size of said first layer (APA - 20).
Dunand discloses:
a sports track comprising a first/surface layer (7) and a second/base layer (6) underneath the first/surface layer, wherein a grain size (i.e., 3/8 mm - see bottom of page 2 of translation) of particles in the second/base layer are larger than a grain size (i.e., 0/3 mm - see bottom of page 2 of translation) of particles of the first/surface layer.
TennisMyselfYoutube teaches (see transcript translation between timestamps 17:43 to 19:50) that, in a tennis clay court, it is desirable to configure a first/surface layer to provide coverage of the second/under layer for aesthetic purposes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the field of APA in view of Observer to make the grain size of the first layer smaller than the grain size of the second layer, as disclosed by Dunand, for the purpose of promoting increased coverage (while minimizing quantity/cost of material) of the second layer for aesthetic purposes (note: the smaller the grain size, the smaller the gaps between grains, which leads to more coverage per layer).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over APA in view of Observer and NPL reference TennisMyself (internet print-out of https://www.tennismyself.com/how-is-made-a-tennis-court/; see attached copy; published 23 March 2021).
In reference to claim 10
APA in view of Observer addresses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 9, wherein said plurality of foundation layers comprises a third layer (24 - APA Figure 1), a fourth layer (26 - APA Figure 1), and a fifth layer (28 - APA Figure 1), wherein a grain size of said fourth layer is larger (see APA par. [0002]) than the grain size of said third layer, and wherein a grain size of said fifth layer is larger (see APA par. [0002]) than the grain size of said fourth layer.
APA in view of Observer does not address:
a grain size of said third layer is larger than the grain size of said second layer (APA - 22).
TennisMyself discloses:
a tennis court comprising a first/top layer, a second/under layer, and a third / drainage ground layer, wherein the third layer has a grain size that is larger than the grain size of the second layer (see the picture on page 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the field of APA in view of Observer to make the grain size of the third layer larger than the grain size of the second layer, as disclosed by TennisMyself, for the purpose of promoting drainage.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over APA in view of Observer and NPL reference TennisViewMag (internet print-out of https://web.archive.org/web/20150912080119/http://www.tennisviewmag.com/tennis-view-magazine/article/new-blue-hue-clay-court-contrasting-not-only-color-tradition; see attached copy; published 12 September 2015).
In reference to claim 13 (as far as it is clear and definite)
APA in view of Observer addresses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 1, wherein said first layer (APA - 20) is screened for a prolonged duration…, wherein said first layer is compacted while exhibiting porosity for water drainage (note: the recitation screened for prolonged duration… wherein said first layer is compacted while exhibiting porosity for water drainage is a product-by-process limitation that does not distinguish over the applied prior art - see MPEP 2113; furthermore, the term prolonged is a relative term and/or term of degree).
APA in view of Observer does not address:
said first layer having a particle size of 1.5 millimeter (mm).
TennisViewMag discloses:
a tennis clay court comprising a grain/particle size of 1.5 mm (see page 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the field of APA in view of Observer to configure the first layer to have a grain size of 1.5 mm, as disclosed by TennisViewMag, for the purpose of configuring it for use as a tennis surface.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over APA in view of Observer Dunand, and TennisMyself, and wherein TennisMyselfYoutube is cited on an evidentiary basis.
In reference to claim 16
APA in view of Observer addresses:
The clay-like athletic field of claim 14, wherein a grain size of said fourth layer (APA - 26) is larger than (see APA par. [0002]) the grain size of said third layer, and wherein a grain size of said fifth layer (APA - 28) is larger than (see APA par. [0002]) the grain size of said fourth layer. (claim 16)
APA in view of Observer does not address:
a grain size of said second layer (APA - 22) is larger than a grain size of said first layer (APA - 20),
a grain size of said third layer (APA - 24) is larger than the grain size of said second layer (APA - 22).
Dunand discloses:
a sports track comprising a first/surface layer (7) and a second/base layer (6) underneath the first/surface layer, wherein a grain size (i.e., 3/8 mm - see bottom of page 2 of translation) of particles in the second/base layer are larger than a grain size (i.e., 0/3 mm - see bottom of page 2 of translation) of particles of the first/surface layer.
TennisMyselfYoutube teaches (see transcript translation between timestamps 17:43 to 19:50) that, in a tennis clay court, it is desirable to configure a first/surface layer to provide coverage for aesthetic purposes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the field of APA in view of Observer to make the grain size of the first layer smaller than the grain size of the second layer, as disclosed by Dunand, for the purpose of promoting increased coverage (while minimizing quantity/cost of material) of the second layer for aesthetic purposes (note: the smaller the grain size, the smaller the gaps between grains, which leads to more coverage per layer).
TennisMyself discloses:
a tennis court comprising a first/top layer, a second/under layer, and a third / drainage ground layer, wherein the third layer has a grain size that is larger than the grain size of the second layer (see the picture on page 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the field of APA in view of Observer to make the grain size of the third layer larger than the grain size of the second layer, as disclosed by TennisMyself, for the purpose of promoting drainage.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over APA in view of Observer and Wolf (US 7,713,133; cited in an IDS).
In reference to claim 20
APA in view of Observer addresses:
The method of claim 19, further comprising:
extracting (inherent, since red dog material is a coal waste product) said coal shale from a coal mine;
drying said coal shale (note: any duration of exposure to air results in drying).
APA in view of Observer, as previously presented, does not address:
crushing said coal shale to a predefined size particles.
APA further discloses:
crushing (see par. [0001]) the raw material that ends-up as the first layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of APA in view of Observer to include crushing the material (i.e., coal shale) that ends-up as the first layer, as further disclosed by APA, for the purpose of allowing a subsequent step of screening (see below).
APA in view of Observer also does not address:
screening said coal shale using a mesh screen for a prolonged duration;
compacting said coal shale screened for use as said first layer, said first layer exhibiting porosity for water drainage.
Wolf discloses:
screening a material using a mesh screen to achieve a desired particle size (see col.3:ll.33-53).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of APA in view of Observer to include screening said coal shale using a mesh screen, as disclosed by Wolf, for the purpose of achieving a desired grain size.
APA in view of Observer and Wolf therefore addresses:
crushing (APA) said coal shale to a predefined size particles;
screening (as in Wolf) said coal shale using a mesh screen for a prolonged duration (note: the recitation prolonged duration is broad/non-specific);
compacting (see APA par. [0003]) said coal shale screened for use as said first layer, said first layer exhibiting porosity (note: the term porosity is broad/non-specific) for water drainage (note: the recitation exhibiting porosity for water drainage is considered as a statement of intended use/result that does not further limit the structure of first layer).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R LEGENDRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711