DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 16-19, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al [US 2007/0057773] in view of Nikunen et al [US 2016/0063286]
Consider claim 1. (Previously Presented) An integrated circuit for a radio frequency
identification (RFID) tag (the RFID sensing system 20 including integrated circuit 10,
see Fig. 2, para [0026, 0027]), the integrated circuit comprises: an antenna port
operable for coupling to an external antenna, wherein the antenna includes one or more radiating elements for electromagnetically transmitting outbound radio frequency (RF) electromagnetic signals and for electromagnetically receiving inbound RF electromagnetic signals (the RFID transponder provides two-way communication signals 23 as inbound and 24 as outbound with the RFID reader 50 through a wireless communication 24 via the external antenna 28. In fact, the invention of the embodiment is suitable for any popularly applied frequency of wireless radio frequency identification system (RFID), such as 125 KHz, 140 KHz, 13.56 MHz, 900 MHz, 2.4 GHz, etc., but the embodiment is not limited to these radio frequencies. The external antenna 28 is connected to external ports/pins 25 and 26, see Figs. 1-3, para [27, 0033-0035]);
an external element port operably coupled to an external sensor that senses an external
condition (the external sensors 30 is/are connected through the external interface
associated with the multiple sensor modules 30A comprising a selector 37, see Figs.
6A, 7, para [0044]);
a sensing engine operably coupled to the external element port and to the power harvesting circuit, (the ADC 33 or ADC 35 is connected to the external sensor modules 30A and the power harvest management 11, see Figs. 6A, 7, para [0043]),
wherein, when operational, the sensing engine: generates a signal representative of a sensed external condition that is sensed by the external sensor (the ADC 35 outputs digital signals 36 to the digital control unit 13 representing the external sensed data information, see Figs. 6A, 7, para [0043, 0044]);
generates a digital value of the signal (the digital signal from the ADC 33 or ADC 35,
see Figs. 6A, 7, para [0035, 0044, 0045]);
generates an outbound signal that includes the digital value (the digital control unit 13
controls to generate the digital signal from the external sensor or outbound signals, see
Figs. 2A, 3, 6, 6A, 7, para [0043, 0044]); and
a radio frequency (RF) transmitter is operably coupled to the antenna port and to the power harvesting circuit (the analog front end 12 acts as a transceiver being coupled to the antenna pins/ports 25 and 26 to transmit signal to the RFID reader 50 through a wireless communication 24, and to the power harvest management 11, see Figs. 2, 2A, 3, 6, para [0034, 0043]), and
wherein the RF transmitter is further operably coupled to: convert the outbound signal into an outbound RF signal and transmit, via the external antenna, the outbound RF signal to an RFID reader (the transmitting the external/outbound sensed signal to the RFID reader 50 through a wireless communication 24 via the external antenna 28, and including a D/A converter 14 to convert external/outbound sensed signal see Figs. 2, 2A, 3, para [0033-0035]).
Hseih et al fails to disclose a power harvesting circuit operably coupled to the antenna port, wherein the power harvesting circuit is operable to generate power from the inbound RF electromagnetic signals when the inbound RF electromagnetic signals are received via the antenna port. However,
Hseih et al teaches that the power of passive radio frequency identification system is induced by the magnetic field, which is generated by the interrogator or reader 50. By using the power source of the analog measuring device or sensor module 30, a universal radio frequency identification sensing system 20 works as an active radio frequency identification system. The antenna 28 receives a data stream from radio frequency signals 23 only, instead of a data stream and magnetic power receiving together from interrogator and reader 50 (see Figs. 2, 3, para [0029, 0033]).
In fact, the invention of the embodiment is suitable for any popularly applied frequency of wireless radio frequency identification system (RFID), such as 125 KHz, 140 KHz, 13.56 MHz, 900 MHz, 2.4 GHz, etc. (see para [0030]).
Nikunen et al suggests that the RFID transponder chip 10 comprises contact terminals to which at least one external sensing element and/or at least one pair of external sensing element 32 and an external resonator 31 can be connected (see Fig. 2B, para [0033-0037]). The integrated passive radio frequency identification (RFID) transponder chip 10 comprising a rectifier generating an electric power for the chip from a received radio frequency (RF) signal, see claim 1, Figs. 1, 2A, para [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use or substitute the RFID transponder is provided electric power from RF or electromagnetic signal received from the RFID interrogator/reader of Nikunen et al for the magnetic power management of the RFID system of Hseih et al since Hseih et al teaches that the RFID system may use any popular wireless radio frequency such as 13.56 MHz, 900 MHz, 2.4 GHz, etc. for providing an advance of the RF or electromagnetic RFID tag over the magnet low frequency and low power magnetic field.
Consider claim 2. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the sensing
engine comprises: a reference block operably coupled to the external element port
(Which reads upon the two analog inputs of the comparator 16 are coupled to a D/A
converter output and an analog measuring device or external sensor module output 31,
see Figs. 2, 2A, 3, para [0033, 0035]), wherein, when operational, the reference block:
generates the signal representative of the sensed external condition that is sensed by
the external sensor; and generates the digital value of the signal; memory (the memory
unit 15, see Figs. 2, 2A, 3) operably coupled to store the digital value; a processing unit
operably coupled to the memory and to the reference block, wherein the processing unit
is operably coupled to: generate the outbound signal that includes the digital value. (As
cited in respect to claim 1 above, see Figs. 2, 2A, 3-5, para [0033-0034, 0037-0038]).
Consider claim 4. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 1 further comprises: the
sensing engine is operably coupled to generate the signal to be representative of one or
more of: a sensed temperature that is sensed by the external sensor; a sensed moisture
level that is sensed by the external sensor; a sensed pressure that is sensed by the
external sensor; a sensed humidity that is sensed by the external sensor; a sensed light
that is sensed by the external sensor; and a sensed gas level that is sensed by the
external sensor (the external sensor modules 30A is selected from the group consisting
of, but not limited to, light sensor, sound sensor, temperature sensor, heat sensor,
radiation sensor, electrical resistance sensor, electrical current sensor, electrical voltage
sensor, electrical power sensor, magnetism sensor, pressure sensor, gas sensor, liquid
flow sensor, motion sensor, orientation sensor, proximity sensor, distance sensor,
whisker sensor, biological sensor, and chemical sensor, see Figs. 2A, 6A, para [0004],
claim 12).
Consider claim 5. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 1 further comprises: a power
harvesting circuit operably coupled to the antenna port, wherein, when the antenna is
coupled to the antenna port and is receiving an inbound RF signal, the power harvesting
circuit generates a DC voltage from the inbound RF signal, wherein the DC voltage
powers the processing unit, the memory, and the reference block. (Which reads upon
the power management 11, see Figs. 2, 2A, 3, para [0029, 0033-0035]).
Consider claim 6. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the sensing
engine further comprises: a second reference block operably coupled to a second
external element port, wherein, when operational, the second reference block
generates a second signal representative of a second sensed external condition that is
sensed by a second external sensor that is operably coupled to the second external
element port (which reads upon the two analog inputs or second input of the comparator
16 are coupled to a D/A converter output and an analog measuring device or external
sensor module output 31 from a plurality sensor modules 30A, see Figs. 2, 2A, 3, 6A,
para [0033, 0035]); and
generates a second digital value; wherein the memory is further operably coupled to
store the second digital value; wherein the processing unit is further operably coupled to
generate a second outbound signal that includes the second digital value or updates the
outbound signal to include the second digital value; wherein the RF transmitter is further
operably coupled to transmit, via the external antenna, the second outbound signal
within the outbound RF signal or within a second outbound RF signal to an RFID
reader. (As cited in respect to claim 1 above, and wherein the digital control unit 13
processes to generate a second external/outbound sensed output signal then
transmitted it to the RFID reader via the external antenna 28 through the wireless
communication 24, see Figs. 2, 2A, 4, 5, 6, 6A).
Consider claim 7. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 1 further comprises: the RF
transmitter is further operable to transmit the outbound RF signal to the RFID reader
upon power up of the integrated circuit or in response to a request from the RFID reader
(the RFID tag 10 is power on or activated when the power is available or when in
response to an interrogation/reader signal 24, see Figs. 2, para [0012, 0025, 0027,
0042]).
Consider claim 8. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 1 further comprises: an on-
chip sensor operably coupled to the sensing engine; wherein the sensing engine is
further operably coupled to: generates a second signal representative of a sensed
condition by the on-chip sensor; and generates a second digital value of the second
signal. (As cited in respect to claims 1 and 6 above, wherein the single chip/die 10
generates a second digital value signal based on the second or a plurality of sensor
modules 30A, see Figs. 2A, 6A).
Consider claim 9. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 8 further comprises: the
sensing engine is further operably coupled to generate a second outbound signal that
includes the second digital value; and wherein the RF transmitter is further operably
coupled to: convert the second outbound signal into a second outbound RF signal; and
transmit, via the external antenna, the second outbound RF signal to an RFID reader.
(As cited in respect to claim 8 above, wherein the D/A converter 14 to convert one or
more or second external/outbound sensed signal, see Figs. 2, 2A, 3, 6A, para [0033-
0035]).
Consider claim 10. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 8 further comprises: the
sensing engine is further operably coupled to generate the outbound signal to further
include the second digital value. (As cited in respect to claim 8 above, wherein the
digital control unit 13 can generate another external/outbound sensed signal in digital
value, see Figs. 2A, 6A, para [0043, 0044]).
Consider claim 16. (Original) A radio frequency identification (RFID) tag comprises: a
substrate; an external antenna mounted on the substrate (which reads upon the single
RFID die 10, see abstract, Figs. 2, 2A, 3, para [0034]), wherein the antenna includes one or more radiating elements for electromagnetically transmitting outbound radio frequency (RF) electromagnetic signals and for electromagnetically receiving inbound RF electromagnetic signals; an external sensor mounted on the substrate, wherein, when operable, the external sensor senses an external condition; and an integrated circuit mounted on the substrate, wherein the integrated circuit includes: an antenna port operable for coupling to the external antenna; a power harvesting circuit operably coupled to the antenna port, wherein the power harvesting circuit is operable to generate power from the inbound RF electromagnetic signals when the inbound RF electromagnetic signals are received via the antenna port; an external element port operably coupled to the external sensor; a sensing engine operably coupled to the external element port and to the power harvesting circuit, wherein, when operational, the sensing engine: generates a signal representative of a sensed external condition that is sensed by the external sensor; generates a digital value of the signal; generate an outbound signal that includes the digital value; and a radio frequency (RF) transmitter is operably coupled to the antenna port and to the power harvesting circuit, wherein the RF transmitter is further operably coupled to: convert the outbound signal into an outbound RF signal; and transmit, via the external antenna, the outbound RF signal to an RFID reader (as cited and discussed between Hseih et al and Nikunen et al in respect to claim 1 above).
Consider claim 17. (Original) An integrated circuit for a radio frequency identification
(RFID) tag, the integrated circuit comprises: an antenna port operable for coupling to an
external antenna, wherein the antenna includes one or more radiating elements for electromagnetically transmitting outbound radio frequency (RF) electromagnetic signals and for electromagnetically receiving inbound RF electromagnetic signals; a power harvesting circuit operably coupled to the antenna port, wherein the power harvesting circuit is operable to generate power from the inbound RF electromagnetic signals when the inbound RF electromagnetic signals are received via the antenna port; an on-chip sensor operable to sense a condition; a sensing engine operably coupled to the on-chip sensor, wherein, when operational, the sensing engine: generates a signal representative of a sensed condition that 1s sensed by the on-chip sensor; generates a digital value of the signal; generate an outbound signal that includes the digital value; and a radio frequency (RF) transmitter is operably coupled to the antenna port and to the power harvesting circuit, wherein the RF transmitter is further operably coupled to: convert the outbound signal into an outbound RF signal; and transmit, via the external antenna, the outbound RF signal to an RFID reader (as cited and discussed between Hseih et al and Nikunen et al in respect to claim 1 above, see Figs. 2, 2A, 306, 6A, 7, such as the single chip/die 10).
Consider claim 18. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 17 further comprises: the
sensing engine is operably coupled to generate the signal to be representative of one or
more of: a sensed temperature that is sensed by the on-chip sensor; a sensed moisture
level that is sensed by the on-chip sensor; a sensed pressure that is sensed by the on-
chip sensor; a sensed humidity that is sensed by the on-chip sensor; a sensed light that
is sensed by the on-chip sensor; and a sensed gas level that is sensed by the on-chip
sensor. (As cited in respect to claim 4 above).
Consider claim 19. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 17 further comprises: an
external element port operably coupled to an external sensor that is sensing an external
condition; wherein the sensing engine is further operably coupled to: generates a
second signal representative of a sensed external condition that is sensed by the
external sensor; and generates a second digital value of the second signal. (As cited in
respect to claim 6 above).
Consider claim 25. (Original) A radio frequency identification (RFID) tag comprises: a
substrate; an external antenna mounted on the substrate, wherein the antenna includes one or more radiating elements for electromagnetically transmitting outbound radio frequency (RF) electromagnetic signals and for electromagnetically receiving inbound RF electromagnetic signals; an integrated circuit mounted on the substrate, wherein the integrated circuit includes: an antenna port operable for coupling to an external antenna; a power harvesting circuit operably coupled to the antenna port, wherein the power harvesting circuit is operable to generate power from the inbound RF electromagnetic signals when the inbound RF electromagnetic signals are received via the antenna port; an on-chip sensor operable to sense a condition; a sensing engine operably coupled to the on-chip sensor and to the power harvesting circuit, wherein, when operational, the sensing engine: generates a signal representative of a sensed condition that is sensed by the on-chip sensor; generates a digital value of the signal; generate an outbound signal that includes the digital value; and a radio frequency (RF) transmitter is operably coupled to the antenna port and to the power harvesting circuit, wherein the RF transmitter is further operably coupled to: convert the outbound signal into an outbound RF signal; and transmit, via the external antenna, the outbound RF signal to an RFID reader (as cited and discussed between Hseih et al and Nikunen et al in respect to claims 1 and 16 above).
Claims 3, 11-15, 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Hsieh et al [US 2007/0057773] and Nikunen et al [US 2016/0063286] and further in view of O'Toole et al [US 2001/0050580]
Consider claim 3. Hsieh et al fails to disclose the reference block comprises: an auto
gain control (AGC) circuit coupled to first and second terminals of the external port; an
analog to digital converter operably coupled to the AGC circuit, wherein the AGC circuit
adjusts amplitude of an analog sensed signal received via the external port and the
analog to digital converter converts the analog sensed signal into the digital value.
However, Hsieh et al teaches that the digital control unit 13 coupled to an internal analog to digital converter 33 or 35, n bits digital outputs 36 coupled to the digital control unit 13 digital inputs. The referenced voltage 19 generated from a power management 11 is coupled to an analog to digital converter 35. Typically, the referenced voltage is equal to the supply voltage when applying it to the analog to digital converter (see Figs. 6, 7, para [0043]).
O'Toole et al suggests that the controlling the automatic or self-gain amplifiers and
adjusting the sensitivity, impedance or capacitors and/or voltage, see Figs. 4, 5, 8, para
[0386, 0581, 0653]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to add or implement the controlling the automatic or self-gain
amplifiers and adjusting the sensitivity, impedance or capacitors and/or voltage of
O'Toole to the control unit of Hsieh et al and Nikunen et al for provide a higher accuracy output sensed results and to minimize of error, since the automatic calibration and/or AGC circuit are well known in the RFID tag and sensing system.
Consider claim 11. Hsieh et al fails to disclose calibrating the on-chip sensor at a wafer
level or at a die level prior to deployment in the RFID tag to produce calibration data;
and storing the calibration data in memory of the sensing engine.
O'Toole et al suggests that the RFID device/tag 12 includes the calibration of an integrated circuit or IC chip 16 and ROM memory having wafer number and die number and calibration the timer to a clock frequency data communication for use in a RFID device 12, see claim 65, Figs. 5, 7, para [0288, 0296-0299, 0428, 0460]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to add and/or implement the calibration circuit of O'Toole to the
digital control unit of Hsieh et al and Nikunen et al for provide a higher accuracy output sensed results and to minimize of error, since the automatic calibration and/or AGC circuit are well known in the RFID tag and sensing system.
Consider claim 12. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 8 further comprises:
calibrating the on-chip sensor based on the sensed external condition and the digital
value of the signal (ss the combination of the calibration between Hsieh et al and Nikunen et al and O'Toole et al in respect to claim 11 above, and wherein Hsieh et al teaches that the digital control unit 13 controls to generate the digital signal from the external sensor or outbound signals, see Figs. 2A, 3, 6, 6A, 7, para [0043, 0044]).
Consider claim 13. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 1 further comprises: the
sensing engine calibrating the generation of the signal representative of the sensed
external condition that is sensed by the external sensor based on a table of calibration
data (as the combination of the calibration between Hsieh et al and Nikunen et al and O'Toole et al and in respect to claim 11 above, such as the calibration operation functions of Nikunen et al).
Consider claim 14. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 13 further comprises: an RF
receive to receive an inbound RF signal from the RFID reader, wherein the inbound
signal includes at least one calibration data point of the calibration data in the table (ss
the combination of the calibration between Hsieh et al and Nikunen et al and O'Toole et al in respect to claim 11 above, and wherein an initial frequency is set for the low power frequency locked loop. On the first successful communication with an interrogator, the low power frequency locked loop is actually calibrated to a known clock frequency and set to a desired frequency (8 kHz in the illustrated embodiment), see Hsieh et al, Figs. 5, 8, para [0288, 0596]).
Consider claim 15. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 14 further comprises: the
sensing engine storing the table of calibration data in memory of the sensing engine
(as the combination of the calibration between Hsieh et al and Nikunen et al and O'Toole et al in respect to claims 11 and 14 above).
Consider claim 20. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 19 further comprises:
calibrating the on-chip sensor at a wafer level or at a die level prior to deployment in the
RFID tag to produce calibration data; and storing the calibration data in memory of the
sensing engine (ss the combination of the calibration between Hsieh et al and
Nikunen et al and O'Toole et al in respect to claims 11 and 16 above, such as the single RFID die 10, see Hsieh et al, Figs. 2, 2A, 3, 6, 6A, 7).
Consider claim 21. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 20 further comprises:
calibrating the on-chip sensor based on the sensed external condition and the second
digital value of the signal (as the combination of the calibration between Hsieh et al
and Nikunen et al and O'Toole et al in respect to claim 12 above).
Consider claim 22. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 19 further comprises: the
sensing engine is further operable to: calibrate the generation of the signal
representative of a sensed condition that is sensed by the on-chip sensor based on a
table of calibration data; and/or calibrate the generation of the second signal
representative of the sensed external condition that is sensed by the external sensor
based on a table of calibration data (as the combination of the calibration between
Hsieh et al and Nikunen et al and O'Toole et al in respect to claim 13 above).
Consider claim 23. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 22 further comprises: an RF
receive to receive an inbound RF signal from the RFID reader, wherein the inbound
signal includes at least one calibration data point of the calibration data in the table (as
the combination of the calibration between Hsieh et al and Nikunen et al and O'Toole et al in respect to claim 14 above).
Consider claim 24. (Original) The integrated circuit of claim 23 further comprises: the
sensing engine storing the table of calibration data in memory of the sensing engine
(as the combination of the calibration between Hsieh et al and Nikunen et al and O'Toole et al sin respect to claim 15 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Amendment, filed 01/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-25 under Hseih et al have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nikunen et al to make the rejection smoother according to the new amendment, as above.
Applicant’s arguments:
Hseih et al discloses that the RF signals are transmitted and/or received via magnetic coupling. Due to the fundamentally different mode of communication, circuitry transmitting and receive a magnetic field communication is substantially different than the circuitry transmitting and receive electromagnetic wave signals.
Response to the arguments:
It is obvious to one skill in the art to use or substitute the RFID transponder is provided electric power from RF or electromagnetic signal received from the RFID interrogator or RFID reader of Nikunen et al for the magnetic power management of the RFID system of Hseih et al since Hseih et al teaches that the RFID system may use any popular wireless radio frequency such as 13.56 MHz, 900 MHz, 2.4 GHz, etc. for providing an advance of the RF or electromagnetic RFID tag over the magnet low frequency and low power magnetic field.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
02/02/2026