DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-5, filed June 29, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Oh et al. (see below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (U.S. Patent 7,088,343—hereinafter “Smith”) in view of Moon et al. (USPGPUB 2007/0018964—hereinafter “Moon”) and Oh et al. (U.S. Patent 6,266,050—hereinafter “Oh”).
As to Claim 1, Smith teaches a keyboard apparatus (See Figs. 1 and 2) comprising:
an enclosure (Figs. 1 and 2 at 100) including a top face (Fig. 1 at 108), a bottom face (Fig. 1 at face opposite 108), a front face (Fig. 1 at 102; note long 116), a back face (Fig. 1 at 102; face opposite long 116) and two side faces (Fig. 1 at 102 on left and right sides of 108 and Col. 5, line 35—Col. 7, line 12).
a touch pad provided on at least one of the two side faces along a direction from a front face side to a back face side, to receive a swipe operation of a user (Figs. 1 and 2 at left and right side 102 and Col. 7, lines 38-63, Col. 8, lines 7-42 and Col. 9, lines 49-62).
Smith, however, fails to teach a first guide provided below the touch pad; a second guide provided at a right end portion or left end portion of the touch pad when the side face on which the touch pad is provided is viewed from a front of said side face; wherein the first guide and the second guide cause the user to recognize a position of a region of the swipe operation in the touch pad in a direction from the front face side to the back face side, by a difference in level formed by the first guide and the second guide. Examiner cites Moon to teach a portable device having a first guide provided below a touch pad (Fig. 2 at 208 below 206); a second guide provided at a right end portion or left end portion of the touch pad when the side face on which the touch pad is provided is viewed from a front of said side face (Fig. 2 at 208 at right/left of 206); wherein the first guide and the second guide cause a user to recognize a position of a region of a swipe operation in the touch pad in a direction from the front face side to the back face side, by a difference in level formed by the first guide and the second guide (Pg. 2, ¶’s 21, 23 and 26). At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate guides as taught by Moon in the keyboard apparatus taught by Smith, in order to help assist the user in locating touch pad without having to view the touchpad. (Moon, Pg. 2, ¶ 23).
Smith, as modified by Moon, fails to teach a switching part to switch between validation and invalidation of an operation of the touch pad. Examiner cites Oh to teach a keyboard apparatus (Fig. 3 at 100) with a switching part (120c) to switch between validation and invalidation of an operation of the touch pad (Col. 6, lines 44-56). At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a switching part that switches between validation and invalidation of an operation of the touch pad, as taught by Oh, in the keyboard apparatus taught by Smith, as modified by Moon, in order to help prevent inadvertent operation of the touchpad during keyboard input operation (Oh, Col. 1, lines 15-20).
As to Claim 2, Smith, as modified by Moon, teaches that the first guide is formed to protrude outward from the touch pad in a direction intersecting to the extending direction (Moon, See Fig. 2 at 208 and Pg. 2, ¶ 23).
As to Claim 3, Smith, as modified by Moon, teaches that the first guide includes a recessed part provided to face the touch pad (Moon, See Fig. 2 at 208 and Pg. 2, ¶ 23).
As to Claim 4, the combination of Smith and Moon, teaches that the first guide does not face the top face of the enclosure (Smith, See Figs. 1 and 2 with touch pads located at the sides of the enclosure and Moon, See Fig. 2 at 208 below 206).
As to Claim 5, Smith, as modified by Moon and Oh, fails to teach that the first guide and the second guide are connected to each other. The specification, however, shows no apparent benefits in having the guides connected to each other. Therefore, having the guides connected to each other is clearly a design choice based on the specific requirement of the claim. Furthermore, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize any type of guides, including guides that connect with each other, in the keyboard apparatus taught by Smith, as modified by Moon and Oh, since any type of guides would perform equally well at guiding the user to the touch pad.
Inquiries
/RODNEY AMADIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622