DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 29, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (U.S. Patent 7,088,343—hereinafter “Smith”) in view of Liu (USPGPUB 2008/0231476—hereinafter “Liu”).
As to Claim 1, Smith teaches a keyboard apparatus (See Figs. 1 and 2) comprising:
an enclosure (Figs. 1 and 2 at 100);
a plurality of keys located on a top face of the enclosure (Figs. 1 and 2 at 108 and Col. 5, lines 11-16);
a touch pad provided on at least one side face of the enclosure (Figs. 1 and 2 at 102).
Smith, however, fails to teach a guide for the touch pad, provided to extend along an extending direction of the at least one side face; wherein the guide does not reach both sides of the at least one side face in the extending direction. Examiner cites Liu to teach an apparatus with a touch panel that utilizes a guide for the touch panel (Fig. 1 at 12), provided to extend along an extending direction of at least one side face (Figs. 1 and 2 at 12); wherein the guide does not reach both sides of the at least one side face in the extending direction (Figs. 1 and 2 at 12). At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate guides, as taught by Liu, in the keyboard apparatus taught by Smith, in order to help guide a user to correct finger positioning by feeling the guides (Liu, Pg. 1, ¶ 5 and Pg. 2, ¶ 18).
As to Claim 2, Smith, as modified by Liu, teaches that the guide is formed to protrude outward from the touch pad in a direction intersecting to the extending direction (Liu, See Figs. 2 and 3 at 12 and 11).
As to Claim 3, Smith, as modified by Liu, teaches that the guide includes a recessed part provided to face the touch pad (Liu, See Figs. 2 and 3 at 12 and 11).
As to Claim 4, the combination of Smith and Liu, teaches that the guide does not face the top face of the enclosure (Smith, See Figs. 1 and 2 with touch pads located at the sides of the enclosure and Liu, See Figs. 2 and 3 at 12 and 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fujieda et al. U.S. Patent 6,011,860
Holehan U.S. Patent 6,043,809
Gardner U.S. Patent 8,276,816
McClurg et al. U.S. Patent 7,308,122
Bolis et al. USPGPUB 2008/0309459
Imana USPGPUB 2015/0355683
Kubota USPGPUB 2024/0419267
Inquiries
/RODNEY AMADIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622