DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman et al., US PGPUB No. 20190339528 A1, hereinafter Freeman, and further in view of Lin, US PGPUB No. 20210048675 A1, hereinafter Lin.
Regarding claim 6, Freeman discloses a head mounted XR display for displaying augmented reality (AR) content to one or more eyes of a user (Freeman; a head mounted XR display for displaying AR content to one or more eyes of a user [¶ 0006-0007]; moreover, HMD [¶ 0047], as illustrated within Fig. 1), said display comprising:
at least one curved display panel attached to the wearable structure, said curved display panel having a curved, three-dimensional light-emitting surface with a shape defined as rotating a plane about an axis intersecting the user's eye (Freeman; at least one curved display panel attached to the wearable structure 3D light-emitting surface with a shape defined as rotating a plane about an axis intersecting the user's eye [¶ 0047-0048, ¶ 0050, and ¶ 0057], said curved display panel having a curved [¶ 0047-0048], as illustrated within Fig. 1 and Fig. 5; moreover, HMD optical functions [¶ 0059] in relation with a focal point [¶ 0141]), the curved surface configured to emit light beams containing AR content (Freeman; the curved surface configured to emit light beams containing AR content [¶ 0054 and ¶ 0068], as illustrated within Fig. 9 and Fig. 11); and
at least one curved combiner having a curved, three-dimensional reflective surface with a shape defined by the rotating a plane about an axis intersecting the user's eye (Freeman; at least one curved combiner having a curved, 3D reflective surface with a shape defined by the rotating a plane about an axis intersecting the user's eye [¶ 0010, ¶ 0014, and ¶ 0057]; moreover, focal point [¶ 0141]), the reflective surface configured to reflect the light beams emitted from the display toward the user's eye (Freeman; the reflective surface configured to reflect the light beams emitted from the display toward the user's eye [¶ 0040 and ¶ 0077]), causing the light beams to converge in an eye box, wherein a user can focus on computer generated content produced by the at least one display (Freeman; causing the light beams to converge in an eye box, wherein a user can focus on computer generated content produced by the at least one display [¶ 0040 and ¶ 0068-0070]); and
wherein said eye box is a curved, three-dimensional eye box (Freeman; said eye box is a curved, 3D eye box [¶ 0010-0011 and ¶ 0077]).
Freeman fails to explicitly disclose rotating plane.
However, Lin teaches rotating plane (Lin; rotating plane [¶ 0003-0005]).
Freeman and Lin are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce imaging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Freeman, to incorporate rotating plane (as taught by Lin), in order to provide acute eye tracking (Lin; [¶ 0002-0004]).
Regarding claim 7, Freeman in view of Lin further discloses the wearable display of claim 6, wherein said curved three-dimensional light-emitting surface and said curved, three-dimensional reflective surface are concave surfaces (Freeman; said curved 3D light-emitting surface and said curved, 3D reflective surface are concave surfaces [¶ 0054], as illustrated within Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 8, Freeman in view of Lin further discloses the wearable display of claim 7, wherein said wearable structure has horizonal and vertical axes, and wherein said curved, three-dimensional reflective surface is concave along both said horizontal and vertical axes (Freeman; said wearable structure has horizonal and vertical axes, and wherein said curved, 3D reflective surface is concave along both said horizontal and vertical axes [¶ 0047-0048], as illustrated within Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Freeman in view of Lin further discloses the wearable display of claim 6, wherein said curved, three-dimensional eye box is convex (Freeman; said curved, 3D eye box is convex [¶ 0010 and ¶ 0033]).
Regarding claim 10, Freeman in view of Lin further discloses the wearable display of claim 6, wherein said at least one curved display panel comprises two displays, one for each eye of said user, and wherein said at least one combiner comprises two combiners, each combiner associated with one of said two displays (Freeman; said at least one curved display panel comprises two displays, one for each eye of said user, and wherein said at least one combiner comprises two combiners, each combiner associated with one of said two displays [¶ 0047-0048], as illustrated within Fig. 1; additionally, activating sections of a display in relation with the eye [¶ 0067-0069], as illustrated within Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 11, Freeman in view of Lin further discloses the wearable display of claim 6, wherein said wearable structure is a helmet (Freeman; said wearable structure is a helmet (i.e. headgear) [¶ 0006 and ¶ 0047]).
Regarding claim 12, Freeman in view of Lin further discloses the wearable display of claim 6, wherein said curved three-dimensional light-emitting surface emits said light rays essentially normal to said curved three-dimensional light-emitting surface (Freeman; said curved 3D light-emitting surface emits said light rays essentially normal to said curved 3D light-emitting surface [¶ 0047-0048 and ¶ 0068], as illustrated within Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 13, Freeman in view of Lin further discloses the wearable display of claim 6, wherein said at least one curved display panel comprises a backlight opposing said curved three-dimensional light-emitting surface (Freeman; said at least one curved display panel comprises a backlight opposing said curved 3D light-emitting surface [¶ 0059 and ¶ 0097]).
Regarding claim 14, Freeman in view of Lin further discloses the wearable display of claim 13, wherein optical fibers couple said light rays from said backlight to said curved three-dimensional light-emitting surface (Freeman; optical fibers couple said light rays from said backlight to said curved 3D light-emitting surface [¶ 0057 and ¶ 0059]).
Regarding claim 15, Freeman in view of Lin further discloses the wearable display of claim 14, wherein said at least one curved display panel comprises pixels and wherein each optical fiber corresponds to a pixel (Freeman; said at least one curved display panel comprises pixels and wherein each optical fiber corresponds to a pixel [¶ 0057, ¶ 0059, and ¶ 0079-0080]).
Regarding claim 16, Freeman in view of Lin further discloses the wearable display of claim 13, wherein said backlight controls chief rays and cone angle (Freeman; said backlight controls chief rays and cone angle [¶ 0097 and ¶ 0141-0142]).
Regarding claim 17, Freeman in view of Lin further discloses the head mounted XR display of claim 1, wherein the combiner is at least one of partially see-through and partially reflective (Freeman; the combiner is at least one of partially see-through and partially reflective [¶ 0048 and ¶ 0050]).
Regarding claim 18, Freeman in view of Lin further discloses the head mounted XR display of claim 6, wherein a shape of the curved combiner is based, at least in part, on an intersection of a plane of image light, perpendicular to the curbed display panel, with the curved combiner to reflect a plane of the image light through a middle of the eye (Freeman; a shape of the curved combiner is based, at least in part, on an intersection of a plane of image light, perpendicular to the curbed display panel, with the curved combiner to reflect a plane of the image light through a middle of the eye [¶ 0047-0048 and ¶ 0141-0142]).
Regarding claim 19, Freeman in view of Lin further discloses the head mounted XR display of claim 18, wherein the shape of the curved combiner is based, at least in part, on a rotation of the intersection about a center of the eye (Freeman; the shape of the curved combiner is based, at least in part, on a rotation of the intersection about a center of the eye [¶ 0141-0142]).
Lin further discloses a rotation of the intersection (Lin; a rotation of the intersection about a center of the eye [¶ 0003-0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Freeman as modified by Lin, to incorporate a rotation of the intersection (as taught by Lin), in order to provide acute eye tracking (Lin; [¶ 0002-0004]).
Regarding claim 20, Freeman in view of Lin further discloses the head mounted XR display of claim 6, wherein the LED panel comprises one or more filters, wherein one or more filters a backlight on a pixel by pixel basis (Freeman; the LED panel comprises one or more filters, wherein one or more filters a backlight on a pixel by pixel basis [¶ 0097 and ¶ 0151]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
(regarding backlight nits)
Wei et al. (US PGPUB No. 20190064515 A1).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
CHARLES LLOYD. BEARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2611
/CHARLES L BEARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611