DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. In an amendment dated June 23, 2026, claims 11, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 12-14, 16 and 18 are amended. Currently claims 1-18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 23, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks applicant argues prior art of record fails to disclose the newly filed claimed limitation of independent claims wherein “…the user request is used to enable a see-through function of the HMD at least by turning on a photographing apparatus on the second display screen 311 to capture a view of a real scene in which the HMD is located”. The office respectfully disagrees. Prior art Chen discloses HMD 102 comprising first display (inner display) and second display (outer display) wherein the first display is facing users’ eye and camera 108 disposed on outer region of HMD (i.e. second display) facing user’s environment, wherein said camera 108 is used to capture three-dimensional (3D) images and video of the environment from the perspective of the HMD 102. Such video can be presented to the user (i.e. first display 308) to provide the user with a “video see-through” ability while wearing the HMD. That is, though the user cannot see through the HMD in a strict sense, the video captured by the image capture devices can nonetheless provide a functional equivalent of being able to see the environment external to the HMD as if looking through the HMD (See par 0036). Furthermore, (Par 0044) discloses HMD user may elect to interact with the interactive content, by wearing the HMD and selecting content to be rendered on first display. Therefore, the office interprets prior art Chen discloses said device have the ability to activate see-through function by activating external camera (i.e. photographing apparatus 108) disposed on the second display screen 311 to capture a view of a real scene in which the HMD is located.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (PG Pub NO 2018/0004478).
As in claim 1, Chen discloses an information prompt method, comprising:
receiving a first input, wherein the first input is used to enable a see-through function of a wearable device at least by turning on a photographing apparatus on an outer display screen of the wearable device to capture a view of a real scene in which the wearable device is located; (Fig 4c-5D and 6B step 675 and Par 0036, 0056, 0069) discloses user input to enable see-through function of a wearable device. (Fig 5D and Par 0028, 0064) discloses a camera 108 (i.e. photographing apparatus) disposed on outer surface of HMD can be configured to capture image of the interactive environment in which the user 100 is located. These captured images can be analyzed to determine the location and movements of the user 100, the HMD 102, and the controller 104. [0036] The HMD 102 may also include one or more image capture devices. images and video of the environment can be captured from the perspective of the HMD 102. Such video can be presented to the user to provide the user with a “video see-through” ability while wearing the HMD 102. That is, though the user cannot see through the HMD 102 in a strict sense, the video captured by the image capture devices 202A and 202B can nonetheless provide a functional equivalent of being able to see the environment external to the HMD 102 as if looking through the HMD 102. [0064] discloses FIG. 5D illustrates an expanded view of a VR scene that is rendered on the second display screen 311. The HMD user is presented with a much broader view of the VR space 410. The VR space 410 that is presented in the first display screen 310 may be scaled down to a size of the second display screen 311 and rendered at the second display screen 311.
and displaying target prompt information on the outer display screen of the wearable device in response to the first input, wherein the target prompt information is used to indicate that the see- through function of the wearable device is enabled and the view of the real scene is displayed in an inner display screen of the wearable device. (Fig 4-5 and Par 0056, 0058, 0059 and 0060) discloses displaying target prompt information (users eye/face) on an outer display screen (Fig 3 display 311) of the wearable device (HMD102); [0056] In some implementations, the non-HMD user may be able to view the HMD user's changing expressions during the time the HMD user is viewing/interacting with content rendering on the first display screen 310 for a period of time and then switch to viewing the HMD user's interaction with the content currently rendering on the first display screen 310 for a second period of time before switching back to the viewing the HMD user's expressions. In such implementations, the content provided to the second display screen 311 may be switched between images of the changing expressions of the HMD user and the images of the VR scene content. The switching in the content rendered on the second display screen 311 may be time-based or defined by the HMD user. The respective content (image of the user or images of the VR scene content) may be viewed by the non-HMD user without requiring the content to be displayed on a display screen that is outside of the HMD and without requiring the HMD user to remove his HMD; and (Par 0060 and Fig 5D) discloses rendering scenes from a VR space (i.e., content that is being rendered in the first display screen 310). In Fig 5D the first display screen displays wider view of the VR scene 410 defined in the VR space; (Par 0028 &0036) discloses a camera 108 can be configured to capture image of the interactive environment in which the user 100 is located. By utilizing a stereoscopic pair of image capture devices, three-dimensional (3D) images and video of the environment can be captured from the perspective of the HMD 102. Such video can be presented to the user to provide the user with a “video see-through” ability while wearing the HMD 102. That is, though the user cannot see through the HMD 102 in a strict sense, the video captured by the image capture devices 202A and 202B can nonetheless provide a functional equivalent of being able to see the environment external to the HMD 102 as if looking through the HMD 102.
As in claim 2, Chen discloses the information prompt method according to claim 1, wherein the target prompt information comprises at least one of the following:
text prompt information; a partial face image or a complete face image of a virtual object; a face image of a wearer of the wearable device, wherein the face image comprises a partial face image or a complete face image of the wearer; or a scene image, wherein the scene image is a two-dimensional scene image or a three- dimensional scene image of the real scene in which the wearable device is located. (Fig 4C-4F, 5C) discloses external display of HMD displaying target prompt information such as a face image of a wearer of the wearable device wherein the face image comprises a partial face image or scene image.
As in claim 3, Chen discloses The information prompt method according to claim 2, wherein when the target prompt information comprises the partial face image of the wearer of the wearable device, a facial feature point in the partial face image matches a facial feature point in a target face area of the wearer; a face outer contour in the partial face image is the same as a face outer contour of the target face area of the wearer; and the target face area is a face area in which a face of the wearer is obstructed by the outer display screen of the wearable device. (Fig 4C-4F, 5C and Par 0054, 0066) discloses the target prompt information comprises the partial face image of the wearer of the wearable device, a facial feature point in the partial face image matches a facial feature point in a target face area of the wearer face outer contour in the partial face image is the same as a face outer contour and the target face area is a face area in which a face of the wearer is obstructed by the outer display screen of the wearable device; [0054] The rendering includes superimposing the image overlay data over the existing image of the portion of the facial features of the user that is rendered on the second display screen 311, by matching the contours of the features captured in the two different images (image captured by the external camera 108 and the image overlay data).
As in claim 4, Chen discloses Chen discloses the information prompt method according to claim 2, wherein when the target prompt information comprises the face image of the wearer of the wearable device, displaying target prompt information on the outer display screen of the wearable device comprises: updating the face image when it is detected that expression action information of the wearer changes. (Fig 4C-4F and Par 0041, 0066) discloses displaying face image of the wearer of the wearable device on the external display and updating the face image when it is detected that expression action information of the wearer changes. [0041] For example, if a user's eyes are determined to be looking in a specific direction, then the video rendering for that direction can be prioritized or emphasized, such as by providing greater detail or faster updates in the region where the user is looking. [0059] When one or more facial features change, such changes reflecting different emotions of the HMD user are rendered on the second display screen 311, as illustrated in FIGS. 4D-4F. For example, the emotion expressed by the HMD user has changed from plain emotion to an anger emotion and this change is reflected in the image rendered on the second display screen 311.
As in claim 5, Chen discloses the information prompt method according to claim 4, wherein before the updating the face image when it is detected that expression action information of the wearer changes, the information prompt method further comprises: collecting a facial feature point of the wearer; and when it is detected that positions of at least some facial feature points of the wearer change, determining that the expression action information of the wearer changes. (Fig 4D-4F and Par 0059) discloses [0059] When one or more facial features change, such changes reflecting different emotions of the HMD user are rendered on the second display screen 311, as illustrated in FIGS. 4D-4F. For example, the emotion expressed by the HMD user has changed from plain emotion to an anger emotion and this change is reflected in the image rendered on the second display screen 311. FIG. 4E illustrates another example emotion, a sadness emotion, captured by the inward facing camera and rendered on the second display screen 311 and FIG. 4F illustrates an image of the HMD user showing a surprise emotion. Each of the different emotions are detected by the inward facing camera or gaze detection camera and is provided for rendering the second display screen 311, so that the non-HMD user watching the HMD user can see the change in expression defining the different emotions that the HMD user goes through while interacting or viewing content on the first display screen of the HMD.
As in claim 6, Chen discloses the information prompt method according to claim 2, wherein when the target prompt information comprises the scene image, before displaying target prompt information on the outer display screen of the wearable device, the information prompt method further comprises: collecting scene information of the real scene in which the wearable device is located using the photographing apparatus; and generating the two-dimensional scene image or the three-dimensional scene image of the real scene based on the scene information; and wherein displaying target prompt information on the outer display screen of the wearable device comprises: displaying the two-dimensional scene image or the three-dimensional scene image on the outer display screen of the wearable device. (Fig 5D and Par 0064) [0028] a camera 108 can be configured to capture image of the interactive environment in which the user 100 is located. These captured images can be analyzed to determine the location and movements of the user 100, the HMD 102, and the controller 104. [0064] FIG. 5D illustrates an expanded view of a VR scene that is rendered on the second display screen 311. As mentioned earlier, the VR scene content may be rendered on the entire second display screen 311 or in a portion of the second display screen 311. The HMD user is provided with a wider view of the VR scene 410 defined in the VR space as the display mechanisms provided in the HMD allow the HMD user to have a broader field of view. Of course, due to a limited size of the second display screen 311, only a portion 410a of the VR scene 410 viewed by the HMD user may be presented for rendering on second display screen 311, in some implementations. FIG. 5D illustrates one such implementation, wherein a portion 410a of the VR scene that is rendered on the second display screen 311 corresponds to the HMD user's gaze, while the HMD user is presented with a much broader view of the VR space 410. In some other implementations, the VR space 410 that is presented in the first display screen 310 may be scaled down to a size of the second display screen 311 and rendered at the second display screen 311.
As in claim 7, Chen discloses an electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory storing a program or an instruction that is capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the electronic device to perform:
receiving a first input, wherein the first input is used to enable a see-through function of the electronic device at least by turning on a photographing apparatus on an outer display screen of the wearable device to capture a view of a real scene in which the wearable device is located; (Fig 4c-5D and 6B step 675 and Par 0056, 0069) discloses user input to enable see-through function of a wearable device; (Fig 5D and Par 0028, 0064) discloses a camera 108 (i.e. photographing apparatus) disposed on outer surface of HMD can be configured to capture image of the interactive environment in which the user 100 is located. These captured images can be analyzed to determine the location and movements of the user 100, the HMD 102, and the controller 104. [0064] discloses FIG. 5D illustrates an expanded view of a VR scene that is rendered on the second display screen 311. The HMD user is presented with a much broader view of the VR space 410. The VR space 410 that is presented in the first display screen 310 may be scaled down to a size of the second display screen 311 and rendered at the second display screen 311.
and displaying target prompt information on the outer display screen of the electronic device in response to the first input, wherein the target prompt information is used to indicate that the see- through function of the electronic device is enabled and the view of the real scene is displayed in an inner display screen of the wearable device. (Fig 4-5 and Par 0056, 0058, 0059) discloses displaying target prompt information on an outer display screen (Fig 3 display 311) of the wearable device (HMD102); [0056] In some implementations, the non-HMD user may be able to view the HMD user's changing expressions during the time the HMD user is viewing/interacting with content rendering on the first display screen 310 for a period of time and then switch to viewing the HMD user's interaction with the content currently rendering on the first display screen 310 for a second period of time before switching back to the viewing the HMD user's expressions. In such implementations, the content provided to the second display screen 311 may be switched between images of the changing expressions of the HMD user and the images of the VR scene content. The switching in the content rendered on the second display screen 311 may be time-based or defined by the HMD user. The respective content (image of the user or images of the VR scene content) may be viewed by the non-HMD user without requiring the content to be displayed on a display screen that is outside of the HMD and without requiring the HMD user to remove his HMD; and (Par 0060 and Fig 5D) discloses rendering scenes from a VR space (i.e., content that is being rendered in the first display screen 310). In Fig 5D the first display screen displays wider view of the VR scene 410 defined in the VR space; (Par 0028 &0036) discloses a camera 108 can be configured to capture image of the interactive environment in which the user 100 is located. By utilizing a stereoscopic pair of image capture devices, three-dimensional (3D) images and video of the environment can be captured from the perspective of the HMD 102. Such video can be presented to the user to provide the user with a “video see-through” ability while wearing the HMD 102. That is, though the user cannot see through the HMD 102 in a strict sense, the video captured by the image capture devices 202A and 202B can nonetheless provide a functional equivalent of being able to see the environment external to the HMD 102 as if looking through the HMD 102.
As in claim 8, Chen discloses The electronic device according to claim 7, wherein the target prompt information comprises at least one of the following: text prompt information; a partial face image or a complete face image of a virtual object; a face image of a wearer of the electronic device, wherein the face image comprises a partial face image or a complete face image of the wearer; or a scene image, wherein the scene image is a two-dimensional scene image or a three- dimensional scene image of the real scene in which the electronic device is located. (Fig 4C-4F, 5C) discloses external display of HMD displaying target prompt information such as a face image of a wearer of the wearable device wherein the face image comprises a partial face image or scene image.
As in claim 9, Chen discloses The electronic device according to claim 8, wherein when the target prompt information comprises the partial face image of the wearer of the electronic device, a facial feature point in the partial face image matches a facial feature point in a target face area of the wearer; a face outer contour in the partial face image is the same as a face outer contour of the target face area of the wearer; and the target face area is a face area in which a face of the wearer is obstructed by the outer display screen of the electronic device. (Fig 4C-4F, 5C and Par 0054, 0066) discloses the target prompt information comprises the partial face image of the wearer of the wearable device, a facial feature point in the partial face image matches a facial feature point in a target face area of the wearer face outer contour in the partial face image is the same as a face outer contour and the target face area is a face area in which a face of the wearer is obstructed by the outer display screen of the wearable device; [0054] The rendering includes superimposing the image overlay data over the existing image of the portion of the facial features of the user that is rendered on the second display screen 311, by matching the contours of the features captured in the two different images (image captured by the external camera 108 and the image overlay data).
As in claim 10, Chen discloses the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein when the target prompt information comprises the face image of the wearer of the electronic device, displaying target prompt information on the outer display screen of the electronic device comprises: updating the face image when it is detected that expression action information of the wearer changes. (Fig 4C-4F and Par 0041, 0066) discloses displaying face image of the wearer of the wearable device on the external display and updating the face image when it is detected that expression action information of the wearer changes. [0041] For example, if a user's eyes are determined to be looking in a specific direction, then the video rendering for that direction can be prioritized or emphasized, such as by providing greater detail or faster updates in the region where the user is looking. [0059] When one or more facial features change, such changes reflecting different emotions of the HMD user are rendered on the second display screen 311, as illustrated in FIGS. 4D-4F. For example, the emotion expressed by the HMD user has changed from plain emotion to an anger emotion and this change is reflected in the image rendered on the second display screen 311.
As in claim 11, Chen discloses The electronic device according to claim 10, wherein before the updating the face image when it is detected that expression action information of the wearer changes, the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the electronic device to further perform: collecting a facial feature point of the wearer; and when it is detected that positions of at least some facial feature points of the wearer change, determining that the expression action information of the wearer changes. (Fig 4D-4F and Par 0059) discloses [0059] When one or more facial features change, such changes reflecting different emotions of the HMD user are rendered on the second display screen 311, as illustrated in FIGS. 4D-4F. For example, the emotion expressed by the HMD user has changed from plain emotion to an anger emotion and this change is reflected in the image rendered on the second display screen 311. FIG. 4E illustrates another example emotion, a sadness emotion, captured by the inward facing camera and rendered on the second display screen 311 and FIG. 4F illustrates an image of the HMD user showing a surprise emotion. Each of the different emotions are detected by the inward facing camera or gaze detection camera and is provided for rendering the second display screen 311, so that the non-HMD user watching the HMD user can see the change in expression defining the different emotions that the HMD user goes through while interacting or viewing content on the first display screen of the HMD.
As in claim 12, Chen discloses The electronic device according to claim 8, wherein when the target prompt information comprises the scene image, before the displaying target prompt information on the outer display screen of the electronic device, the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the electronic device to further perform: collecting scene information of the real scene in which the electronic device is located using the photographing apparatus; and generating the two-dimensional scene image or the three-dimensional scene image of the real scene based on the scene information; and wherein displaying target prompt information on the outer display screen of the electronic device comprises: displaying the two-dimensional scene image or the three-dimensional scene image on the outer display screen of the electronic device. (Fig 5D and Par 0064) [0028] a camera 108 can be configured to capture image of the interactive environment in which the user 100 is located. These captured images can be analyzed to determine the location and movements of the user 100, the HMD 102, and the controller 104. [0064] FIG. 5D illustrates an expanded view of a VR scene that is rendered on the second display screen 311. As mentioned earlier, the VR scene content may be rendered on the entire second display screen 311 or in a portion of the second display screen 311. The HMD user is provided with a wider view of the VR scene 410 defined in the VR space as the display mechanisms provided in the HMD allow the HMD user to have a broader field of view. Of course, due to a limited size of the second display screen 311, only a portion 410a of the VR scene 410 viewed by the HMD user may be presented for rendering on second display screen 311, in some implementations. FIG. 5D illustrates one such implementation, wherein a portion 410a of the VR scene that is rendered on the second display screen 311 corresponds to the HMD user's gaze, while the HMD user is presented with a much broader view of the VR space 410. In some other implementations, the VR space 410 that is presented in the first display screen 310 may be scaled down to a size of the second display screen 311 and rendered at the second display screen 311.
As in claim 13, Chen discloses A non-transitory readable storage medium storing a program or an instruction, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by a processor (Fig 7), causes the processor to perform:
receiving a first input, wherein the first input is used to enable a see-through function of a wearable device at least by turning on a photographing apparatus on an outer display screen of the wearable device to capture a view of a real scene in which the wearable device is located; (Fig 4c-5D and 6B step 675 and Par 0056, 0069) discloses user input to enable see-through function of a wearable device; (Fig 5D and Par 0028, 0064) discloses a camera 108 (i.e. photographing apparatus) disposed on outer surface of HMD can be configured to capture image of the interactive environment in which the user 100 is located. These captured images can be analyzed to determine the location and movements of the user 100, the HMD 102, and the controller 104. [0064] discloses FIG. 5D illustrates an expanded view of a VR scene that is rendered on the second display screen 311. The HMD user is presented with a much broader view of the VR space 410. The VR space 410 that is presented in the first display screen 310 may be scaled down to a size of the second display screen 311 and rendered at the second display screen 311.
and displaying target prompt information on the outer display screen of the wearable device in response to the first input, wherein the target prompt information is used to indicate that the see- through function of the wearable device is enabled and the view of the real scene is displayed in an inner display screen of the wearable device. (Fig 4-5 and Par 0056, 0058, 0059) discloses displaying target prompt information on an outer display screen (Fig 3 display 311) of the wearable device (HMD102); [0056] In some implementations, the non-HMD user may be able to view the HMD user's changing expressions during the time the HMD user is viewing/interacting with content rendering on the first display screen 310 for a period of time and then switch to viewing the HMD user's interaction with the content currently rendering on the first display screen 310 for a second period of time before switching back to the viewing the HMD user's expressions. In such implementations, the content provided to the second display screen 311 may be switched between images of the changing expressions of the HMD user and the images of the VR scene content. The switching in the content rendered on the second display screen 311 may be time-based or defined by the HMD user. The respective content (image of the user or images of the VR scene content) may be viewed by the non-HMD user without requiring the content to be displayed on a display screen that is outside of the HMD and without requiring the HMD user to remove his HMD; and (Par 0060 and Fig 5D) discloses rendering scenes from a VR space (i.e., content that is being rendered in the first display screen 310). In Fig 5D the first display screen displays wider view of the VR scene 410 defined in the VR space; (Par 0028 &0036) discloses a camera 108 can be configured to capture image of the interactive environment in which the user 100 is located. By utilizing a stereoscopic pair of image capture devices, three-dimensional (3D) images and video of the environment can be captured from the perspective of the HMD 102. Such video can be presented to the user to provide the user with a “video see-through” ability while wearing the HMD 102. That is, though the user cannot see through the HMD 102 in a strict sense, the video captured by the image capture devices 202A and 202B can nonetheless provide a functional equivalent of being able to see the environment external to the HMD 102 as if looking through the HMD 102.
As in claim 14, Chen discloses The non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein the target prompt information comprises at least one of the following: text prompt information; a partial face image or a complete face image of a virtual object; a face image of a wearer of the wearable device, wherein the face image comprises a partial face image or a complete face image of the wearer; or a scene image, wherein the scene image is a two-dimensional scene image or a three- dimensional scene image of the real scene in which the wearable device is located. (Fig 4C-4F, 5C) discloses external display of HMD displaying target prompt information such as a face image of a wearer of the wearable device wherein the face image comprises a partial face image or scene image.
As in claim 15, Chen discloses The non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 14, wherein when the target prompt information comprises the partial face image of the wearer of the wearable device, a facial feature point in the partial face image matches a facial feature point in a target face area of the wearer; a face outer contour in the partial face image is the same as a face outer contour of the target face area of the wearer; and the target face area is a face area in which a face of the wearer is obstructed by the outer display screen of the wearable device. (Fig 4C-4F, 5C and Par 0054, 0066) discloses the target prompt information comprises the partial face image of the wearer of the wearable device, a facial feature point in the partial face image matches a facial feature point in a target face area of the wearer face outer contour in the partial face image is the same as a face outer contour and the target face area is a face area in which a face of the wearer is obstructed by the outer display screen of the wearable device; [0054] The rendering includes superimposing the image overlay data over the existing image of the portion of the facial features of the user that is rendered on the second display screen 311, by matching the contours of the features captured in the two different images (image captured by the external camera 108 and the image overlay data).
As in claim 16, Chen discloses the non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 14, wherein when the target prompt information comprises the face image of the wearer of the wearable device, the displaying target prompt information on the outer display screen of the wearable device comprises: updating the face image when it is detected that expression action information of the wearer changes. (Fig 4C-4F and Par 0041, 0066) discloses displaying face image of the wearer of the wearable device on the external display and updating the face image when it is detected that expression action information of the wearer changes. [0041] For example, if a user's eyes are determined to be looking in a specific direction, then the video rendering for that direction can be prioritized or emphasized, such as by providing greater detail or faster updates in the region where the user is looking. [0059] When one or more facial features change, such changes reflecting different emotions of the HMD user are rendered on the second display screen 311, as illustrated in FIGS. 4D-4F. For example, the emotion expressed by the HMD user has changed from plain emotion to an anger emotion and this change is reflected in the image rendered on the second display screen 311.
As in claim 17, Chen discloses The non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 16, wherein before the updating the face image when it is detected that expression action information of the wearer changes, the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to further perform: collecting a facial feature point of the wearer; and when it is detected that positions of at least some facial feature points of the wearer change, determining that the expression action information of the wearer changes. (Fig 4D-4F and Par 0059) discloses [0059] When one or more facial features change, such changes reflecting different emotions of the HMD user are rendered on the second display screen 311, as illustrated in FIGS. 4D-4F. For example, the emotion expressed by the HMD user has changed from plain emotion to an anger emotion and this change is reflected in the image rendered on the second display screen 311. FIG. 4E illustrates another example emotion, a sadness emotion, captured by the inward facing camera and rendered on the second display screen 311 and FIG. 4F illustrates an image of the HMD user showing a surprise emotion. Each of the different emotions are detected by the inward facing camera or gaze detection camera and is provided for rendering the second display screen 311, so that the non-HMD user watching the HMD user can see the change in expression defining the different emotions that the HMD user goes through while interacting or viewing content on the first display screen of the HMD.
As in claim 18, Chen discloses The non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 14, wherein when the target prompt information comprises the scene image, before displaying target prompt information on the outer display screen of the wearable device, the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to further perform: collecting scene information of the real scene in which the wearable device is located using the photographing apparatus; and generating the two-dimensional scene image or the three-dimensional scene image of the real scene based on the scene information; and wherein displaying target prompt information on the outer display screen of the wearable device comprises: displaying the two-dimensional scene image or the three-dimensional scene image on the outer display screen of the wearable device. (Fig 5D and Par 0064) [0028] a camera 108 can be configured to capture image of the interactive environment in which the user 100 is located. These captured images can be analyzed to determine the location and movements of the user 100, the HMD 102, and the controller 104. [0064] FIG. 5D illustrates an expanded view of a VR scene that is rendered on the second display screen 311. As mentioned earlier, the VR scene content may be rendered on the entire second display screen 311 or in a portion of the second display screen 311. The HMD user is provided with a wider view of the VR scene 410 defined in the VR space as the display mechanisms provided in the HMD allow the HMD user to have a broader field of view. Of course, due to a limited size of the second display screen 311, only a portion 410a of the VR scene 410 viewed by the HMD user may be presented for rendering on second display screen 311, in some implementations. FIG. 5D illustrates one such implementation, wherein a portion 410a of the VR scene that is rendered on the second display screen 311 corresponds to the HMD user's gaze, while the HMD user is presented with a much broader view of the VR space 410. In some other implementations, the VR space 410 that is presented in the first display screen 310 may be scaled down to a size of the second display screen 311 and rendered at the second display screen 311.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENYAM KETEMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626