DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/29/25; 12/16/25; & 12/25/25 has been acknowledged and considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 line 7; adding “;” after absorption f.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-10, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babakhani et al (US 2019/0180065 hereinafter “Babakhani”) in view of Hochberg et al (US 2017/0285436).
Regarding claims 1 and 19-20; Babakhani discloses a system and method (100 @ figure 1) for providing information based on a spectral content of an optical signal (paragraph [0093]: e.g., receiving return optical signals modulated with data by the optoelectronic devices), comprising:
at least one characteristic of said optoelectronic probed device (104 @figure 1) is selected from the group consisting of electrical characteristics (electrical component 124 @ figure 1), optical characteristics (optical component 122 @ figure 1), material characteristics, mechanical characteristics and temporal characteristics, responsivity, quantum efficiency, resistance, capacitance, mobility of electrons and holes, mobility of excitons, material doping levels, structure, dimensions, width of depletion region, internal voltage levels, hole and electron diffusion coefficient, drift velocity, absorption spectrum, absorption values, dielectric coefficients, refractive indices, and an absorption f
an optoelectronic device (104 @ figure 1) configured to receive the optical signal (112 @ figure 1) and responsively produce, at a wavelength dependent photosensitive region (126, 128, 130 @ figure 1) within said optoelectronic device (104 @ figure 1);
an electrical drive circuit (216 @ figure 2 and paragraph [0006]: e.g., a driver circuit 216 electrically coupled to the modulator, the diver circuit 216 configured to selectively change a state of the modulator 132 /208 responsive to data) configured to apply to said optoelectronic device (104 @ figures 1-2) a temporally modulated electrical bias (figure 6 and paragraph [0119]-[0123]), thereby effecting a modulation of said electrical sensing signal (paragraph [0097]: e.g., The modulation is based on data received from the electrical components 124, and the data could be based on any of a variety of information discussed more below. The modulator 132 thus creates modulated infrared light that propagates along the primary waveguide 126 toward the optical coupler 130. When the modulated infrared light encounters the optical coupler 130, the modulated infrared light is coupled out of the primary waveguide 126, and in the example systems is directed back toward the optical receiver 108 in the form of modulated infrared light 114); and
a signal processing system (110 @ figure 1) configured to process said effected modulation of said electrical sensing signal (figures 1, 9, and paragraph [0095]: e.g., Based on structures of the optoelectronic device 104 discussed more below, the optoelectronic device 104 receives the infrared light 112, modulates the infrared light with data (e.g., sensor data or an identification number), and returns infrared light as modulated infrared light 114 to optical receiver 108 of the optical reader 102. The optical reader 102, specifically the optical reader controller 110, decodes the data from the modulated infrared light 114, and passes the decoded data to other devices) and to generate output correlative to a wavelength of the optical signal (figures 1 and 9). See figures 1-30
Babakhani discloses all of features of claimed invention except for pairs of charge carriers effecting a net electrical current within said optoelectronic device, thereby generating an electrical sensing signal; wherein transit times of said charge carriers in said optoelectronic device, and also said effected modulation, are wavelength dependent. However, Hochberg teaches that it is known in the art to provide pairs of charge carriers (figure 5 and paragraph [0087]: e.g., circuit diagram 500 of a second embodiment of an electrically driven push-pull phase shifter, representing a circuit in which a variable optical attenuator (VOA) or p-i-n charge carrier effect phase shifter is provided in each arm of a Mach-Zehnder modulator) effecting a net electrical current (figures 4-5 and paragraph [0086]: e.g., A voltage is then applied between to terminals Vin 410 and Ground (Gnd) 420 such that a negative bias will drive one arm and a positive bias will drive the other arm. The current flowing through the respective active diode 450, 460 provides variable optical attenuation. The Mach-Zehnder modulator has an input port 430 for an optical signal that is to be modulated, and an output ort 440 at which the modulated signal appears) within said optoelectronic device (paragraph [0029]: e.g., the optoelectronic device further comprises a signal source configured to provide a time-variable electrical signal to the first electrical terminal and the second electrical terminal, the time-variable electrical signal configured to cause only one of the first diode and the second diode to attain a threshold voltage at any one time), thereby generating an electrical sensing signal (paragraphs [0005] and [0029]); wherein transit times of said charge carriers (figure 8: e.g., The current flowing through the respective active diode 812, 814 flows through a respective resistive element 816, 818 which generates a thermal signal (heat). The tunable delay lines have input ports 830 and 830′ for optical signals that are to be delayed in time, and output ports 840 and 840′ at which the delayed signal appears. The time delay an optical signal experience from input port 1 (830) to output port 1 (840) is defined here as T.sub.1, and the time delay “transit time” an optical signal experiences from input port 2 (830′) to output port 2 (840′) is defined here as T.sub.2. The time difference by which the second optical signal is delayed relative to the first is represented by the relation) in said optoelectronic device (paragraph [0029]), and also said effected modulation, are wavelength dependent (paragraph [0027]: e.g., the input optical signal has a wavelength within the range of a selected one of an O-Band, an E-band, a C-band, an L-Band, an S-Band and a U-band).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system and method of Babakhani with pairs of charge carriers effecting a net electrical current within said optoelectronic device, thereby generating an electrical sensing signal; wherein transit times of said charge carriers in said optoelectronic device, and also said effected modulation, are wavelength dependent as taught by Hochberg for the purpose of improved modulators for optical signal processing.
It is noted that the term “the group consisting of” is alternative.
Regarding claim 9; Babakhani discloses said modulation comprises radiofrequency modulation (paragraph [0093]: e.g., optoelectronic devices return data in the form of modulated optical energy, the optoelectronic devices may be significantly smaller than radio frequency identification (RFID) devices whose size is limited by receiving and/or transmitting antennas on the chip).
Regarding claim 10; Babakhani discloses said processing comprises processing at least one of modulation amplitude and a modulation phase shift (paragraph [0109]: e.g., the modulator 208 of FIG. 3 and the driver circuit 216 (FIG. 2) have two distinct modes or states. In a first state the optical path 300 and depletion region 306 induces about a 180-degree phase shift in the infrared light that traverses the optical path 300 relative to infrared light that simultaneously traverses the optical path 302).
Regarding claim 16; Babakhani discloses the optical signal (112 @ figure 1 and paragraph [0093]: e.g., directed to optically activating passive optoelectronic devices, and receiving return optical signals modulated with data by the optoelectronic devices) is indicative of a property of a sample (paragraph [0088]: e.g., “Sample volume” shall mean a volume comprising constituent components, and the average density across the volume is greater than air at standard temperature and pressure) and the method comprises determining said property of said sample (paragraph [0088]) based on said wavelength, said property comprising at least one of: a strain of said sample, a change in a strain of said sample, a pressure applied to said sample, a change in a pressure applied to said sample, a temperature of said sample (paragraph [0020]: e.g., The sensing may be any suitable parameter, such as: electrical current through the optoelectronic device; pressure proximate to the optoelectronic device; temperature proximate to the optoelectronic device; and movement of the optoelectronic device), a change in a temperature of said sample, accelerative motion of said sample.
It is noted that the term “at least one of:” is alternative.
Regarding claim 18; Babakhani discloses transmitting a probe signal (112 @ figure 1) to an optoelectronic probed device (104 @ figure 1) and receiving a response signal (114 @ figure 1) from said optoelectronic probed device (104 @ figure 1), wherein the optical signal (112 @ figure 1) is said response signal, and wherein said output comprises at least one characteristic of said optoelectronic probed device (104 @figure 1 and paragraph [0120]-[0121]: e.g., The output signal of the reference voltage generator 608 in the example system is coupled to a voltage divider circuit 610 (hereafter just voltage divider 610). As the name implies, the voltage divider 610 takes as an input voltage the reference voltage 614 and produces as an output signal a second reference voltage 614 lower than the reference voltage 612... The voltage regulator 616 couples to the reference voltage 614 for use as a reference in the voltage control and also couples to the VUNREG voltage from the storage capacitor 606 and/or voltage multiplier 604. The voltage regulator 616 provides a regulated power signal V.sub.REG to the other devices of the optoelectronic device 104 with a power level on the order of microwatts or less.).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babakhani in view of Hochberg as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pinguest (US 2009/0022500).
Regarding claim 2; Babakhani in view of Hochberg combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the optical signal is a continuous wave (CW) signal. However, Pinguest teaches that it is known in the art to provide the optical signal is a continuous wave (CW) signal (abstract: e.g., A CW optical signal may be received from a laser source via grating couplers, and may be modulated using optical modulators, which may be Mach-Zehnder and/or ring modulators). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system and method of Babakhani with limitation above as taught by Pinguest for the purpose of improving optoelectronics transceivers integrated on a CMOS chip.
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babakhani in view of Hochberg as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hudgings et al (US 2009/0245322 hereinafter “Hudgings”).
Regarding claim 3; Babakhani in view of Hochberg combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for said temporally modulated electrical bias has a time-dependent modulation frequency. However, Hudgings teaches that it is known in the art to provide said temporally modulated electrical bias has a time-dependent modulation frequency (figure 3 and paragraph [0078]: e.g., an electrical power bias applied to a device can be modulated to cause modulated electrical heating while a dc optical input (e.g., optical radiation with constant amplitude) is applied to the device. A thermoreflectance lock-in detection (or other techniques for measuring temperature with lock-in detection) can be utilized at the modulation frequency of the electrical bias to distinguish electrical heating characteristics of the device from its optical heating characteristics). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system and method of Babakhani with limitation above as taught by Hudgings for the purpose of improving accuracy of the determination of various performance metrics of a device under study and allow the measurement of operating parameters such as saturation length, total optical absorption, an input optical power, among others.
Regarding claim 4; Babakhani in view of Hochberg combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for said applying said electrical bias signal while maintaining a generally constant bandgap characterizing said photosensitive region of said optoelectronic device. However, Hudgings teaches that it is known in the art to provide said applying said electrical bias signal while maintaining a generally constant bandgap characterizing said photosensitive region of said optoelectronic device (paragraph [0015]: e.g., profiling a cascaded optoelectronic circuit/device, such as an element in an integrated photonic circuit, is disclosed that includes applying a modulating electrical bias signal to one or more elements of the circuit, obtaining a thermal profile of those elements (e.g., by utilizing thermoreflectance measurements), and utilizing the thermal profile to characterize those elements, e.g., to determine electrical heating associated with those elements). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system and method of Babakhani with limitation above as taught by Hudgings for the purpose of improving accuracy of the determination of various performance metrics of a device under study and allow the measurement of operating parameters such as saturation length, total optical absorption, an input optical power, among others.
Regarding claim 5; Babakhani in view of Hochberg combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for scanning a DC level of said electrical bias signal in addition to said modulation of said electrical bias signal. However, Hudgings teaches that it is known in the art to provide scanning a DC level of said electrical bias signal in addition to said modulation of said electrical bias signal (figure 10 and paragraphs [0019], [0056] and [0079]-[0080]: e.g., applying a modulated electrical bias, a DC electrical bias (in this case a DC bias current) can be applied to SOA 54 while the optical input from the LED 56 into the SOA can be modulated (e.g., amplitude modulated)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system and method of Babakhani with limitation above as taught by Hudgings for the purpose of improving accuracy of the determination of various performance metrics of a device under study and allow the measurement of operating parameters such as saturation length, total optical absorption, an input optical power, among others.
Regarding claim 6; Babakhani in view of Hochberg combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for receiving the optical signal also by at least one additional optoelectronic device, processing electrical sensing signal generated by said at least one additional optoelectronic device, wherein said generating said output is also based on said electrical sensing signal generated by said at least one additional optoelectronic device. However, Hudgings teaches that it is known in the art to provide receiving the optical signal also by at least one additional optoelectronic device (36, 38 @ figure 8 and paragraph [0016]-[0017]: e.g., an optoelectronic circuit is disclosed that includes applying modulated optical radiation to at least one element of the circuit … characterizing a device (e.g., an optoelectronic device such as SOA or a device comprising a mixed combination of photonic and electronic circuits) is disclosed that includes modulating a temperature of at least a portion of the device), processing electrical sensing signal generated by said at least one additional optoelectronic device (paragraph [0015]: e.g., profiling a cascaded optoelectronic circuit/device, such as an element in an integrated photonic circuit, is disclosed that includes applying a modulating electrical bias signal to one or more elements of the circuit), wherein said generating said output is also based on said electrical sensing signal (figure 8 and paragraph [0077]: e.g., FIG. 8, in the PIC 10, one or both SOAs can be biased by modulating electrical signals (e.g., by applying a sinusoidal bias current at 10 Hz) with or without injecting optical radiation into the PIC. Such modulating electrical signals can in turn cause modulation of the temperature of the SOA) generated by said at least one additional optoelectronic device (36, 38 @ figure 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system and method of Babakhani with limitation above as taught by Hudgings for the purpose of improving accuracy of the determination of various performance metrics of a device under study and allow the measurement of operating parameters such as saturation length, total optical absorption, an input optical power, among others.
Regarding claim 7; Babakhani in view of Hochberg combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for splitting the optical signal into two optical signals, and directing one of said two optical signals to said optoelectronic device and another one of said two optical signals to an additional optoelectronic device, so as to cancel optoelectronic chromatic dispersion among said two devices. However, Hudgings teaches that it is known in the art to provide splitting (splitters sp1-sp6 @ figure 13A) the optical signal (paragraph [0093]: e.g., The optical signals from the two MZI arms after passing through splitters sp4, sp5 and sp6,) into two optical signals (figure 13A), and directing one of said two optical signals to said optoelectronic device (SOA 2 @ figure 13A) and another one of said two optical signals to an additional optoelectronic device (SOA 3 @ figure 13A), so as to cancel optoelectronic chromatic dispersion among said two devices (SOA1-SOA4 @ figures 13A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system and method of Babakhani with limitation above as taught by Hudgings for the purpose of improving accuracy of the determination of various performance metrics of a device under study and allow the measurement of operating parameters such as saturation length, total optical absorption, an input optical power, among others.
Regarding claim 8; Babakhani in view of Hochberg combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for applying a strain or a temperature change to said optoelectronic device so as to vary optoelectronic chromatic dispersion effected by said optoelectronic device. However, Hudgings teaches that it is known in the art to provide applying a strain or a temperature change to said optoelectronic device (SOA1-SOA4 @ figure 13A and paragraph [0013]: e.g., applying a varying optical input signal to the circuit so as to modulate the temperature of one or more of the circuit elements (such as waveguide splitters and couplers, SOAs, etc)) so as to vary optoelectronic chromatic dispersion effected by said optoelectronic device (SOA1-SOA4 @ figure 13A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system and method of Babakhani with limitation above as taught by Hudgings for the purpose of improving accuracy of the determination of various performance metrics of a device under study and allow the measurement of operating parameters such as saturation length, total optical absorption, an input optical power, among others.
Claims 11-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babakhani in view of Hochberg as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhiglinsky et al (US Patent No. 5,428,635 hereinafter “Zhiglinsky”).
Regarding claim 11; Babakhani in view of Hochberg combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for spatially separating a spectral component of a polychromatic beam, wherein the optical signal is said spectral component. However, Zhiglinsky teaches that it is known in the art to provide spatially separating a spectral component of a polychromatic beam (160 @ figures 1-2), wherein the optical signal is said spectral component (col.3 lines 32-49: e.g., optical amplifiers can be used to individually amplify and/or modulate each spectral component of the polychromatic or white light radiation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system and method of Babakhani with limitation above as taught by Zhiglinsky for the purpose of improving polychromatic or white light lasers using the scientific community such as medicine, spectroscopy, holography, photo-chemistry, isotope separation, spectrum analysis, optical measurement, and/or ultra-short light pulse generation.
Regarding claim 12; Babakhani in view of Hochberg combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the optical signal is polychromatic and the method comprises generating output indicative of a spectrum of the optical signal. However, Zhiglinsky teaches that it is known in the art to provide the optical signal is polychromatic (160 @ figures 1-2) and the method comprises generating output indicative of a spectrum of the optical signal (figures 3-5, and 15). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system and method of Babakhani with limitation above as taught by Zhiglinsky for the purpose of improving polychromatic or white light lasers using the scientific community such as medicine, spectroscopy, holography, photo-chemistry, isotope separation, spectrum analysis, optical measurement, and/or ultra-short light pulse generation.
Regarding claim 13; Babakhani in view of Hochberg combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the optical signal is monochromatic and the method comprises monitoring an absolute value of at least one of: said wavelength and a spectral shift in said wavelength. However, Zhiglinsky teaches that it is known in the art to provide the optical signal is monochromatic (col.1 lines28-33: e.g., conventional lasers emitting coherent radiation at a single wavelength “monochromatic” have become indispensable research tools, for many applications there is still a need for a laser emitting simultaneously at a plurality of predetermined wavelengths or with a predetermined spectral composition) and the method comprises monitoring an absolute value of at least one of: said wavelength (col.15 lines 18-22: e.g., a corresponding spectral range of 30 nm over which a spectral component of the white light radiation can be tuned. Also, each tunable spectral range is offset from the other by 105 nm) and a spectral shift in said wavelength. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system and method of Babakhani with limitation above as taught by Zhiglinsky for the purpose of improving polychromatic or white light lasers using the scientific community such as medicine, spectroscopy, holography, photo-chemistry, isotope separation, spectrum analysis, optical measurement, and/or ultra-short light pulse generation.
It is the term “at least one of:” is alternative.
Regarding claim 17; Babakhani in view of Hochberg combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the optical signal is indicative of existence of at least one compound in or near a sample, and the method comprises determining existence or level of said at least one compound based on said wavelength. However, Zhiglinsky teaches that it is known in the art to provide the optical signal (160 @ figures 1-2) is indicative of existence of at least one compound in or near a sample (150 @figures 1-2 and 6), and the method comprises determining existence or level of said at least one compound based on said wavelength (col.20 lines 15-22: e.g., The semiconductor layers of laser diode array 3250 may be selected from Group III-V or Group II-VI compound semiconductors, depending on the desired spectral range of the electro-luminescence. For example, laser diode array 3250 may be any of the well-known GaAlAs linear array laser diode structures). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system and method of Babakhani with limitation above as taught by Zhiglinsky for the purpose of improving polychromatic or white light lasers using the scientific community such as medicine, spectroscopy, holography, photo-chemistry, isotope separation, spectrum analysis, optical measurement, and/or ultra-short light pulse generation.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babakhani in view of Hochberg as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zou et al (US 2019/0318236 hereinafter “Zou”).
Regarding claim 14; Babakhani in view of Hochberg combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for said processing comprises feeding measured data of a modulation parameter of said electrical sensing signal to a machine learning procedure and receiving from said machine learning procedure output correlative to said wavelength of the optical signal. However, Zou teaches that it is known in the art to provide said processing comprises feeding measured data of a modulation parameter of said electrical sensing signal (paragraph [0019]: e.g., the processed signals are converted into electrical signals by the photoelectric conversion module. The electrical signals are split into two parts; one is output through the multi-function output unit, and the other is input into the artificial intelligence chip to process, determine and make decisions on signals. Moreover, signals processed by signal processing units may also directly enter the artificial intelligence chip ) to a machine learning procedure and receiving from said machine learning procedure output correlative to said wavelength of the optical signal (abstract and paragraph [0005]: e.g., the computing power, machine learning and data visualization will be updated in real time to create a continuous learning environment. DARPA announced the establishment of a new project, “Radio Frequency Machine learning System (RFMLS)… the technology only realizes the integration of electronic components and optoelectronic components, and does not fully satisfy the future demand for intelligent signal processing systems. On the other hand, the deep learning technology based on photonic technology). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system and method of Babakhani with limitation above as taught by Zou for the purpose of improving performance of electronic information systems such as radar, electronic countermeasures, and communication.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babakhani in view of Hochberg and further in view of Zou as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Zhiglinsky et al (US Patent No. 5,428,635 hereinafter “Zhiglinsky”).
Regarding claim 15; Babakhani in view of Hochberg and Zou combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the optical signal is polychromatic, and the method comprises generating output indicative of a spectrum of the optical signal. Zhiglinsky teaches that it is known in the art to provide the optical signal is polychromatic (160 @ figure 1-2), and the method comprises generating output indicative of a spectrum of the optical signal (figures 3-5 and 15). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system and method of Babakhani with limitation above as taught by Zhiglinsky for the purpose of improving polychromatic or white light lasers using the scientific community such as medicine, spectroscopy, holography, photo-chemistry, isotope separation, spectrum analysis, optical measurement, and/or ultra-short light pulse generation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Masini et al (US 2011/0042553) discloses a method and system for optoelectronic receivers utilizing waveguide heterojunction phototransistors (HPTs) integrated in a CMOS SOI wafer are disclosed and may include receiving optical signals via optical fibers operably coupled to a top surface of the chip.
/SN/
September 19, 2026
/SANG H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877