DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is in response to Application filed on May 30, 2025 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Drawings
Figures 5a, 5b and 6 appear to be photographs that also contain shading, while the use of shading in views is encouraged if it aids in understanding the invention, the shading must not reduce legibility. See MPEP 37 C.F.R 1.84(b)(1) regarding photographs and 37 C.F.R 1.84(m) regarding shading.
Specification
The use of the term VELCRO®, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application in [0040]. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
In this case, VELCRO® is not capitalized and does not include its proper symbol indicating use in commerce following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and dependent claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,342,880. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 and dependent claims are anticipated by the conflicting patented claim 1 and dependent claims as shown in the table below. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting patented claim is that the conflicting patented claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim. Thus, the species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent anticipates the examined claimed genus. Therefore, a patent to the examined claim genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. See MPEP §804(II)(B)(1).
Present Application
Patent No. 12,342,880
1. An article of apparel comprising:
a lower garment comprising one or more leg portions with a bottom cuff;
a flap attached to or integrally formed with the bottom cuff, wherein the flap is movable between
(i) a first position in which the flap is disposed entirely within an interior region of the one or more leg portions of the lower garment and
(ii) a second position in which the flap is disposed over an article of footwear worn by a subject wearing the lower garment,
wherein the flap comprises a proximal end attached or secured to the interior region of the one or more leg portions of the lower garment and a distal end that is detachably securable to
(i) the interior region of the one or more leg portions of the lower garment when the flap is in the first position and
(ii) a lace or a cable associated with the article of footwear when the flap is in the second position.
2. wherein the flap comprises an elastic portion disposed along or adjacent to the proximal end of the flap.
17. wherein the first fastener comprises a hook or a latch, and wherein the second fastener comprises a magnetic element.
1. An article of apparel comprising:
a lower garment comprising one or more leg portions with a bottom cuff comprising
a shortened front cuff portion and a rain flap attached to or integrally formed with the shortened front cuff portion of the bottom cuff,
wherein the rain flap has a proximal end attached to the bottom cuff of the lower garment and a distal end that is configured to cover an upper portion of an article of footwear worn by a subject wearing the article of apparel,
wherein the rain flap further comprises: (i) an elastic portion provided between the proximal end and the distal end of the rain flap to enhance a stretchability of the rain flap or a flexibility of the distal end relative to the proximal end,
wherein the elastic portion is positionable over the upper portion of the article of footwear;
(ii) a fastener for engaging a lace or a cable associated with the article of footwear; and
(iii) a plurality of magnetic attachment mechanisms integrated with the distal end of the rain flap, wherein the plurality of magnetic attachment mechanisms are configured to detachably couple the distal end of the rain flap to an interior region of the one or more leg portions of the lower garment to hide or conceal the rain flap.
6. wherein the proximal end of the rain flap is attached to the interior region of the one or more leg portions of the lower garment.
3. wherein the elastic portion is positioned along the interior region of the one or more leg portions of the lower garment when the flap is in the first position and the second position.
4. wherein the elastic portion is positioned above a bottom edge of the one or more leg portions of the lower garment when the flap is in the first position and the second position.
7. wherein the elastic portion of the rain flap is positioned within the interior region of the one or more leg portions and above a bottom edge of the one or more leg portions when the rain flap is extended downwards to cover the upper portion of the article of footwear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (2006/0096008).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches, An article of apparel comprising: a lower garment comprising one or more leg portions with a bottom cuff (22 comprising: 22 comprising one or more leg portions with a bottom cuff, figures 6-11); a flap attached to or integrally formed with the bottom cuff, wherein the flap is movable between (i) a first position in which the flap is disposed entirely within an interior region of the one or more leg portions of the lower garment and (ii) a second position in which the flap is disposed over an article of footwear worn by a subject wearing the lower garment (60 attached to or integrally formed with the bottom cuff, wherein 60 is movable between (i) a first position in which 70/60 is disposed entirely within an interior region of the one or more leg portions of 22 ([0039], figure 6) and (ii) a second position in which 60 is disposed over an article of footwear worn by a subject wearing 20 ([0040], figures 7, 8 and 10), figures 6-11), wherein the flap comprises a proximal end attached or secured to the interior region of the one or more leg portions of the lower garment and a distal end that is detachably securable to (i) the interior region of the one or more leg portions of the lower garment when the flap is in the first position and (ii) a lace or a cable associated with the article of footwear when the flap is in the second position (wherein 60 comprises a proximal end (at 700) attached or secured to the interior region of the one or more leg portions of 22 and a distal end that is detachably securable to (i) the interior region of the one or more leg portions of the lower garment when the flap is in the first position (at 700 (701/702)) and (ii) a lace or a cable associated with the article of footwear (as shown in figure 10, the footwear has a lace associated with 60) when 60 is in the second position, [0041], [0042], figure 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Lin (2006/0096008) in view of Roelofs (2002/0174565).
Regarding claim 14, Lin teaches, the flap (60, figures 6-11) and the lace or the cable associated with the article of footwear (figure 10).
Lin fails to teach, wherein the flap comprises a first fastener configured to engage the lace or the cable associated with the article of footwear.
Roelofs, a leg covering that attaches to footwear, Abstract, teaches, wherein the flap comprises a first fastener configured to engage the lace or the cable associated with the article of footwear (“the hook 20 is attached to laces of the shoe or a tubular member that surrounds a portion of the laces, if the mid-foot receiving section 12 is of the type that includes uppers which are laced together”, [0048], wherein 16 comprises a 20 configured to engage the lace or the cable associated with the article of footwear, figures 2 and 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide flap of Lin with a first fastener as taught by Roelofs in order to provide a secure attachment between the flap and the article of footwear.
Regarding claim 15, the combined references teach, wherein the flap comprises a second fastener configured to detachably couple the flap to the interior region of the one or more leg portions of the lower garment to hide or conceal the flap (Lin, wherein 60 comprises 702 configured to detachably couple 60 to the interior region of the one or more leg portions of 22 to hide or conceal 60, [0039], [0040], figure 9).
Regarding claim 16, the combined references teach, wherein the first fastener and the second fastener comprise different types of fasteners (as combined above, wherein 20 of Roelofs and 702 of Lin comprise different types of fasteners, see Roelofs figures 2 and 7 and Lin figure 9).
Regarding claim 18, the combined references teach, wherein the flap comprises a first surface and a second surface extending between the proximal end and the distal end of the flap, wherein the first fastener is disposed on the first surface or the second surface, and wherein the second fastener is disposed between the first surface and the second surface (wherein 60 comprises a first surface and a second surface extending between the proximal end (at 700) and the distal end of 60, wherein the first fastener 20 of Roelofs is disposed on the first surface or the second surface, and wherein 702 is disposed between the first surface and the second surface, see Roelofs figures 2 and 7 and Lin figure 9).
Regarding claim 19, the combined references teach, wherein the lower garment comprises a third fastener configured to engage the second fastener to secure the first surface or the second surface of the flap to an inner surface of the one or more leg portions of the lower garment (Lin, wherein 22 comprises 702 configured to engage 701 to secure the first surface or the second surface of 60 to an inner surface of the one or more leg portions of 22, [0039], [0040], figure 9).
Regarding claim 20, the combined references teach, wherein the third fastener is integrated into a portion or a section of the one or more leg portions of the lower garment (Lin, wherein 702 is integrated into a portion or a section of the one or more leg portions of 22, [0039], [0040], figure 9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. 2,705,326 by Lahnstein discloses a lower garment having leg portions, a flap movable between a first position attached or secured to the interior region of the one or more leg portions of the lower garment and a second lower position.
2. 5,887,359 by Falguere discloses a lower leg garment with a flap integrally formed with a cuff portion of the garment. The flap being configured to cover an upper portion of footwear. The flap including a fastener for engaging a lace of an article of footwear.
3. 2004/0055074 by Lin discloses a lower garment with a flap integrally formed with a cuff portion of the pant garment. The flap having a connection that allows the flap to be detachably coupled from leg portions of the pants. The flap being configured to cover an upper portion of footwear.
4. 4,896,397 by Kape discloses a lower garment with a flap integrally formed with a cuff portion of the pant garment. The flap including a fastener at the distal end to detachably coupled the flap from leg portions of the pants.
/Jillian K Pierorazio/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732