Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 18, “for moving locking mechanism” should be – for moving the locking mechanism.--
In regards to claim 2, “a rod is connected” should be -- a rod connected--.
Claim 6, “The miter saw of Claim 3” should be – The miter saw of Claim 4--. Claim 6 has been examined as depending from claim 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,337,499 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it appears that U.S. Patent No. 12,337,499 includes all of the features of claims 1-12 of the instant application 11/891544. Therefore, the U.S. Patent No. 12,337,499 in effect anticipates the instant invention claims. It is clear that all elements of claims 1-11 of the instant invention are to be found in claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,337,499. The differences between claims 1-11 of the instant application and claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,337,499 lies in the fact that U.S. Patent No. 12,337,499 includes many more features and thus is more specific. Thus, the invention of claims 1-11 is in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,337,499. It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the "species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 1-11 is anticipated by claims 1-7, it is not patentably distinct from claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,337,499.
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,951,643. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it appears that U.S. Patent No. 11,951,643 includes all of the features of claims 1-11 of the instant application 11/891544. Therefore, the U.S. Patent No. 11,951,643. in effect anticipates the instant invention claims. It is clear that all elements of claims 1-11 of the instant invention are to be found in claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,951,643. The differences between claims 1-11 of the instant application and claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,951,643 lies in the fact that U.S. Patent No. 11,951,643. includes many more features and thus is more specific. Thus, the invention of claims 1-11 is in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,951,643.. It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the "species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 1-11 is anticipated by claims 1-10, it is not patentably distinct from claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,951,643.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brault et al. (U.S. Patent 6016732), herein referred to as Brault
In regards to claim 1 Brault discloses a miter saw comprising: a base (14) having a detent notch (42); a table (turntable 58) rotatably connectable to the base, the table being rotatable about a substantially vertical miter axis and having a substantially horizontal workpiece-supporting plane (top of turntable); a pivoting assembly (bevel support 298) connected to the table; a saw assembly (cutting unit 294) supported by the pivoting assembly, the saw assembly comprising a blade (614), the blade being movable for a cutting operation downwardly from a first position where the blade is above the workpiece-supporting plane to a second position where a portion of the blade is below the workpiece-supporting plane; a fence (74) connected to the base assembly, the fence defining a fence plane perpendicular to the workpiece-supporting plane; a locking mechanism (222) disposed on the table, the locking mechanism being movable between an unlocked position and a locked position for selectively unlocking and locking the table for rotational movement relative to the base about the miter axis, the locking mechanism comprises a lock lever (218) rotatably connected to the table (threadingly connected), the lock lever having a handle (222) for moving locking mechanism between the locked and unlocked positions; and a miter detent assembly ((90) for selectively engaging and disengaging the detent notch.
In regards to claim 3, Brault discloses wherein the miter detent assembly (90) is pivotably attached to the table (at 94)
In regards to claim 4, Brault discloses wherein the miter detent assembly (90) comprises a body (spring member 90) attached to the table, the body having a detent portion (detent 106), and a detent override assembly (138) for moving the detent portion from a first position engaging the detent notch (fig. 2) and a second position not engaging the detent notch (fig. 3), the detent override assembly comprising a lever (134) pivotally attached to the table (at hinge pin 154) and contacting the body, and an actuator (138) pivotally attached to the table (at 154) and contacting the lever (134).
In regards to claim 5, Brault discloses wherein the actuator (138) has a handle (138).
In regards to claim 6, Brault discloses wherein the miter detent assembly further comprises a detent override mechanism (138) for maintaining the body (90) in the second position (fig. 3) when the detent override mechanism is activated.
In regards to claim 7, Brault discloses wherein the actuator (138) is pivotably connected to the table via a pin (154).
In regards to claim 8, Brault discloses wherein the detent override mechanism (134/138) is pivotably disposed on the pin (154).
In regards to claim 9, Brault discloses wherein the detent override mechanism has a handle (138).
In regards to claim 10, Brault discloses wherein the detent override mechanism contacts the lever (134).
In regards to claim 11, Brault discloses a plurality of guide rails (226) slidingly disposed on the pivoting assembly and connected to the saw assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LAURA M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724