DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit to 63/654388 filed May 31, 2024 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the grey shading in some of the boxes makes it difficult to read the text within those boxes. All text within the figures must be legible. It is suggested that the shading be removed, and the boxes be indicated as distinct using a different method (e.g. thicker lines, cross hash patterns, different shapes, double outlines, etc.) or the text be modified to make it more legible (e.g. making the text larger, making the text bold, etc.). The following figures contain elements with grey shading rendering the text difficult to read:
Figure 9, element 911 and 912,
Figure 10A, 1013,
Figure 10B, 1011, 1012, 1013, and 1014.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“one or more processing resources” in claims 12 and 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-15 and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “one or more processing resources” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. It is suggested that the claims be amended to recite “one or more processors” so as to not invoke 112f/6th.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-13, 15-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Demoor [2020/0409566].
With regard to claim 1 Demoor taches A method comprising:
maintaining, by a storage system as the data store, e.g. key data store 102 (Demoor, ¶42, “Log entries 140 may be stored as a key entry in a key data store as described with regard to FIGS. lA-lC.”; ¶29 “key data store 102,”), a bucket as the group, e.g. bucket with specific ID (Demoor, ¶33 “The prefix 122 may comprise an identifier for identifying a group of object key entries from the ordered set of object key entries that are logically related. For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together”) containing a plurality of objects as the clients object that are grouped together (Id), wherein each of the plurality of objects has one or more object versions (Demoor, ¶41 “Versioning of an object includes the tracking and preservation of more than one version of the object as the object changes over time, and allows for the archival of the different versions of the object as they occur over time ( e.g., due to modifications made over time to the object), retrieval of a prior version of the object, and/or recovery from unintended overwrites and/or deletions made to the object.”);
creating, by the storage system as the data store, e.g. key data store 102 (Demoor, ¶42, ¶29), a snapshot as creating the new entry in the set of object key entries (Demoor, ¶78 “the new entry is situated first for that object (relative to other existing entries) in the ordered set of object key entries since it is the most recent based on the inverse timestamp…. This advantageously allows for scalable and flexible versioning of a data object”; the user saving an updated version (Demoor, ¶57 “a user 204 may update a document using a word processing application and may save the updated version to the server system 220-N,”) of the bucket as the group, e.g. bucket (Demoor, ¶33) by adding a snapshot entry as creating the new entry in the set of object key entries (Demoor, ¶78) including a snapshot identifier (ID) as the prefix 122, which is the bucket identifier (Demoor, ¶33 “The prefix 122 may comprise an identifier for identifying a group of object key entries from the ordered set of object key entries that are logically related. For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together”) and a snapshot time indicator as suffix 126, which may include the inverse timestamp (Demoor, ¶35 “The suffix 126 may comprise a ticket value for ordering different object keys associated with a particular object. The ticket value (also simply called ticket in some embodiments) may be an inverse timestamp.”) to a snapshot metafile as the ordered set of object entries, e.g. the log set of entries (Demoor, ¶29 “The subsets 106-1 through 106-N comprise the ordered set of object key entries 104”; ¶31 “In some embodiments, key entries 106-1, 106-N may include a log set of entries that define a log that may be traversed to determine the state of one or more data objects and their properties and/or determine one or more data storage parameters.”; Figure 1A, see 104 comprised of S1, 106-1, SN and 1060N); and
after creation of the snapshot as creating the new entry in the set of object key entries (Demoor, ¶78), protecting (Demoor, ¶104; ¶105 “protect against”), by the storage system as the data store, e.g. key data store 102 (Demoor, ¶42, ¶29), those of the one or more object versions (Demoor, ¶41) of respective objects as the objects to which the operation impacts (Demoor, ¶104 “two users may issue delete operations for data object A at times 40 and 41.”; ¶105 “the foregoing process may also protect against multiple and conflicting write operations, such as write operations for the same object received from two different users.”) of the plurality of objects as the objects in the group (Demoor, ¶33) existing at a specific point in time (Demoor, ¶104 “two users may issue delete operations for data object A at times 40 and 41.”; ¶105 “For example, the previously described write operation on object A at A_S0_ W may be followed by a second write from a different client at 30 ms”) indicated by the snapshot time indicator as suffix 126, which may include the inverse timestamp (Demoor, ¶35).
With regard to claims Demoor further teaches 2, 7, and 13 wherein the snapshot comprises a manual snapshot as the user updating the document and saving a new version (Demoor, ¶57 “For example, a user 204 may update a document using a word processing application and may save the updated version to the server system 220-N,”) in which the snapshot time indicator as suffix 126, which may include the inverse timestamp (Demoor, ¶35) is specified by a requestor as determining the timestamp (Demoor, ¶76 “Responsive to receiving the storage instruction from storage service 322, key data store controller 320 computes an inverse timestamp using the key-related data, generates the key using the inverse timestamp, the object identifier, etc. (e.g., a prefix, an operation type, etc.),”) when the user clicking to save the updated version (Demoor, ¶57) of the snapshot (Demoor, ¶57).
With regard to claims 4, 10 and 15 Demoor further teaches wherein said protecting comprises one or more of:
prohibiting, by the storage system, deletion or modification as not immediately modifying the parameter (Demoor, ¶102 “Storage service 322 may immediately render the data object invisible to the user, but log operations 332 may not immediately modify related parameter calculations.”) of object index nodes (inodes) as metadata entry in the log entry, indexed by timestamp and other information (Demoor, ¶49 “the information is maintained in log entry metadata even when the log entry is migrated or replicated”; ¶84 “object data to be stored in the object storage 240 (e.g., comprising a new object, modification to the object, object metadata describing the object, updates, etc.”; ¶89 “indexed by timestamp values and/or key values including timestamp values or inverse timestamp values.”; Please note the term “inode” has been read in light of Paragraph [0045] as being a file data structure that stores metadata for data containers) and associated blocks as shards (Demoor, ¶28 “In some embodiments, the key data store may be sharded or distributed and the technology may include shard identifiers in the key data store to correct for timing differences in storage management processes across shards.”) for those of the one or more object versions (Demoor, ¶41) of the respective objects as the objects to which the operation impacts (Demoor, ¶104, ¶105);
prohibiting, by the storage system, deletion or modification as not immediately modifying the parameter (Demoor, ¶102 “Storage service 322 may immediately render the data object invisible to the user, but log operations 332 may not immediately modify related parameter calculations.”) of system metadata (Demoor, ¶49 “Original shard identifier 178 and original shard timestamp 180 may enable an accurate record of where and when the log entry originated that is maintained as the log entry is managed across sharded logs, such that the information is maintained in log entry metadata even when the log entry is migrated or replicated.”; ¶84) from object inodes as metadata entry in the log entry, indexed by timestamp and other information (Demoor, ¶49; ¶84; ¶89) for those of the one or more object versions (Demoor, ¶41) of the respective objects (Demoor, ¶104; ¶105); and
prohibiting, by the storage system, deletion or modification as not immediately modifying the parameter (Demoor, ¶102 “Storage service 322 may immediately render the data object invisible to the user, but log operations 332 may not immediately modify related parameter calculations.”) of index node (inode) labels as the delete key data entry remains (Demoor, ¶104 “The end result may be total storage capacity of OB and only the delete key data entries remaining in the key database.”) of object inodes as metadata entry in the log entry, indexed by timestamp and other information (Demoor, ¶49; ¶84; ¶89) for those of the one or more object versions (Demoor, ¶41) of the respective objects (Demoor, ¶104; ¶105).
With regard to claims 5 and 11 Demoor further teaches wherein a given object of the plurality of objects having a deletion timestamp set as the time 41 of the delete operations (Demoor, ¶104 “For example, two users may issue delete operations for data object A at times 40 and 41.”) is considered a hidden object as invisible for the user (Demoor, ¶104 “For example, two users may issue delete operations for data object A at times 40 and 41. As described above, the initial write would be logged at A_S0 W and the first delete would be logged at A_60_K. The second delete would be logged as: A_59 K; from: None.<0B>; to:<deleteOP>. Storage service 322 rendering the data object invisible for users and marking object A for garbage collection is not impacted by multiple instances.”) and wherein the method further comprises excluding as the entry from:None.<0B> for the second delete operation (Demoor, ¶104 “The second delete would be logged as: A_59 K; from: None.<0B>; to:<deleteOP>.”) from said protecting hidden objects as the second entry does not impact the garbage collection operation (Demoor, ¶104 “Storage service 322 rendering the data object invisible for users and marking object A for garbage collection is not impacted by multiple instances.”) in which the respective deletion timestamp as the inverted timestamp for the second delete is logged at A_59_K tied to time 41 (Demoor, ¶104 “For example, two users may issue delete operations for data object A at times 40 and 41. As described above, the initial write would be logged at A_S0 Wand the first delete would be logged at A_60_K. The second delete would be logged as: A_59 K; from: None.<0B>; to:<deleteOP>. Storage service 322 rendering the data object invisible for users and marking object A for garbage collection is not impacted by multiple instances.”) is earlier as 59 is ordered earlier than 60 (Demoor, ¶35) than the snapshot timestamp as the timestamp 41 for the first delete operation is logged as A_60_K (Demoor, ¶104 “For example, two users may issue delete operations for data object A at times 40 and 41. As described above, the initial write would be logged at A_S0 Wand the first delete would be logged at A_60_K.).
With regard to claim 6 Demoor teaches A non-transitory machine readable medium storing instructions, which when executed by one or more processing resources of a storage system as the data store, e.g. key data store 102 (Demoor, ¶42, “Log entries 140 may be stored as a key entry in a key data store as described with regard to FIGS. lA-lC.”; ¶29 “key data store 102,”), cause the storage system to:
Maintain a bucket as the group, e.g. bucket with specific ID (Demoor, ¶33 “The prefix 122 may comprise an identifier for identifying a group of object key entries from the ordered set of object key entries that are logically related. For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together”) containing a plurality of objects as the clients object that are grouped together (Id), wherein each of the plurality of objects has one or more object versions (Demoor, ¶41 “Versioning of an object includes the tracking and preservation of more than one version of the object as the object changes over time, and allows for the archival of the different versions of the object as they occur over time ( e.g., due to modifications made over time to the object), retrieval of a prior version of the object, and/or recovery from unintended overwrites and/or deletions made to the object.”);
create a snapshot as creating the new entry in the set of object key entries (Demoor, ¶78 “the new entry is situated first for that object (relative to other existing entries) in the ordered set of object key entries since it is the most recent based on the inverse timestamp…. This advantageously allows for scalable and flexible versioning of a data object”; the user saving an updated version (Demoor, ¶57 “a user 204 may update a document using a word processing application and may save the updated version to the server system 220-N,”) of the bucket as the group, e.g. bucket (Demoor, ¶33) by adding a snapshot entry as creating the new entry in the set of object key entries (Demoor, ¶78) including a snapshot identifier (ID) as the prefix 122, which is the bucket identifier (Demoor, ¶33 “The prefix 122 may comprise an identifier for identifying a group of object key entries from the ordered set of object key entries that are logically related. For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together”) and a snapshot time indicator as suffix 126, which may include the inverse timestamp (Demoor, ¶35 “The suffix 126 may comprise a ticket value for ordering different object keys associated with a particular object. The ticket value (also simply called ticket in some embodiments) may be an inverse timestamp.”) to a snapshot metafile as the ordered set of object entries, e.g. the log set of entries (Demoor, ¶29 “The subsets 106-1 through 106-N comprise the ordered set of object key entries 104”; ¶31 “In some embodiments, key entries 106-1, 106-N may include a log set of entries that define a log that may be traversed to determine the state of one or more data objects and their properties and/or determine one or more data storage parameters.”; Figure 1A, see 104 comprised of S1, 106-1, SN and 1060N); and
after creation of the snapshot as creating the new entry in the set of object key entries (Demoor, ¶78), protecting (Demoor, ¶104; ¶105 “protect against”) those of the one or more object versions (Demoor, ¶41) of respective objects as the objects to which the operation impacts (Demoor, ¶104 “two users may issue delete operations for data object A at times 40 and 41.”; ¶105 “the foregoing process may also protect against multiple and conflicting write operations, such as write operations for the same object received from two different users.”) of the plurality of objects as the objects in the group (Demoor, ¶33) existing at a specific point in time (Demoor, ¶104 “two users may issue delete operations for data object A at times 40 and 41.”; ¶105 “For example, the previously described write operation on object A at A_S0_ W may be followed by a second write from a different client at 30 ms”) indicated by the snapshot time indicator as suffix 126, which may include the inverse timestamp (Demoor, ¶35).
With regard to claim 9 Demoor further teaches wherein the snapshot comprises a scheduled (Demoor, ¶113 “schedules various processes”; ¶114 “may include process scheduler 352”; ¶115) snapshot (Demoor, ¶41) that is automatically created by the storage system in accordance with a predefined or configurable schedule (Demoor, ¶115 “process scheduler 352 may include active scheduling of log post-processing and manage schedules, elapsed times, trigger conditions, and/or priority queues for one or more post-processing storage management processes”).
With regard to claim 12 Demoor further teaches A storage system as the data store, e.g. key data store 102 (Demoor, ¶42, “Log entries 140 may be stored as a key entry in a key data store as described with regard to FIGS. lA-lC.”; ¶29 “key data store 102,”) comprising:
one or more processing resources (Demoor, ¶160 “processor(s)); and
instructions that when executed by the one or more processing resources (Demoor, ¶160 “The processor(s) 302 may execute software instructions by performing various input/output, logical, and/or mathematical operations”) cause the storage system to:
Maintain a bucket as the group, e.g. bucket with specific ID (Demoor, ¶33 “The prefix 122 may comprise an identifier for identifying a group of object key entries from the ordered set of object key entries that are logically related. For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together”) containing a plurality of objects as the clients object that are grouped together (Id), wherein each of the plurality of objects has one or more object versions (Demoor, ¶41 “Versioning of an object includes the tracking and preservation of more than one version of the object as the object changes over time, and allows for the archival of the different versions of the object as they occur over time ( e.g., due to modifications made over time to the object), retrieval of a prior version of the object, and/or recovery from unintended overwrites and/or deletions made to the object.”);
create a snapshot as creating the new entry in the set of object key entries (Demoor, ¶78 “the new entry is situated first for that object (relative to other existing entries) in the ordered set of object key entries since it is the most recent based on the inverse timestamp…. This advantageously allows for scalable and flexible versioning of a data object”; the user saving an updated version (Demoor, ¶57 “a user 204 may update a document using a word processing application and may save the updated version to the server system 220-N,”) of the bucket as the group, e.g. bucket (Demoor, ¶33) by adding a snapshot entry as creating the new entry in the set of object key entries (Demoor, ¶78) including a snapshot identifier (ID) as the prefix 122, which is the bucket identifier (Demoor, ¶33 “The prefix 122 may comprise an identifier for identifying a group of object key entries from the ordered set of object key entries that are logically related. For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together”) and a snapshot time indicator as suffix 126, which may include the inverse timestamp (Demoor, ¶35 “The suffix 126 may comprise a ticket value for ordering different object keys associated with a particular object. The ticket value (also simply called ticket in some embodiments) may be an inverse timestamp.”) to a snapshot metafile as the ordered set of object entries, e.g. the log set of entries (Demoor, ¶29 “The subsets 106-1 through 106-N comprise the ordered set of object key entries 104”; ¶31 “In some embodiments, key entries 106-1, 106-N may include a log set of entries that define a log that may be traversed to determine the state of one or more data objects and their properties and/or determine one or more data storage parameters.”; Figure 1A, see 104 comprised of S1, 106-1, SN and 1060N); and
after creation of the snapshot as creating the new entry in the set of object key entries (Demoor, ¶78), protecting (Demoor, ¶104; ¶105 “protect against”) those of the one or more object versions (Demoor, ¶41) of respective objects as the objects to which the operation impacts (Demoor, ¶104 “two users may issue delete operations for data object A at times 40 and 41.”; ¶105 “the foregoing process may also protect against multiple and conflicting write operations, such as write operations for the same object received from two different users.”) of the plurality of objects as the objects in the group (Demoor, ¶33) existing at a specific point in time (Demoor, ¶104 “two users may issue delete operations for data object A at times 40 and 41.”; ¶105 “For example, the previously described write operation on object A at A_S0_ W may be followed by a second write from a different client at 30 ms”) indicated by the snapshot time indicator as suffix 126, which may include the inverse timestamp (Demoor, ¶35).
With regard to claim 16 Demoor further teaches A method comprising:
maintaining, by a storage system as the data store, e.g. key data store 102 (Demoor, ¶42, “Log entries 140 may be stored as a key entry in a key data store as described with regard to FIGS. lA-lC.”; ¶29 “key data store 102,”), a bucket as the group, e.g. bucket with specific ID (Demoor, ¶33 “The prefix 122 may comprise an identifier for identifying a group of object key entries from the ordered set of object key entries that are logically related. For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together”) containing a plurality of objects as the clients object that are grouped together (Id), wherein each of the plurality of objects has one or more object versions(Demoor, ¶41 “Versioning of an object includes the tracking and preservation of more than one version of the object as the object changes over time, and allows for the archival of the different versions of the object as they occur over time ( e.g., due to modifications made over time to the object), retrieval of a prior version of the object, and/or recovery from unintended overwrites and/or deletions made to the object.”);
maintaining, by the storage system as the data store, e.g. key data store 102 (Demoor, ¶42, ¶29), a snapshot entry as creating the new entry in the set of object key entries (Demoor, ¶78 “the new entry is situated first for that object (relative to other existing entries) in the ordered set of object key entries since it is the most recent based on the inverse timestamp…. This advantageously allows for scalable and flexible versioning of a data object”; the user saving an updated version (Demoor, ¶57 “a user 204 may update a document using a word processing application and may save the updated version to the server system 220-N,”) within a snapshot metafile as the ordered set of object entries, e.g. the log set of entries (Demoor, ¶29 “The subsets 106-1 through 106-N comprise the ordered set of object key entries 104”; ¶31 “In some embodiments, key entries 106-1, 106-N may include a log set of entries that define a log that may be traversed to determine the state of one or more data objects and their properties and/or determine one or more data storage parameters.”; Figure 1A, see 104 comprised of S1, 106-1, SN and 1060N) for each snapshot as creating the new entry in the set of object key entries (Demoor, ¶78 “the new entry is situated first for that object (relative to other existing entries) in the ordered set of object key entries since it is the most recent based on the inverse timestamp…. This advantageously allows for scalable and flexible versioning of a data object”; the user saving an updated version (Demoor, ¶57 “a user 204 may update a document using a word processing application and may save the updated version to the server system 220-N,”) of a plurality of snapshots of the bucket as the group, e.g. bucket (Demoor, ¶33), wherein the snapshot entry includes a snapshot identifier (ID) as the prefix 122, which is the bucket identifier (Demoor, ¶33 “The prefix 122 may comprise an identifier for identifying a group of object key entries from the ordered set of object key entries that are logically related. For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together”) and a snapshot time indicator as suffix 126, which may include the inverse timestamp (Demoor, ¶35 “The suffix 126 may comprise a ticket value for ordering different object keys associated with a particular object. The ticket value (also simply called ticket in some embodiments) may be an inverse timestamp.”); and
after receiving, by the storage system, a request that would result in deletion (Demoor, ¶104 “two users may issue delete operations for data object A at times 40 and 41.”; ¶105 “the foregoing process may also protect against multiple and conflicting write operations, such as write operations for the same object received from two different users.”) of a particular version as data object A (Id, ¶41) of the one or more object versions (Demoor, ¶41) of a given object of the plurality of objects as the objects in the group (Demoor, ¶33), prior to deleting the particular version (Demoor, ¶152 “For example, garbage collection may be a dependent process that should allow one or more other prerequisite processes, such as a replication process, to complete”), determining whether as determining if Dependent condition is met (Figure 7, 710) the particular version is protected by one or more snapshots of the plurality of snapshots (Demoor, ¶104 “The foregoing process may protect against mishandling of multiple delete operations”; ¶105 “In some embodiments, the foregoing process may also protect against multiple and conflicting write operations, such as write operations for the same object received from two different users”) by comparing (Figure 7, 708; ¶154 “At block 708, the computer system may compare the original timestamp value to a last known progress value for the prerequisite process. For example, on a prior iteration through method 700 for a prior log entry, a progress value for the prerequisite process may have been queried and stored”) one or more time indicators of the particular version as original timestamp values (Id) to the respective snapshot time indicators as last known progress value (Id) of the one or more snapshot entries for the one or more snapshots (Demoor, ¶78).
With regard to claims 17, 22, and 27 Demoor further teaches permitting, by the storage system, deletion of the particular version to proceed as performing garbage collection once the dependent process is complete (Demoor, ¶152 “For example, garbage collection may be a dependent process that should allow one or more other prerequisite processes, such as a replication process, to complete”) based on a determination that the particular version is not protected (Demoor, ¶155 “If the next log entry is still before the stored progress value, the condition is met and successful verification may be returned at block 712.”).
With regard to claims 18, 23, and 28 Demoor further teaches marking the particular version as hidden externally but retaining the particular version internally (Demoor, ¶102 “Storage service 322 may immediately render the data object invisible to the user, but log operations 332”; ¶104 “Storage service 322 rendering the data object invisible for users and marking object A for garbage collection is not impacted by multiple instances.”) based on a determination that the particular version is protected (Demoor, ¶104 “The foregoing process may protect against mishandling of multiple delete operations”; ¶152 “For example, garbage collection may be a dependent process that should allow one or more other prerequisite processes, such as a replication process, to complete.”).
With regard to claims 19, 24, and 29 Demoor further teaches wherein the particular version is marked as hidden by setting a deletion timestamp of the particular version as the <deleteOP> tag (Demoor, ¶104 “As described above, the initial write would be logged at A_S0 Wand the first delete would be logged at A_60_K. The second delete would be logged as: A_59 K; from: None.<0B>; to:<deleteOP>. Storage service 322 rendering the data object invisible for users and marking object A for garbage collection is not impacted by multiple instances.”).
With regard to claims 20, 25 and 30 Demoor further teaches wherein the snapshot ID comprises a snapshot name as the prefix 122, which may be a domain identifier, bucket identifier, client identifier or any combination thereof (Demoor, ¶33 “The prefix 122 may comprise an identifier for identifying a group of object key entries from the ordered set of object key entries that are logically related. For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together”), wherein the snapshot time indicator comprises a snapshot timestamp as suffix 126, which may include the inverse timestamp (Demoor, ¶35 “The suffix 126 may comprise a ticket value for ordering different object keys associated with a particular object. The ticket value (also simply called ticket in some embodiments) may be an inverse timestamp.”), and wherein the snapshot metafile as the ordered set of object entries, e.g. the log set of entries (Demoor, ¶29 “The subsets 106-1 through 106-N comprise the ordered set of object key entries 104”; ¶31 “In some embodiments, key entries 106-1, 106-N may include a log set of entries that define a log that may be traversed to determine the state of one or more data objects and their properties and/or determine one or more data storage parameters.”; Figure 1A, see 104 comprised of S1, 106-1, SN and 1060N) is dual-indexed by snapshot names and snapshot timestamps (Demoor, ¶90 “progress through operation log 310 may be indexed by timestamp values and/or key values including timestamp values or inverse timestamp values.”; Figure 1B).
With regard to claim 21 Demoor teaches A non-transitory machine readable medium storing instructions(Demoor, ¶160 “The processor(s) 302 may execute software instructions by performing various input/output, logical, and/or mathematical operations”), which when executed by one or more processing resources of a storage system, cause the storage system as the data store, e.g. key data store 102 (Demoor, ¶42, “Log entries 140 may be stored as a key entry in a key data store as described with regard to FIGS. lA-lC.”; ¶29 “key data store 102,”) to:
maintain a bucket as the group, e.g. bucket with specific ID (Demoor, ¶33 “The prefix 122 may comprise an identifier for identifying a group of object key entries from the ordered set of object key entries that are logically related. For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together”) containing a plurality of objects as the clients object that are grouped together (Id), wherein each of the plurality of objects has one or more object versions(Demoor, ¶41 “Versioning of an object includes the tracking and preservation of more than one version of the object as the object changes over time, and allows for the archival of the different versions of the object as they occur over time ( e.g., due to modifications made over time to the object), retrieval of a prior version of the object, and/or recovery from unintended overwrites and/or deletions made to the object.”);
maintain a snapshot entry as creating the new entry in the set of object key entries (Demoor, ¶78 “the new entry is situated first for that object (relative to other existing entries) in the ordered set of object key entries since it is the most recent based on the inverse timestamp…. This advantageously allows for scalable and flexible versioning of a data object”; the user saving an updated version (Demoor, ¶57 “a user 204 may update a document using a word processing application and may save the updated version to the server system 220-N,”) within a snapshot metafile as the ordered set of object entries, e.g. the log set of entries (Demoor, ¶29 “The subsets 106-1 through 106-N comprise the ordered set of object key entries 104”; ¶31 “In some embodiments, key entries 106-1, 106-N may include a log set of entries that define a log that may be traversed to determine the state of one or more data objects and their properties and/or determine one or more data storage parameters.”; Figure 1A, see 104 comprised of S1, 106-1, SN and 1060N) for each snapshot as creating the new entry in the set of object key entries (Demoor, ¶78 “the new entry is situated first for that object (relative to other existing entries) in the ordered set of object key entries since it is the most recent based on the inverse timestamp…. This advantageously allows for scalable and flexible versioning of a data object”; the user saving an updated version (Demoor, ¶57 “a user 204 may update a document using a word processing application and may save the updated version to the server system 220-N,”) of a plurality of snapshots of the bucket as the group, e.g. bucket (Demoor, ¶33), wherein the snapshot entry includes a snapshot identifier (ID) as the prefix 122, which is the bucket identifier (Demoor, ¶33 “The prefix 122 may comprise an identifier for identifying a group of object key entries from the ordered set of object key entries that are logically related. For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together”) and a snapshot time indicator as suffix 126, which may include the inverse timestamp (Demoor, ¶35 “The suffix 126 may comprise a ticket value for ordering different object keys associated with a particular object. The ticket value (also simply called ticket in some embodiments) may be an inverse timestamp.”); and
after receiving a request that would result in deletion (Demoor, ¶104 “two users may issue delete operations for data object A at times 40 and 41.”; ¶105 “the foregoing process may also protect against multiple and conflicting write operations, such as write operations for the same object received from two different users.”) of a particular version as data object A (Id, ¶41) of the one or more object versions (Demoor, ¶41) of a given object of the plurality of objects as the objects in the group (Demoor, ¶33), prior to deleting the particular version (Demoor, ¶152 “For example, garbage collection may be a dependent process that should allow one or more other prerequisite processes, such as a replication process, to complete”), determine whether as determining if Dependent condition is met (Figure 7, 710) the particular version is protected by one or more snapshots of the plurality of snapshots (Demoor, ¶104 “The foregoing process may protect against mishandling of multiple delete operations”; ¶105 “In some embodiments, the foregoing process may also protect against multiple and conflicting write operations, such as write operations for the same object received from two different users”) by comparing (Figure 7, 708; ¶154 “At block 708, the computer system may compare the original timestamp value to a last known progress value for the prerequisite process. For example, on a prior iteration through method 700 for a prior log entry, a progress value for the prerequisite process may have been queried and stored”) one or more time indicators of the particular version as original timestamp values (Id) to the respective snapshot time indicators as last known progress value (Id) of the one or more snapshot entries for the one or more snapshots (Demoor, ¶78).
With regard to claim 26 Demoor teaches A storage system as the data store, e.g. key data store 102 (Demoor, ¶42, “Log entries 140 may be stored as a key entry in a key data store as described with regard to FIGS. lA-lC.”; ¶29 “key data store 102”) comprising:
one or more processing resources(Demoor, ¶160 “processor(s)”); and
instructions that when executed by the one or more processing resources(Demoor, ¶160 “The processor(s) 302 may execute software instructions by performing various input/output, logical, and/or mathematical operations”) cause the storage system to:
maintain a bucket as the group, e.g. bucket with specific ID (Demoor, ¶33 “The prefix 122 may comprise an identifier for identifying a group of object key entries from the ordered set of object key entries that are logically related. For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together”) containing a plurality of objects as the clients object that are grouped together (Id), wherein each of the plurality of objects has one or more object versions(Demoor, ¶41 “Versioning of an object includes the tracking and preservation of more than one version of the object as the object changes over time, and allows for the archival of the different versions of the object as they occur over time ( e.g., due to modifications made over time to the object), retrieval of a prior version of the object, and/or recovery from unintended overwrites and/or deletions made to the object.”);
maintain a snapshot entry as creating the new entry in the set of object key entries (Demoor, ¶78 “the new entry is situated first for that object (relative to other existing entries) in the ordered set of object key entries since it is the most recent based on the inverse timestamp…. This advantageously allows for scalable and flexible versioning of a data object”; the user saving an updated version (Demoor, ¶57 “a user 204 may update a document using a word processing application and may save the updated version to the server system 220-N,”) within a snapshot metafile as the ordered set of object entries, e.g. the log set of entries (Demoor, ¶29 “The subsets 106-1 through 106-N comprise the ordered set of object key entries 104”; ¶31 “In some embodiments, key entries 106-1, 106-N may include a log set of entries that define a log that may be traversed to determine the state of one or more data objects and their properties and/or determine one or more data storage parameters.”; Figure 1A, see 104 comprised of S1, 106-1, SN and 1060N) for each snapshot as creating the new entry in the set of object key entries (Demoor, ¶78 “the new entry is situated first for that object (relative to other existing entries) in the ordered set of object key entries since it is the most recent based on the inverse timestamp…. This advantageously allows for scalable and flexible versioning of a data object”; the user saving an updated version (Demoor, ¶57 “a user 204 may update a document using a word processing application and may save the updated version to the server system 220-N,”) of a plurality of snapshots of the bucket as the group, e.g. bucket (Demoor, ¶33), wherein the snapshot entry includes a snapshot identifier (ID) as the prefix 122, which is the bucket identifier (Demoor, ¶33 “The prefix 122 may comprise an identifier for identifying a group of object key entries from the ordered set of object key entries that are logically related. For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together”) and a snapshot time indicator as suffix 126, which may include the inverse timestamp (Demoor, ¶35 “The suffix 126 may comprise a ticket value for ordering different object keys associated with a particular object. The ticket value (also simply called ticket in some embodiments) may be an inverse timestamp.”); and
after receiving a request that would result in deletion (Demoor, ¶104 “two users may issue delete operations for data object A at times 40 and 41.”; ¶105 “the foregoing process may also protect against multiple and conflicting write operations, such as write operations for the same object received from two different users.”) of a particular version as data object A (Id, ¶41) of the one or more object versions (Demoor, ¶41) of a given object of the plurality of objects as the objects in the group (Demoor, ¶33), prior to deleting the particular version (Demoor, ¶152 “For example, garbage collection may be a dependent process that should allow one or more other prerequisite processes, such as a replication process, to complete”), determine whether as determining if Dependent condition is met (Figure 7, 710) the particular version is protected by one or more snapshots of the plurality of snapshots (Demoor, ¶104 “The foregoing process may protect against mishandling of multiple delete operations”; ¶105 “In some embodiments, the foregoing process may also protect against multiple and conflicting write operations, such as write operations for the same object received from two different users”) by comparing (Figure 7, 708; ¶154 “At block 708, the computer system may compare the original timestamp value to a last known progress value for the prerequisite process. For example, on a prior iteration through method 700 for a prior log entry, a progress value for the prerequisite process may have been queried and stored”) one or more time indicators of the particular version as original timestamp values (Id) to the respective snapshot time indicators as last known progress value (Id) of the one or more snapshot entries for the one or more snapshots (Demoor, ¶78).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demoor in view of Arur [2020/0382378].
With regard to claims 3, 5 and 14 Demoor further teaches wherein the snapshot time indicator comprises a timestamp as suffix 126, which may include the inverse timestamp (Demoor, ¶35) and wherein the manual snapshot as the user updating the document and saving a new version (Demoor, ¶57 “For example, a user 204 may update a document using a word processing application and may save the updated version to the server system 220-N, ”) comprises a [[ as suffix 126, which may include the inverse timestamp (Demoor, ¶35) is [[ as the operational timestamp (Demoor, ¶7 “The operation timestamp may be included in the instruction data or may be determined by key data store controller 320 ( e.g., using a clock of the local system, issuing a call to the operating system, etc.).”) of the storage system as the local system (Id).
Demoor does not explicitly teach where the snapshot is a retroactive snapshot in which the timestamp is earlier than a current system time.
Arur teaches wherein the manual snapshot comprises a retroactive snapshot in which the timestamp is earlier than a current system time (¶33 “in another example, the second snapshot may also be a retroactive snapshot of the past state of the network fabric. That is, rather than generating a snapshot representing the current state of the network fabric, the second snapshot can represent the fabric state ten seconds after the event completed (which may be in the past relative to the current time).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to which said subject matter pertains at the time the invention was filed to have used the stored event logs taught by Demoor to generate retroactive snapshots as taught by Aurur as it yields the predictable results of being able to detect events occurring with in the network, which may assist in reboots due to unexpected crashes (Aurur, ¶3).
Conclusion
/AMANDA L WILLIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2156