DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit to 63/654388 filed May 31, 2024 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the grey shading in some of the boxes makes it difficult to read the text within those boxes. All text within the figures must be legible. It is suggested that the shading be removed, and the boxes be indicated as distinct using a different method (e.g. thicker lines, cross hash patterns, different shapes, double outlines, etc.) or the text be modified to make it more legible (e.g. making the text larger, making the text bold, etc.). The following figures contain elements with grey shading rendering the text difficult to read:
Figure 9, element 911 and 912,
Figure 10A, 1013,
Figure 10B, 1011, 1012, 1013, and 1014.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“one or more processing resources” in claims 7 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “one or more processing resources” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. It is suggested that the claims be amended to recite “one or more processors” so as to not invoke 112f/6th.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Demoor [2020/0409566].
With regard to claim 1 Demmor teaches A method comprising:
maintaining, by a storage system as the data store, e.g. key data store 102 (Demoor, ¶42, “Log entries 140 may be stored as a key entry in a key data store as described with regard to FIGS. lA-lC.”; ¶29 “key data store 102”), a bucket as the group, e.g. bucket with specific ID (Demoor, ¶33 “The prefix 122 may comprise an identifier for identifying a group of object key entries from the ordered set of object key entries that are logically related. For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together”) containing a plurality of objects as the clients object that are grouped together (Id), wherein each of the plurality of objects has one or more object versions (Demoor, ¶41 “Versioning of an object includes the tracking and preservation of more than one version of the object as the object changes over time, and allows for the archival of the different versions of the object as they occur over time ( e.g., due to modifications made over time to the object), retrieval of a prior version of the object, and/or recovery from unintended overwrites and/or deletions made to the object.”); and
limiting, by the storage system, a scope as only returning results that are specified by the queried Key-related search terms (¶80 “As another example, when performing a read operation (e.g., responsive to receipt of a list request), the instruction data received from storage service 322 may include key-related search terms that are used for querying key data store 230. For example, the search term(s) may comprise an object identifier or portion thereof, and key data store controller 320 may query the ordered set of object key entries in key data store 230 based on it and return a corresponding result set.”), e.g. limiting to certain operation types (¶82 “In some embodiments, further key components may be included in the instruction from storage service 322 so the result set may be refined (e.g., limited to a certain client and/or operation type, etc.).”) of an operation as the operation ,such as read, write, update, or otherwise manipulate based on parameters (¶85 “For example, responsive to receiving a request, the storage service may implement the requested object storage operations in object storage 240. For example, storage service 322 may read, write, update, and/or otherwise manipulate objects in object storage 240 based on parameters of the request.”) relating to a snapshot as the log entry that determine the state of data objects (Demoor, ¶78 “the new entry is situated first for that object (relative to other existing entries) in the ordered set of object key entries since it is the most recent based on the inverse timestamp.”; ¶31 “key entries 106-1, 106-N may include a log set of entries that define a log that may be traversed to determine the state of one or more data objects and their properties and/or determine one or more data storage parameters”; ¶41 “Versioning of an object”) of the bucket as search terms including bucket (¶80 “Additional or alternative search term(s) may include, but are not limited to, data describing a domain, bucket, timestamp, operation type, etc., and key data store controller 320 may query the ordered set of object key entries in key data store 230 based on them and return a corresponding result set.”) by applying a snapshot filter as querying based on the search terms (¶80 “As another example, when performing a read operation (e.g., responsive to receipt of a list request), the instruction data received from storage service 322 may include key-related search terms that are used for querying key data store 230.”) associated with the snapshot as the prefix data including bucket identifier that is associated with the log entry (¶33) that specifies one or more criteria as the search terms, e.g. the user performing a read request on objects within a particular bucket (¶80) for determining those of the plurality of objects to which the snapshot applies as searching for the entries that include the key-related search terms, e.g. results that include the searched for bucket (¶80 “As another example, when performing a read operation (e.g., responsive to receipt of a list request), the instruction data received from storage service 322 may include key-related search terms that are used for querying key data store 230. For example, the search term(s) may comprise an object identifier or portion thereof, and key data store controller 320 may query the ordered set of object key entries in key data store 230 based on it and return a corresponding result set. Additional or alternative search term(s) may include, but are not limited to, … bucket, timestamp, operation type, etc.”).
With regard to claims 2, 8 and 12, Demoor further teaches wherein the snapshot filer comprises a prefix (Demoor, ¶33 “The prefix 122 may comprise an identifier for identifying a group of object key entries from the ordered set of object key entries that are logically related. For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together”) specified as part of the operation as the instruction data received include key-related search terms (¶80 “the instruction data received from storage service 322 may include key-related search terms that are used for querying key data store 230. For example, the search term(s) may comprise an object identifier or portion thereof, and key data store controller 320 may query the ordered set of object key entries in key data store 230 based on it and return a corresponding result set.”) and wherein application of the snapshot filter as querying the key data store (Id) comprises filtering the plurality of objects based on the prefix as only returning results that contain the search term (Id) which is recited as being information stored in the prefix (¶33).
With regard to claims 3, 9 and 16, Demoor further teaches wherein the operation comprises enumeration as a list request (¶80 “As another example, when performing a read operation (e.g., responsive to receipt of a list request),”; ¶86 “To do so, in some cases, storage service 322 can issue various instructions to key data store controller 320, such as but not limited to instructions comprising put, get, delete, list, request, etc.”; Please note this claim limitation has been read in light of Paragraph [0127] of the original specification as a listing of the objects) of those of the plurality of objects protected as those data object rendered invisible to the user (¶102 “Storage service 322 may immediately render the data object invisible to the user”; Figure 1E, see element 156-1 in log entry 150-1) by the snapshot as the log entry (Figure 1E 150-1) and wherein only those objects of the plurality of objects to which the snapshot filter applies as corresponding result set returned in response to the query based on the search terms (¶80 “As another example, when performing a read operation (e.g., responsive to receipt of a list request), the instruction data received from storage service 322 may include key-related search terms that are used for querying key data store 230. For example, the search term(s) may comprise an object identifier or portion thereof, and key data store controller 320 may query the ordered set of object key entries in key data store 230 based on it and return a corresponding result set.”) are considered as only returning the corresponding result set (¶80 “key data store controller 320 may query the ordered set of object key entries in key data store 230 based on them and return a corresponding result set.”) by logic associated with the enumeration in the logic to generate the presented list based on the returned result set (¶80 “As another example, when performing a read operation (e.g., responsive to receipt of a list request)”).
With regard to claims 4, 10 and 17 Demoor further teaches wherein the operation comprises creation of the snapshot as creating the new entry in the set of object key entries (Demoor, ¶78 “the new entry is situated first for that object (relative to other existing entries) in the ordered set of object key entries since it is the most recent based on the inverse timestamp…. This advantageously allows for scalable and flexible versioning of a data object”; the user saving an updated version (Demoor, ¶57 “a user 204 may update a document using a word processing application and may save the updated version to the server system 220-N”) or deletion of the snapshot as a delete instruction (¶86 “To do so, in some cases, storage service 322 can issue various instructions to key data store controller 320, such as but not limited to instructions comprising put, get, delete, list, request, etc.”; ¶88; ¶89).
With regard to claims 5, 11 and 18, Demoor further teaches wherein the operation comprises restoration of the snapshot as retrieval of prior version, e.g. recovery from unintended overwrites and/or deletions (¶41 “retrieval of a prior version of the object, and/or recovery from unintended overwrites and/or deletions made to the object.”).
With regard to claims 6, 12 and 19, Demoor further teaches wherein said limiting further includes application of an additional snapshot filter as additional or alterative search terms (¶80 “Additional or alternative search term(s) may include, but are not limited to, data describing a domain, bucket, timestamp, operation type, etc., and key data store controller 320 may query the ordered set of object key entries in key data store 230 based on them and return a corresponding result set.”) associated with the operation (¶80 “As another example, when performing a read operation (e.g., responsive to receipt of a list request),”) and wherein the additional snapshot filter is restricted to representing a subset as subset of object key entries (¶30 “ach key may correspond to a particular object. Further, various subsets of object key entries may correspond to the same object at different points in time.”) of the snapshot filter as the object key entry (Id).
With regard to claim 7 Demoor teaches A non-transitory machine readable medium storing instructions (Demoor, ¶124), which when executed by one or more processing resources (¶160) of a storage system as the data store, e.g. key data store 102 (Demoor, ¶42, “Log entries 140 may be stored as a key entry in a key data store as described with regard to FIGS. lA-lC.”; ¶29 “key data store 102”), cause the storage system to:
maintain a bucket as the group, e.g. bucket with specific ID (Demoor, ¶33 “The prefix 122 may comprise an identifier for identifying a group of object key entries from the ordered set of object key entries that are logically related. For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together”) containing a plurality of objects as the clients object that are grouped together (Id), wherein each of the plurality of objects has one or more object versions (Demoor, ¶41 “Versioning of an object includes the tracking and preservation of more than one version of the object as the object changes over time, and allows for the archival of the different versions of the object as they occur over time ( e.g., due to modifications made over time to the object), retrieval of a prior version of the object, and/or recovery from unintended overwrites and/or deletions made to the object.”); and
limit a scope as only returning results that are specified by the queried Key-related search terms (¶80 “As another example, when performing a read operation (e.g., responsive to receipt of a list request), the instruction data received from storage service 322 may include key-related search terms that are used for querying key data store 230. For example, the search term(s) may comprise an object identifier or portion thereof, and key data store controller 320 may query the ordered set of object key entries in key data store 230 based on it and return a corresponding result set.”), e.g. limiting to certain operation types (¶82 “In some embodiments, further key components may be included in the instruction from storage service 322 so the result set may be refined (e.g., limited to a certain client and/or operation type, etc.).”) of an operation as the operation ,such as read, write, update, or otherwise manipulate based on parameters (¶85 “For example, responsive to receiving a request, the storage service may implement the requested object storage operations in object storage 240. For example, storage service 322 may read, write, update, and/or otherwise manipulate objects in object storage 240 based on parameters of the request.”) relating to a snapshot as the log entry that determine the state of data objects (Demoor, ¶78 “the new entry is situated first for that object (relative to other existing entries) in the ordered set of object key entries since it is the most recent based on the inverse timestamp.”; ¶31 “key entries 106-1, 106-N may include a log set of entries that define a log that may be traversed to determine the state of one or more data objects and their properties and/or determine one or more data storage parameters”; ¶41 “Versioning of an object”) of the bucket as search terms including bucket (¶80 “Additional or alternative search term(s) may include, but are not limited to, data describing a domain, bucket, timestamp, operation type, etc., and key data store controller 320 may query the ordered set of object key entries in key data store 230 based on them and return a corresponding result set.”) by applying a snapshot filter as querying based on the search terms (¶80 “As another example, when performing a read operation (e.g., responsive to receipt of a list request), the instruction data received from storage service 322 may include key-related search terms that are used for querying key data store 230.”) associated with the snapshot as the prefix data including bucket identifier that is associated with the log entry (¶33) that specifies one or more criteria as the search terms, e.g. the user performing a read request on objects within a particular bucket (¶80) for determining those of the plurality of objects to which the snapshot applies as searching for the entries that include the key-related search terms, e.g. results that include the searched for bucket (¶80 “As another example, when performing a read operation (e.g., responsive to receipt of a list request), the instruction data received from storage service 322 may include key-related search terms that are used for querying key data store 230. For example, the search term(s) may comprise an object identifier or portion thereof, and key data store controller 320 may query the ordered set of object key entries in key data store 230 based on it and return a corresponding result set. Additional or alternative search term(s) may include, but are not limited to, … bucket, timestamp, operation type, etc.”).
With regard to claims 13 and 20 Demoor further teaches wherein the instructions further cause the storage system to maintain a snapshot entry as creating the new entry in the set of object key entries (Demoor, ¶78 “the new entry is situated first for that object (relative to other existing entries) in the ordered set of object key entries since it is the most recent based on the inverse timestamp…. This advantageously allows for scalable and flexible versioning of a data object”) within a snapshot metafile as the ordered set of object entries, e.g. the log set of entries (Demoor, ¶29 “The subsets 106-1 through 106-N comprise the ordered set of object key entries 104”; ¶31 “In some embodiments, key entries 106-1, 106-N may include a log set of entries that define a log that may be traversed to determine the state of one or more data objects and their properties and/or determine one or more data storage parameters.”; Figure 1A, see 104 comprised of S1, 106-1, SN and 1060N; ¶31) for each snapshot of a plurality of snapshots of the bucket as the bucket ID associated with the Prefix for the log entry (¶33 “For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together.”), wherein the snapshot entry as the log entry (¶31 “The log may include a set of key entries corresponding to various storage operations that impact a selected property or properties.”) includes a snapshot identifier (ID) as an object ID (¶32 “As shown, a key may comprise a combination of a plurality of key components, such as, but not limited to, an object identifier and an inverse time value. More particularly, as shown, example components include a prefix 122, an object ID 124, a suffix 126, and a type 128,”), a snapshot time indicator as the inverse time value (Id), and the snapshot filter as search terms may comprise any portion of the entry (¶80 “For example, the search term(s) may comprise an object identifier or portion thereof, and key data store controller 320 may query the ordered set of object key entries in key data store 230 based on it and return a corresponding result set. Additional or alternative search term(s) may include, but are not limited to, data describing a domain, bucket, timestamp, operation type, etc., and key data store controller 320 may query the ordered set of object key entries in key data store 230 based on them and return a corresponding result set.”).
With regard to claim 14 Demoor further teaches A storage system as the data store, e.g. key data store 102 (Demoor, ¶42, “Log entries 140 may be stored as a key entry in a key data store as described with regard to FIGS. lA-lC.”; ¶29 “key data store 102”) comprising:
one or more processing resources (Demoor, ¶160 “processor(s)”); and
instructions that when executed by the one or more processing resources (Demoor, ¶160 “The processor(s) 302 may execute software instructions by performing various input/output, logical, and/or mathematical operations”) cause the storage system to:
maintain a bucket as the group, e.g. bucket with specific ID (Demoor, ¶33 “The prefix 122 may comprise an identifier for identifying a group of object key entries from the ordered set of object key entries that are logically related. For example, the prefix may include a domain identifier, a bucket identifier, a client identifier, or any suitable combination thereof. In this way, a given client's object keys can be grouped together”) containing a plurality of objects as the clients object that are grouped together (Id), wherein each of the plurality of objects has one or more object versions (Demoor, ¶41 “Versioning of an object includes the tracking and preservation of more than one version of the object as the object changes over time, and allows for the archival of the different versions of the object as they occur over time ( e.g., due to modifications made over time to the object), retrieval of a prior version of the object, and/or recovery from unintended overwrites and/or deletions made to the object.”); and
limit a scope as only returning results that are specified by the queried Key-related search terms (¶80 “As another example, when performing a read operation (e.g., responsive to receipt of a list request), the instruction data received from storage service 322 may include key-related search terms that are used for querying key data store 230. For example, the search term(s) may comprise an object identifier or portion thereof, and key data store controller 320 may query the ordered set of object key entries in key data store 230 based on it and return a corresponding result set.”), e.g. limiting to certain operation types (¶82 “In some embodiments, further key components may be included in the instruction from storage service 322 so the result set may be refined (e.g., limited to a certain client and/or operation type, etc.).”) of an operation as the operation ,such as read, write, update, or otherwise manipulate based on parameters (¶85 “For example, responsive to receiving a request, the storage service may implement the requested object storage operations in object storage 240. For example, storage service 322 may read, write, update, and/or otherwise manipulate objects in object storage 240 based on parameters of the request.”) relating to a snapshot as the log entry that determine the state of data objects (Demoor, ¶78 “the new entry is situated first for that object (relative to other existing entries) in the ordered set of object key entries since it is the most recent based on the inverse timestamp.”; ¶31 “key entries 106-1, 106-N may include a log set of entries that define a log that may be traversed to determine the state of one or more data objects and their properties and/or determine one or more data storage parameters”; ¶41 “Versioning of an object”) of the bucket as search terms including bucket (¶80 “Additional or alternative search term(s) may include, but are not limited to, data describing a domain, bucket, timestamp, operation type, etc., and key data store controller 320 may query the ordered set of object key entries in key data store 230 based on them and return a corresponding result set.”) by applying a snapshot filter as querying based on the search terms (¶80 “As another example, when performing a read operation (e.g., responsive to receipt of a list request), the instruction data received from storage service 322 may include key-related search terms that are used for querying key data store 230.”) associated with the snapshot as the prefix data including bucket identifier that is associated with the log entry (¶33) that specifies one or more criteria as the search terms, e.g. the user performing a read request on objects within a particular bucket (¶80) for determining those of the plurality of objects to which the snapshot applies as searching for the entries that include the key-related search terms, e.g. results that include the searched for bucket (¶80 “As another example, when performing a read operation (e.g., responsive to receipt of a list request), the instruction data received from storage service 322 may include key-related search terms that are used for querying key data store 230. For example, the search term(s) may comprise an object identifier or portion thereof, and key data store controller 320 may query the ordered set of object key entries in key data store 230 based on it and return a corresponding result set. Additional or alternative search term(s) may include, but are not limited to, … bucket, timestamp, operation type, etc.”).
Conclusion
/AMANDA L WILLIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2156