Drawings
1. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the method steps recited in each of the claims must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. Figures 10A and 10B show the resulting symbol but does not disclose the recited method steps. Figure 11 shows a flow chart but the steps of figure 11 are not the steps of the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Vrcelj et al (US 2006/0221810).
Regarding claim 1, Vrcelj discloses a method of generating a symbol in a plurality of symbols (figure 5 shows the first symbol.), the method comprising:
generating a main sequence of complex-valued time domain samples (Figure 1: traffic data and pilots are processed digitally and input to the OFDM modulator 130. Figure 5 shows the transformed symbol N comprising N samples. The transformed symbol N can be labelled the main sequence.);
generating a first auxiliary sequence of complex-valued time domain samples based on the main sequence (figure 5: part of the transformed symbol is used to generate a cyclic prefix C. Any percentage of cyclic prefix C sequence can be labelled the first auxiliary sequence. Figure 5 shows the cyclic prefix C is based on the main sequence (transformed symbol N).);
generating a second auxiliary sequence of complex-valued time domain samples based on the main sequence (figure 5: part of the transformed symbol is used to generate a cyclic prefix C. The remaining percentage of cyclic prefix C that is not the portion of C labelled the first auxiliary sequence can be labelled a second auxiliary sequence. This second auxiliary sequence follows the first auxiliary sequence.);
forming the symbol as the first auxiliary sequence, followed by the second auxiliary sequence followed by the main sequence (figure 5 shows the first portion of the cyclic prefix followed by the second portion of the cyclic prefix followed by the transformed symbol.); and
transmitting the symbol to one or more receiving devices (Figure 1: transmitter 110 transmits the symbol to one or more receiving devices 150.).
Double Patenting
3. Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,158,518. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference discloses additional limitations that are not recited in instant claim 1. The more specific anticipates the broader.
Regarding claim 1, the reference discloses the three generating steps, the forming step and the transmitting step. The reference further discloses additional detail not recited in the instant claim 1.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ko et al (US 2011/0013718) discloses the transmitter in figure 51 for transmitting the symbol shown in figure 53. The transmitter generates the auxiliary sequences based on the main sequences then transmits the symbol to a receiver.
/KEVIN M BURD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 7/28/2026