Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morag et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0304883.
Morag discloses a camouflage material. The material comprises a multilayered structure having a structure as shown in figure 2. The structure includes a first fabric layer 32 with a printed camouflage pattern, a layer 34 which includes microballoons, a reflective layer 36 which can include a fabric coated with a metallic film such as a titanium , aluminum, gold, nickel layer, and an additional fabric layer 38 which is bonded to reflective layer 36 and has a different printed camouflage pattern. Slits or cuts can be provided through all layers of the fabric. See paragraphs 0030-0034. The structure can be used to provide garments which can include a hood. See figures.
Claim(s) 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morag et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0304883 in view of Tusch, GB 2608980A.
Morag discloses a camouflage material. The material comprises a multilayered structure having a structure as shown in figure 2. The structure includes a first fabric layer 32 with a printed camouflage pattern, a layer 34 which includes microballoons, a reflective layer 36 which can include a fabric coated with a metallic film such as a titanium , aluminum, gold, nickel layer, and an additional fabric layer 38 which is bonded to reflective layer 36 and has a different printed camouflage pattern. Slits or cuts can be provided through all layers of the fabric. See paragraphs 0030-0034. The structure can be used to provide garments which can include a hood. See figures.
Morag differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose including a layer of a film including a plurality of bubbles and does not include a second metal layer.
However, Tusch discloses a multilayered camouflage material which includes a layer of plastic film with a plurality of bubbles which is useful as an absorber of electromagnetic radiation. See page 1, paragraphs 5-7.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included a layer including a plastic film with a plurality of bubbles as taught by Tusch in the structure of Morag in order to provide a layer which is useful as an absorber of electromagnetic radiation. It further would have been obvious to have added additional layers to provide improved shielding properties to the fabric.
With regard to claim 8, since Morag teaches forming the material into garments with hoods, it would have been obvious to have formed the material into a cape with a hood.
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 1,217,549 in view of FR 2493504 and Kirby, U.S. Patent No. 8,042,196.
CA ‘549 discloses a camouflage material. The material includes a layer such as a woven or nonwoven layer. See page 1, lines 4-9. The structure can include a strengthening layer, a layer of plastic, and perforations in the form of slits through the material. See page 2, lines 3-12. A metal layer can be included on an inwardly facing side of the plastic layer. As shown by the examples and figure 1, a layer can have a camouflage pattern on one side, a metallized layer on the other size, and a woven layer bonded to the metallized side. See page 3, lines 30-38.
CA ‘549 differs from the claimed invention because it does not clearly disclose a cape and does not disclose the grid of cords or the zig-zag stitching.
However, FR ‘504 discloses a camouflage material comprising a sheet which is sewn with a zig zag pattern. The sheet can further include cut outs. An outer net layer can be present which corresponds to the claimed outer cord layer, but can be omitted by employing the stitched pattern in order to make the structure lighter.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have incorporated a net and/or zig stitching in order to provide a strong but light structure.
It further would have been obvious to have formed the camouflage fabric into a cape as taught by Kirby and to have provided arms, removable hoods and closures as needed, since hoods, arms and closures are conventional and well-known to be useful on garments such as capes.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA ‘549 in view of FR ‘504 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Barbeau et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0120082.
CA ‘549 in view of FR ‘504 and Kirby do not teach incorporating spacers.
However, Barbeau teaches incorporating foam spacers on the inside of a protective garment in order to allow for air to circulate between the garment and the wearer of the garment in order to increase the comfort of the wearer. See abstract and paragraphs 0020-0021.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have provided foam spacers as taught by Barbeau to provide for improved air circulation between the garment and the wearer of the garment to improve comfort and to have selected the particular shapes of the spacers which was most effective and comfortable.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reynolds, U.S. Patent No. 5,261,978. Reynolds discloses a camouflage material comprising an open mesh net substrate, a sheet overlying the substrate, wherein the sheet is slit . See abstract. The sheet material can be a fabric. See col. 2, lines 65-66. The sheet material can have a camouflage pattern on one side. See col. 2, lines 66-68.
Karlsson, U.S. Patent No. 4,529,633. Karlsson discloses a camouflage material. The material comprises a support layer 4 such as a woven layer, having a metallized polyethylene film laminated onto it. The film layer can have a camouflage pattern thereon.
Pusch, EP 0198283. Pusch discloses a camouflage material. The material can comprise a fabric layer, which is coated with a polymeric layer. After coating the textile is metalized with aluminum. A camouflage pattern is then applied. This material is then applied to a net and slits can be cut through the layers. See examples
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789