DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement’s (IDS) were submitted on 05/30/2025, 02/27/2026 & 04/02/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1, 17 and 27-28 define the element “an autonomous travelling device”. It is not clear what defines “an autonomous travelling device”. For example, is a user/human considered an autonomous travelling device? Therefore, claims 1-28 are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Applicant is required to amend the claims to provide clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 17-18, 22-24 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lockwood et al. (herein after will be referred to as Lockwood) (US 20190011912).
Regarding claim 1, Lockwood discloses a decoder comprising:
circuitry; and a memory connected to the circuitry, wherein the circuitry, in operation: receives a bitstream from an autonomous travelling device including an imaging unit; [See Lockwood [Fig. 3] Teleoperations receiver (304). Also, see Fig. 2, Teleoperations system (148) receives video transmitted over a network from a AV.]
using the bitstream, obtains an image captured by the imaging unit; [See Lockwood [Fig. 4] Remote displaying of vehicle camera feed to an operator.]
obtains image detection information that is detection information within the image, regarding an object included in the image; and [See Lockwood [0071] Access sensor data including bounding boxes.]
obtains real space detection information that is detection information in real space, regarding the object. [See Lockwood [0071] Access sensor data including arrows indicating a bearing and velocity of objects. Also, see 0058-0060, object data calculator provides data such as object track associated with the object based on sensor signals received from one or more of the sensors.]
Regarding claim 2, Lockwood discloses the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Lockwood discloses
wherein the image detection information regarding the object includes position information of the object in the image. [See Lockwood [0057] Object pose in the environment surrounding the vehicle using sensor data.]
Regarding claim 6, Lockwood discloses the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Lockwood discloses
wherein the circuitry decodes real space detection information regarding the autonomous travelling device from the bitstream, [See Lockwood [Fig. 3] Teleoperations receiver (304). Also, see Fig. 2, Teleoperations system (148) receives video transmitted over a network from a AV.]
wherein the real space detection information regarding the autonomous travelling device includes position information of the autonomous travelling device in the real space and movement information of the autonomous travelling device in the real space. [See Lockwood [0056] Data representing a trajectory of the vehicle and location of the vehicle in the environment.]
Regarding claim 7, Lockwood discloses the limitations of claim 6. Furthermore, Lockwood discloses
wherein the position information of the autonomous travelling device includes a coordinate value in a geographic coordinate system. [See Lockwood [0053] GPS data for information related to vehicle’s location.]
Regarding claim 8, Lockwood discloses the limitations of claim 6. Furthermore, Lockwood discloses
wherein the movement information of the autonomous travelling device includes at least one of an absolute speed and an absolute moving direction of the autonomous travelling device. [See Lockwood [0056] Vehicle speed sensor.]
Regarding claim 17, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, see examiners rejection for claim 2 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 18.
Regarding claim 22, see examiners rejection for claim 6 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 22.
Regarding claim 23, see examiners rejection for claim 7 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 23.
Regarding claim 24, see examiners rejection for claim 8 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 24.
Regarding claim 27, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 27.
Regarding claim 28, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lockwood (US 20190011912) in view of Iketani (US 20080166024).
Regarding claim 3, Lockwood discloses the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Lockwood does not explicitly disclose
wherein the real space detection information regarding the object includes at least one of position information of the object in the real space and movement information of the object in the real space.
However, Iketani does disclose
wherein the real space detection information regarding the object includes at least one of position information of the object in the real space and movement information of the object in the real space. [See Iketani [0057] Laser radar supplies object information including position of the object in the forward area of the vehicle and a relative speed direction.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Lockwood to add the teachings of Iketani, in order to improve the performance for objection detection [See Iketani [0008]].
Regarding claim 4, Lockwood (modified by Iketani) disclose the limitations of claim 3. Furthermore, Lockwood does not explicitly disclose
wherein the position information of the object includes: a coordinate value in a circular coordinate system based on the autonomous travelling device; a coordinate value in a Cartesian coordinate system based on the autonomous travelling device; or a coordinate value in a geographic coordinate system.
However, Iketani does disclose
wherein the position information of the object includes: a coordinate value in a circular coordinate system based on the autonomous travelling device; a coordinate value in a Cartesian coordinate system based on the autonomous travelling device; or a coordinate value in a geographic coordinate system. [See Iketani [0057] Laser radar coordinate system.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Lockwood (modified by Iketani) disclose the limitations of claim 3. Furthermore, Lockwood does not explicitly disclose
wherein the movement information of the object includes at least one of an absolute speed of the object or a relative speed of the object with respect to the autonomous travelling device, and an absolute moving direction of the object or a relative moving direction of the object with respect to the autonomous travelling device.
However, Iketani does disclose
wherein the movement information of the object includes at least one of an absolute speed of the object or a relative speed of the object with respect to the autonomous travelling device, and an absolute moving direction of the object or a relative moving direction of the object with respect to the autonomous travelling device. [See Iketani [0057] Laser radar supplies object information including position of the object in the forward area of the vehicle and a relative speed direction.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, see examiners rejection for claim 3 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, see examiners rejection for claim 4 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 20.
Regarding claim 21, see examiners rejection for claim 5 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 21.
Claims 9 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lockwood (US 20190011912) in view of Ding et al. (herein after will be referred to as Ding) (US 20240291980).
Regarding claim 9, Lockwood discloses the limitations of claim 6. Furthermore, Lockwood does not explicitly disclose
wherein the circuitry decodes the image detection information and the real space detection information regarding the object and the real space detection information regarding the autonomous travelling device from a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) region of the bitstream.
However, Ding does disclose
wherein the circuitry decodes the image detection information and the real space detection information regarding the object and the real space detection information regarding the autonomous travelling device from a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) region of the bitstream. [See Ding [0127] Annotated regions SEI message to signal parameters that identify annotated regions using bounding boxes representing sizes and locations of identified objects. Attributes of the annotated objects are also signaled.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Lockwood to add the teachings of Ding, in order to improve upon video processing [See Ding [0127]].
Regarding claim 25, see examiners rejection for claim 9 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 25.
Claims 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lockwood (US 20190011912) in view of Puskul (US 20240119873).
Regarding claim 10, Lockwood discloses the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Lockwood does not explicitly disclose
wherein the circuitry generates a display image for human vision, and the display image includes: the object; and at least one of display position information of the object in the real space and display movement information of the object in the real space.
However, Puskul does disclose
wherein the circuitry generates a display image for human vision, and the display image includes: the object; and at least one of display position information of the object in the real space and display movement information of the object in the real space. [See Puskul [Fig. 5 and 0026] Display including AV’s FOV including bounding boxes for objects detected along with movement vector and speed.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Lockwood to add the teachings of Puskul, in order to improve monitoring an AV by providing a variety of information [See Puskul [0026]].
Regarding claim 12, Lockwood (modified by Puskul) disclose the limitations of claim 10. Furthermore, Lockwood does not explicitly disclose
wherein the circuitry uses position information of the object in the real space, which is included in the real space detection information regarding the object and decoded from the bitstream, as the display position information of the object, and uses movement information of the object in the real space, which is included in the real space detection information regarding the object and decoded from the bitstream, as the display movement information of the object.
However, Puskul does disclose
wherein the circuitry uses position information of the object in the real space, which is included in the real space detection information regarding the object and decoded from the bitstream, as the display position information of the object, and uses movement information of the object in the real space, which is included in the real space detection information regarding the object and decoded from the bitstream, as the display movement information of the object. [See Puskul [Fig. 5 and 0026] Display including AV’s FOV including bounding boxes for objects detected along with movement vector and speed.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, Lockwood (modified by Puskul) disclose the limitations of claim 10. Furthermore, Lockwood does not explicitly disclose
wherein the circuitry: decodes position information of the autonomous travelling device in the real space and movement information of the autonomous travelling device in the real space from the bitstream; calculates the display position information of the object by converting position information of the object in the real space, which is included in the real space detection information regarding the object and decoded from the bitstream, using the position information of the autonomous travelling device in the real space, which is decoded from the bitstream; and calculates the display movement information of the object by converting movement information of the object in the real space, which is included in the real space detection information regarding the object and decoded from the bitstream, using the movement information of the autonomous travelling device in the real space decoded from the bitstream.
However, Puskul does disclose
wherein the circuitry: decodes position information of the autonomous travelling device in the real space and movement information of the autonomous travelling device in the real space from the bitstream; calculates the display position information of the object by converting position information of the object in the real space, which is included in the real space detection information regarding the object and decoded from the bitstream, using the position information of the autonomous travelling device in the real space, which is decoded from the bitstream; and calculates the display movement information of the object by converting movement information of the object in the real space, which is included in the real space detection information regarding the object and decoded from the bitstream, using the movement information of the autonomous travelling device in the real space decoded from the bitstream. [See Puskul [Fig. 5 and 0026] Display including AV’s FOV including bounding boxes for objects detected along with movement vector and speed.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 10.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lockwood (US 20190011912) in view of Puskul (US 20240119873) and in further view of Lee et al. (herein after will be referred to as Lee) (US 20220101611).
Regarding claim 11, Lockwood (modified by Puskul) disclose the limitations of claim 10. Furthermore, Lockwood does not explicitly disclose
wherein the autonomous travelling device includes a plurality of autonomous travelling devices, and the circuitry generates the display image based on a plurality of images decoded from a plurality of bitstreams received from the plurality of autonomous travelling devices.
However, Lee does disclose
wherein the autonomous travelling device includes a plurality of autonomous travelling devices, and the circuitry generates the display image based on a plurality of images decoded from a plurality of bitstreams received from the plurality of autonomous travelling devices. [See Lee [0487-0488] Synthesizing a plurality of images received from other vehicles.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Lockwood (modified by Puskul) to add the teachings of Lee, in order to improve upon AV convenience and safety functions [See Lee [0008]].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lockwood (US 20190011912) in view of Puskul (US 20240119873) and in further view of Iketani (US 20080166024).
Regarding claim 14, Lockwood (modified by Puskul) disclose the limitations of claim 10. Furthermore, Lockwood does not explicitly disclose
wherein the circuitry calculates the display movement information of the object based on a plurality of pieces of position information of the object at a plurality of times in the real space, the plurality of pieces of position information being included in the real space detection information regarding the object and decoded from the bitstream.
However, Iketani does disclose
wherein the circuitry calculates the display movement information of the object based on a plurality of pieces of position information of the object at a plurality of times in the real space, the plurality of pieces of position information being included in the real space detection information regarding the object and decoded from the bitstream. [See Iketani [0060] Object speed is determined via laser radar and based on the amount of displacement of the position of the object. Also, see Fig. 23, Display image with bounding box for object detection and movement vectors.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Lockwood (modified by Puskul) to add the teachings of Iketani, in order to improve the performance for objection detection [See Iketani [0008]].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lockwood (US 20190011912) in view of Grant et al. (herein after will be referred to as Grant) (US Patent No. 10,380,694).
Regarding claim 15, Lockwood discloses the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Lockwood does not explicitly disclose
wherein the decoder is mounted on another autonomous travelling device other than the autonomous travelling device, and the circuitry controls an operation of the other autonomous travelling device based on the image detection information and the real space detection information regarding the object, which are decoded from the bitstream received from the autonomous travelling device, and image detection information and real space detection information regarding an object included in an image captured by an imaging unit of the other autonomous travelling device.
However, Grant does disclose
wherein the decoder is mounted on another autonomous travelling device other than the autonomous travelling device, and the circuitry controls an operation of the other autonomous travelling device based on the image detection information and the real space detection information regarding the object, which are decoded from the bitstream received from the autonomous travelling device, and image detection information and real space detection information regarding an object included in an image captured by an imaging unit of the other autonomous travelling device. [See Grant [Col. 22 lines 8-10] The data collected by the drone. The drone data is analyzed via remote processors (such as drone mounted processors).]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Lockwood to add the teachings of Grant, in order to utilize a fleet of autonomous vehicles for analyzing data for operations [See Grant [Col. 1 lines 18-23]].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lockwood (US 20190011912) in view of Grant (US Patent No. 10,380,694) in view of Cheng et al. (herein after will be referred to as Cheng) (US 20220324481) and in further view of Lee (US 20220101611).
Regarding claim 16, Lockwood (modified by Grant) disclose the limitations of claim 15. Furthermore, Lockwood does not explicitly disclose
wherein the circuitry converts the real space detection information regarding the object, which is decoded from the bitstream received from the autonomous travelling device and uses a coordinate system based on the autonomous travelling device,
into the real space detection information regarding the object, which uses a coordinate system based on the other autonomous travelling device.
However, Cheng does disclose
wherein the circuitry converts the real space detection information regarding the object, which is decoded from the bitstream received from the autonomous travelling device and uses a coordinate system based on the autonomous travelling device, [See Cheng [0110] When data such as a velocity of and a distance from a surrounding obstacle that are sent by an intelligent camera is received, coordinate systems of the distance and the velocity each are converted into vehicle body coordinate systems.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Lockwood (modified by Grant) to add the teachings of Cheng, in order to predict a trajectory of a vehicle [See Cheng [0003]].
Lockwood (modified by Grant and Cheng) do not explicitly disclose
into the real space detection information regarding the object, which uses a coordinate system based on the other autonomous travelling device.
However Lee does disclose
into the real space detection information regarding the object, which uses a coordinate system based on the other autonomous travelling device. [See Lee [0424] Matches coordinates of the vehicle and another vehicle for image synthesis.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Lockwood (modified by Grant and Cheng) to add the teachings of Lee, in order to improve upon AV convenience and safety functions [See Lee [0008]].
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lockwood (US 20190011912) in view of Cheng (US 20220324481).
Regarding claim 26, Lockwood discloses the limitations of claim 17. Furthermore, Lockwood discloses
wherein the autonomous travelling device includes a detection unit that detects the object in the real space, and [See Lockwood [0057 and Fig. 2]
Lockwood does not explicitly disclose
the circuitry derives the real space detection information regarding the object based on a value obtained by converting a detection value by the detection unit from a coordinate system of the detection unit to a coordinate system of the autonomous travelling device.
However, Cheng does disclose
the circuitry derives the real space detection information regarding the object based on a value obtained by converting a detection value by the detection unit from a coordinate system of the detection unit to a coordinate system of the autonomous travelling device. [See Cheng [0110] When data such as a velocity of and a distance from a surrounding obstacle that are sent by an intelligent camera is received, coordinate systems of the distance and the velocity each are converted into vehicle body coordinate systems.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Lockwood (modified by Grant) to add the teachings of Cheng, in order to predict a trajectory of a vehicle [See Cheng [0003]].
Conclusion
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486