DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the initial filing dated May 30, 2025.
Claim Status
Claims 1-5 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a route acquisition unit configured to acquire a traveling route”,
“a user determination unit configured to determine whether the driving support function is available”,
“a use information acquisition unit configured to acquire either a use history… or a degree of understanding”, and
“a presentation control unit configured to… present the support information” in claim 1 and
“a driver identification unit configured to identify the driver” in claim 5.
Specifically, each of the cited claim limitations are interpreted as an electronic control unit (ECU) based on paragraph [0022] of the specification which states “the presentation ECU 10 includes a route acquisition unit 11, a use determination unit 12, a driver identification unit 13, a use information acquisition unit 14, and a presentation control unit 15.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuwahara (US PG Pub #2023/0192109).
As to claim 1, Kuwahara teaches a support information presentation apparatus that presents support information to a driver of a vehicle, the support information including a driving support function available in the vehicle and a section in which the driving support function is available (Paragraph [0030] teaches an information processing apparatus; Paragraphs [0081] and [0126] teach presenting information to the user via a display; Paragraph [0147] teaches notifying the user that operating conditions for a driving support function are satisfied), comprising:
a route acquisition unit configured to acquire a traveling route on which the vehicle is scheduled to travel (Paragraph [0048] teaches an in-vehicle device such as a navigation device; Paragraphs [0050]-[0052] teach an in-vehicle device having a processor, main storage device, and an auxiliary storage device and is configured to include a control unit such as a CPU; Paragraphs [0073] and [0077] teach the in-vehicle device functions to provide route navigation based on stored map data);
a use determination unit configured to determine whether the driving support function is available on the traveling route (Paragraphs [0050]-[0052] teach an in-vehicle device having a processor, main storage device, and an auxiliary storage device and is configured to include a control unit such as a CPU; Paragraph [0053]-[0054] teach the control unit includes a determination unit which determines whether or not operating conditions for each of a plurality of driving support functions are established);
a use information acquisition unit configured to acquire either a use history by the driver of the driving support function determined to be available (Paragraphs [0050]-[0052] teach an in-vehicle device having a processor, main storage device, and an auxiliary storage device and is configured to include a control unit such as a CPU; Paragraphs [0160]-[0162] teach the determination unit determines whether or not the corresponding driving support function is being used to temporarily store the result in association with a use flag indicating whether or not the corresponding drive support function has been used) or a degree of understanding of the driver regarding the driving support function determined to be available (Paragraphs [0050]-[0052] teach an in-vehicle device having a processor, main storage device, and an auxiliary storage device and is configured to include a control unit such as a CPU; Paragraph [0169] teaches the driver is familiar with how to use a certain driving support function and does not need to be taught in order to exclude the function from teaching); and
a presentation control unit configured to, when it is determined by the use determination unit that the driving support function is available, present the support information regarding the driving support function determined to be available (Paragraphs [0050]-[0052] teach an in-vehicle device having a processor, main storage device, and an auxiliary storage device and is configured to include a control unit such as a CPU; Paragraph [0035] teaches generating a map in which one or more points are mapped to a travel route to visually inform the user at what points the driving support function was available; Paragraph [0055] teaches when operating conditions for a predetermined driving support function are established, notifying the driver via a display);
wherein, even if it is determined that the driving support function is available, the presentation control unit does not present the support information when the number of uses of the driving support function, which is derived from the use history, is greater than or equal to a predetermined usage number threshold value (Paragraph [0164] teaches mapping driving support functions to the route map only for the functions not used during travel by omitting points at which a flag is set) or when the degree of understanding of the driving support function is greater than or equal to a predetermined understanding threshold value (Paragraph [0169] teaches the driver is familiar with how to use a certain driving support function and does not need to be taught in order to exclude the function from teaching).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwahara (US PG Pub #2023/0192109) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hayakawa et al. (Hayakawa; US PG Pub #2020/0339147).
As to claim 2, depending from the support information presentation apparatus according to claim 1, Kuwahara does not explicitly teach wherein, when presenting the support information, the presentation control unit includes advantages of the available driving support function in the support information.
In the field of a vehicle display apparatus, Hayakawa teaches wherein, when presenting the support information, the presentation control unit includes advantages of the available driving support function in the support information (Paragraph [0172] teaches displaying content including a reason for change in driving mode). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kuwahara with the display of Hayakawa because displaying a reason yields the predictable result of better informing the driver of the scenario to increase safe driving.
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwahara (US PG Pub #2023/0192109) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Subaru (JP-2024090768; translation provided).
As to claim 3, depending from the support information presentation apparatus according to claim 1, Kuwahara does not explicitly teach wherein, when presenting the support information, the presentation control unit changes a manner of presentation in accordance with at least one of the number of uses or the degree of understanding.
In the field of a vehicle display apparatus, Subaru teaches wherein, when presenting the support information, the presentation control unit changes a manner of presentation in accordance with at least one of the number of uses or the degree of understanding (Paragraphs [0097]-[0098] teach selecting and prioritizing information to display based on the driver’s skill level). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kuwahara with the display of Subaru because selecting output data based on a driver’s skill level or understanding of a target driving operation makes it easier to select appropriate information for intrinsic motivation of the driver (Paragraph [0098]).
As to claim 5, depending from the support information presentation apparatus according to claim 1, Kuwahara does not explicitly teach the apparatus further comprising a driver identification unit configured to identify the driver who rides in the vehicle based on a face image captured of the driver's face,
wherein the use history and the degree of understanding are defined for each driver, and
wherein the use information acquisition unit acquires the use history or the degree of understanding corresponding to the driver identified by the driver identification unit.
In the field of vehicular information processing devices, Subaru teaches the apparatus further comprising a driver identification unit configured to identify the driver who rides in the vehicle based on a face image captured of the driver's face (Paragraph [0057] teaches a presentation information setting unit identifying the driver based on a facial image of the driver),
wherein the use history and the degree of understanding are defined for each driver (Paragraph [0045] teaches data relating to driver skill including the number of years since obtaining a license and driving frequency and the driver answering questions to a questionnaire and storing the results), and
wherein the use information acquisition unit acquires the use history or the degree of understanding corresponding to the driver identified by the driver identification unit (Paragraph [0057] teaches a presentation information setting unit identifying the driver based on a facial image of the driver to search for driver skill level information). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kuwahara with the facial imaging of Subaru because selecting output data based on a driver’s skill level or understanding of a target driving operation makes it easier to select appropriate information for intrinsic motivation of the driver (Paragraph [0098]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwahara (US PG Pub #2023/0192109) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ebina (US PG Pub #2017/0021837).
As to claim 4, depending from the support information presentation apparatus according to claim 1, Kuwahara does not explicitly teach wherein, when presenting the support information, the presentation control unit further presents, as an illustration, an operation portion among operation portions that a driver operates for driving operation of the vehicle, the operation portion being supported by the available driving support function.
In the field of a vehicle information presenting apparatus, Ebina teaches wherein, when presenting the support information, the presentation control unit further presents, as an illustration, an operation portion among operation portions that a driver operates for driving operation of the vehicle, the operation portion being supported by the available driving support function (Paragraph [0100] teaches displaying an image of a steering wheel or pedal so the driver knows which component of the vehicle to operate when transitioning driving modes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kuwahara with the display of Ebina because this allows for a smooth transition between driving modes (Paragraph [0100]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nishijima et al. (US PG Pub #2018/0033327) teach displaying an indication of highway conditions, weather conditions, and traffic conditions, along with requesting whether to turn on adaptive controls (Paragraph [0105]).
Contact Information
/RYAN W SHERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688