DETAILED ACTION
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 9 and 17 recite the limitation “based on braking torques applied to the left side wheels being different from braking torques applied to the right side wheels” renders the claims indefinite; since the claims recited there are right side wheels and left side wheels of first axle and second axle. Therefore, the Applicant must clarify that which axle (first or second axle) can be used for this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-20, as far as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LO (US 2024/0227808 A1).
Regarding claim 1, notes Figure , a brake device [brake system] comprising: a first brake module [first one of the brake circuits] and a second brake module [second one of the brake circuits] respectively associated with braking of right side and left side wheels of a first axle of a vehicle (100) [para. 0009]; a third brake module [third one of the brake circuits] and a fourth brake module [fourth one of the brake circuits] respectively associated with braking of right side and left side wheels of a second axle of the vehicle (100) [Figure 3 and para. 0057 teaches brake controllers and/or assemblies (220) may each be referred to as a brake circuit]; and a controller (104) [para. 0047 teaches the vehicle control module (104) may control operation of a propulsion system (139) that includes an engine (140), a converter/generator (142), a transmission (144), and/or electric motors (160), as well as control operation of a brake actuator system (158) and/or a steering system (162) according to parameters set by the modules (103, 104, 105, 111, 112, 116, 118, 119)] configured to control the first, second, third, and fourth brake modules (220) based on a pedal signal associated with movement of a brake pedal [para. 0050 teaches a brake actuator (170) may include a traditional style brake pedal; and para. 0051 teaches the vehicle control module (104) may determine various parameters including a vehicle speed, and engine speed, an engine torque, yaw rate, a gear state, an accelerometer position, a brake pedal position, an amount of regenerative (charge) power, and/or other information], wherein the controller (104) is configured to: based on identifying a failure of at least one of the first, second, third and fourth brake modules [para. 0061 teaches the sensors are monitors to detect when a failure exists in one or more of the brake circuits], request a driving device [brake actuator system (158)] of the vehicle to perform regenerative braking of a wheel (306) associated with a with-failure brake module from among the first, second, third, and fourth brake modules [Figure 6; at 608, if there has been a braking system failure or not; Further see para. 0078-0079] and control a braking torque of a without-failure brake module from among the first, second, third and fourth brake modules [Figure 6; at 608, if there has been a braking system failure or not; Further see para. 0078-0079], and based on braking torques applied to the left side wheels being different from braking torques applied to the right side wheels, request a steering device [steering system (162)] of the vehicle to steer the vehicle [Figures 6 and/or 7].
Regarding claim 2, as discussed in claim 1, LO invention further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: obtain a driver required braking torque based on the pedal signal, obtain a maximum regenerative braking torque of the driving device, and request the driving device to perform the regenerative braking based on whether the driver required braking torque is less than or equal to the maximum regenerative braking torque [Figure 6 describes a braking stability method for vehicle; see explanation in para. 0074-0092].
Regarding claim 3, as discussed in claim 1, notes Figure 6, LO invention further teaches wherein the controller is configured to request the driving device to apply a regenerative braking torque corresponding to the driver required braking torque to the wheel associated with the with-failure brake module [para. 0079], when the driver required braking torque is less than or equal to the maximum regenerative braking torque [para. 0088].
Regarding claim 4, as discussed in claim 1, notes Figure 6, LO invention further teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the without-failure brake module to apply a braking torque corresponding to the driver required braking torque [para. 0079], when the driver required braking torque is less than or equal to the maximum regenerative braking torque [para. 0088].
Regarding claim 5, as discussed in claim 1, notes Figure 6, LO invention further teaches wherein the controller is configured to request the driving device to apply a regenerative braking torque corresponding to the maximum regenerative braking torque to the wheel associated with the with-failure brake module, when the driver required braking torque exceeds the maximum regenerative braking torque [para. 0079-0083].
Regarding claim 6, as discussed in claim 1, notes Figure 6, LO invention further teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the without-failure brake module to apply a braking torque corresponding to a difference between the driver required braking torque and the maximum regenerative braking torque, when the driver required braking torque exceeds the maximum regenerative braking torque [para. 0088].
Regarding claim 7, as discussed in claim 1, LO invention further teaches wherein the controller is configured to request the steering device of the vehicle to steer the vehicle, when the with-failure brake module includes two brake modules provided on a same side of the first and second axles [Figures 6 and/or 7].
Regarding claim 8, as discussed in claim 1, LO invention further teaches wherein the controller is configured not to request the steering device of the vehicle to steer the vehicle, when the with-failure brake module includes two brake modules provided on a different side of the first and second axles [Figures 6 and/or 7].
Regarding claims 9-16, as discussed in claims 1-9, LO invention teaches a braking stability system and method.
Regarding claims 17-20, see discussions in claims 1, 7 and 8.
Conclusion
To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
June 12, 2026
/JHH/
/Johnny H. Hoang/
Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747