DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/30/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites “a high-impedance pH sensor”, and the term “high-impedance” is a relative term which also renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-impedance” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this instant claim, it is unclear what is the impedance requirement of the pH sensor be considered as a high-impedance pH sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durm (US20160164576A1), in view of Woodward et al. (US20090101524A1) and Bohm et al. (US20120078071A1).
Regarding claim 1, Durm teaches a sensor (a sensor as shown in Fig.1 [para. 0022]), comprising:
a sensor unit (sensor 2 in Fig.1 [para. 0022]) including:
a first connection unit (a plug element 6 in Fig.1 [para. 0022]), and
a cable unit (counter plug 7 covered by the tunable bayonet joint 17 as shown in Figs.1-2 [para. 0022-0024]), including:
a second connection unit (counter plug 7 in Fig.1 [para. 0022]) on a side of the cable unit facing the sensor unit during operation (see Fig.1); and
a permanent magnet on a side ( a permanent magnet 11 is arranged inside the bayonet joint 17 [para. 0025, Fig.3]), facing the medium during operation (since the bayonet joint 17 is facing the medium located at the left side of the sensor 2, the permanent magnet 11 arranged inside the bayonet joint 17 as shown in Figs.3-4 faces the medium during operation), on an inside of the housing of the cable unit (permanent magnet 11 is arranged inside the bayonet joint 17 [para. 0025, Fig.3]), wherein the permanent magnet is designed to generate a magnetic field (permanent magnet is configured to generate a magnetic field),
wherein the sensor unit and the cable unit are designed to be mechanically and electrically connected to one another via an interface (Fig.1 shows that the sensor unit and the cable unit are designed to be mechanically and electrically connected to one another via an interface between the plug element 6 and the counter plug 7).
Durm does not explicitly teach: (1) the sensor unit including a sensor element;
a reference electrode, wherein the sensor element and the reference electrode are arranged on a side of the sensor unit facing a medium during operation; an evaluation electronics; and an electrical connection that is designed to connect the evaluation electronics to the sensor element and to the reference electrode; wherein the evaluation electronics and the first connection unit are arranged on a side of the sensor unit facing away from the medium during operation of the sensor unit, and wherein the sensor unit is configured to detect a potential difference between the sensor element and the reference electrode; and (2) wherein the electrical connection of the sensor unit includes a reed switch and is designed to be switched between an electrically conductive state and an electrically non-conductive state, and wherein the reed switch is designed to assume the electrically conductive state in the presence of the magnetic field of the permanent magnet and to assume the electrically non-conductive state as soon as a magnetic field strength at the reed switch falls below a threshold value.
Woodward teaches a sensor unit (pH probe as shown in Fig.4 [para. 0036]) including a sensing element (active electrode 111 in Fig.4 [para. 0040]), a reference electrode 112 [para. 0041], wherein the sensor element and the reference electrode are arranged on a side of the sensor unit facing a medium during operation (In operation, active area 101 of probe 150 is dipped into the sample whose pH will be determined [para. 0040]; Fig.4 shows the active electrode 111 and the reference electrode 112 are arranged on a side of the sensor unit facing a medium located in the active area 101 during operation); evaluation electronics (circuitry 110 in Fig.4 [para. 0039]); an electrical connection that is designed to connect the evaluation electronics to the sensor element and to the reference electrode (Fig.4 shows the electrodes 111 and 112 are electrically connected to the circuitry 110); wherein the sensor unit is configured to detect a potential difference between the sensor element and the reference electrode (A potential difference [i.e., voltage] between the active and reference glass electrodes is thereby formed, and the voltage potential between the electrodes is directly related to the ion concentration of the solution. The voltage potential can be processed according to a table, formula, or other algorithm to arrive at an ionic concentration measurement, such as a pH value [para. 0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the sensor unit in Durm with an ionic pH sensor unit including a sensor element, a reference electrode, wherein the sensor element and the reference electrode are arranged on a side of the sensor unit facing a medium during operation; evaluation electronics; an electrical connection that is designed to connect the evaluation electronics to the sensor element and to the reference electrode; wherein the sensor unit is configured to detect a potential difference between the sensor element and the reference electrode, as taught Woodward, since it would allow to determine an ionic measurement of the external test fluid (abstract in Woodward).
Since the modified sensor unit has the evaluation electronics and the first connection unit 6 at a side opposite to the side of the medium, the evaluation electronics and the first connection unit are arranged on a side of the sensor unit facing away from the medium during operation of the sensor unit.
Modified Durm is silent to wherein the electrical connection of the sensor unit includes a reed switch and is designed to be switched between an electrically conductive state and an electrically non-conductive state, and wherein the reed switch is designed to assume the electrically conductive state in the presence of the magnetic field of the permanent magnet and to assume the electrically non-conductive state as soon as a magnetic field strength at the reed switch falls below a threshold value.
Bohm teaches a continuous analyte monitoring system (title) comprising sensor electronic module configured to switch between a first mode and a second mode, wherein in the first mode the measurement circuitry is coupled to the continuous analyte sensor, and wherein in the second mode the measurement circuitry is decoupled from the continuous analyte sensor [para. 0008]. The switch is a reed switch, wherein placing the switch in the first state comprises placing a magnet in a proximity to the reed switch, and wherein placing the switch in the second state comprises removing the magnet from a proximity to the reed switch [para. 0026]. As illustrated in the embodiment of FIG. 5A, sensor electronics module 12 includes reed switch 520 configured to switch between a first state (e.g., closed state) when a magnetic force is applied to the reed switch and second state (e.g., open state) when the magnetic force is removed or sufficiently diminished [para. 0166 ]. Thus, Bohm teaches a reed switch designed to be switched between an electrically conductive state and an electrically non-conductive state, and wherein the reed switch is designed to assume the electrically conductive state in the presence of the magnetic field of the permanent magnet and to assume the electrically non-conductive state as soon as a magnetic field strength at the reed switch falls below a threshold value in order to couple/decouple the electrical connection between the measurement circuitry and the analyte sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a reed switch designed to be switched between an electrically conductive state and an electrically non-conductive state, and wherein the reed switch is designed to assume the electrically conductive state in the presence of the magnetic field of the permanent magnet and to assume the electrically non-conductive state as soon as a magnetic field strength at the reed switch falls below a threshold value in order to couple/decouple the electrical connection between the measurement circuitry (the evaluation electronics) and the analyte sensor (the sensor element), as taught by Bohm, since it would allow to switch between a measurement mode and a low power mode and provide power saving features (abstract in Bohm).
Regarding claim 2, modified Durm teaches the sensor according to claim 1, and Durm wherein the first connection unit is designed as a first inductance or as a first plug connection (plug element 6 in Fig.1 [para. 0022]; the plug-in connection comprises an inductive interface for data and/or energy exchange within the counter plug, along with a complementary inductive sensor interface of the plug element [para. 0015]), and the second connection unit is designed as a second inductance or as a second plug connection (counter plug 7 in Fig.1 [para. 0022]; the plug-in connection comprises an inductive interface for data and/or energy exchange within the counter plug, along with a complementary inductive sensor interface of the plug element [para. 0015]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Durm teaches the sensor according to claim 2, wherein the electrical connection is an inductive connection mediated via a changing magnetic field between the first inductance and the second inductance when the first and the second connection units are mechanically connected to one another (as outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above, the reed switch is designed to be switched between the electrically conductive state and the electrically non-conductive state by adjusting the distance of the magnet from the reed switch to change the magnetic field [para. 0026 in Bohm]. Durm also teaches a change in a magnetic field when the bayonet joint is opened or the plug-in connection is disconnected [para. 0007]. Thus, the electrical connection is an inductive connection mediated via a changing magnetic field between the first inductance and the second inductance when the first and the second connection units are mechanically connected to one another).
Regarding claim 7, modified Durm teaches the sensor according to claim 1, wherein the sensor element is designed as an electrochemical sensor element (As outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above, Woodward teaches wherein the sensor element is designed as an ionic probe, which is an electrochemical sensor element).
Regarding claim 9, modified Durm teaches the sensor according to claim 1, and Durm teaches wherein the mechanical connection between the sensor unit and the cable unit is releasable (Only a short turn has to be performed in order to release the bayonet joint from the counter plug and to reconnect them again [para. 0013]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Durm teaches the sensor according to claim 9, and Durm teaches wherein the mechanical connection is designed as a plug connection or as a bayonet lock (When the bayonet joint or the plug-in connection is released, this contactless connection is interrupted [para. 0012]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Durm teaches the sensor according to claim 1, wherein the sensor is a high-impedance pH sensor (as outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above, Woodward teaches wherein the sensor is a high-impedance pH sensor [pH probe 150 as shown in Fig.4 [para. 0036]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durm, Woodward and Bohm, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Pechstein et al. (US20020102884A1) and Huffstetler et al. (US20150057509A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Durm teaches the sensor according to claim 2, and is silent to wherein the second inductance is designed as a cylindrical coil and is arranged in the housing of the cable unit.
Pechstein teaches a connector comprising a plug element and a socket element which can be detachably connected to the plug element for connection of a transmission line to at least one sensor, wherein the connector utilizes an inductive contactless signal transmission between the plug element and the socket element. (abstract and Figs. 1-2). In the embodiment from FIG. 1 the signal is transmitted inductively. To do this, the plug element 4 has a first coil element 8 with the first part of a ferrite core transformer. The socket element 5 has a second coil element 9 with the second part of a ferrite core transformer. The first coil element 8 can also be regarded as the primary side of the transformer and the second coil element 9 as the secondary side of the transformer [para. 0043 and claim 5].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second inductance designed as a coil and is arranged in the housing of the cable unit, as taught by Pechstein, since Pechstein teaches the suitable inductive connector using coil elements arranged respectively in the first and second connection units [para. 0017, 0043].
Pechstein is silent to wherein the coil is a cylindrical coil. A typical coil of wires is shaped like a cylinder. Furthermore, the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04). The limitation of “cylindrical” shape is further rejected in view of Huffstetler as outlined in the following.
Huffstetler teaches the inductive element 114 may comprise a coil 220. In some embodiments, the coil 220 is formed around a ferrite core 222. Although core 222 is ferrite in some embodiments, in other embodiments, other core materials may alternatively be used. In some embodiments, coil 220 is not formed around a core. Although coil 220 is illustrated as a cylindrical coil in FIGS. 4 and 5 [para. 0047].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a cylindrical coil as the coil of the second inductance, since Huffstetler teaches the suitable cylindrical shape for the coil used for the inductive element [para. 0047].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durm, Woodward and Bohm, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of ElectronicDesign (What is a reed relay?, March 23, 2016 from Electronic Design).
Regarding claim 5, modified Durm teaches the sensor according to claim 1, and is silent to wherein the reed switch includes reed plates which comprise a ferromagnetic material selected from iron, nickel, cobalt, or an alloy thereof.
ElectronicDesign teaches the reed switch has two shaped metal blades made of a ferromagnetic material (roughly 50:50 nickel iron) (the 2nd paragraph in page 2). Thus, ElectronicDesign teaches wherein the reed switch includes reed plates which comprise a ferromagnetic material selected from iron, nickel, or an alloy thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reed switch to include reed plates which comprise a ferromagnetic material of roughly 50:50 nickel/iron, as taught by ElectronicDesign, which teaches a suitable design of the reed switch.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durm, Woodward, Bohm and ElectronicDesign, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Posey et al. (US6126647A).
Regarding claim 6, modified Durm teaches the sensor according to claim 5, and is silent to wherein the reed switch has a shielding against magnetic fields from an environment.
Posey teaches a magnetic reed switch including relatively stiff reeds 252 and 254, and the reed switch is disposed within a ferrous metal housing 270, which acts a magnetic shield to prevent premature closure of the reeds 252, 254 by the magnetic field associated with the external permanent magnet 34 (see FIGS. 9 and 10) (Col. 4 Ln 42-55; claim 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a shielding against magnetic fields from an environment to the reed switch, as taught by Posey, since it would prevent the magnetic reed switch from actuating from the environment (claim 13 in Posey).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durm, Woodward, and Bohm, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pechstein et al. (US20020102884A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Durm teaches the sensor according to claim 1, and is silent to wherein the sensor is designed to transmit energy unidirectionally from the cable unit to the sensor unit and data bidirectionally.
Pechstein teaches a connector comprising a plug element and a socket element which can be detachably connected to the plug element for connection of a transmission line to at least one sensor, wherein the connector utilizes an inductive contactless signal transmission between the plug element and the socket element. (abstract and Figs. 1-2). Pechstein further teaches wherein the sensor is designed to transmit energy unidirectionally from the cable unit to the sensor unit (To transmit the power supply signal, the second coil element 9 is supplied with a certain frequency. The power supply signal is transmitted with this frequency to the first coil element 8 and then rectified. There are suitable electronics 10 in the plug element 4 for rectification. The rectified power supply signal is used as the power supply voltage for the electronics 10 within the plug and for the sensor 3 [para. 0044 ]) and data bidirectionally (further including a means provided in said plug element and said socket element for accomplishing digital signal transmission between said plug element and said socket element (claim 15). To be able to accomplish bidirectional signal transmission, the plug element 4 has a transmitting element 14 a of a first optical coupler and a receiving element 15 b of a second optical coupler. The socket element 5 comprises a corresponding receiving element 14 b of the first optical coupler and the transmitting element 15 a of the second optical coupler. The plug element 4 and the socket element 5 have housing areas 16, 17 which consist of a material which is optically transmissive at least for the frequency range which is relevant for signal transmission [para. 0048]). The connector can be used for pH, pressure, temperature, cloudiness, chloride, oxygen, conductivity and any other sensors [para. 0010].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor designed to transmit energy unidirectionally from the cable unit to the sensor unit and data bidirectionally, as taught by Pechstein, since it would allow to transmit a power supply signal to the sensor [para. 0010 in Peschstein] and transmit bidirectional signal [para. 0048 in Peschstein].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durm (US20160164576A1), in view of Woodward et al. (US20090101524A1), Bohm et al. (US20120078071A1), and Peschstein.
Regarding claim 12, Durm teaches a method for commissioning a sensor (a method for commissioning a sensor as shown in Fig.1 [para. 0022]), comprising:
providing the sensor (the sensor as shown in Fig.1), including:
a sensor unit (sensor unit 2 as shown in Fig.1 [para. 0022]) including:
a first connection unit (a plug element 6 in Fig.1 [para. 0022]), and
a cable unit (counter plug 7 covered by the tunable bayonet joint 17 as shown in Figs.1-2 [para. 0022-0024]), including:
a second connection unit (counter plug 7 in Fig.1 [para. 0022]) on a side of the cable unit facing the sensor unit during operation (see Fig.1); and
a permanent magnet on a side ( a permanent magnet 11 is arranged inside the bayonet joint 17 [para. 0025, Fig.3]), facing the medium during operation (since the bayonet joint 17 is facing the medium located at the left side of the sensor 2, the permanent magnet 11 arranged inside the bayonet joint 17 as shown in Figs.3-4 faces the medium during operation), on an inside of the housing of the cable unit (permanent magnet 11 is arranged inside the bayonet joint 17 [para. 0025, Fig.3]), wherein the permanent magnet is designed to generate a magnetic field (permanent magnet is configured to generate a magnetic field),
wherein the sensor unit and the cable unit are designed to be mechanically and electrically connected to one another via an interface (Fig.1 shows that the sensor unit and the cable unit are designed to be mechanically and electrically connected to one another via an interface between the plug element 6 and the counter plug 7),
mechanically connecting the sensor unit and the cable unit to each other, wherein, through the mechanical connection, the sensor unit is connected to the cable unit via the interface via the first connection unit and the second connection unit (The plug-in connection 1 is designed as a plug-in coupling consisting of a plug element 6 and a counter plug 7. The counter plug 7 comprises a complementary plug element that fits into the plug element 6 [para. 0022]; Fig.1 shows mechanically connecting the sensor unit and the cable unit to each other via the plug element 6 and the counter plug 7).
Durm further teaches the plug-in connection comprises an inductive interface for data and/or energy exchange within the counter plug, along with a complementary inductive sensor interface of the plug element [para. 0015; claim 20]
Durm does not explicitly teach: (1) the sensor unit including a sensor element;
a reference electrode, wherein the sensor element and the reference electrode are arranged on a side of the sensor unit facing a medium during operation; an evaluation electronics; and an electrical connection that is designed to connect the evaluation electronics to the sensor element and to the reference electrode; wherein the evaluation electronics and the first connection unit are arranged on a side of the sensor unit facing away from the medium during operation of the sensor unit, and wherein the sensor unit is configured to detect a potential difference between the sensor element and the reference electrode; (2) wherein the electrical connection of the sensor unit includes a reed switch and is designed to be switched between an electrically conductive state and an electrically non-conductive state, and wherein the reed switch is designed to assume the electrically conductive state in the presence of the magnetic field of the permanent magnet and to assume the electrically non-conductive state as soon as a magnetic field strength at the reed switch falls below a threshold value; and bringing the reed switch into the electrical conductive state; and (3) supplying energy from the cable unit to the sensor unit via the interface and transmitting data bidirectionally between the sensor unit and the cable unit.
Woodward teaches a sensor unit (pH probe as shown in Fig.4 [para. 0036]) including a sensing element (active electrode 111 in Fig.4 [para. 0040]), a reference electrode 112 [para. 0041], wherein the sensor element and the reference electrode are arranged on a side of the sensor unit facing a medium during operation (In operation, active area 101 of probe 150 is dipped into the sample whose pH will be determined [para. 0040]; Fig.4 shows the active electrode 111 and the reference electrode 112 are arranged on a side of the sensor unit facing a medium located in the active area 101 during operation); evaluation electronics (circuitry 110 in Fig.4 [para. 0039]); an electrical connection that is designed to connect the evaluation electronics to the sensor element and to the reference electrode (Fig.4 shows the electrodes 111 and 112 are electrically connected to the circuitry 110); wherein the sensor unit is configured to detect a potential difference between the sensor element and the reference electrode (A potential difference [i.e., voltage] between the active and reference glass electrodes is thereby formed, and the voltage potential between the electrodes is directly related to the ion concentration of the solution. The voltage potential can be processed according to a table, formula, or other algorithm to arrive at an ionic concentration measurement, such as a pH value [para. 0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the sensor unit in Durm with an ionic pH sensor unit including a sensor element, a reference electrode, wherein the sensor element and the reference electrode are arranged on a side of the sensor unit facing a medium during operation; evaluation electronics; an electrical connection that is designed to connect the evaluation electronics to the sensor element and to the reference electrode; wherein the sensor unit is configured to detect a potential difference between the sensor element and the reference electrode, as taught Woodward, since it would allow to determine an ionic measurement of the external test fluid (abstract in Woodward).
Since the modified sensor unit has the evaluation electronics and the first connection unit 6 at a side opposite to the side of the medium, the evaluation electronics and the first connection unit are arranged on a side of the sensor unit facing away from the medium during operation of the sensor unit.
Modified Durm is silent to: (2) wherein the electrical connection of the sensor unit includes a reed switch and is designed to be switched between an electrically conductive state and an electrically non-conductive state, and wherein the reed switch is designed to assume the electrically conductive state in the presence of the magnetic field of the permanent magnet and to assume the electrically non-conductive state as soon as a magnetic field strength at the reed switch falls below a threshold value; and bringing the reed switch into the electrical conductive state; and (3) supplying energy from the cable unit to the sensor unit via the interface and transmitting data bidirectionally between the sensor unit and the cable unit.
Bohm teaches a continuous analyte monitoring system (title) comprising sensor electronic module configured to switch between a first mode and a second mode, wherein in the first mode the measurement circuitry is coupled to the continuous analyte sensor, and wherein in the second mode the measurement circuitry is decoupled from the continuous analyte sensor [para. 0008]. The switch is a reed switch, wherein placing the switch in the first state comprises placing a magnet in a proximity to the reed switch, and wherein placing the switch in the second state comprises removing the magnet from a proximity to the reed switch [para. 0026]. As illustrated in the embodiment of FIG. 5A, sensor electronics module 12 includes reed switch 520 configured to switch between a first state (e.g., closed state) when a magnetic force is applied to the reed switch and second state (e.g., open state) when the magnetic force is removed or sufficiently diminished [para. 0166 ]. Thus, Bohm teaches a reed switch designed to be switched between an electrically conductive state and an electrically non-conductive state, and wherein the reed switch is designed to assume the electrically conductive state in the presence of the magnetic field of the permanent magnet and to assume the electrically non-conductive state as soon as a magnetic field strength at the reed switch falls below a threshold value in order to couple/decouple the electrical connection between the measurement circuitry and the analyte sensor, and bringing the reed switch into the electrical conductive state (wherein in the first mode the measurement circuitry is coupled to the continuous analyte sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a reed switch designed to be switched between an electrically conductive state and an electrically non-conductive state, and wherein the reed switch is designed to assume the electrically conductive state in the presence of the magnetic field of the permanent magnet and to assume the electrically non-conductive state as soon as a magnetic field strength at the reed switch falls below a threshold value in order to couple/decouple the electrical connection between the measurement circuitry (the evaluation electronics) and the analyte sensor (the sensor element), as taught by Bohm, since it would allow to switch between a measurement mode and a low power mode and provide power saving features (abstract in Bohm).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method by providing the stop of bringing the reed switch into the electrical conductive state, as taught by Bohm since it would couple/connect the measurement circuitry (the evaluation electronics) to the analyte sensor (the sensor unit) for performing the measurement [para. 0008 in Bohm].
Modified Durm is silent to: (3) supplying energy from the cable unit to the sensor unit via the interface and transmitting data bidirectionally between the sensor unit and the cable unit.
Pechstein teaches a connector comprising a plug element and a socket element which can be detachably connected to the plug element for connection of a transmission line to at least one sensor, wherein the connector utilizes an inductive contactless signal transmission between the plug element and the socket element. (abstract and Figs. 1-2). Pechstein further teaches supplying energy from the cable unit to the sensor unit via the interface (To transmit the power supply signal, the second coil element 9 is supplied with a certain frequency. The power supply signal is transmitted with this frequency to the first coil element 8 and then rectified. There are suitable electronics 10 in the plug element 4 for rectification. The rectified power supply signal is used as the power supply voltage for the electronics 10 within the plug and for the sensor 3 [para. 0044 ]) and transmitting data bidirectionally between the sensor unit and the cable unit (further including a means provided in said plug element and said socket element for accomplishing digital signal transmission between said plug element and said socket element [claim 15]. To be able to accomplish bidirectional signal transmission, the plug element 4 has a transmitting element 14 a of a first optical coupler and a receiving element 15 b of a second optical coupler. The socket element 5 comprises a corresponding receiving element 14 b of the first optical coupler and the transmitting element 15 a of the second optical coupler. The plug element 4 and the socket element 5 have housing areas 16, 17 which consist of a material which is optically transmissive at least for the frequency range which is relevant for signal transmission [para. 0048]). The connector can be used for pH, pressure, temperature, cloudiness, chloride, oxygen, conductivity and any other sensors [para. 0010].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and the sensor to supply energy from the cable unit to the sensor unit via the interface and transmitting data bidirectionally between the sensor unit and the cable unit, as taught by Pechstein, since it would allow to transmit a power supply signal to the sensor [para. 0010 in Peschstein] and transmit bidirectional signal [para. 0048 in Peschstein].
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Geisslet et al. (US20180366983A1) teaches a connection element comprising an essentially cylindrical core, a primary coil for transmission and reception of data and/or for transmission of energy from or to a secondary coil. Buschnakowski et al. (US20100281987A1) teaches A device for determining or monitoring one or more physical and/or chemical, process variables comprising a plug-in element and a socket element. Lee et al. (US20150014164A1) teaches analyte sensing device.
/SHIZHI QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795