DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (KR 20110033326A) in view of Hoffmann (DE 19638778A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kang et al. teaches a system to couple a device to a side manway of a tank, shown in figure 5) comprising a fluid, the system comprising a housing 100, 110 comprising a first end (lower end of 100) and a second end (upper end of 110), the first end (lower end of 100) configured to couple to a gate valve (capable of coupling to gate valve) and the second end (upper end oof 110) having an aperture (shown in figure 5 above lead line 110), and a chamber defined between the first end and the second end (figure 5) and extending along a longitudinal axis (figure 5), a rod 40 (figure 10) disposed within the aperture to create a seal between the chamber and an exterior of the housing (figure 5), the rod 40 configured to move along the longitudinal axis in either a first direction toward the first end of the housing (figure 5) or in a second direction toward the second end of the housing (figure 1), a barrier at 240 configured to move between an expanded state (figure 11) and a retracted state (figure 10), the barrier configured to be disposed inside the housing in the retracted state and comprising a central shaft at 220, 210 having a first end (lower end) and a second end (upper end), the second end configured to engage with the rod at 60, a canopy 240 having a central edge coupled to the first end of the central shaft at 210, 221 and extending radially from the central shaft to an outer edge of the canopy (figure 11), a support rib 242b extending radially along the canopy, and an actuating support 250 having a first end and a second end, the first end coupled to the support rib 242b and the second end slidably coupled to the central shaft 221, and an actuator230 configured to move the second end of the actuating support (through rotation of 221) between a first position relative to the central shaft (figure 10) and a second position closer to the first end of the central shaft so as to expand the canopy outward (figure 11) and in a radial direction away from the central shaft to the expanded state (figure 11) or contract the canopy inward and in the radial direction toward the central shaft to the retracted state (figure 10).
Further regarding claim 1, Kang et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the sealing surface coupled to a surface of the canopy. Hoffmann teaches that it is known to provide a system with a sealing surface coupled to a surface of the canopy (see element 13 in figure 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Kang et al. with the sealing surface being coupled to a surface of the canopy, as taught by Hoffmann, in order to improve the blocking of the flow through the pipe.
Regarding claim 2, the actuator 230 comprises a runner 230 that is moveable toward the first end of the central shaft and the second end of the central shaft in response to a rotation of the rod while the rod is engaged with the central shaft (figures 10, 11), the rotation of the rod in a first direction, while engaged with the central shaft, moves the second end of the support rib 242b toward the second position relative to the central shaft and thereby moves the canopy toward the expanded state (figure 11), and the rotation of the rod in a second direction opposite the first direction, while engaged with the central shaft, moves the second end of the support rib 242b toward the first position relative to the central shaft and thereby moves the canopy toward the retracted state (figure 10).
Regarding claim 3, the central shaft 210, 221 further comprises a hub 213, 221 disposed within the central shaft and having an open state and a closed state (figures 10, 11), the hub configured to secure the support rib (via connections with 250, 230) in the second position and the canopy in the expanded state, wherein the rod is configured to toggle the hub between the open state or the closed state (figures 10, 11).
Regarding claim 5, the canopy 240 further comprises a fluid-facing surface configured to face toward an interior of the tank when in the expanded state (figure 11) inside the tank and a tank-facing surface, opposite the fluid-facing surface, configured to face toward the exterior of the tank when in the expanded state inside the tank (figure 11), and a sealing surface (as modified by Hoffmann above) coupled to the tank-facing surface of the canopy (coupled to both surfaces at outer perimeter, as taught by Hoffman) proximate to the outer edge of the canopy, the sealing surface configured to engage a wall of the tank around the side manway to form a fluid-tight seal (figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, the modified system of Kang et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the second pressure sensor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified assembly of Kang et al. with the second pressure sensor, in order to monitor the conditions in different parts of the tank, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 7, the sealing surface extends continuously around a perimeter of the outer edge of the canopy (figure 5).
Regarding claim 8, the housing further comprises a valve, shown extending from 110 in figure 1, configured to seal or unseal the chamber, wherein the valve is configured to create a pressure differential across the canopy to secure the canopy in the expanded state against the tank in response to an unsealing of the chamber while the canopy is in the expanded state inside the tank (operated by pneumatic pressure; Abstract).
Regarding claim 15, Kang et al. teaches a method to couple a device to a side manway of a tank comprising a fluid (figure 1), the method comprising providing a barrier 240 that is engageable with a rod 40, moveable between an expanded state (figure 11) and a retracted state (figure 10), and disposed within a housing in the retracted state (figure 10), providing a controller communicatively connected to a sensor 270 and an actuator 230 associated with the barrier, coupling the housing to a gate valve of the tank such that the rod extends out of the housing (figure 1) via a seal and away from the tank (figure 6), receiving, by the controller, a first pressure value above a pressure threshold, 270, responsive to receiving the first pressure value, inserting the barrier into the tank by moving the rod towards the tank (figure 5), receiving, by the controller, a first distance value indicating that the barrier is within the tank (via information acquired from 270), responsive to receiving the first distance value (“infrared distance sensor”), sending a first signal by the controller to the actuator to move the barrier from the retracted state (figure 10) to the expanded state (figure 11), receiving, by the controller, a second distance value (from “infrared distance sensor”) indicating that the barrier is engaging an inner wall of the tank around the side manway (figure 5), responsive to receiving the second distance value, opening a valve of the housing, receiving, by the controller, an indication of a pressure differential across the barrier above a pressure differential threshold (air tube installed in accordance with the fluid pressure; “Tech-Solutions” section), responsive to receiving the indication of the pressure differential above the pressure threshold, removing the rod, the housing, and the gate valve of the tank, and installing the device to the side manway (the device is installed and then removed from the housing when shut-off function is complete).
Further regarding claim 15, Kang et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the sealing surface coupled to a surface of the canopy. Hoffmann teaches that it is known to provide a system with a sealing surface coupled to a surface of the canopy (see element 13 in figure 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Kang et al. with the sealing surface being coupled to a surface of the canopy, as taught by Hoffmann, in order to improve the blocking of the flow through the pipe.
The modified system of Kang et al. teaches the barrier comprising a canopy extending radially from a central shaft 260 to an outer edge of the canopy, the canopy comprising a sealing surface (as modified by Hoffmann above) coupled to a surface of the canopy proximate the outer edge (see element 13 in figure 4 of Hoffmann) and extending around a perimeter of the outer edge of the canopy to engage an inner wall of the tank around the side manway to form a seal (as shown in figure 4 of Hoffmann).
Regarding claim 16, the controller receives the first pressure value via a pressure sensor 270 within the housing.
Regarding claim 17, the controller receives the first distance value and the second distance value via a proximity sensor coupled to the barrier (“infrared distance sensor”).
Regarding claim 18, Kang et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the second pressure sensor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Kang et al. with the second pressure sensor, in order to monitor the conditions in different parts of the tank, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Further regarding claim 18, the surface of the canopy proximate the outer edge comprises the tank facing side of the canopy (the sealing surface is an element of the canopy). As modified above, the sealing surface of Hoffmann comprises a tank facing side of the canopy.
Regarding claim 19, coupling the housing 100, 110 to the device such that the rod extends out of the housing via the seal and away from the tank (figure 6), engaging the rod 40 with the barrier (figure 5), pressurizing the housing (with air tube) until the controller detects at least one of a third pressure within the housing above a second pressure threshold, or a second pressure differential across the barrier below a second pressure differential threshold, responsive to receiving at least one of the third pressure within the housing above the second pressure threshold or the second pressure differential across the barrier below the second pressure differential threshold, sending a second signal by the controller to the actuator to move the barrier from the expanded state (figure 11) to the retracted state (figure 10), receiving, by the controller, a third distance value indicating that the barrier is within the housing (by information retrieved from “infrared distance sensor), responsive to receiving the third distance value, closing a valve of the device; and removing the rod, the housing, and the barrier from the device (upon completion of shut-off function).
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (KR 20110033326A) in view of Hoffmann (DE 19638778A1), as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Miller et al. (U.S. 2014/0366954).
Regarding claims 4 and 20, the modified system of Kang et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the piston configured to receive pressurized hydraulic fluid. Miller et al. teaches that it is known to move closure elements using a piston configured to receive pressurized hydraulic fluid (see paragraph [0059], [0079]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified assembly of Kang et al. with movement being caused by a piston configured to receive pressurized hydraulic fluid, as taught by Miller et al., in order to use an effective means for causing mechanical components to move.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-14 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Kang does not teach that the canopy comprises a sealing surface coupled to a surface of the canopy proximate the outer edge and extending around the perimeter of the outer edge of the canopy to engage an inner wall of the tank. The secondary reference of Hoffmann (DE 19638778A1) has been added to the rejections above for the teaching of providing a canopy with a sealing surface which extends around the perimeter of the outer edge (shown in figure 4 of Hoffmann) and engages the inner wall of the tank. This sealing surface is applied to the canopy of Kang in order to improve the sealing contact between the canopy and the tank.
Upon reviewing amended claim 9, Kang does not teach that the rod moves in a second direction, which is opposite the insertion direction, to engage the sealing surface of the barrier with the inner wall of the tank to form the seal.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIKI M ELOSHWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736