DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sixto (U.S. Publication 2014/0371799).
Sixto discloses a device (for example see Figures 48-56) comprising:
(claim 13) a plate body (102)
(claim 13) wherein the plate body extends along a longitudinal plate axis
(claim 13) the plate body including
(claim 13) a plate head region (106)
(claim 13) a mid-shaft region (108)
(claim 13) wherein the mid-shaft region has a respective width (see Figure 49)
(claim 13) wherein the mid-shaft region has a respective thickness (see Figures 50 and 56)
(claim 16) wherein the mid-shaft region has a respective bending strength (the bending strength of a substantially rectangular shape is
wherein F=axial force, L=length, b=width, and d=thickness/depth)
(claim 13) a proximal shaft region (110)
(claim 13) wherein the proximal shaft region has a respective width (see Figure 49)
(claim 13) wherein the proximal shaft region has a respective thickness (see Figure 50 and 56)
(claim 13) wherein the width of the mid-shaft region and the width of the proximal shaft region are different (see Figure 49; the width of the mid-shaft region is shown as being smaller than the thickness of the proximal shaft region)
(claim 13) wherein the thickness of the mid-shaft region and the thickness of the proximal shaft region are different (see Figures 50 and 56; the thickness/depth/height of the mid-shaft region is shown as being smaller than the thickness/depth/height of the proximal shaft region)
(claim 16) wherein the proximal shaft region has a respective bending strength (the bending strength of a substantially rectangular shape under 3 point loading is
wherein F=axial force, L=length, b=width, and d=thickness/depth; the mid-shaft region is shown as having a smaller thickness and smaller width and will therefore have a smaller bending strength relative to the proximal shaft region, i.e. the rectangular shape with a smaller thickness and depth will have a smaller bending strength than the rectangular shape with a larger thickness and depth which is a well-known engineering concept for shapes made from the same material)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sixto (U.S. Publication 2014/0371799).
Sixto discloses the invention as claimed, see above, except for the ratio of the width between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region being within a range of .7 to .9, the ration of the thickness between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region being within a range of .7 to .9, and the ratio of the bending strength between the mid-shaft region and the proximal region being within a range of .7 to .9.
Regarding the ratio of the width between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region being within a range of .7 to .9, Sixto discloses a device wherein the ratio of the width between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region is less than 1 meeting the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the mid-shaft region has a width less than the proximal shaft region, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Sixto wherein the ratio of the width between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region is between .7 and .9, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding the ratio of the thickness between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region being within a range of .7 to .9, Sixto discloses a device wherein the ratio of the thickness between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region is less than 1 meeting the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the mid-shaft region has a thickness less than the proximal shaft region, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Sixto wherein the ratio of the thickness between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region is between .7 and .9, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding the ratio of the bending strength between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region being within a range of .7 to .9, Sixto discloses a device wherein the ratio of the bending strength between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region is less than 1 meeting the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the mid-shaft region has a bending strength less than the proximal shaft region, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Sixto wherein the ratio of the bending strength between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region is between .7 and .9, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 1 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sixto (U.S. Publication 2014/0371799) in view of Tanahashi (U.S. Publication 2023/0248404).
Sixto discloses a device (for example see Figures 48-56) comprising:
(claim 1) a plate body
(claim 1) wherein the plate body extends along a longitudinal plate axis
(claim 1) the plate body including
(claim 1) a plate head region (106)
(claim 1) wherein the plate head region has a main body
(claim 9) wherein the main body includes one or more respective plate holes (250; see Figures 31-32) configured to receive respective locking members for insertion for interconnecting the device to one or more of a bone or an intramedullary nail
(claim 1) a mid-shaft region (108)
(claim 1) wherein the mid-shaft region has a respective width (see Figure 49)
(claim 1) wherein the mid-shaft region has a respective thickness (see Figure 50 and 56)
(claim 8) wherein the mid-shaft region is a solid body
(claim 1) a proximal shaft region (110)
(claim 1) wherein the proximal shaft region has a respective width (see Figure 49)
(claim 1) wherein the proximal shaft region has a respective thickness (see Figure 50 and 56)
(claim 1) wherein the width of the mid-shaft region and the width of the proximal shaft region are different (see Figure 49; the width of the mid-shaft region is shown as being smaller than the thickness of the proximal shaft region)
(claim 1) wherein the thickness of the mid-shaft region and the thickness of the proximal shaft region are different (see Figures 50 and 56; the thickness/depth/height of the mid-shaft region is shown as being smaller than the thickness/depth/height of the proximal shaft region)
(claim 6) wherein the proximal shaft region includes one or more respective plate holes (270; paragraph 131) configured to receive respective locking members (401; see Figure 30) for insertion for interconnecting the device to one or more of a bone or an intramedullary nail
(claim 7) wherein the one or more plate holes are variable angle locking holes configured to receive a variable angle locking screw for variable angle locking (see Figure 30)
Sixto discloses the invention as claimed except for the plate head region including one or more protruding tabs extending from the main body. Tanahashi teaches a device comprising a plate body including a plate head region (20) including a main body, wherein the plate head region further includes one or more protruding tabs (30, 40, and 50; for example see paragraph 88, for example see Figure 1) extending from the main body having respective plate holes configured to receive respective locking members for insertion for interconnecting the device to a bone in order to adequately support fractured bone portions (paragraph 99). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Sixto wherein the plate head region further includes one or more protruding tabs extending from the main body in view of Tanahashi in order to adequately support fractured bone portions.
Claims 2-5, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sixto (U.S. Publication 2014/0371799) in view of Tanahashi (U.S. Publication 2023/0248404).
The device of Sixto as modified by Tanahashi discloses the invention as claimed except for except for the ratio of the width between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region being within a range of .55 to 1 or .7 to .9, the ration of the thickness between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region being within a range of .33 to 1 or .7 to .9, and the ratio of the bending strength between the mid-shaft region and the proximal region being within a range of .2 to 1 or .7 to .9.
Regarding the ratio of the width between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region being within a range of .55 to 1 or .7 to .9, Sixto discloses a device wherein the ratio of the width between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region is less than 1 meeting the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the mid-shaft region has a width less than the proximal shaft region, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Sixto wherein the ratio of the width between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region is between .55 to 1 or .7 and .9, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding the ratio of the thickness between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region being within a range of .33 to 1 or .7 to .9, Sixto discloses a device wherein the ratio of the thickness between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region is less than 1 meeting the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the mid-shaft region has a thickness less than the proximal shaft region, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Sixto wherein the ratio of the thickness between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region is between .33 to 1 or .7 and .9, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding the ratio of the bending strength between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region being within a range of .2 to 1 or .7 to .9, Sixto discloses a device wherein the ratio of the bending strength between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region is less than 1 meeting the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the mid-shaft region has a bending strength less than the proximal shaft region, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Sixto wherein the ratio of the bending strength between the mid-shaft region and the proximal shaft region is between .2 to 1 or .7 and .9, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sixto (U.S. Publication 2014/0371799) in view of Tanahashi (U.S. Publication 2023/0248404).
Sixto discloses a device (for example see Figures 46-58) comprising:
(claim 17) a plate body
(claim 17) wherein the plate body extends along a longitudinal plate axis
(claim 17) wherein the plate body includes
(claim 17) a plate head region (106)
(claim 17) wherein the plate head region includes
(claim 17) a main body
(claim 17) a mid-shaft region (108)
(claim 17) a proximal shaft region (110)
Sixto discloses the invention as claimed except for the plate head region including one or more protruding tabs extending from the main body. Tanahashi teaches a device comprising a plate body including a plate head region (20) including a main body, wherein the plate head region further includes one or more protruding tabs (30, 40, and 50; for example see paragraph 88, for example see Figure 1) extending from the main body by respective screw hole tabs (32, 42, and 52) and having respective plate holes configured to receive respective locking members for insertion for interconnecting the device to a bone in order to adequately support fractured bone portions (paragraph 99). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Sixto wherein the plate head region further includes one or more protruding tabs extending from the main body in view of Tanahashi in order to adequately support fractured bone portions.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sixto (U.S. Publication 2014/0371799) in view of Tanahashi (U.S. Publication 2023/0248404) further in view of Early (U.S. Design Patent D765,851).
The device of Sixto as modified by Tanahashi discloses the invention as claimed except for the protruding tabs being connected to a lower end of the plate head region, i.e. adjacent a mid-shaft region of the device. Early discloses a device comprising a plate body extending along a longitudinal plate axis including a plate head region having a main body and one or more protruding tabs extending from the main body, a mid-shaft region, and a proximal shaft region, wherein the one or more protruding tabs are connected to a lower end of the plate head region, i.e. adjacent to the mid-shaft region (see figure below). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Sixto as modified by Tanahashi wherein the one or more protruding tabs are connected to a lower end of the plate head region in view of Early, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for cited references the examiner felt were relevant to the application.
/NICHOLAS W WOODALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775