DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuboi et al (US 2011/0039551).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuboi et al teach a method, comprising: correlating (see figure 2, component 1074 “correlation processing unit”) a digital received signal (see figure 2, output of component 1071) with a selected data pattern (see figure 2, component 1072 “sequence selection unit), , the selected data pattern comprising one of: a predetermined data pattern or a recovered data pattern (see figure 2, and paragraph 0135); and providing an indication of quality that is at least partially based on a determined correlation between the digital received signal and the selected data pattern (see figure 2, component 1074 and 1075 paragraph 0135 - 0139).
Regarding claim 4, which inherits the limitations of claim 1, Tsuboi et al further teach comprising: mapping the determined correlation to a signal quality value; and generating the indication of signal quality at least partially based on the signal quality value (see figure 2, components 1074 and 1075 paragraph 0135 - 0139).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuboi et al (US 2011/0039551 in view of Li et al (2024/0107426).
Regarding claim 5, which inherits the limitations of claim 1, Tsuboi et al does not expressly disclose using a Finite Impulse Response filter as correlator. However, use of FIR filters as correlators is well known in art. Further, Li et al disclose a correlator comprising: providing the digital received signal to a signal input of a finite impulse response filter (see figure 5 and paragraph 0050); and providing the selected data pattern to a coefficient input of the finite impulse response filter (see figure 5 and paragraph 0050); and utilizing an output of the finite impulse response filter as a correlation signal indicative of correlation between the digital received signal and the selected data pattern (see figure 5 and paragraph 0050). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a FIR filter as correlator. The motivation or suggestion to do so is to have inherent stability and linear phase response.
Regarding claim 6, which inherits the limitations of claim 1, Tsuboi et al in view of Li et al further teach herein the correlating the digital received signal with the selected data pattern comprising: cross correlating the digital received signal with the selected data pattern (see Tsuboi et al figure 2, and Li et al figure 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8 – 16 are allowable over prior art of record.
Conclusion
JAISON . JOSEPH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2633
/JAISON JOSEPH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633