Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 11 recites that “a support rod (22) rotatably coupled to the panel (21)”. Even through the same statement found in the specification, the disclosure provides no support on how such rod (22, figure 23A) can rotate relative to the panel (21, figure 23A). They appear to be fixedly connected. Similar recitation is found in independent claim 15. Claims 13 and 14 and 16-21 are rejected as well since they depend from rejected independent claims 11 and 15 respectively.
Claims 1-11 and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim 1, lines 2-3, “a slot comprising an opening slot, wherein the opening slot comprises an opening” are redundant recitations since slot has a slot and an opening to the slot. Additionally, claim 1, line 8, “ in contact baffle” in the current amended form makes no sense since applicant deleted the term “with” in the preliminary amendment. Claims 1, line 10 and line 12, “a locking station” and “unlocking station” is vague and indefinite. It appears applicant means “a locking position” or “unlocking position”. Claims 2-10 are rejected as dependent from a rejected claim.
With respect to independent claim 11, the recitation “a second magnetic attraction portion (C2) disposed at the end “ is vague and indefinite as applicant inferentially claims there’s another magnetic attraction portion. The term “second” infers there is a another (i.e. “first) magnetic attraction portion; however, there’s no other magnetic attraction portion claimed in claim 11. Claims 13 and 14 are rejected as dependent on a rejected claim. Claim 15, lines 3-6, “a slot comprising an opening slot, wherein the opening slot comprises an opening” are redundant recitations since slot has a slot and an opening to the slot. With respect to claim 15, lines 9-10, “ in contact the baffle” makes no sense since it appears the term “with” is missing. Claims 15, line 11 and line 13, “a locking station” and “unlocking station” is vague and indefinite. It appears applicant means “a locking position” or “unlocking position”. Claims 16-21 are rejected as dependent from a rejected claim. Additionally, regarding claim 16, “the swinging member” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Skolimowski et al (US 20150076853 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Skolimowski discloses a slot structure (4), comprising a slot (4) comprising an opening slot (4 is opened in figure 5), wherein the opening slot comprises an opening (4), a locking blocker (10) disposed in the slot (4), a baffle (6) rotatably installed at the opening and comprising a side (inner surface of 6); and a locking assembly (22) is movably installed in the opening slot (4) in contact with the baffle (6), and comprising: a locking station (locking position shown in figure 3) in which the locking assembly (22) is locked to and cooperates with the locking blocker (10) and; an unlocking station (figure 5) in which the locking assembly (22) is detached from the locking blocker (10); and a first magnetic attraction portion (28) is disposed on the locking assembly (22),wherein the locking assembly (22) is configured to switch from the locking station (figure 3) to the unlocking station (figure 5) when the first magnetic attraction portion (28) is subjected to a magnetic attraction force toward the side (inner surface of 6) .
With respect to claim 4, Skolimowski discloses the vehicle of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein Skolimowski discloses the first magnetic attraction portion (28) comprises a magnetic material or iron.
With respect to claim 5, Skolimowski discloses the vehicle of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein Skolimowski discloses the slot structure (4) further comprises an elastic reset member (26) coupled between the locking assembly (22) and the baffle (6), and wherein the elastic reset member is configured to be in a compressed force storage state when the first magnetic attraction portion (28) is magnetically attracted toward the side of the baffle (figure 4).
With respect to claim 8, Skolimowski discloses the vehicle of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein Skolimowski discloses the opening slot further comprises a fastening portion (8, figure 1) configured to clamp a structure inserted into the opening slot.
With respect to claim 10, Skolimowski discloses the vehicle of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein Skolimowski discloses the slot further comprises a limiting stopper (8, figure 1) is further disposed in the slot (4), the limiting stopper (8) is disposed on the side that is of the baffle (6) and that faces away from the locking assembly (22), and the limiting stopper abuts and abutting against the baffle (8 abuts the bulb portion of 6, figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 11 and 14-21 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skolimowski et al (US 20150076853 A1) in view of Richardson (US 10780840 B1).
With respect to claims 6, 7, and 11, Skolimowski discloses a support (30) comprising a panel (front end of 30, not shown) configured to fasten an electronic device (not shown), a support rod (30) coupled to the panel and comprising an end (34) opposite the panel and a second magnetic attraction portion (32, figure 3) disposed at the end.
However, Skolimowski does not disclose a charging port configured to charge the electronic device; a support rod rotatably coupled to the panel and comprising an end opposite the panel and a connection cable configured to connect the charging port to an external power supply.
Richardson discloses a support (sliding drawer) comprising a panel (62 assembly, 82 assembly, figures 1-2) configured to fasten an electronic device (phone) and comprising a charging port (96/98, figure 6) configured to charge the electronic device; a support rod (housing 12 and drawer 36, 38) rotatably coupled to the panel and comprising an end (24, figure 2) opposite the panel and a connection cable (figure 6) configured to connect the charging port (96/98, figure 6) to an external power supply (100 connects to a power supply/cigarette lighter of a vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the support of Skolimowski such that a charging port configured to charge the electronic device; a support rod rotatably coupled to the panel and comprising an end opposite the panel and a connection cable configured to connect the charging port to an external power supply for charging the electronic device as taught to be desirable by Richardson.
With respect to claim 14, Skolimowski and Richardson combined disclosed the support according to claim 11 as advanced above, wherein Richardson discloses the support rod (housing 12 and drawer 36, 38) comprises a crushing portion (rotatable/pivotable 56) along an extension direction of the support rod, wherein the crushing portion is configured to crush, deform (the pivotable door 56 inherently is breakable or deform upon a force that exceeds its connection to the assembly 10), or break when an impact force applied to the support rod reaches a threshold, and wherein the threshold is a force capable of failing a material of the crushing portion.
With respect to claim 15, Skolimowski discloses a vehicle, comprising: a vehicle body, comprising, a slot structure1 (4) comprising a slot comprising an opening slot (4), wherein the opening slot comprises an opening; a locking blocker (10) disposed in the slot; a baffle (6) rotatable installed at the opening and comprising a side (inner side of 6); and a locking assembly (22) movably installed in the opening slot, in contact the baffle (6), facing away from the side, and comprising a locking station (figure 3) in which the locking assembly (22) is locked to and cooperates with the locking blocker (10); an unlocking station (figure 5) in which the locking assembly is detached from the locking blocker; and a first magnetic attraction portion (28) disposed on the locking assembly (22), wherein the locking assembly (22) is configured to switch from the locking station to the unlocking station when the first magnetic attraction portion (28) is subjected to a magnetic attraction force toward the side; a support (30) comprising a panel configured to fasten an electronic device a support rod rotatably coupled to the panel and comprising an end opposite the panel and a second magnetic attraction portion disposed at the end a panel (front end of 30 not shown) and a support rod (30) that is connected to the panel, and the panel is used for an electronic device to be fastened to; and a second magnetic attraction portion (32) is disposed at one end that is of the support rod (30) and that is away from the panel (front end of 30); wherein the support rod (30) of the support is configured to be inserted into and cooperate with the opening slot (4) of the slot structure (4), and the second magnetic attraction portion (32) is configured to magnetically attract the first magnetic attraction portion (28).
However, Skolimowski does not disclose a support rod rotatably coupled to the panel.
Richardson discloses a support (10) comprising a panel (62 assembly, 82 assembly, figures 1-2) configured to fasten an electronic device (phone) and comprising a charging port (96/98, figure 6) configured to charge the electronic device; a support rod (housing 12 and drawer 36, 38) rotatably coupled to the panel and comprising an end (24, figure 2) opposite the panel and a connection cable (figure 6) configured to connect the charging port (96/98, figure 6) to an external power supply (100 connects to a power supply/cigarette lighter of a vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the support of Skolimowski such that the support rod rotatably coupled to the panel and for supporting electronic device during use and foldable when not in use as taught to be desirable by Richardson.
With respect to claim 16, Skolimowski and Richardson combined discloses the vehicle of claim 15 as advanced above, wherein Skolimowski discloses a first rotation center (24, figure 5) of the swinging member (22) is parallel to a second rotation center (14, figure 5) of the baffle (6).
With respect to claim 17, Skolimowski and Richardson combined discloses the vehicle of claim 15 as advanced above, wherein Skolimowski discloses the first magnetic attraction portion (28) comprises a magnetic material or iron.
With respect to claim 18, Skolimowski and Richardson combined discloses the vehicle of claim 15 as advanced above, wherein Skolimowski discloses the slot structure (4) further comprises an elastic reset member (26) coupled between the locking assembly (22) and the baffle (6), and wherein the elastic reset member is configured to be in a compressed force storage state when the first magnetic attraction portion (28) is magnetically attracted toward the side of the baffle (figure 4).
With respect to claim 19, Skolimowski and Richardson combined discloses the vehicle of claim 15 as advanced above, wherein Richardson discloses the opening slot (housing 12) further comprises a charging port (96, figure 6) configured to couple to an external power supply (100 connects to cigarette lighter of the vehicle for power), and wherein the slot further comprises a connection port (98) electrically coupled to the charging port.
With respect to claim 20, Skolimowski and Richardson combined discloses the vehicle of claim 19 as advanced above, wherein Richardson discloses wherein the charging port (96) is a contact charging port.
With respect to claim 21, Skolimowski and Richardson combined discloses the vehicle of claim 15 as advanced above, wherein Skolimowski discloses the opening slot further comprises a fastening portion (8, figure 1) configured to clamp a structure inserted into the opening slot.
.Claims 2, 3, and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art of record further demonstrate slot structures receiving supports therein of interest.
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
Khc