DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
This application was filed on or after September 16, 2012. The party identified in the terminal disclaimer is not the applicant of record.
A request under 37 CFR 1.46(c) to change the applicant needs to be filed, which is (1) a request, signed by a 1.33(b) party, (2) a corrected ADS (37 CFR 1.76(c)) that identifies the “new” applicant in the applicant information, and is underlined since it is new, and (3) a 3.73(c) statement showing chain of title to the new applicant. Along with the §1.46(c) request a Power of Attorney which gives power to the attorney who is signing the Terminal Disclaimer is needed, along with another copy of the Terminal Disclaimer, unless a Terminal Disclaimer is signed by the applicant.
The applicant cited on the Terminal Disclaimer must be cited exactly as it is cited on the ADS and/or filing receipt and also in its entirety. If more space for applicant section is required, please use smaller fonts or submit an attachment page to the Terminal Disclaimer.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “the second strap portion is configured to tie to the first strap portion” in claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 8 recites “the second strap portion is configured to tie to the first strap portion”, which is not described in the specification and the drawings do not show the limitation. Therefore, claim 8 fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
Claims 5-9, 11-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the right breast cup” in line 1 and “the left breast cup” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites “the waist portion” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites “the bonding layer” in line 1. It is unclear which bonding layer the Applicant wants to refer to as there are a bonding layer of the bust portion and a bonding layer of the bottom portion.
Claim 17 recites “the internal bonding layer” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 10-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2020/0397064) in view of Ashmore (US 2011/0016607) and DeSimone (US 2019/0350269).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a garment comprising:
a bust portion (fig. 1A, a bra), comprising an inner fabric layer (fig. 5C, layer 102) including an interior surface and an exterior surface, and an outer fabric layer (fig. 5C, layer 104) including an interior surface and an exterior surface, the bust portion having a plurality of edges, wherein at least one edge is raw cut without folding or stitching when finished (fig. 5C, para. [0066], the edge is a “free cut edge” and is not subject to edge processing, such as sewing, welding or hemming at the edge, after cutting), forming a flat edge portion (fig. 5C, the edge portion formed by the layer 102 and 104 is flat) that is sealed with a bonding layer (fig. 5C, layer 128) between the interior surface of the inner fabric layer and the interior surface of the outer fabric layer,
a bottom portion (fig. 8, an underwear), a left leg opening defined by a lower left edge portion, and a right leg opening defined by a lower right edge portion (fig. 8).
Liu does not teach a swimsuit. However, Liu teaches the article of clothing may be any garment which may be worn by a wearer (para. [0046]). Moreover, “a swimsuit” is an intended use of the invention. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structure difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Liu does not explicitly teach the bottom portion comprising an inner fabric layer including an interior surface and an exterior surface, and an outer fabric layer including an interior surface and an exterior surface; the lower left edge portion and the lower right edge portion being raw cut without folding or stitching when finished, forming a flat edge portion that is sealed with a bonding layer between the interior surface of the inner fabric layer and the interior surface of the outer fabric layer; and a first positioning strip formed on the exterior surface on the inner fabric layer fully underlying the sealed raw cut edge portion of the left leg opening, and a second positioning strip formed on the exterior surface of the inner fabric layer underlying the sealed raw cut edge portion of the right leg opening.
However, Liu teaches, in fig. 5C, an inner fabric layer (fig. 5C, layer 102) including an interior surface and an exterior surface, and an outer fabric layer (fig. 5C, layer 104) including an interior surface and an exterior surface; the edge portion being raw cut without folding or stitching when finished (para. [0066]), forming a flat edge portion that is sealed with a bonding layer (fig. 5C, layer 128) between the interior surface of the inner fabric layer and the interior surface of the outer fabric layer; and a positioning strip (fig. 5C, strip 144) formed on the exterior surface on the inner fabric layer fully underlying the sealed raw cut edge portion (fig. 5C).
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Ashmore teaches gripping material (fig. 1, bands 5 and 7) positioned at the inner fabric layer along the left leg opening and the right leg opening respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lower left edge portion and the lower right edge portion being raw cut and comprising a support strip as taught in fig. 5C of Liu and as suggested by the position of the support strip of Ashmore for the benefit of saving material and labor in manufacturing the garment while providing a seamless look to the garment; and providing support to the leg opening areas and unobtrusively gripping the body and holding the garment in place (Ashmore, para. [0032]).
The modified structure Liu-Ashmore does not teach the first positioning strip and the second positioning strip are continuous semi-tacky strips comprising at least one of a thermoplastic, thermoplastic elastomer, or thermoset material.
However, in the same field of endeavor, DeSimone teaches a positioning strip (fig. 1, para. [0021], gripping band 165) is a continuous semi-tacky strips comprising at least one of a thermoplastic, thermoplastic elastomer, or thermoset material (para. [0021], gripping band 165 is a strip of high density silicone gel adhesive).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the support strip of Liu with the gripping material of the gripping band of DeSimone for the benefit of providing smooth tapes at the edge, which feel comfortable (grippy but not sticky) against the skin (DeSimone, para. [0017]) and providing an optimal gripping surface to keep the edge of the garment in place (DeSimone, para. [0018]).
Regarding claim 2, the modified structure Liu-Ashmore-DeSimone teaches the bust portion further comprises a right breast cup and a left breast cup, each of the right breast cup and the left breast cup having at least one fabric edge being raw cut without folding or stitching when finished and sealed with a bonding layer between the interior surface of the inner fabric layer and the interior surface of the outer fabric layer (Liu, para. [0066], fig. 1A and 5C show the edge 116 at the right breast cup and/or the left breast cup).
Regarding claim 3, the modified structure Liu-Ashmore-DeSimone teaches a third positioning strip on the exterior surface of the inner fabric layer along at least a portion of a right medial edge of the right breast cup and a fourth positioning strip on the exterior surface of the inner fabric layer along at least a portion of a left material edge of the left breast cup (Liu, para. [0066], fig. 1A shows the edge 116 at the right medial edge of the right breast cup and the left medial edge of the left breast cup; and fig. 5C shows the edge 116 has a positioning strip 144).
Regarding claim 4, the modified structure Liu-Ashmore-DeSimone teaches a first strap portion (Liu, fig. 1A, shoulder straps).
Regarding claim 5, the modified structure Liu-Ashmore-DeSimone teaches the right breast cup is connected to the first strap portion and the left breast cup is connected to a second strap portion, the first strap portion and the right breast cup defining a first arm opening, and the second strap portion and the left breast cup defining a second arm opening (Liu, fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 8, the modified structure Liu-Ashmore-DeSimone does not teach the second strap portion is configured to tie to the first strap portion.
However, Ashmore teaches the second strap portion is configured to tie to the first strap portion (fig. 3, two strap sections are configured to tie to each other).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Liu-Ashmore-DeSimone with the teaching that the second strap portion is configured to tie to the first strap portion as taught by Ashmore for the benefit of adjusting the fit of the bust portion to the user’s upper body.
Regarding claim 10, the modified structure Liu-Ashmore-DeSimone teaches the bottom portion includes a waist portion (Liu, fig. 8).
Regarding claim 11, the modified structure Liu-Ashmore-DeSimone does not teach a sixth positioning strip is positioned on the exterior surface of the inner fabric layer on at least a part of the waist portion.
However, Ashmore teaches gripping material is positioned on the exterior surface of the inner fabric layer on at least a part of the waist portion (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the position of the support strips of the modified structure Liu-Ashmore-DeSimone positioned on the exterior surface of the inner fabric layer on at least a part of the waist portion as taught by Ashmore for the benefit of providing support to the waist area and unobtrusively gripping the body and holding the garment in place (Ashmore, para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 12, the modified structure Liu-Ashmore-DeSimone teaches the bonding layer comprises an adhesive (DeSimone, para. [0021], gripping band 165 is a strip of high density silicone gel adhesive).
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches a garment comprising:
a bust portion (fig. 1A, a bra), comprising an inner fabric layer (fig. 5C, layer 102) including an interior surface and an exterior surface, and an outer fabric layer (fig. 5C, layer 104) including an interior surface and an exterior surface, the bust portion having a plurality of edges, wherein at least one edge is raw cut without folding or stitching when assembled (fig. 5C, para. [0066], the edge is a “free cut edge” and is not subject to edge processing, such as sewing, welding or hemming at the edge, after cutting), forming a flat edge portion (fig. 5C, the edge portion formed by the layer 102 and 104 is flat) that is sealed with a bonding layer (fig. 5C, layer 128) between the interior surface of the inner fabric layer and the interior surface of the outer fabric layer,
a bottom portion (fig. 8, an underwear), a left leg opening defined by a lower left edge portion, and a right leg opening defined by a lower right edge portion (fig. 8), and
a first positioning strip (fig. 5C, layer 144) formed on the exterior surface on the inner fabric layer fully underlying at least one sealed raw cut edge portion of at least one of the bust portion and the bottom portion.
Liu does not explicitly teach the bottom portion comprising an inner fabric layer including an interior surface and an exterior surface, and an outer fabric layer including an interior surface and an exterior surface; the lower left edge portion and the lower right edge portion being raw cut without folding or stitching when assembled, forming a flat edge portion that is sealed with a bonding layer between the interior surface of the inner fabric layer and the interior surface of the outer fabric layer.
However, Liu teaches, in fig. 5C, an inner fabric layer (fig. 5C, layer 102) including an interior surface and an exterior surface, and an outer fabric layer (fig. 5C, layer 104) including an interior surface and an exterior surface; the edge portion being raw cut without folding or stitching when finished (para. [0066]), forming a flat edge portion that is sealed with a bonding layer (fig. 5C, layer 128) between the interior surface of the inner fabric layer and the interior surface of the outer fabric layer.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Ashmore teaches gripping material (fig. 1, bands 5 and 7) positioned at the inner fabric layer along the left leg opening and the right leg opening respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lower left edge portion and the lower right edge portion being raw cut as taught in fig. 5C of Liu for the benefit of saving material and labor in manufacturing the garment while providing a seamless look to the garment.
The modified structure Liu does not teach the first positioning strip is a continuous semi-tacky strip comprising at least one of a thermoplastic, thermoplastic elastomer, or thermoset material.
However, in the same field of endeavor, DeSimone teaches a positioning strip (fig. 1, para. [0021], gripping band 165) is a continuous semi-tacky strips comprising at least one of a thermoplastic, thermoplastic elastomer, or thermoset material (para. [0021], gripping band 165 is a strip of high density silicone gel adhesive).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the support strip of Liu with the gripping material of the gripping band of DeSimone for the benefit of providing smooth tapes at the edge, which feel comfortable (grippy but not sticky) against the skin (DeSimone, para. [0017]) and providing an optimal gripping surface to keep the edge of the garment in place (DeSimone, para. [0018]).
The modified structure Liu-DeSimore does not teach a one-piece swimsuit wherein the bottom portion is connected to the bust portion.
However, Ashmore teaches a one-piece garment comprising a bottom portion connected to a bust portion (fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Liu-DeSimore in making a one-piece garment as taught by Ashmore for the benefit of producing garments with various aesthetic pleasing designs to suit the user’s need.
The modified structure Liu-DeSimone-Ashmore does not clearly teach a swimsuit. However, Liu teaches the article of clothing may be any garment which may be worn by a wearer (para. [0046]). Moreover, “a swimsuit” is an intended use of the invention. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structure difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 15, the modified structure Liu-DeSimone-Ashmore teaches the bust portion further comprises a first bust strap portion, a second bust strap portion, a central portion, and a lower end portion (Liu, fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 16, the modified structure Liu-DeSimone-Ashmore teaches an internal bonding layer (Liu, fig. 2C, layer 128) included along the lower end portion of the bust portion and extending across a front section of the bust portion (Liu, figs. 1B and 2C).
Regarding claim 17, the modified structure Liu-DeSimone-Ashmore teaches the internal bonding layer (Liu, fig. 3, layer 128) extends across a back section of the bust portion (Liu, figs. 1C and 3).
Claims 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2020/0397064), Ashmore (US 2011/0016607) and DeSimone (US 2019/0350269), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Martin (US 1981320).
Regarding claim 6, the modified structure Liu-Ashmore-DeSimone does not teach a third strap portion as in the claim.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Martin teaches a third strap portion (fig. 1, belt portion 4) formed on a lower edge of the bust portion configured to fasten the right breast cup to the left breast cup along a medial line, wherein the third strap portion comprises a fastening tie (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Liu-Ashmore-DeSimone with a belt as taught by Martin for the benefit of adjusting the waist size for providing a comfortable fit to the user.
Regarding claim 7, the modified structure Liu-Ashmore-DeSimone-Martin does not teach a fifth positioning strip along at least a part of the lower end portion of the bust portion.
However, Ashmore teaches a fifth positioning strip along at least a part of the lower end portion of the bust portion (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Liu-Ashmore-DeSimone-Martin with a support strip along at least a part of the lower end portion of the bust portion as suggested by Ashmore for the benefit of providing support to the bust portion and unobtrusively gripping the body and holding the garment in place (Ashmore, para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 9, the modified structure Liu-Ashmore-DeSimone-Martin teaches the third strap portion is configured to tie to a fourth strap portion (Martin, fig. 1).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2020/0397064), Ashmore (US 2011/0016607) and DeSimone (US 2019/0350269), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Herlihy (US 5631074).
Regarding claim 13, the modified structure Liu-Ashmore-DeSimone does not teach the outer fabric layer of the bust portion and the bottom portion comprise a UV-resistant, chlorine-resistant fabric.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Herlihy teaches the shell fabric (12) comprises UV stabilization additives to maximize resistance to ultraviolet radiation (col. 8, lines 15-16), and the fabric is chlorine resistant (col. 9, lines 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the outer fabric layer of the modified structure Liu-Ashmore-DeSimone with the material of Herlihy for the benefit of providing waterproof, breathable, elastic fabric which has a number of highly desirable qualities (Herlihy, abstract).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,039. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, for instance, the difference between the patented claim 1 and the instant claim 1 are minor and obvious from each other. The instant claim 1 is a broader version of the patented claim (i.e. the instant claim 1 does not include the limitations “the bust portion including a left shoulder strap, a right shoulder strap…” as in the patented claim 1). Therefore, the patented claim 1 would read on the instant claim 1. Furthermore, in the instant claim 1, the claimed limitations can be found in the patented claim 1. Any infringement over the patented claim 1 would also infringe over the instant claim 1. Hence, the instant claim does not differ from the scope of the patented claim 1.
For the same reason, claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,039.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,039.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,039.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,039. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, for instance, the difference between the patented claim 9 and the instant claim 14 are minor and obvious from each other. The instant claim 14 is a broader version of the patented claim (i.e. the instant claim 1 does not include the limitations “the bust portion including a left shoulder strap, a right shoulder strap…” as in the patented claim 9). Therefore, the patented claim 9 would read on the instant claim 14. Furthermore, in the instant claim 14, the claimed limitations can be found in the patented claim 9. Any infringement over the patented claim 9 would also infringe over the instant claim 14. Hence, the instant claim does not differ from the scope of the patented claim 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 05/04/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended limitations. However, this argument is not commensurate with the rejected claims, as the limitations have not been previously presented. Thus, the amended limitations have been addressed as analyzed above.
In response to the Applicant’s arguments about Liu (remarks, pages 9-10), the Applicant's arguments are against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, Liu teaches a positioning strip at the raw cut edge. Liu does not teach the positioning strip comprises at least one of thermoplastic, thermoplastic elastomer, or thermoset material. However, DeSimone teaches a positioning strip is a continuous semi-tacky strips comprising at least one of a thermoplastic, thermoplastic elastomer, or thermoset material (para. [0021], gripping band 165 is a strip of high density silicone gel adhesive). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the support strip of Liu with the gripping material of the gripping band of DeSimone for the benefit of providing smooth tapes at the edge, which feel comfortable (grippy but not sticky) against the skin (DeSimone, para. [0017]) and providing an optimal gripping surface to keep the edge of the garment in place (DeSimone, para. [0018]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732