DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “raw cut” in line 7. It is unclear how to define “raw cut” as any fabric is cut before assembled. For the purpose of applying art, the edge being “raw cut” is interpreted as the edge being cut.
Claim 1 recites “the inner layer” in line 8 and “the exterior layer” in line 9. It is unclear “the inner layer”, “the exterior layer” are the same as “an inner fabric layer” in line 3 and “ the exterior fabric layer” in line 4 or not. For the purpose of applying art, “the inner layer” is interpreted as the inner fabric layer and “the exterior layer” is interpreted as the exterior fabric layer”.
Claim 1 recites “the exterior surface of the inner fabric layer along an edge portion of at least one of the burst portion and the bottom portion” in lines 10-11. It is unclear if the burst portion comprises “the exterior surface of the inner fabric layer” or not as the claim does not define the structure of the burst portion previously. Then there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2020/0397064).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a garment comprising: a bust portion (fig. 1A, a bra), a bottom portion (fig. 8, an underwear), including a waist portion configured to surround a torso (fig. 8), a left leg opening defined by a lower left edge portion, and a right leg opening defined by a lower right edge portion (fig. 8), and a first positioning strip (fig. 5C, para. [0066], a support strip 144 along the edge 116 of the two arm openings) formed on the exterior surface of the inner fabric layer along an edge portion of at least one of the burst portion and the bottom portion.
Liu does not clearly teach in fig. 8 the bottom portion comprises an inner fabric layer including an interior surface and an exterior surface, and an outer fabric layer including an interior surface and an exterior surface, wherein the lower left edge portion and lower right edge portion being raw cut and being bonded with a bonding layer between the interior surface of the inner layer and the interior surface of the exterior layer.
However, Liu teaches in fig. 5C an inner fabric layer (fig. 5C, layer 102) including an interior surface and an exterior surface, and an outer fabric layer (fig. 5C, layer 104) including an interior surface and an exterior surface; the edge being raw cut (para. [0066], the edge is a “free cut edge”) and being bonded with a bonding layer (fig. 5C, layer 128) between the interior surface of the inner fabric layer and the interior surface of the outer fabric layer (fig. 5C).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lower left edge portion and the lower right edge portion of the bottom portion in fig. 8 being raw cut and being bonded with a bonding layer for the benefit of saving material and labor in manufacturing the garment while providing a seamless look to the garment.
Liu does not clearly teach the garment functions as “a swimsuit”. However, Liu teaches the article of clothing may be any garment which may be worn by a wearer (para. [0046]). Moreover, “a swimsuit” is an intended use of the invention. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,039. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, for instance, the difference between the patented claim 1 and the instant claim 1 are minor and obvious from each other. The instant claim 1 is a broader version of the patented claim (i.e. the instant claim 1 does not include the limitations the bust portion comprising “an inner fabric layer including an interior surface and an exterior surface, and an outer fabric layer including an interior surface and an exterior surface, the bust portion including a left shoulder strap, a right shoulder strap…”). Therefore, the patented claim 1 would read on the instant claim 1. Furthermore, in the instant claim 1, the claimed limitations can be found in the patented claim 1. Any infringement over the patented claim 1 would also infringe over the instant claim 1. Hence, the instant claim does not differ from the scope of the patented claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732