DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/30/2025, 08/26/2025, 01/16/2026, 02/10/2026, 03/17/2026, 08/21/2026 and 09/18/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 13- 15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava et al. (US 20190318742 A1), hereinafter referenced as Srivastava, in view of Kim et al. (US 20200126565 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim.
Regarding Claim 1, Srivastava teaches a method implemented by one or more processors, the method comprising:
detecting, at a given client device, audio data that captures a spoken utterance of a user, wherein the given client device is in an environment with one or more additional client devices (Srivastava: Para. [0018],[0019], [0044], Fig. 1 illustrates system 100 for performing collaborative automatic speech recognition, which includes client devices 102-1 to 102-6 and a master device 104. Each client device may perform speech recognition in isolation. Each client device 102 and/or master device 104 may be performing automatic speech recognition when a user talks),
and is in local communication with the one or more additional client devices via a local network (Srivastava: Para. [0094],[0095], Fig. 9, network interface 904 to provide data communication connection over a network, such as a local area network (LAN) or wide area network (WAN). Network 914 may be an intranet or internet),
the one or more additional client devices including at least a first additional client device (Srivastava: Para. [0018], Fig. 1 illustrates system 100 for performing collaborative automatic speech recognition, which includes various client devices 102-1 to 102-6, and a master device 104);
generating a given candidate text representation of the spoken utterance based on processing the audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the given client device using a given automatic speech recognition ("ASR") model stored locally at the given client device (Srivastava: Para. [0015], [0018], Fig. 1, each client devices 102-1 to 102-6, may be trained based on respective user's voice and is used to generate recognized speech and corresponding transcript);
receiving, at the given client device, from the first additional client device and via the local network, a first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance (Srivastava: Para. [0043], Fig. 1, automatic speech recognition manager 108 of the master device 104 receives recognized speech from each of the client devices 102 and generates transcript),
wherein the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance is generated locally at the first additional client device by: processing (1) the audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the given client device using a first additional ASR model stored locally at the first additional client device (Srivastava: Para.[0016], [0046], Figs. 1, 5, at 508, automatic speech recognition manager 108 generates the transcript from portions of text recognized by different client devices 102 and/or master device 104 such that the transcript is collaboratively generated by different devices, where each client device may be trained based on the respective user's voice and therefore generates a different model for each device),
and processing (2) locally detected audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the first additional client device using the first additional ASR model stored locally at the first additional client device(Srivastava: Para. [0019], [0043], Fig. 1, automatic speech recognition manager 108 of the master device 104 receives recognized speech from each of the client devices 102, recognized by the ASR model in each device and generates transcript),
and determining a text representation of the spoken utterance based on (a) the given candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated at the given client device and (b) the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated by the first additional client device (Srivastava: Para. [0046], Fig. 1, automatic speech recognition manager 108 generates a transcript of the meeting from the selected portions of recognized speech and determines a final transcript).
Srivastava while teaching the method of claim 1, fails to explicitly teach the claimed, subsequent to transferring the audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the given client device to the first additional client device: receiving, at the given client device, from the first additional client device and via the local network, a first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance.
However, Kim does teach the claimed, subsequent to transferring the audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the given client device to the first additional client device ( Kim: Para. [0079], [0103], Fig. 2, first electronic device 100-1 that has activated the speech recognition function, transmits the speech voice recognition information, the user information and additional information for matching to the second electronic device, where the speech recognition information can include the text data or intermediate results such as the audio signal):
receiving, at the given client device, from the first additional client device and via the local network, a first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance (Kim: Para. [0079], [0101], Fig. 1, when an end of the utterance of the user is sensed by the second electronic device 100-2, the second electronic device 100-2 may perform voice recognition on the user's utterance. The speech recognition information obtained by performing a series of processes for speech recognition by the electronic device 100, the intermediate results such as text data, feature information, pronunciation information, phoneme information etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kim’s teaching of apparatuses and methods for controlling the same, which may control a speech recognition job to be continuously performed in another electronic device, and obtain a final speech recognition result by combining speech recognition information performed in each of the individual electronic device, into the system and method of a collaborative automatic speech recognition (ASR) approach to generate a transcription , taught by Srivastava, because, this would allow a speech recognition process to be continuously performed in another electronic device to obtain a final speech recognition result.(Kim, Para.[0002]).
Claim 13 is non-transitory computer-readable medium claim configured to store instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (Srivastava: Para. [0090], Fig. 9, a processor 906, memory 908 and instructions are described) perform the steps in method claim 1 above and as such, claim 13, is similar in scope and content to claim 1 and therefore, claim 13, is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 1 above.
Claim 14 is system claim comprising: one or more processors; and memory configured to store instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (Srivastava: Para. [0090], Fig. 9, a processor 906, memory 908 and instructions are described) perform the steps in method claim 1 above and as such, claim 14, is similar in scope and content to claim 1 and therefore, claim 14, is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 2, Srivastava in view of Kim teach the method of claim 1. Srivastava further teaches, wherein the one or more additional client devices includes at least the first additional client device and a second additional client device (Srivastava: Para. [0018], Fig. 1 illustrates system 100 for performing collaborative automatic speech recognition, which includes various client devices 102-1 to 102-6);
wherein receiving, at the given client device, from the first additional client device and via the local network, the first additional candidate text representation (Srivastava: Para. [0043][ 0045], Fig. 1, automatic speech recognition manager 108 of the master device 104, receives recognized speech from each of the client devices 102 and generates transcript ),
Kim further teaches, further comprises: receiving, at the given client device, from the second additional client device and via the local network, a second additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance, wherein the second additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance is generated locally at the second additional client device by: processing (1) the audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the given first client device using a second additional ASR model stored locally at the second additional client device (Kim: Para.[0079], [0100], Fig. 1, The second electronic device 100-2 receiving the control signal from the first electronic device 100-1 may activate the speech recognition function. Para.[0144],[0161], the second electronic device 100-2 may perform all of the series of processes for speech recognition, the speech recognition information may include a final result (e.g., text data corresponding to an audio signal). ),
and processing (2) second locally detected audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the second additional client device using the second additional ASR model stored locally at the first additional client device ( Kim: Para.[0084], [0256], The speech recognition information obtained by the first electronic device 100-1 and the second electronic device 100-2, respectively, may be compared and matched to recognize an entire sentence. Speech recognition information may be matched based on user speeches (plural) collected from different electronic devices in chronological order );
and wherein determining the text representation of the spoken utterance based on (a) the given candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated at the given client device and (b) the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated by the first additional client device further comprises: determining the text representation of the spoken utterance based on (a) the given candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated at the given client device, (b) the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated by the first additional client device ( Kim: Para.[0103], [0144],[0161]. Fig. 22 illustrates possible overlap where multiple devices can record the same speech and this information along with the transcript that was generated by one of the devices gets sent to the other device. the second electronic device 100-2 may perform all of the series of processes for speech recognition, the speech recognition information may include a final result (e.g., text data corresponding to an audio signal),
and (c) the second additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated by the second additional client device (Kim: Para.[0144],[0161], the second electronic device 100-2 may perform all of the series of processes for speech recognition, the speech recognition information may include a final result (e.g., text data corresponding to an audio signal) ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kim’s teaching of apparatuses and methods for controlling the same, which may control a speech recognition job to be continuously performed in another electronic device, and obtain a final speech recognition result by combining speech recognition information performed in each of the individual electronic device, into the system and method of a collaborative automatic speech recognition (ASR) approach to generate a transcription , taught by Srivastava, because, this would allow a speech recognition process to be continuously performed in another electronic device to obtain a final speech recognition result.(Kim, Para.[0002]).
Claim 15 is system claim performing the steps in method claim 2 above and as such, claim 15, is similar in scope and content to claim 2 and therefore, claim 15, is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 4, Srivastava in view of Kim teach the method of claim 1. Srivastava further teaches, wherein determining the text representation of the spoken utterance based on (a) the given candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated at the given client device and (b) the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated by the first additional client device comprises: determining a confidence score of the given candidate text representation indicating a probability that the given candidate text representation is the text representation, where the confidence score is based on one or more device parameters of the client device (Srivastava: Para. [0037]-[0038], Fig. 4, at 406, automatic speech recognition system 106 outputs the recognized speech with a confidence score based on the model associated with the user of client device 102 and 104);
determining an additional confidence score of the first additional candidate text representation indicating an additional probability that the first additional candidate text representation is the text representation, where the additional confidence score is based on one or more additional device parameters of the first additional client device (Srivastava: Para. [0037], [0043], where recognition manager 108 receives the recognized speech, a confidence score from each of the client devices, each client device has a user specific model);
comparing the confidence score and the additional confidence score; and determining the text representation of the spoken utterance based on the comparing (Srivastava: Para. [0045], where speech recognition manager selects the portion of the recognized speech with the highest confidence).
Claim 17 is system claim performing the steps in method claim 4 above and as such, claim 17, is similar in scope and content to claim 4 and therefore, claim 17, is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 7, Srivastava in view of Kim teach the method of claim 1. Srivastava further teaches, wherein the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance includes a plurality of hypotheses, and wherein determining the text representation of the spoken utterance based on the given candidate text representation of the spoken utterance and the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated by the first additional client device comprises: reranking the plurality of hypotheses using the given client device (Srivastava: Para.[0045], where the portion of the recognized speech with the highest confidence is selected and determined);
and determining the text representation of the spoken utterance based on the given candidate text representation of the spoken utterance and the reranked plurality of hypotheses (Srivastava: Para. [0046], where the automatic speech recognition manager 108 generates a final transcript of the meeting from the selected portions of the recognized speech).
Claim 20 is system claim performing the steps in method claim 7 above and as such, claim 20, is similar in scope and content to claim 7 and therefore, claim 20, is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 7 above.
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava et al. (US 20190318742 A1), hereinafter referenced as Srivastava, in view of Kim et al. (US 20200126565 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim, further in view of Thomson et al. ( US 20200243094 A1), hereinafter referenced as Thomson.
Regarding Claim 3, Srivastava in view of Kim teach the method of claim 1. Srivastava in view of Kim fail to explicitly teach the claimed, wherein determining the text representation of the spoken utterance based on (a) the given candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated at the given client device and (b) the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated by the first additional client device comprises: randomly selecting either the given candidate text representation of the spoken utterance or the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance; and determining the text representation of the spoken utterance based on the random selection.
However, Thomson does teach the claimed, wherein determining the text representation of the spoken utterance based on (a) the given candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated at the given client device and (b) the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated by the first additional client device comprises: randomly selecting either the given candidate text representation of the spoken utterance or the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance; and determining the text representation of the spoken utterance based on the random selection (Thomson: Para. [0366], the voting process 1408 is configured to examine each token group to determine most likely token for each group and when there is a tie a token can be selected at random).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Thomson’s teaching of a method of switching between speech recognition systems, into the system and method, taught by Srivastava in view of Kim, because, by addressing the situation in which multiple tokens appear the same number of times and to be able to select a single token when this situation occurs, the ASR system’s ability to recognize words in speech can be improved. (Thomson, Para.[0097]).
Claim 16 is system claim performing the steps in method claim 3 above and as such, claim 16, is similar in scope and content to claim 3 and therefore, claim 16, is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 3 above.
Claims 5, 8, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava et al. (US 20190318742 A1), hereinafter referenced as Srivastava, in view of Kim et al. (US 20200126565 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim, further in view of Park et al. ( US 20200219483 A1), hereinafter referenced as Park.
Regarding Claim 5, Srivastava in view of Kim teach the method of claim 1. Srivastava in view of Kim teaches, wherein determining the text representation of the spoken utterance based on (a) the given candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated at the given client device and (b) the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated by the first additional client device. Srivastava in view of Kim, fail to explicitly teach the claimed, determining an audio quality value indicating the quality of the audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the given client device; determining an additional audio quality value indicating the quality of the locally detected audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the first additional client device; comparing the audio quality value and the additional audio quality value; and determining the text representation of the spoken utterance based on the comparing.
However, Park does teach the claimed, determining an audio quality value indicating the quality of the audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the given client device (Park: Para. [0350], where SNR of user device is collected);
determining an additional audio quality value indicating the quality of the locally detected audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the first additional client device (Park: Para. [0350], where SNR of cleaner or air conditioner is also captured);
comparing the audio quality value and the additional audio quality value (Park: Para.[0350], where speech data with highest quality is selected);
and determining the text representation of the spoken utterance based on the comparing (Park: Para.[0072], [0350], where speech data selected is sent to a speech recognition device for speech recognition and where speech recognized word is text).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Park’s teaching of a method of speech recognition using grammar model, into the system and method, taught by Srivastava in view of Kim, because, speech recognition based on the language model, grammar model may guarantee high efficiency and stability (Park, Para.[0120]).
Claim 18 is system claim performing the steps in method claim 5 above and as such, claim 18, is similar in scope and content to claim 5 and therefore, claim 18, is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 5 above.
Regarding Claim 8, Srivastava in view of Kim teach the method of claim 1. Srivastava in view of Kim fail to explicitly teach the claimed, prior to receiving, at the given client device, from the first additional client device and via the local network, the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance, and further comprising: determining whether to generate the first additional candidate representation of the spoken utterance locally at the first additional client device based on (a) the audio data capturing the spoken utterance detected at the given client device and (b) the locally detected audio data capturing the spoken utterance detected at the first additional client device, wherein determining whether to generate the first additional candidate representation of the spoken utterance locally at the first additional client device based on (a) the audio data capturing the spoken utterance detected at the given client device and (b) the locally detected audio data capturing the spoken utterance detected at the first additional client device comprises: determining an audio quality value indicating the quality of the audio data that captures the spoken utterance captured at the given client device; determining an additional audio quality value indicating the quality of the locally detected audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the first additional client device; comparing the audio quality value and the additional audio quality value; and determining, based on the comparing, whether to generate the first additional candidate representation of the spoken utterance locally at the first additional client device based on (a) the audio data capturing the spoken utterance detected at the given client device and (b) the locally detected audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the first additional client device based.
However, Park does teach the claimed, prior to receiving, at the given client device, from the first additional client device and via the local network, the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance, and further comprising: determining whether to generate the first additional candidate representation of the spoken utterance locally at the first additional client device based on (a) the audio data capturing the spoken utterance detected at the given client device and (b) the locally detected audio data capturing the spoken utterance detected at the first additional client device, wherein determining whether to generate the first additional candidate representation of the spoken utterance locally at the first additional client device based on (a) the audio data capturing the spoken utterance detected at the given client device and (b) the locally detected audio data capturing the spoken utterance detected at the first additional client device comprises: determining an audio quality value indicating the quality of the audio data that captures the spoken utterance captured at the given client device ( Park: Para.[0350], where speech data is collected from devices such as air conditioner, the cleaner, and user device and where quality metric is implied for each speech data collected by the respective devices before being sent to a speech recognition device);
determining an additional audio quality value indicating the quality of the locally detected audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the first additional client device (Park: Para. [0350], where speech data is collected from devices such as air conditioner, the cleaner, and user device and where quality metric is implied for each speech data collected by the respective devices before being sent to a speech recognition device);
comparing the audio quality value and the additional audio quality value; and determining, based on the comparing, whether to generate the first additional candidate representation of the spoken utterance locally at the first additional client device based on (a) the audio data capturing the spoken utterance detected at the given client device and (b) the locally detected audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the first additional client device based (Park: Para. [0350], where highest quality speech data is selected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Park’s teaching of a method of speech recognition using grammar model, into the system and method, taught by Srivastava in view of Kim, because, speech recognition based on the language model, grammar model may guarantee high efficiency and stability (Park, Para.[0120]).
Regarding Claim 10, Srivastava in view of Kim, further in view of Park teach the method of claim 8. Park further teaches, wherein determining the audio quality value indicating the quality of the audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the given client device comprises: generating a signal to noise ratio value based on processing the audio data capturing the spoken utterance (Park: Para. [0350], where speech data is collected from devices such as air conditioner, the cleaner, and user device and where quality metric is implied for each speech data collected by the respective devices before being sent to a speech recognition device, where quality is defined as SNR);
and determining the audio quality value based on the signal to noise ratio value (Park: Para. [0350], where quality is defined by SNR);
and wherein determining the additional audio quality value indicating the quality of the locally detected audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the first additional client device comprises: generating an additional signal to noise ratio value based on processing the locally detected audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the first additional client device (Park: Para. [0350], where speech data is collected from devices such as air conditioner, the cleaner, and user device and where quality metric is implied for each speech data collected by the respective devices before being sent to a speech recognition device, where quality is defined as SNR);
and determining the additional audio quality value based on the additional signal to noise ratio value (Park: Para. [0350], where quality is defined by SNR).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Park’s teaching of a method of speech recognition using grammar model, into the system and method, taught by Srivastava in view of Kim, because, speech recognition based on the language model, grammar model may guarantee high efficiency and stability (Park, Para.[0120]).
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava et al. (US 20190318742 A1), hereinafter referenced as Srivastava, in view of Kim et al. (US 20200126565 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim, further in view of Ondo et al. ( US 20200106872 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ondo.
Regarding Claim 6, Srivastava in view of Kim teach the method of claim 1, wherein determining the text representation of the spoken utterance based on (a) the given candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated at the given client device and (b) the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance generated by the first additional client device. Srivastava in view of Kim fail to explicitly teach the claimed, determining an ASR quality value indicating the quality of the given ASR model stored locally at the given client device; determining an additional ASR quality value indicating the quality of the first additional ASR model stored locally at the first additional client device; comparing the ASR quality value and the additional ASR quality value; and determining the text representation of the spoken utterance based on the comparing.
However, Ondo does teach the claimed, determining an ASR quality value indicating the quality of the given ASR model stored locally at the given client device (Ondo: Para. [0036], where there is a voice recognition engines are associated with a high quality or low quality and is used to determine where to route the audio based on audio parameters);
determining an additional ASR quality value indicating the quality of the first additional ASR model stored locally at the first additional client device (Ondo: Para. [0036], where there is a voice recognition engines are associated with a high quality or low quality and is used to determine where to route the audio based on audio parameters)(e.g. Srivastava teaches as noted in claim 1 models stored on each client device);
comparing the ASR quality value and the additional ASR quality value; and determining the text representation of the spoken utterance based on the comparing (Ondo: Para. [0036], where audio parameter indicates which parameter to uses high or low quality speech recognition) (Srivastava further teaches the determining of the text representation in para.[0046], where speech recognition manager 108 generates a transcript of the meeting from the selected portions of recognized speech and determines a final transcript).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Ondo’s teaching of processing, routing audio signals including voice or speech, into the system and method, taught by Srivastava in view of Kim, because, the ASR quality values would improve accuracy, increase speed, or reduce power consumption for the voice recognition (Ondo, Para.[0011]).
Claim 19 is system claim performing the steps in method claim 6 above and as such, claim 19, is similar in scope and content to claim 6 and therefore, claim 19, is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claim 6 above.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava et al. (US 20190318742 A1), hereinafter referenced as Srivastava, in view of Kim et al. (US 20200126565 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim, further in view of Park et al. ( US 20200219483 A1), hereinafter referenced as Park, further in view of Freeman et al. ( US 10616726 B1), hereinafter referenced as Freeman.
Regarding Claim 9, Srivastava in view of Kim, further in view of Park teach the method of claim 8, wherein determining the audio quality value indicating the quality of the audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the given client device. Srivastava in view of Kim, further in view of Park fail to explicitly teach the claimed, identifying one or more microphones of the given client device; and determining the audio quality value based on the one or more microphones of the given client device; and wherein determining the additional audio quality value indicating the quality of the locally detected audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the first additional client device comprises: identifying one or more first additional microphones of the first additional client device; and determining the additional audio quality value based on the one or more first additional microphones of the first additional client device.
However, Freeman does teach the claimed, identifying one or more microphones of the given client device (Freeman: Column. 2, lines 60- column. 3, lines 6, where server determined which microphone of the devices 110a/110b/110c is the best);
and determining the audio quality value based on the one or more microphones of the given client device (Freeman: Column. 5, lines 55-column. 6, lines 10, Column. 2, lines 60-column. 6, line 5, where best mic is selected based on strongest signal and quality of the microphone array for the different devices) ;
and wherein determining the additional audio quality value indicating the quality of the locally detected audio data capturing the spoken utterance captured at the first additional client device comprises: identifying one or more first additional microphones of the first additional client device (Freeman: Column. 5, lines 55-column. 6, lines 10, column. 2, lines 60-column. 6, line 5, where best mic is selected based on strongest signal and quality of the microphone array for the different devices) ;
and determining the additional audio quality value based on the one or more first additional microphones of the first additional client device (Freeman: Column. 5, lines 55-column. 6, lines 10, column. 2, lines 60-column. 6, line 5, where best mic is selected based on strongest signal and quality of the microphone array for the different devices) ;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Freeman’s teaching of outputting notifications using device groups, into the system and method, taught by Srivastava in view of Kim, further in view of Park, because, this would improve sound quality and reduce the sound of duplicate notifications (Freeman, Column 2, lines 13-31).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava et al. (US 20190318742 A1), hereinafter referenced as Srivastava, in view of Kim et al. (US 20200126565 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim, further in view of Gruenstein et al. (US 20120310645 A1), hereinafter referenced as Gruenstein.
Regarding Claim 11, Srivastava in view of Kim teach the method of claim 1. Srivastava in view of Kim fail to explicitly teach the claimed, further comprising: prior to receiving, at the given client device, from the first additional client device and via the local network, a first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance, determining whether to transmit a request for the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance to the first additional client device; in response to determining to transmit the request for the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance to the first additional client device, transmitting the request for the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance to the first additional client device.
However, Gruenstein does teach the claimed, prior to receiving, at the given client device, from the first additional client device and via the local network, a first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance (Gruenstein: Para. [0058]-[0061], where candidate representation not received as it requires transmission of command to network speech recognizer),
determining whether to transmit a request for the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance to the first additional client device (Gruenstein: Para. [0058], where recognizer confidence of the mobile device is checked to determine if below a threshold);
in response to determining to transmit the request for the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance to the first additional client device (Gruenstein: Para. [0058], where the recognition confidence is below a threshold at mobile phone and see [0061], audio stream of the voice command is sent to a network server based speech recognizer),
transmitting the request for the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance to the first additional client device (Gruenstein: Para. [0061], where the audio stream is sent to network based speech recognizer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gruenstein’s teaching of performing a voice command on a client device, into the system and method, taught by Srivastava in view of Kim, because, this would allow for more complex tasks to be performed by external sources which compensate for the limited computational complexity, memory and battery resources of mobile devices. (Gruenstein, Para.[0005]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava et al. (US 20190318742 A1), hereinafter referenced as Srivastava, in view of Kim et al. (US 20200126565 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim, further in view of Gruenstein et al. (US 20120310645 A1), hereinafter referenced as Gruenstein, further in view of Gao et al. (US 20210407496 A1) , hereinafter referenced as Gao.
Regarding Claim 12, Srivastava in view of Kim, further in view of Gruenstein teach the method of claim 11. Srivastava in view of Kim, further in view of Gruenstein fail to explicitly teach the claimed, wherein determining whether to transmit the request for the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance to the first additional client device comprises: determining a hotword confidence score based on processing at least a portion of the audio data that captures the spoken utterance captured at the given client device using a hotword model, wherein the hotword confidence score indicates a probability of whether at least the portion of the audio data includes a hotword; determining whether the hotword confidence score satisfies one or more conditions, wherein determining whether the hotword confidence score satisfies the one or more conditions comprises determining whether the hotword confidence score satisfies a threshold value; in response to determining the hotword confidence score satisfies a threshold value, determining whether the hotword confidence score indicates a weak probability that at least the portion of the audio data includes the hotword; and in response to determining the hotword confidence score indicates the weak probability that the at least the portion of the audio data includes the hotword, determining to transmit the request for the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance to the first additional client device.
However Gao does teach the claimed, wherein determining whether to transmit the request for the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance to the first additional client device comprises: determining a hotword confidence score based on processing at least a portion of the audio data that captures the spoken utterance captured at the given client device using a hotword model, wherein the hotword confidence score indicates a probability of whether at least the portion of the audio data includes a hotword (Gao: Para. [0089], [0047]-[0049], where determination is made whether the audio signal comprises a wake-up word and a confidence depictive of its reliability is determined);
determining whether the hotword confidence score satisfies one or more conditions, wherein determining whether the hotword confidence score satisfies the one or more conditions comprises determining whether the hotword confidence score satisfies a threshold value (Gao: Para. [0049], where the confidence score is compared to a first confidence threshold);
in response to determining the hotword confidence score satisfies a threshold value, determining whether the hotword confidence score indicates a weak probability that at least the portion of the audio data includes the hotword (Gao: Para. [0086], [0089], where if the first confidence threshold is reached then decision is made to send to server and where two confidence threshold comparisons made in order to be clearly distinguished due to false alarms) (e.g. The examiner notes that for this reason the first confidence threshold comparison is weak and requires a second comparison to complete the process); and
in response to determining the hotword confidence score indicates the weak probability that the at least the portion of the audio data includes the hotword, determining to transmit the request for the first additional candidate text representation of the spoken utterance to the first additional client device (see [0089], where once first confidence threshold is reached then speech instruction and wakeup word is sent to server for detection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gao’s teaching of a control method and a control apparatus for speech interaction, into the system and method, taught by Srivastava in view of Kim, further in view of Gruenstein, because, the hotword confidence would allow to mitigate the false alarm rate associated with wakeup words less than four syllables. (Gao, Para.[0093]).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sainath et al. (US 20220238101 A1) teaches a two-pass automatic speech recognition (ASR) models which can be used to perform streaming on-device ASR to generate a text representation of an utterance captured in audio data. Various implementations include a first-pass portion of the ASR model used to generate streaming candidate recognition(s) of an utterance captured in audio data. For example, the first-pass portion can include a recurrent neural network transformer (RNN-T) decoder. Various implementations include a second-pass portion of the ASR model used to revise the streaming candidate recognition(s) of the utterance and generate a text representation of the utterance. For example, the second-pass portion can include a listen attend spell (LAS) decoder. Various implementations include a shared encoder shared between the RNN-T decoder and the LAS decoder.
Yasa et al. (US 10861446 B2) teaches a system for recovering a conversation between a user and the system when the system is unable to properly respond to a user's input. The system may process the user input and determine an error condition exists. The system may query one or more storage systems to identify candidate text data based on their semantic similarity to the user input. The storage systems may store data related to past frequently entered inputs and/or user-generated inputs. Alternative text data is selected from the candidate text data, and presented to the user for confirmation.
Bumberger et al. (US 11295743 B1) teaches systems and methods enabling on-device/hybrid processing of speech requests using a hub device. The hub device is capable of receiving audio data from surrounding devices and performing speech processing on the audio data to improve latency and/or provide functionality to other devices within a private network. The hub device may receive multiple requests corresponding to different utterances. If the hub device receives a second utterance while processing a first utterance, the hub device may send an error notification, process the first utterance and the second utterance sequentially, suspend processing of the first utterance to process the second utterance first, send the second utterance to another hub device or remote system, or suspend processing of the first utterance and send the first utterance to the remote system in order to process the second utterance.
Rikhye et al. (US 20220335953 A1 ) teaches techniques which are directed towards streaming keyphrase detection which can be customized to detect one or more particular keyphrases, without requiring retraining of any model(s) for those particular keyphrase(s). Many implementations include processing audio data using a speaker separation model to generate separated audio data which isolates an utterance spoken by a human speaker from one or more additional sounds not spoken by the human speaker, and processing the separated audio data using a text independent speaker identification model to determine whether a verified and/or registered user spoke a spoken utterance captured in the audio data. Various implementations include processing the audio data and/or the separated audio data using an automatic speech recognition model to generate a text representation of the utterance. Additionally or alternatively, the text representation of the utterance can be processed to determine whether at least a portion of the text representation of the utterance captures a particular keyphrase. When the system determines the registered and/or verified user spoke the utterance and the system determines the text representation of the utterance captures the particular keyphrase, the system can cause a computing device to perform one or more actions corresponding to the particular keyphrase.
/NADIRA SULTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2653